Rent Simpsons Game for PS3
view large frontback

Simpsons Game

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.5

2460 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for One! Whoo Hoo! for Two!

posted by Knghtshade (FAIRBANKS, AK) Nov 12, 2008

Member since May 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best things about this game is that its one of the few games that you can sit with a friend on the couch with and play. The split screen function was easy to adapt to and it was great to laugh along with my room mate as we discovered each new pun, parody or joke.

As for the game, it was enjoyable. It was not easy but it was not hard either. A challenge without being too frustrating. I will admit I had to look up a few walkthroughs online when I got stuck but all in all the fun of the game made up for it.

It was a good time of just sitting around with a friend and wasting time as we tried to catch all the in-jokes, parodies and plain craziness that is what has kept the tv show alive after all these years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Hillarious Parodies

posted by goddog (MENTOR, OH) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

19 out of 21 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

What I liked:
-Two simultaneous players w/out need for Internet
-Graphics very accurate to the t.v. show
-Parodies were actually hillarious, clever, nostalgic and current
-Gameplay was fun, found myself playing for several hours at a time.
-Uniqueness of characters' abilities
-Original voiceovers by original cast
-Original animation
-Better for Gen-Xers (those old enough to have owned an NES while a child, you'll see why)
-Long
-Puzzles were somewhat challenging
-Puts you in a good mood

What I didn't care for:
-Some puzzles were too obvious
-Not enough Groundskeeper Willy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great story, average game

posted by Natas13 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My title basically sums up this game. The story and jokes are great, much better than recent Simpson episodes. This is a great rental. It is short and funny and even with doing all collectables you wouldn't play it for more than a month. The game itself is average. The graphics are PS2 at best and the controls and camera work are pretty poor and can be somewhat frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Simpsons Game

posted by KingWolf (VAN NUYS, CA) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game was a good and thrilling masterpiece. I rented it and enjoyed every second of the game. It delivers the action and funny scenes, and it's a very unique game for me, because of every level you play, it's like a whole new world where you experience as every character. Anyways, if you decide to rent it, I hope you have fun as i did!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth renting!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game, but like some other reviews I tended to get a little motion sickness from the camera moving all over the place so quickly. Very short but it does feel like it covers everything the game sets out to do completely. Rent it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So much potential that just falls short

posted by hessian823 (ARVADA, CO) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Man was I pumped to see that the Simpsons creators were going ahead with a game--all the voices from the show, new hilarious (ostensibly) story lines and a bevy of other treats for Simpsons fans to feast on. I was severely let down to find the gameplay fairly clunky. The 360 degree camera is awkward at times and is difficult at times in terms of angle adjustments around objects. The controls are simple enough to master but the mandatory two player sections were a real downer. I did not hate this game but I did not love it either. If you are a Simpsons fan, and have high hopes for this game, you may find yourself in the same boat as me. But, if you are looking for a fairly easy game and are not expecting anything more than Homer's one liners and random Springfield goodies then you won't be let down a bit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

like me...funny and hard

posted by AtomicSlap (GARNERVILLE, NY) Feb 11, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Quite simply, this game is too hard.

Yes, I know, it's the whine of a baby. But really, should a Simpsons game be this hard? I don't think so. A Simpsons game should be somehwat challenging, funny with lots of in jokes. Face it, the entertainment value is in the fact that its the Simpsons. Non-fans will not enjoy this title. And its hard, but not in an engaging way. In a "sheet, I just DID all that jumping and sheet and NOW I have to do it again??? Screw this!" way. And none of the online cheats work. (THERE IS NO EXTRAS MENU, IGN!!!) It makes you work too hard for not enough pay off. Sorry, but Im already married.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Cleverly written game, and thats about it.

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Nov 13, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

To quote the Comic Book Guy, "Best Simpsons game ever!" This was a treat to play as it is extremely well written and at times very funny. Though, underneath the brilliant writing, and wonderful animation, lies a very mediocre and troublesome platformer. Taking a que from such famous games as Pikmin, Mario 64, and other classic games, The Simposons game combines platforming and cooperative game play in what could have been a well rounded action adventure game. What troubles this game is the constantly roving camera which must be constantly adjusted, and the lack of any exciting things to do, but shoot waves of identical enemies, throw some switches, and collect meaningless pieces of bonus items. Its hard to tell if the actual gameplay is meant to be this way as the story revolves around the Simpson family being trapped in a videogame and navigating through levels fashioned after classic games of old. I found I was able to complete this game is under 5 hrs at 61% completion. I found that all the useless pieces of items that you can collect to unlock extras comprise the rest of the game. There is no real incentive to go back through the same levels just to find the various items you need as the unlockables don't change the gameplay very much. In its defense though, I did enjoy some of the boss fights, especially against Simpsons Creator Matt Groening and God and there is almost 15 minutes worth of completly new animation that looks and sounds better than what is on TV. Renting this game before committing to buy is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a fun game with brilliant humor with what only the Simpsons can bring. The characters are all voice by the original cast and voiced well I might add. The game itself is very simple as most Simpsons games are. Its short to the point and there is not much to it. A rental but not worth $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but bad camera angles

posted by guiness (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If you like watching the Simpsons you will like the animation in this game. The episodes are pretty simply and fun. However, the camera angle is pretty bad. I can't play this game for longer than 30 minutes because it gets me nauseous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Poor use of Camera and Controls

posted by NeoJester (ABBOTSFORD, WI) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have to agree with a lot of the other reviewers here. I am a hug Simpsons fan and will sadly never finish this game. I played the demo and then didn't get the game until recently. The demo had far too many control issues and camera issue to be enjoyable. I thought for sure this would be fixed, oh woe is me. This is another classic example of a EA releasing a bad platformer and never updating it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by Playdoe101 (HERCULES, CA) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i've got to say when i got this game i was like errr mabey i should take it back. but the sayin is dont judge a book by its cover. when i started playing it i soon loved it, the humorus characters and their special abilities. fun for anyone who loves adventure and action games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome !!

posted by Wperez (SAINT ALBANS, NY) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great character interaction.
more story lines could have been use but great ending.
specially with the extra guest appearances that are from other series related to the Simpson creator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by Flogger (SOMERVILLE, MA) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While the game has some good moments, for the most part its pretty boring. If you're a hardcore Simpsons fan you'll enjoy it enough for it to be worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GRAET GAME!

posted by stinkbert9 (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You can get sweet moves and stuff.Way too short kind of like famguy game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Short Game

posted by EAfan13 (PENFIELD, NY) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

in all it took about 5 hours to complete. I was very happy with the levels they were full of surprises. The graphics were very well played out. The voiceovers were great. I think you should have been able to play as much more characters than just the 4 Simpsons but overall it was a pretty good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Simpson's Game-Inappropriate for ANYONE

posted by LylesMom (STAFFORD, VA) Jul 27, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I am pretty open-minded, but I will not endorse any game that goes over the line by literally challenging God in the game. For years, kids have known that Bart is the kid you can never be-- and would never want to be for very long.

This game goes too far! To challenge God and try to beat him is blasphemous and shows no respect for our belief system.

My son came to me when he got to this part of the game, because he knew it was wrong. We sent it back immediately.

Beware before bringing this into your home. I am ashamed it was ever in mine!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD!!!!!!!

posted by superdude3 (WESTVILLE, IN) Jul 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Don't rent this game, graphics dont even look cartoonish the gameplay is boring and repeative and you HAVE to depend on the other player which can get very anoying! The storyline stinks, the levels are not fun, and it's NOT funny! I dont know what everyone else is thinking this a bad game. Dont rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Camera control ruined this game for me.

posted by KingMonkey (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The auto shifting camera view on this game, IMO, is seriously flawed. I found it hugely frustrating and un-intuitive. While a huge Simpsons fan might be able to get past the camera, I wasn't able to. In all fairness, I did only play the game for about 30 minutes before the camera drove me crazy and I had to stop playing, so the issue might have cleared up in later stages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, for the fans.

posted by ManSpider (NORTHPORT, NY) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

If you are a true fan of the simpsons then this should be a good, fun experience. The game is fun and a little bit short but it makes for a good game. The characters are easy to use and they have theyre own unique abilities which is the reason i liked the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

kid game

posted by dawhoking (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

should be rated b for baby game...kid game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

if you watch the simpsons....

posted by dwarfsaint (PORTLAND, TX) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This is a great game for those that story is more important than the actual gameplay. Truly the best way to describe it, a 8 hour simpsons flashback episode. If you have watched Simpsons and followed their journey over the past 23 years, this is the best game under their name to date. The inside jokes for gamers/simpsons fans are hilarious. That being said, it has all been done before, and why some of the achievements are actually "video game cliches". if you want a great game... if you want something that is entertaining and fun, try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best Simpson's Game

posted by giger4life (CLEBURNE, TX) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

I had a lot of fun with this some what sandbox Simpson's game. I liked the amount of detail in the town of Springfield. Just exploring and finding all of the townspeople will satisfy most Simpson's fans. A lot of people complained about the graphics, but I disagree with all of them. The vivid cell shading is a nice departure from the norm, and it suits this universe perfectly. Yes this game isn't very deep, the camera has its issues, and switching between characters is a pain, but all and all this is a fun Simpson's game with solid platforming and a whole lot of the staple humor that has propelled the series since the '80's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by flawson64 (PUYALLUP, WA) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The game i was send did not work at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

better than I thought

posted by robert_h (PROVO, UT) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I know it's been out for a while but, I just now played it and I had more fun playing it than I though I would. The cutscenes were cool to watch and the different gameplay styles were nice. 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse