Rent SimAnimals for Wii
view large frontback

SimAnimals

Not Rentable
Also on:DS
GF Rating
4.6

1114 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sandbox micromanagement like only the Sims could do

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jan 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

If you've played the Sims series (any of them for that matter) you know that Will Wright enjoys the minutia of ordinary things. Micromanaging cities, towns, ants and, of course, people is what the Sims are all about. SimAnimals is no different, although the game seems much simpler and direct than other games in the series.
The structure of the game takes you to various areas of the forest, growing plants, befriending animals and keeping everybody happy. If you do well, you'll fill up your happy bar and unlock a new area, eventually earning a medal for a full meter. Each new animal has a set of objectives you can complete which earn you medals as well. These unlock special plants that have unusual effect upon the environment or animals.
While the game is accessible and makes good use of the Wii motion controls, there are problems with the functionality of the game. Planting seeds, collecting sticks from trees or petting animals require you to shake the Wiimote over the given area and the game has trouble registering these motions. I also found it quite tedious to continually plant seeds, please animals and manually place everything in my backpack.
If there's one real problem with the game, it's the odd paradox between playful animal fun and realistic animal kingdom. Each of the animals has it's own cute name and you're encouraged to play with them so they trust you. Of course, once a predator wanders in, it will likely eat your furry little friends as the game asks you to befriend the wolf or bear that just ate Cuddles the rabbit. Better yet, you can pick up a squirrel or bird that looked at you the wrong way and throw it a starving weasel. It makes me wonder if we're supposed to care for the animals or look at them as objective resources.
The game isn't all that hard and not at all long. Collecting all the medals will take some time, but your rewards for doing so are minimal.
It's an intriguing and functional diversion. But that's all it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controls??

posted by GamesRock (NORTH WILKESBORO, NC) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was very excited about this game. It was on the top of my list just waiting to get it. Once I did, I could only stand playing for about 20 minutes before the controls made me want to throw my Wii remote across the room! Very difficult to move and get the angles you need even when using the nunchuk! Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Frustrating controls, but mildly fun and addictive

posted by hippibilly (KENNESAW, GA) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Like most of the other reviewers, I was excited when I heard about this game. Let it be known, though, that I've never played a Sim game. Apparently, if you are a big fan of Sim games, you might not care for this one.
I wish that I'd have had the user's manual, I think it would have helped me to get started. The tutorial mode is a little tedious and you HAVE to complete all of the tutorial tasks when you start a new game. Even if you already know what you're doing.
The controls are, well, squirrely..(forgive me). Even after hours of play, I get REALLY frustrated when trying to move around and complete my tasks. It's REALLY hard to tell where you are on the map, it would be helpful if there was a mini-map with a "you are here" icon in each area. I'm an uptight person, so I wound up sketching a map of each area on paper.
You have to be careful about which animals live where. If you aren't, you will spend ALL of your time planting seeds and seeing your animals fight.
Every time you complete a task, you get new animals and plants. All of these animals/plants like certain foods and environments. You will work your tail off trying to keep everyone happy and keeping your forest well-manicured. I wound up having to make copious notes for every area of the forest. That was the only way that I didn't get mind-boggled was to make a written plan and stick to it. You really have to be a multi-tasker. If you spend too much time say, petting animals, all of your flowers will get eaten up and the rats will move in to eat all of your crops you just spent 30 minutes planting. Beware of the invasive plants, and I'd suggest keeping plenty of seeds in your pack. Certain flowers and trees are very rare.
I think, overall, the game is pretty fun if you are a very meticulous, goal-minded person. I think that if you go into each area with clear objectives in mind, you will get more done and get more satisfaction out of the game.
I thought the game was fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yikes...

posted by Tifluvnick (WHEATON, IL) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It was a sorry attempt at Viva Pinata. Every animal is attracted in essentially the same way. You will lose interest in about 10 minutes after starting. Dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is sad

posted by diddledoop (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't like how some animals kill the smaller animals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SiMediocrity Animals

posted by KingJulian (CORONA, CA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

On paper, the idea seemed good but its execution in style and substance leads to another Wii title destined to be in the WalMart bargain bin just in time for the 2009 Christmas.

The rule of "know your audience" seems to have been left out in the design of the game. Adults will become quickly bored by the repetitive tasks assigned to characters and environments. Children will be confused by the controls and lack of replay value.

The graphics are somewhat good. The animations of the animals can be sometimes funny and exaggerated at times.

The main frustration, for me, came from the lack of any distinctiveness among the creatures themselves, especially when other similar animals begin to enter the environments you are working in. All the small creatures looked similar to each other and the only way to find out which animal was which was to go into a DISCOVERY mode where you clicked on a on-screen button, which causes all the animals to "freeze" and THEN you click on an animal to reveal its name and habits and likes/dislikes. It may have been better to give the animals different colors or body patterns so that you only have to have to DISCOVER the animal only once and not repeat the tedious DISCOVERY mode over and over again. This repetitiveness is only of the major drawbacks to the game appeal.

The camera angles were not much better as at times, it was difficult to tell where you were in the environment. One wrong turn of the the nunchuck stick or main controller, and it took a while to determine where exactly one was in the environment. The game mechanics are worse. Instead of digging a hole, dropping a seed in and covering it with water, the game play just required you to "rub" over the seed with your onscreen hand cursor which is so similar to how you have "fun" with the animals or find seeds in the first place.

An interesting idea but a lack of fun and entertainment value leads to another Wii title worthy only of a few hours rental and quick return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent for younger Audiences

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 28, 2009

Member since May 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sim Animal is more entertaining for the younger audiences. The controls are pretty simple, you can use the Wii remote to do everything and the Nunchuck is optional. The Wii remote aims/navigates the hand around the map, which it also, picks up animals, pets animals, picks up trees, picks up food for the animals, and basically everything you interact with comes from aiming and using the motion feature on the Wii remote to interact with objects. The Nunchuck eases navigating threw the screen, which also helps with zooming in and out of the screen.

Sim Animal places you in a large forest, and your prime goal is to help the animals and vegetation remain happy. The more you help the animals by feeding them, petting them, or keeping them out of dangers the more the animals will trust you. Once they trust you enough other portions of the forest open up to you, and more animals come out.

Electronic Arts, EA has designed a very well composed game. The AI behavior in all the animals are all unique, brilliant, and with tons an tons of animals. From domesticated ones, such as, cats and dogs, too wild life birds, rabbits, and bears. The nicer you are to the animals by helping them, keeping dangers away, and feeding them you will be able pet and play with the animals. If you are cruel to them or neglect them they will leave an wont come back until you have played nice. You have to maintain plants also, keep them in fertile areas with other plants and you also plant seeds to grow new plants for the forest animals to survive on.

There is a Multiplayer function that allows 4 players to play in the forest all on one screen. Which allows you to basically do the small objectives more quickly.

In my opinion the game is really for young ones. I played the game for about 5 minutes then got bored out of my mind. Parents would really like this game cause you wouldn't have to worry about a rabbit popping up out of its hole and running down the other critters with a Uzi in its, paw?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sim Animals

posted by camping (MILPITAS, CA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I thought it would be easy for my 3 year old grandson to do like the Diego one, but this one is hard to do. It is only easy if you use the nunchuck to move around. It is hard to use just the main remote for moving around & picking up stuff at the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sim Animals

posted by 3859rl (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a interesting game, worth renting. After unlocking about five levels, it get very old. Interesting to play for a while though. Really a matter of opinion. You could love it or you can hate it. Try it out though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting, educational, and fun - kid friendly

posted by MrBigD (RENTON, WA) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kids love this thing, I laugh and have fun.

A lot like Endless Ocean, but on land and more than one player can get on and you don't have to go back to that boat to find out what is next AND you don't get lost. See below on the multiplayer stuff. So it has all the fun stuff of EO and some more fun stuff EO is missing such as the animals get in little fights and want to find a mate. Not weird, sappy, or scary for anything that happens - a good approach that doesn't raise questions or get the kids upset. To relate again to EO, you learn and need to reference the book you keep on occasion to achieve the goals. Not hard and you don't need to

You have little jobs to help things along. You can apparently train the animals to always be friendly - a bit time consuming - or you can let natural things happen which I enjoyed. The first time you see a fight may be confusing, but then you realize that another animal may have disappeared. If your kid is aware that this will happen, then they are OK with it unless they are truly attached to an animal. But, they can prevent that from happening if they keep an eye on things which my kids figured out fairly quickly. Besides, a new animal pops in and they forget that something happened.

There is no blood or gore, just a mist of dust then 1 disappears. There is also a way to have the animals find a mate - you help them meet and they will show they love each other then a baby just appears after a heart floats by. Again, no questions are raised (from kids 4 to 8). :)

Multi-player is irritating, but everyone can do something at the same time. Everyone can move plants, plant seeds, feed animals, shake animals (funny with the beaver), etc. The key is to only let 1 player move the camera (your viewpoint) otherwise everyone moves non-stop and you just get irritated as your little seed goes out of view or you lose your little chance to pet a bird or something. My oldest loves the game - we may choose to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not the best!

posted by OptimusPrime501 (PAINESVILLE, OH) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I was excited for this game when it first came out i played it for about 3 hours and loved it but the controls are annoying and some of the animal make me angry like the bears just walk around killing every animal! so if they make another they need to fix a few things!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

You'll get bored eventually.

posted by gameking26 (LIGONIER, PA) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I got this game being a huge fan of the sims; thinking you could customize your own animal....I was wrong. The controls are confusing and anoying. The grapics are fine. and if you kill an animal it can mess up the entire game and make you start over. You'll get extremely bored with this gae withing a month,trust me.
This is a strictly RENT ONLY GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible, boring game

posted by PunkGamer7 (EVERETT, WA) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2003

I just received this game today and I was excited to play it, and now not so much. I THOUGHT this game would be like the SimAnimals: Africa, but it is not! There is nothing fun about this game, and I will be sending this game back tomorrow morning. I am very unsatisfied with this, and personally I think they should have made it like Africa. You cannot control the animals that I enjoyed doing in Africa, and there is no real story or theme behind the game. If Electronic Arts plans to make another one of these games, they should remake this one like SimAnimals Africa. Period. This game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SimAnimals

posted by FILLYGRL56 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I rented this game thinking it would be more like the real Sims game. Its not. If you are between 7 and 12, you will like the mindlessness, of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOOOOOO

posted by deltaspike (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

verry pointless bad controls and dumb point

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT PLAY THIS GAME IF YOU LIK SIMS

posted by djmat308 (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this game is absolutly horrible i thought you get to pick ur own animal and u get to rase it ur self and make a family its not like that u have 2 take care of other anamals and make them like you its horrible dont play this game if u want to keep the spirets of sims

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Games Sucks Eggs

posted by malik216 (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

This game is one of the worst games I've ever played. I am a big fan of Sim games but so far this is the worst I have played. I do not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by Kirridia (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

my daughters liked this game a lot, the only complaint was that the 2 player mode did not have a split screen so they both had to play in the same area all the tim

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating!

posted by Puritychil (Carson City, NV) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

The controls and camera angle of this game are frustrating. I like the idea of the game but everything is so crammed together you end up accidenly watering a squirrel or feeding an acorn to a cat. I was more entertained by the ds version of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

alexandra/valerie

posted by familyman1 (ALVARADO, TX) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

it was agood game except for that there's no way to save it whenever i got to a far level i had to start all over so thats pretty much all the rest of it was pretty good thanks for sending it to me.

From,
Your Satisfied Customer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sim Animals

posted by AryahLynn (Pleasant Hope, MO) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

really enjoyed it. Had fun with it. Have to get animals to really like you. and has a story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible!!!

posted by dysownd (COHASSET, MN) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

OK, this is a perfect example of a waste of software. There is no point to this game at all! You make friends with animals, you can put them in your backpack, and thats it. I'm sorry, but this is not recommended for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It was fine until....

posted by mrbigtime (FAYETTEVILLE, GA) May 27, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

....my 7 year old freaked because a rabbit got eaten by a wolf. A little too close to the circle of life for young kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not for me

posted by pronex (GREENVILLE, SC) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game in my opinion was really boring. There is just not much to do and it gets old VERY quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hated this game

posted by duckair (DURHAM, CT) May 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

I only played it for ten minnutes and i couldnt stand it. I have only had it in my house less than 24 hours and it is comming back to you. it is to difficult to play with all the controlers and it is the same thing over and over and over again there is nothing different with how you can get the animals or plant things or anything for that matter its to reppetitive so its comming back to you this is one of the worst games that wii has made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse