Rent Simpsons Game for Wii
view large frontback

Simpsons Game

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.2

1921 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Simpsons Fans Great Game

posted by punkrockin (SAINT PAUL, MN) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

If your a simpsons fan you will love this game. There are a lot of parodies, references to old Simpsons episodes and all the sayings that make the show great.

Graphics -
When I first read some reviews on this game people where saying the graphics suck. Its a cartoon. I have know idea what these people are talking about. The game looks great and the Simpsons look better than ever.

Controls -
Alright this is where the game lost everything. The controls are horrible. The camera angels makes you want to break you T.V. This is really the only thing that makes the game bad. But this isn't just somewhat bad controls and bad camera angles. This is the worst of the worst.

Game Play -
The story and the game play in this game are very well written. Its just like watching an episode of the Simpsons but playing it. There are some really cool things you get to do and moves you get to learn. The concept is really good.

All in All if you can get past the bad controls and camera angles and see what else the game has to offer than this is a great game to pick up. But be prepared to hold yourself back when you keep on falling off of a ledge. I feel though it could of been a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Must Bring Patience

posted by indus49 (NORWALK, CT) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you're a HUGE Simpsons fan and have a lot of patience for crummy controls and a really lazy camera - I'd say go for it. But this wouldn't get my $40. The controls are completely dependent on the camera, and its all too easy to miss a critical jump or important clue because the camera is trying to catch up. Perfect example: In the first part of the game, you (playing Bart) have to walk out of the house. When you go from the living room to the hallway, the camera switches prospective from behind to the side. That instantly screws up your movement, usually sending you right back through the same doorway. Stupid.

More problems arise when you play Bart - trying to get him to jump up a set of moving platforms. The camera is cemented to the side of the wall - so you can barely see what's around the corner. Same with a level where you play Homer, trying to run around a giant cake - you can't see whats coming or where the next path is until you've passed it and fell off the ledge.

On the upside, the graphics are pretty good and the story plays well in the Simpsons world. It would a lot better if the gameplay were more enjoyable, but its not. Sad - it should have been tested more thoroughly and not rushed out - as so many games these days seem to be. But this wasn't a TV or Movie spin-off that had to be timed to a theatrical release. The Simpsons have been out forever, with games dating back to pre-NES days. No excuse for the sloppy controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not all it's cracked up to be

posted by GamerChick (AUSTELL, GA) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Well, I was keen to try this game out because I love the Simpsons. Unfortunately, like most games based on a TV show or movie, it didn't really do justice. The game play movement was rather difficult. I knew it was a bad sign when there's a button to reset the camera angle!

Other than that - there's funny commentary. Homer speaks constantly with those phrases we love... mmmmm chocolate.....

I think if the movement and camera angles were better controlled, the game would be much more enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I love the Simpsons show, not the wii game.

posted by Schwanson (MARGATE, FL) Jun 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As others have mentioned, the story is amusing but that is killed by the horrible controls and wonky camera. It seems they released this game without ever playing, or they just didn't care. Tasks that would be relatively easy are made very difficult by a camera that keeps panning behind walls.

If you are looking for a game that will make you frustrated quickly, this one is a 'must have'.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

You let us down!

posted by mlbplayer (SHELBURNE, VT) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

unfortunately this game sucked. I would've expected so much more from it but it was really not fun to me. The graphics are more 2-d then 3-d (virtually). I would pick hit & run over the simpsons game anyday, so if you have another console then get hit and run. The graphics on this are more like they took the character from the tv and put them on the game, so overall this game was really bad and i do not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Worth It

posted by mdman3219 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The voice acting is good, writing is good, but that doesn't make up for horrible controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Highly Disapointed

posted by GerberC (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Simpsons fan and I was highly disapointed by this game. The very first thing I noticed were the awful graphics. Even the Simpsons arcade game from the late 80's had better graphics than this. The next bad thing about this game was the camera angles, it was impossible to do anything because the camera was constantly spinning. Even the classic Simpson one liners was not enough to save this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible camera movement & controls

posted by AndyOR (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The first thing I noticed was how bad the controls, movement and camera angles are. And that pretty much ended the fun with this game right there before it even began. And when I say bad, I mean worse than horrible - there isn't even a word to describe it. The camera seems to have a life of its own and shifts angles randomly while you're moving. So you constantly miss your targets when jumping and fall off ledges. Trying to simply walk in a straight line is IMPOSSIBLE. (I guess that's what it feels like to fail a field sobriety test after a night of drinking...) This constant camera shaking, shifting, spinning, wobbling was so bad, I came out feeling nauseous, sort of like seasick-nauseous, after the first time playing this game.
I ended up playing a few more times trying to gain control of the controls and hoping for the game to redeem itself in some way. But after a while it became too frustrating to devote 95% of my attention to battling the camera movement.
This could have been a really nice game, but the controls destroy it completely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for a little while

posted by pezboy92 (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Nov 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The Simspons Game for the Wii is mediocer. The game does look pretty good and some gameplay elements feel good with the wii remote, but overall the wii features feel tacked on and once you beat the game, there is absolutly no reason to play it again. I would rent it, but definetly not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Worth it for the humor for sure

posted by konamicode (TRENTON, NJ) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While this game has many flaws, as most platformers of this era do, I've never laughed out loud as hard and as many times while playing any video game, pretty much ever.

A good platformer is hard to come by. This one falls short in a lot of areas. The jumping is pretty awful- I don't think performing a double jump has ever been so agonizing. The fighting system is pretty basic and enemies don't stagger when you hit them, so expect to get beat up if you get surrounded. There use of the Wii Remote to execute special moves is nice, though nothing too exquisite. It serves its purposes well enough. The camera is absolutely atrocious, particularly when you play 2-player split screen.

I think others have described the rest of the game's flaws in sufficient detail... now on to why this game is worth playing despite all the negative aspects.

It's freakin' hilarious. While some people don't care for it, Simpsons humor is rampant in this game and leaves very little to be desired. Each level is full of witty spoofs and hilarious dialog voiced over by the masters themselves. The references to the show and to other popular video games (not just EA games which makes it even more shocking and entertaining) left me dying thorough the entire game. (both literally and figuratively) Finally, there's a game that's 2 player co-op that is MEANT to be 2 player co-op, not just allowing a 2nd player to join in and get in the 1st player's way and serve no real purpose. Need more of that!

As if predicting that people would complain about the game mechanics, the game CONSTANTLY makes fun of not only itself, but the entire gaming industry as a whole, past and present. Music to my ears.

Marge's stages left me wanting more anti-GTA gameplay, and the appearances of Will Wright and Matt Groening was the icing on the cake. I wish more games exuded the type of humor produced in this Simpsons game. It's definitely worth a shot if you like to laugh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh Homer, you let me down

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Dec 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So when I heard this game was coming out I was so excited about the potential, and then I tried it. Fell flat on my face after playing it with my wife for about 30 minutes. I was really really trying to hold on and hoping for more, but the game just fell short for me in so many ways. One is felt very repetitive and boring. Two the punch lines (which I heard were so good) didn't make me laugh at all. And three the camera was horrible. It would put you into weird situations where you couldn't see things in front of you, when you needed to, and just made an already painful game even more painful. I am hoping that the next installment (if there is one) will be a lot better than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could've been worse, could've been better.

posted by DiceKnight (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's almost sad to say that this is the best Simpsons game ever made, but it's true. That might sound like a compliment, but when you break it down try to remember that most Simpsons games so far have sucked out loud.

It starts out promising enough. Cutscenes that look just like episodes of the show, and all the voice actors you know and love. Futurama fans might also be entertained by hearing Maurice LaMarche halfway through the game, using his "Big Brain" voice for an enemy character. The storyline is funny, though it gets overly ridiculous at the end. (I honestly think the last level shouldn't have been in the game, since it pushes the absurdity one step over the line.)

The biggest downside is the controls. Especially when using Homer in his Homerball mode, it's hard to control and nearly impossible to get the camera to zoom behind him. The game has a lot of jumping on moving platforms sort of thing, and it seems to KNOW that its controls are utter garbage, since falling in a pit just restarts you at the edge of that pit again. There are no lives to lose, and no real challenge. Just frustration.

Is it worth a rent? For a die-hard Simpsons fan, yeah. I'm glad I rented it because now I can say I did, and I got a few good laughs from it. Unfortunately, nothing I couldn't see just by typing in "Simpsons game cutscenes" into YouTube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really Horrible

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is horrendous. The graphics are terrible, the camera is very difficult to control, and the storyline isn't even clever. I had high hopes for this game and was very disappointed. Don't rent unless you are a very patient, hardcore Simpsons fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Actual Score 6; Add Simpsons Name 8

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 8, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I had hoped that this would be better then Simpsons Road Rage and Simpsons Hit and Run but it had so many glitches that is was painful to play. This get the same score as Lego Star Wars; I recommend renting Spongebob Krusty Krab and Crash Of The Titans. Making Bart fly is cool but it takes several times to make it, switching characters is a cool feature but most of the time it does not register, and when you try to get extra bottle caps and stuff it automaticaly takes you to the next checkpoint without getting it. The graphics can be more polished (Gamecube games were better), the camera can be annoying and there is not much to this game. This game came out a week later and I only played it and hour (spread out because it can be frustrating); and sent it back. I say pass on this and use the money to buy the DVD's! Pass on the Star Wars and also use that to buy the DVD's!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

one thing

posted by flheidiho (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

some graphics in the game are bad. But its still a pretty good game! the camera is horrible. the controls are
not very good. But do not take it from me play
the game.....

YOURSELF!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should've read the reviews

posted by YuletideCanine (GREENBRIER, TN) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

There's a reason this game doesn't have a good overall score. I love the show, but the game just sucks. The controls are incredibly frustrating. And the game gets repetitive. There are some parts that are timed, and if you don't get every move just perfect you don't get past. Wouldn't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect...

posted by Joeliboi (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

I give this game a 9 out of 10. It is a great game, makes a parody of itself and is somewhat challenging. My only reason for not giving it a 10 is the Camera!!! Come on, we're living in the wii, ps3, xbox360 age, there is no reason for a game to have a shoddy camera.
Otherwise, great, funny, entertaining and a must for any Simpsons fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun, Funny, but horrible camera angles!!!

posted by BoredinMN_30 (SAINT PAUL, MN) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is just like watching an episode of the Simpsons. All the same characters and all the great humor you would expect. But that doesn't save this game from the worst camera angles ever. The camera doesn't follow behind you, so the game tells you to reset the camera behind you by pressing the Z button. But that doesn't always work, especially when your next to a wall or other object. This is the worst problem when you have to jump somewhere and can't move your view to see whats below or where you need to go. Anytime your next to something like a wall you can't look around to save your life!! But if you love the Simpsons it's worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

terrible

posted by Chanda (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

terrible controls terrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Simpson's

posted by Mockfanati (FRISCO, TX) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

IT was fun at first, then it became unplayable due to camera angles. Controls were hard to do on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

As stagnant as the TV show

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

Only hardcore fans of "The Simpsons" need seek this game out. Between the broken camera, the atrocious controls, and the completely unremarkable gameplay, this game doesn't stand on its own as a positive recreational experience. It's boring, it's tedious, and it's badly designed. The game's alleged "humor" is nothing to write home about either, despite what the critics have reported. Indeed, most of the jokes are lame, cheesy, and positively groan-inducing. (During an eating contest, the Comic Book Guy actually says, "With great hunger comes great responsibility." Give me a break!)

Do you have a Simpsons mural painted on your wall? Do you dress up like a Simpsons character every Halloween? Do you pray nightly that "The Simpsons" will never be canceled? If you answered no to any of these questions, then you're probably not going to be able to swallow your pride and force yourself to enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!

posted by LadieElain (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Review title for opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An OK Game

posted by ineedwii (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The Simpsons Game can get frustrating at some times but it is fun. If your a Simpsons fan you will love this game. The camera angles are horrible which make the levels more frustrating than it is. I would say you rent this game but dont bother wasting money on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow! not in a good way

posted by TuNaPfiSh (DENVER, CO) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

horrible grafix, poor camera/game control, and how many times can you hear the same one-liners before going crazy. i expected way more from e/a

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good cartoon, bad game.

posted by iheartcars (EVERETT, WA) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

Not gonna lie, didn't enjoy it. The story line in my opinion was kinda lame, maybe I didnt give it a fair chance. Never the less I hated it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse