Rent Silent Hill: Shattered Memories for Wii
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS2
GF Rating
6.2

2001 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Innovative ideas, some broken elements

posted by nickux (ATGLEN, PA) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

22 out of 22 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is a welcomed reboot to the original design which, after many sequels, had lost its way. Shattered Memories puts players back in the shoes of a very vulnerable Harry Mason.
Yes, the original protagonist is back. The story begins much like the original- Harry Mason is involved in a car crash, his daughter Cheryl goes missing and, as he searches for her, Harry stumbles into the town of Silent Hill. The similarities pretty much stop there. While Shattered Memories shares the Silent Hill moniker and many of the key characters, the game is an entirely new experience. Franchise purists might cry foul at the idea of trading the series' trademark otherworld of rust and decay for this new, frozen version of Silent Hill but players willing to embrace the reboot will be rewarded with a unique experience.
While looking for his daughter, Harry will visit empty schools, shopping malls devoid of life, dilapidated amusement parks, and all manner of creepy locales.
One of Shattered Memories' most unique attributes is the addition of psychological profiling. Players attend sessions with a therapist who is there to help cope with the incident that occurred in Silent Hill. The good doctor will issue a series of tests, some getting rather personal. For example, one test includes a simple word association. Choose the words that best describe how you were during high school. The answers given to these questions will affect the rest of the game.

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories does some truly innovative and exciting things for the Wii. While it's a shame things like the psychological profiling and great pointer control come at the expense of puzzle design and sense of terror, the game makes up for it with an incredible story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So Far, So Great

posted by CoinOp (WILMINGTON, DE) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

27 out of 30 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

First I'd like to say that I'm about an hour and a half in, so I haven't finished it yet, but so far this is the best survival horror game I've played in years, heck, this is fast becoming my favorite survival horror game of all time! (Right after Resident Evil 2, of coarse!)

So let me just give you a few examples on why this is a great survival horror game:

1. Creepy atmosphere, the dark snowy streets of Silent Hill are just plain scary, and the indoor segments are unsettling, as you uncover clues to what makes Silent Hill such a bad place to get lost in

2. The Nightmare bits, are freakin' heart pounding! Unlike new horror games, you can't fight the monsters that are chasing after you, you have to run and shake them off when they grab you, but they cannot be killed. And the Nightmare parts are like mazes, so it's very easy to get lost and to be running through or past the same monsters very easy.

3. Puts the Survival back in Survival Horror, seeing as enemies aren't dropping thousands of rounds of ammo for your suitcase full of guns, and with very slow regenerating health, if the monsters swarm you, consider yourself dead. (And what they do to you after you die, yeeeeeesh!)

So essentially, I am very glad I bought this game, and that is not usually the case when it comes to Wii games (Alone in the Dark Wii anyone?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for everyone

posted by jalapeno (FAIRFAX, VA) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Obviously, the game has its flaws. The ending is a little "really?" and if you get lost in the nightmare sections it can really mess you up. Also would have been nice if it was longer. Many criticize the lack of weapons but I think it's a great decision. After all, they went so far to make the get the controls to make you feel like it's you controlling this guy. And chances are you're not gonna run into buildings firing away at monsters if this were really you. The controls are great--they actually make you manage your fear. If you thrash around like a madman you'll get nothing done. But quick, controlled motions will accomplish what you want to do. This game has some of my most memorable gaming moments. And also pay attention to your psychological analysis. It just may reflect the course of events in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Traditional Silent Hill this is not.

posted by Gilgameshh (CINCINNATI, OH) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you go into Silent Hill: Shattered Memories expecting the traditional tank controls protagonist with a pipe in the midst of a bunch of a child's psychological cult monsters, you're going to be disappointed. Silent Hill: SM is a flawed gem, and the only reason I'm giving it an 8 is based on how much I loved the story. Trust me, it's enough to redeem the repetitive sections.
The flaws of this game are the ice world sections. At first, they were tense and frightening. The no combat aspect really helps to put you on edge. But, each ice world section is more or less the same, and I never even payed attention to the hiding mechanic. It stops being scary and starts being very FRUSTRATING. You end up turning yourself around a lot, before you figure out the 'bread crumbs' each ice world level gives you. Each time you die, you just start back at the beginning of that ice level. The last ice world section of the game was one of the most frustrating parts in recent gaming I've put myself through.
Though, the game is still redeemable. The atmosphere is incredibly eerie and bleak, which fits the story of the game perfectly. Silent Hill is still very ghost town-like, and the presence of snow helps the cold, lonely feel of it all to hit home. The story is, at its core, still Silent Hill 1. They tweaked a few things, but never strayed from the original formula of the first game (aside from crazy cultist stuff). At the end of the game, after the big reveal at the lighthouse, I felt myself frozen in my seat for a few minutes. It's a very depressing ending, and depending on the ending you get, it could be even more so. The story is worth the wade through the tedious ice world sections, which are pretty short once you get the hang of them.
There are a lot of things they didn't do right with Silent Hill: SM, but the things they DID do right certainly outweigh the flaws. You're either going to love this game or hate it, and I know I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Frustrating

posted by Templar0384 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a SH fan of the first three games, I am really disappointed with this one. I don't like the story/character changes one bit.

The most frustrating part are the nightmare sequences where you are chased by really plain looking monsters and you have no way to kill them or heal yourself. They jump on you and you have to shake them off with the wii mote and nunchuck which is harder than it sounds. They slow you down and then a bunch of other monsters creep up and jump on you, too. So you're pretty much screwed when they're all gathered around you. Flares help, but there's not nearly enough to last the whole time. The more they grab you the more damage you take and the slower you run. To add insult to injury most of the corridors look all the same so it feels like you're going in circles, as it's pretty easy to get turned around. You'll work up a sweat doing this both from physically waving the wii mote and from the frustration. Other than that I can't describe how upsetting these sequences were. I gave up during one in the middle of the game and am sending the disc back.

Other things I disliked about the game was that you have to listen to messages on your phone, but most of them were unintelligible because of static.

I also thought some of the questions were too personal. I wouldn't recommend playing this with someone or having someone watch you play it, because some of the questions are about your sexuality and it can be a tad uncomfy.

I did like how interactive the game was and I was interested in learning more about the story, but that doesn't make up for how unplayable this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Would be the best Silent Hill-if it were the first

posted by DocHoliday (Omaha, NE) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I can with hesitation say that this is the best use of the Wii controls in any game I've played. If you're familiar with the Silent Hill gameplay, then you'll understand how using the controller as a flashlight really heightens the feeling of "being in the game".

Add to it that there are a few (very few) objects that you can interact with in a physical manner. You hold A+B to grab objects (drawers and such) and manipulate them with the stick. Not a new concept for Wii games, but well done and well integrated into the Silent Hill genre.

I say this would be the best Silent Hill if it were the first because there have been five Silent Hills already and players have come to expect certain things as well as become tired of certain things. If you come into this game with a clean slate, then it will fascinate and intrigue you. If you come in with the baggage of previous Silent Hills, then it will feel familiar and something will certainly urk you.

In most of the Silent Hills, you can "beat on" the monsters that assault you. In this one you can not. The "otherworld" scenes that Silent Hill players are accustom to are now just chase scenes. In a way it is refreshing because it allows you to explore the "normal" world without physical fear, just psychological fascination. But it also removes that sense of fear from just. walking around.

The story itself is interesting enough. It doesn't stand up to the wealth of perverse scenarios brought up in the previous game, but unlike them, it makes some sense in the end; which is a good thing.

To conclude, if you've never played Silent Hill, play this one first; it's worth it. If you've played Silent Hill before, try to to forget you have and play this one with an open mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Go Visit Silent Hill

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Come on over to Silent Hill, the perfect place where all your nightmares come true. You can spend your day wandering about this winter wonderland and your nights meeting up with several ghouls that want to eat you up.
To get to Silent Hill, all you have to do is drive out with a kid you love a lot (10 or younger) and totally wreck your car. That’s when the fun begins as you search for that kid all over town.
Silent Hill the perfect place to get away from it all (Now back to our original review).
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is an action/puzzle game where you play as a guy who has to search through the town of Silent Hill for his seven year old daughter. He has to find keys, unlock doors, solve puzzles, and not get sacked by several zombie like creatures.
You also take a few rounds with a psychiatrist who gives you tests on your personality, like coloring a picture and answering true/false questions. The game uses the information to adjust the storyline to try to make you feel very queasy and uncomfortable (It works for me.)
The best parts of the game are the puzzles - easily some of the most ingenious and fresh I’ve seen this year. The game also shows great atmosphere and scenic viewpoints as you try to make your way through each and every level. It would be good if there was more to explore.
However, there are problems with this game. The biggest gripe I have is the parts where you have to outrun those zombie like creatures. It’s nothing more than trial and error - and error and error and error as I try to find out which way to go.
And there are some inconsistencies with the story, (Don’t wear sleeveless blouse in sub zero weather).
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is a great horror/action/puzzle game, and fans of such games ought to book a reservation. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Manipulative, chilling, and strikingly innovative.

posted by JTurner82 (HIGHLAND PARK, NJ) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Anyone who thinks that third-party publishers can't put out a half decent Wii game owe it to themselves to give SILENT HILL: SHATTERED MEMORIES a spin. It is arguably one of my favorite Wii games to be released this year, and it is... well, not what you would even expect. Alternating between sessions with a psychiatrist and exploring a frozen town, this game has some of the best graphics I've seen on the Wii in a long time. The soundtrack is similarly excellent, with Akira Yamaoka providing a chilling, moody score and voice actors bringing real life to their characters. The controls are also outstanding; even though your only weapon in the game is a flashlight (actually, to call it a weapon would be an exaggeration), the controls never once feel broken; this is a smooth and flawless as it gets. You even get to use a cellphone! What really makes this game is the ability to make choices over what kind of person you are (it starts out with a questionnaire asking you about your friendliness, sexual nature, faithfulness, etc.); this means that there are multiple endings in the game, each of which differ depending on what questions you answer. The only thing that might work against this game is that its length isn't long enough, but the fact that you can come back to this game multiple times to unlock new secrets makes up for that by far. If you miss out on SILENT HILL: SHATTERED MEMORIES, you're missing out on one of the very best Wii games of the year. It will not only blow you away, it will toy with your mind in ways you'll never expect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best scary games ever

posted by animefan (CLARK MILLS, NY) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

silent hill shattered memories is one of the scariest games i ever played. the game starts you off in psychologists office then he makes you talk about yourself. then he makes you start talking where it all happened. the you wake up after a car crash and you find your daughter sharal missing this was the first silent hill game that has snow in it.finally the monsters there creepier then ever and you cant fight the your only chance of surviving is to run as fast is you can but there is also flares you can use to blind the monsters so you can get a head start but there are only a few in the area so use them wisely .its hard to tell where your going because you cant check the map to tell where you need to go so you just run randomly around to every place you see. you can also take pictures of gosts. sometimes you hear the wii remote rumbling that means that you are near a lost memory then you can hear peoples memories when they were at that place.this game has very deep story that the suspense will kill you. these are the reasons i give this game a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better than the SH4, but not SH1 or 2

posted by Seriatim (SOLON, ME) May 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

So the creators of Silent Hill, in an effort to get out of the rut they were in, decided to switch things up a bit. They thought "How about, instead of fighting monsters, you have to run away?". It is good in theory, but in practice it falls short.

The parts that do not involve running for your life are actually quite interesting, and the use of the remote as your flashlight is done quite well. However, when the world ices over for no apparent reason, you are then running through doorways and over ledges, hoping you eventually find the right path out. This would not be bad except for two things, 1. when monsters attack and injure you, you slow down, this causing the monsters to catch you quicker, and 2. there is nothing to guide you through the maze of corridors except trial and error. Oh, sure, supposedly you can access your cell phone map, and listen to the static to guide you, but in reality you do not have time to do this. The game does not pause when you access your phone, and the static does not guide you on the right path, but rather on how close you are to the exit. So, you might be 10 feet from the exit, but it could be on the other side of a wall, Instead of telling which way to go, the static merely gets louder when you are looking at the wall, in short, making it useless. This aspect becomes extremely frustrating, especially when coupled with the throwing motion you have to do to throw off the critters that attack you. Sometimes when you make the mother, the Wii takes a second or two to reacquire the pointer, meaning you can't turn. That second or two is sometimes all it takes before getting attacked again.
If you can suffer through the iced over world and demon attacks, the rest of the game is quite interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, just short

posted by paintballs (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

1: Graphics. The Atmosphere is just what you would expect from a silent hill game, transitions to ice world is good, surrounding detail is excellent (if you pay attention), and overall it just gets you in the horror game mood. Graphics are low par, but what can you expect from a Wii game. The monsters were cool at first, until you realize that there is only one type that gets re-skinned.

2: Story. Here's where this game shines.I find the main thing that makes me strive to continue on with the game is the story. It is very interesting and pretty much brand new from the original game. This game leaves you with so many questions during the story and all is explained in the ending in masterful fashion.

3: Sound. I wasn't terribly impressed by the sound in this game, the music was fine but the sounds that the monsters made just sounded dumb. The voice acing wasn't bad either, but it seems like the girls had very childish lines. Also the static sound (that comes when monsters are near) comes from the Wii remote, it was a good idea but it just sounds annoying this close to you and you will find yourself switching it to the TV.

4: Gameplay. Another selling point of this game would be the gameplay. As you know this game has no weapons (besides a flare if you count it) and you have to run from monsters chasing you. I must admit that this a good idea and its fun and works well with the game. It gives you that adrenaline rush when running from monsters and looking back behind you, I was taken in. The other part of the gameplay is the running around and exploring/puzzles. They add fun little things like unlocking a door, rolling down car windows, shaking items out of a container, they really utilize the Wii's capabilities.

5: Replayability. And here is where it falls. It's cool how your decisions can affect how characters look/ act and the ending, but it's just not enough to keep you playing more than twice max. The story took me 4 hours to beat my first run, that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good Idea Gone Wrong

posted by Meredith (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I missed the last generation of consoles, and with it the beloved Silent Hill series. So I was looking forward to this retelling of the first game; I was also intrigued by the idea of the game profiling me while I played. However, by the end of the second nightmare sequence I was mostly just frustrated and only continued on to see the ending (which was a major let down).

The empty town of Silent Hill is unnerving at first, until you realise that nothing can hurt you. Then the darkness is just an annoyance. The above mentioned nightmare sequences are supposed to provide the horror, but only succeed in providing a lot of frustration and confusion. The monsters weren't scary, they were just a source of added stress as I ran through the levels trying to find the exit. Fear of failure =/= scares.

The Wii motion controls do work really well in this game and I enjoyed the integration of the cell phone features. The therapy sessions were also an interesting addition and I would have replayed the game to see what changes the different choices caused if I hadn't been so relieved to finish the thing once.

When I finally got to the ending, I was looking forward to finding out where my choices had taken me and what my profile would look like, but the ending cut scene was only about 30 seconds long. I found that extremely disappointing.

Rent the game if you're curious about how it plays you, or a Silent Hill fan, but don't look for an engrossing survival horror experience and get a walkthrough to guide you through the icy nightmares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As deep as Silent Hill 2

posted by BridgetBoy (CROWLEY, LA) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game's story is one of the best in the series, and is on par with Silent Hill 2's.

If you are a Silent Hill fan, or a fan of psychological thrillers, this is exactly for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A true, hardcore let down of a game....

posted by Supreme (WORCESTER, MA) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well, before I start on this review, I have to ask... Are we seriously talking about the same game? I have been playing video games since the early 80's and his game, to me, in my honest opinion, is by far one of the worst games I have ever played. I mean don't get me wrong, I am a huge fan of the Silent Hill series and the game had some great ideas, but this game just flat out sucked.
I mean, first off, I found myself more frustrated with the controls than anything else. The camera controls mainly. Most of the time I found myself either running in circles or just running right into a corner.
Second, would be the story. I was highly disappointed with where the developers had taken the story line. Now, had this been a new game that was developed, instead of a Silent Hill game, then I might have enjoyed it a slight bit more.
I would recommend just renting this game first, before wasting your money buying it. You have been warned...
I give this game a 4 out of 10, 2 points for effort and 2 points because I'm a nice guy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories Review

posted by jairbot45 (WEST GROVE, PA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Open first playing this game, I was struck by how cerebral it is. It plays out like a psychological nightmare, using mature themes and excellent voice acting to create an unsettling environment. But when you actually play the game things fall apart. The exploration is okay, but can be confusing since you can only see what is illuminated by your flashlight. This does ramp up the tension, but it also makes exploration needlessly tedious. Parts of the game will force you to run through large buildings with enemies chasing you, and while it may sound exciting, these are the worst parts of the game. Why? Because you don't have anyway to defend yourself and you often have no idea where you are going. The map shows you a path, but with enemies chasing you, it's tough and inconvenient to look at it every 5 seconds to correct your course. Also enemies have a way of ganging up on you and there no way to defend yourself unless you find the rare flare (which only lasts about 10 seconds anyway so it's virtually useless.) I pretty much gave up on the game at the school when the monsters came out. It became too frustrating and needlessly frustrating. The game does have a cool premise, making survival horror an even more haunting and cerebral experience by playing more with your mind and emotions, and the graphics are pretty impressive for the Wii. But the gameplay is broken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by scalliwag (BESSEMER CITY, NC) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 18 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

I love the Silent hill franchise (meaning silent hill 1, 2 , and 3) but in recent years the series has gone down hill. I was very excited when I heard of this remake it seemed like a great new direction to take the series... I was wrong. The exploration of the town is great but the "chase" sequences are frustrating and not fun. I guess they could be fun if you like hearing dolphins watching your character suffer a death by insane humpers while you the player are flailing your arms about like a palsied monkey trying to get Harry to remove said humpers from his person. What is it with developers thinking that "waggle" controls add to a game, I personally think that they take away from them for the most part. I am glad I have gamefly and I am not stuck with this horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointment

posted by davshin (STRATFORD, NJ) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to silent hill because of the new psychological profile aspect. The graphics were pretty good but the gameplay and pacing was dissapointing, the first part of the chapter was exploration and simple puzzles, the game tried to creep you out with messages and paranormal activity but you knew enemies were not going to come out, when the enemies came out, the environments started to freeze and you just have to run away from the zombies, these chase sections were awful, tedious, and repetitive, then the chapter was over and the rest of the game followed the same formula throughout, I was dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Controls

posted by Robillegal (EL PASO, TX) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

while i like the games psychological factor and graphics i hate the part where you have to run from enemies. the controls never work properly and when i shake enemies off it takes another 5 seconds for the remote to remember im hitting the Z button to run. While i was very intent on finishing the game being a fan of the series the controls during chase scenes completely killed the game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Critical Review of Silent Hill Shattered Memories

posted by deholt1013 (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Having been a fan of the Silent Hill series since the debut game on Playstation in 1999, I had both high hopes and doubts about this new Wii release.

SH:SM is not a scene-by-scene remake of the original, but what the developers called a re-imagining. There are new characters and old, and a really interesting psychoanalysis aspect that changes parts of the game based on your psychological profile. Instead of coming across monsters at any time like in the old games, monsters will be present in "nightmare sequences". This is the game's biggest flaw.

The nightmare sequences begin with the environment freezing over with large sheets of ice, in real time (which is impressive for the Wii). You have to run away from the monsters (you are NOT armed, and will NEVER fight the monsters) and try to reach a specific exit. This is where it gets frustrating. Doors and ledges are highlighted blue, presumably to make it easier to find your way out. However, ALL doors and ledges are highlighted, even the ones that will send you in circles or send you completely the wrong way.

With no way to fight the monsters, this means you are aimlessly running until you die, or until you get lucky and find your way out. When a monster attacks you, you can move the Wii remote and nunchuck in a VERY SPECIFIC way to throw them off. If you don't move the nunchuck in the right way, your character will just stand there will a monster on his back. These "nightmare sequences"--while appropriately named--leave much to be desired.

FINAL WORD: Silent Hill Shattered Memories has a lot going for it. Controlling the flashlight and getting phone calls on the Wii remote makes the experience more engaging, but the inability to fight back (EVER) and the aimless wandering through nightmare sequences hurts this title too much to make up for the good stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great disappointment

posted by bjt5656 (ARLINGTON, TX) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game. I loved the original Silent Hill. I thought that this game had great atmosphere and it was pretty creepy.

I could not get into the nightmare sequences when all you are doing is running. I didn't hate the fact that you don't fight back. I thought that that was pretty cool. The problem is that the running sequences are very disorienting. I never could tell what direction I was supposed to go. It seemed that I was running in circles; in fact, I was. Somehow I got through the first nightmare sequence, but in the second nightmare sequence, I had to put the game down, because I just couldn't take the running in circles until I got tackled by the monsters and killed repeatedly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Didn't think it was possible...

posted by mghtyfudge (BOULDER, CO) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

...for a game to go from "this is sweet!" to "this effin' sucks!" in one cut scene, but Shattered Memories proved me wrong. I'm actually tempted to buy the disc so I can destroy it to keep it from ever being played again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Blah

posted by ashley1221 (SABETHA, KS) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I think this game is very boring! It took entirely too long to get to the point.The graphics were terrible and the response of the guy to the remote was not good.I think they could have done a lot better with this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow...

posted by Mystic83 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This must of been the wrost experience gaming for slient hill series. I mean they should of at least had a weapon of some sort to play with. but no not even so

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst silent hill ever

posted by zovjraar (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Dec 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

silent hill is about fighting monsters with lead pipes, crowbars, and baseball bats. not running aimlessly around with a flair and cell phone. I have played ever silent hill ever made and was gravely unhappy with these thing they wrongfully labeled silent hill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What Happened Here?

posted by WadeWatts5 (WADESBORO, NC) Aug 13, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

i have loved Silent Hill since the first one for Playstation. It is still the scariest game in my opinion. This series has always been known for its chilling story, its scary enemies (we all know who Pyramid Head is) and its terrible movies. That's why I was so excited when this game was announced. I didn't even mind when they said it would be retelling the original story. Normally that would be a problem, as many had with the new DMC.
When I started the game up, I really interested in this whole "Psychological Profile" thing and how it would affect the game. It does so subtly, which is amazing. The story is beyond great to me. You're in a first person view talking with Dr. Kauffman, a psychiatrist. These segments separate the chapters. You play as Harry Mason, looking for his daughter Cheryl. You run around a foggy Silent Hill doing so. The new locations are awesome, giving the town a modern feel. The creepiness is amplified by it as well. Running through the dark woods with only a flashlight is terrifying.
The problem comes in the gameplay itself. There is no combat system. When coming upon an enemy, you have to run. There is a set path that will lead you to safety, otherwise you're dead. Silverlight flares will hold off enemies, allowing you to escape for a bit. You used your phone and flashlight to search areas for clues and audio, learning of a family that's been falling apart for years. This aspect wasn't nearly as bad as trying to run from bad guys. I'm not sure why they went with this style instead of regular combat, and it really held the game back from being really enjoyable. The story is what kept it going for me, but i had to really want to see the ending.
With an extremely frustrating gameplay system, but an AMAZING story, this game earns a middle 5. I would say to look into it. Have a friend play it. The endings are very typical of Silent Hill and almost make up for the terrible game mechanics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse