Rent SimCity Creator for DS
view large frontback

SimCity Creator

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
4.8

333 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad

posted by ilovewii (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I liked it, having four or five different ages of cities to play as changes it up and makes it fun and interesting. I also like choosing from europe, asia, mid east, or america as you advance through the ages. all the different civs play a little different too. Americas more industrialized than europe and mid east. This one also doesn't have all the annoying people complaining about every little thing five times each. And no stupid little mini games.
Graphics are ok not the greatest: 6.5
Game play is fun and addictive: 7
Theres stuff to go back to and other different civs to play as so it makes u want to come back and play it, so i give it an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A City Sim for the Ages

posted by Guiltl3ss (SPOKANE, WA) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Sim City has been strong for nearly two decades and has gone through many iterations. The latest, Sim City Creator for the DS is no exception.

The Premise is quite simple: build a city and make your people happy and safe. Anyone who has played Sim City before, however, knows this is not all the simple. With mass transit networks, public services, parks, zoning, and disasters, the game is quite complex. Sim City Creator (SCC) has two modes where you will be doing this: Challenge Mode and Freeplay. Challenge mode has goals for each stage of your city and allows you to unlock additional maps/time periods for Free Play. Free Play is a sandbox mode for a particular time period and is more akin to traditional Sim City.

Challenge Mode really makes the DS Sim City stand out from it's predecessors, as it makes the game MUCH more accessible. You start out with Stone Age people and can only build roads and housing. Gradually you get more buildings as needed and it steadily ramps up the difficulty. You transition to different time periods and the process starts all over again. You also get to choose how you advance. There are two medieval and three different industrial ages, changing the game slightly and adding replayability.

The controls work fairly well. I did use the undo feature a lot as the accuracy of the stylus leaves some to be desired. THe sound and music of the game is very SIm City, so if you like it there will be no problem. If not, playing without sound is easy; disasters will stop gameplay.

Overall, the game is quite good and is worth a try. IF you like SIm City, you'll love this (at least for 8-10 hours), but if you're not into city simulators you might want to look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

simcity creator review

posted by fablenight (FORT LEONARD WOOD, MO) May 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

In this game you come into a small town that can grow into a huge city. there are 2 ways to play,challenge or freeplay. in challenge you start from the dawn of civilation. then you move to either european renaissance or open asia age you complete all three by gaining population. then you move to the european industrial age, american prosperity age or asia development age. final you move to present day this is a tough time you have to worry about all lot but most of all pollution. use trees parks and others to overcome it. you complete those by reaching 100% in approval.in freeplay you chose from the time periods you beat in challenge chose an avalible map then build.you must over come natural disasters such as earthquakes tornadoes riots and more in both modes. build massive landmarks and amaze your sims.make your city big good and powerful.passwords can unlock more maps NOT TIME PERIODS.here is a password that helps me it makes you get 99999999 dollars you go to opitoins then go to the bottom final click on passwords and type in moneybags all CAPS.that is the review i hope helps you.this is fablenight signing off see you later

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Strangely Addicting

posted by cttvnerd (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

One of those games that on the surface there isn't much to it - and yet you end up playing it for hours because it is so addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doesn't feel much different than the original

posted by ekc12ekc12 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game feels pretty much like you are playing the original Sim Cities. There is a character who pops up to give you advice, the city grid is set up the same way, and you build and progress through time in a similar way. They only difference is the going through time aspect. The novelty of this aspect fades very quickly. There is nothing new or exciting in this version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Complicated

posted by rbascor (TAMPA, FL) Dec 18, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The game was too complicated to understand without a manual. No tutorial to get started with and very frustrating.

Good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SimCity Creator

posted by ravenclawpikmin (ELK GROVE, CA) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I remember when my DS was my main gaming choice. I was trying to get as many games as possible that seemed interesting. When I saw the commercial for SimCity Creator, I was all for grabs. When I plugged it in, it was a huge disappointment.

First of all, the style is boring. You have a pixely over-head look of the map. On my game, all that was there was a whole mess of tress, a river with "fish" jumping out of it, and orange-ish fields with "deer." My eyesight is not the best, but when I looked at the screen, I thought my vision had went totally fuzzy.

Second, the building. You just have to open a menu, and all you're looking at is a bunch of multi-colored squares. You have to move the stylus to make a lot, that, seemingly, NEVER gets built on. So you'll end up with yellow areas all over your map.

But, most importantly, the thing that ruins it all: disasters. I'm talking about things like floods, earthquakes, fires, tornadoes, and riots. There seems to be one every five minutes. So if you actually LIKE this game, and spend all of your time building massive cities, get ready to start all over, because disasters will screw you up.

Overall, if you like pixley, tedious, long, and repetitive building games that make you have to rebuild every minute, this is the game for you. You could rent it if you want, but whatever you do, DO NOT buy this game. It's a waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game to have on the go.

posted by Legoguy (WESTBOROUGH, MA) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This is a great game the only problem is in free play you don't have like any money. You have to enter the cheat code MONEYBAGS just to have fun. But once you enter the password at the menu and you build a city you can do whatever you want. I filled up everything. I liked the game so much I'm renting it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sim City Creator

posted by Gamer7245 (MOUNT PLEASANT, PA) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

This game is not for young kids it would be very diffcult. You need to know a lot of math, creating, and cunstruction skills to play this game. It's fun but not if you don't understand it. There are lots of parts were you need to read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ninjaforce (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I liked what it said about the game on the commercials, but when i played it i realised that it was SUPER BORING!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by horseplay9 (BLUE JAY, CA) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this game is terrible you dont get to do anything but watch the people die and be born this game should be rated adults only it is so innappropriate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »