Rent SimCity Creator for Wii
view large frontback

SimCity Creator

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.5

1829 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A "City" fit for renting

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

48 out of 50 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

There's nothing quite like the power of creating cities - SimCity has been around for a long time (first came out on PC) and it made the trip to the consoles.
SimCity Creator for the Wii doesn't mess around with the formula: you create cities according to all your people's needs - and if you're good and not greedy, you won't have to force a bailout on your citizens.
The game starts off with a Tutorial for new players that takes you through the process of building and destroying things, advisors and assistants, planning your finances, and disasters.
Next, the Missions Mode lets you hone certain aspects of your city building skills.
But some of these missions go on for far too long; in one, I had to build schools to increase my citizens education rate. When I did build several schools, colleges, libraries and museums all about the city and provided the power and water needed, the mission just kept on going. I just sat there wondering what else I needed to do.
After the Mission Mode, you can go into Free Play Mode where you create a city, get advisors. This is very much like the PC version; you start small and grow a huge city. SimCity fans will enjoy playing this mode.
The controls work well but you need to have a steady hand on the Wiimote.
Along the way, there are other problems with the Wii version. The city can get so huge that it taxes the system; scrolling through the city can get clunky and jerky.
Also, some of the loading screens get very long (most notably the one leading to advisors.)
And (in my opinion) $50 is too much for this game. The graphics are standard, and the gameplay isn't deep enough for a premium price tag.
Rent and try SimCity Creator, and judge it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Entertainment Done Right!

posted by ali5541 (DEARBORN, MI) Dec 20, 2008

Member since May 2008

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

SimCity Creator is what I call entertainment done right. It's all the fun of building a city without the need to get technical like the PC versions. This game is a great addition to the Wii family of Strategy games. This game is great because you also have the option to sit aside while having your advisers build the city for you. This game has only 1 and only 1 downfall, but it is a large one. The controls!!! The controls are terrible, it's extremely difficult to place down roads and even though their is the option of having the the grid show up on the screen like PC versions, it's useless if you don't have a good and steady hand. I'd say that if this problem were to be fixed, then ratings of this game will soar. Before I end off, I would like to mention that you can look at your city whenever you want by taking your plane and flying around. Plus you can destroy your city which can be great fun, their is a wide variety of ways you can do that and it's not the classic lighting, meteor shower, or robot. This game offers giant spike balls of death, hammers, and so much more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!,Bad Controls, But Very PLAYABLE

posted by Cnart216 (CLEVELAND, OH) Sep 27, 2008

Member since May 2008

24 out of 26 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

All the hype about the bad controls is true but there not that bad, and can be overcome to enjoy this sim Experience. If you love Sim City then you will Love this game. The game gives you loads of options for creating your city and some of the ZOOM up graphics look quite nice on the WII. The only really problem with this game is the controls but beleave me if your a SIM CITY fan then you'll just have to learn how to play the game in a different way, that being the WII remote. TRUST ME you can do it.

GRAPHICS: 8/10
CONTROL: 3/10
SOUND: 5/10
FUNFACTOR: 9/10
REPLAY: 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Better on PC

posted by jofuscis (Chicago, IL) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just alright, Honestly I have never found a SimCity game that has been better than the PC version, kudos for trying but this gamge is not the best choice for Wii, the controller is Clumbsy, and its scroll feature is too sensitve for long play.

I recommend passing this up, less you must have it, it is fun, just better in its original PC version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

May appeal to some

posted by scifiguy (MISHAWAKA, IN) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fine for kids or for someone who does not have a Sim City on a PC or MAC. If you have played on those, you will hate this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you're a huge SimCity Fan, pass this game.

posted by NolanFL (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I am a big SimCity fan and was very excited to see this game on the Wii. But SimCity just doesn't translate well from your PC to the Wii. There are lots of games that are great for the Wii, but this ain't one of em. The controls are much to difficult to use. There are not any new features in this SimCity version that we haven't seen before..in fact there are even less than than previous PC versions.

If you have never played any of the SimCity games before, give it a try... But if you've played any of the SimCities before, pass this up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm no....

posted by ashockley1 (LEXINGTON, SC) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you want this game but you would also want to get a different game at the same time, get the other one first. This game is too complicated and gets boring after about 10 minutes. You spend an hour building a city just for them to A.)Complain, or B.)There would be nothing else to do after that. It was like the creators of the sims game through it out there for a quick buck, I don't blame them, but if they don't use that money to create a really good game soon, I probably won't ever play these games again. 4out of 10 BOOOOOOO!Jk JK to my JK Jk ???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A different type of wii game

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Sep 29, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I had Sim City for the computer and i loved putting tornados and other types of hazardous things for a city. On this edition of that game for the wii you can pretty much do everything you could on the computer. Like putting tornados and earthquakes on your city. You can even drop a monster on your city, which looks like god zilla. You can create your own city or use one of the premade ones. And it has WiFi so you can play online but it isnt exciting online anyway. This game is kind of fun when you get to know the controls which actually if you watch the first tutorial it makes it very straight forward and easy to understand. So if you dont have anything else that is really good rent this but this game shouldnt be on the top of your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

If you like SimCity, you'll hate this game!

posted by Totemwolf (GRAND FORKS AFB, ND) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have played ever SimCity version since the game first came out over 10 years ago. This is by far the worst version.
The graphics are sub par for SimCity. The boxy repetitive graphics in the first version were in many ways less disappointing. The controls are very poor. The interaction with the sim-A/I itself as woefully lacking.

If you have never played or seen any version of SimCity, this game might be acceptable. However, if you have tried your hand at SimCity this game is a waste of time and money.
If you have never played the game before and try this one, please don't judge the whole SimCity collection based on this one poor excuse of a sim.

In truth, I wish the "SimCity" title was not even attach to this horrid mess of a game. Then I might find something redeeming in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst. SimCity. Ever.

posted by Nephas (CALDWELL, TX) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are an avid SimCity fan like most of my household, don't even bother with this game. It's all of the tedious aspects to the Sim, with the mentality of Viva Pinata!
The game offers low end graphics for a SimCity title, with virtually no functional control over your city. The Wii remote is a tough interface for this game, given the precision needed for proper city management You are expected to set "advisors" to control areas in the city, allowing them to control zoning, services and such.
And Leveling? Who ever heard of leveling in a SimCity game? There is so much that disappointed me about this game that I could go on for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING!

posted by gamrgrl09 (ELGIN, TX) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was awful! It took 8 days for it to get to my house and we only live a couple of miles away from the shipping factory!

I know on the screenshots the game doesn't look that bad...but wait until you actually play it.

I thought that you could built houses and everything, but you cant. Just to build a little fraction of the city it would take you about 3 days to finish. I dont recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

confusing

posted by renz08 (CORDOVA, TN) Sep 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was very confusing. kept building my city but was not progressing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I like sims games but this sucks!

posted by Simsfan92 (MIDDLETOWN, MD) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I sent out my first game and could not wait to get Sim City creator! When I got it I took it out of the envelope as fast as I could! When I first played it the game was so much fun. When I woke up in the morning I could not wait to play it again. But when I did, it reminded me of one of those MYSIMS games witch I hate! So I stuck it in the mail box and sent it right back. Just another lesson learned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Like it a little.

posted by minecrafter65 (BRIDGEWATER, MA) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2012

So, I like it and all,the caveand dynasty age but, there's not enough. It should be like Halo Wars, when you have a com vs. you while you go through ages. I'm not saying it's bad. It's just that it needs more things.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

some games dont translate

posted by yuckyjake (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

I rented dawn of discovery(wii) and found it to be a near copy of the PC game 1701. It did have wii problems though, as the wiimote needs a steady hand, and the screen loading takes longer as a Pc seems to have faster ram. This sim game has similar difficulties, as the curser "paints" the building zones ( for which you need a steady hand), and the screen loading can be slow. If you are used to PC versions you might be unimpressed, even dissapointed. however, the extensiveness and depth of play rivals any sim building game and my kids enjoyed the disaster plans (more the demolision than construction). It can be a good jumping off point for other sims.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boo

posted by dude52 (LEXINGTON, IL) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this is a horribly bad game. you have to hold the remote just perfect or it won't work and the police and firemen don't do a thing they just drive and that is how my city got destroyed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love it, but not enough time

posted by morty3 (OELWEIN, IA) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

We love the game, the whole Sim City thing. Problem is, we don't have the time to commit to playing the game. It's a good game for those rare days when you've got all day with nothing else to do. Learning the controls takes a day by itself. I'd recommend "buy used" so you don't have to rush through and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by stephrk (ALBION, IN) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

I like simcity, but this stinks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best story ever

posted by kermitzack (EL PASO, TX) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I have played this game and it is very entertaining. you get to start out with just grass but sometimes it gives you a lake you can even play against friends and fly in planes on top of your city at night everything lights up and you can distroy everything in your way you can use tornadoes and aliens and robots even dinosaurs
I think its a fun easy way to build cityies without leaving your house
and thats true and have and if you do get this game oh and happy halloween or christmas or valentines day or whatever holiday it is when you read this :-[]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...

posted by PeterHandi (NORTH WEYMOUTH, MA) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is foul. if only the rate can go below 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks worst than that one game gta one

posted by razor8581 (BLACKSHEAR, GA) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This is the lamest exscuse for a game. If i had to chose between playin this game and lookin down the barrel of an ar-15 assault rifle well let me just tell you its not goin to be playin simcity creator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Liked better the first time when it was Simcity 3

posted by LNCrusader (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jun 21, 2010

Member since May 2008

I love the SimCity series of games. It was the main part of my inspiration to become a computer programmer. Alas, you would think that a SimCity game on the Wii would be a no brainer, but evidently it is not. Everything the rest of the comments complain about is right on target. The graphics are sketchy and the controls are horrible; which is probably the most disappointing. You would think that with the point and click features of the Wiimote, that it would be an easy transition from the mouse, but the controls were jerky at best. Hopefully they make SimCity 2 and fix everything that was broke in this iteration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Free mode review

posted by jasonlock0 (BALLWIN, MO) May 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This game is fun but its not like you can control a person in your city or control the crime. All you do is creat a city and then destroy it. So the games fun but I wouldn't suggest it to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

DESTRUCTION! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

posted by Superstar7 (BIGFORK, MT) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

The city building gets tedious and boring after 2-3 city atemts, but the disasters never get old. It is always fun and a good way to blow off steam when you uleash drill, meteors, and giant ilammas(?) on your city. Now if you will excuse me, I must go unleash illamageddon on some poor, unsuspecting sims. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointing Game, No Real Thrill

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I rented Sim City in the hopes that I could have a good city simulation, but when I got it, I was really dissapointed. Even though your city grows, there isn't really any thrill that there is in other simulation games. Basically, the whole game is just watching your population grow, while you continue to just place objects and buildings all over the place. There are a few missions that you can play, but they aren't that interesting.

Don't rent the game. There is no real thrill, and you won't enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse