Rent Silent Hill: Origins for PS2
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Origins

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
6.5

942 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another great edition to this series

posted by Viperz99 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love this series. Ever since the first Silent Hill I had for the PSONE, the game made my skin crawl. Origins is no different. I started playing it at 2AM and was quickly brought into that misty foggy town of Silent Hill. It is true to its gameplay, not many surprises. Puzzles intertwined with some fighting. Id rate the whole game moderately difficult. Graphics are great since I still running it on a PS2. Movement is improved from 2 and 3. Definitely worth the rent. In a time where they burnt out the Resident evil and other series in the genre this one makes it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Love it or Hate it

posted by BLorend (PARADISE, CA) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is good, but far from perfect. The new systems are interesting, though a bit flawed. The "new camera angle" system was a joke, as it only worked about half the time, the rest of the time the camera angles are set, and, like most Survival games of this era, creepy and sometimes a bit annoying.

The biggest complaint I honestly had with the game was that their video loading code was flawed, often freezing the game or forcing you to skip a sequence, which could be VERY frustrating.

The Second biggest complaint is that there is no way to tell on the fly how much damage you can do with your current weapon before it snaps. While I didn't mind the Breaking Weapon system, going into a battle with only the slightest inkling of how much you can deal before your board splits is challenging at best. An onscreen indicator that didn't involve going into a sub-menu would have been nice, that or a more through indicator in those menus.

Those being said, the game does what it set out to do, explain some of the holes in the Silent Hill plot line, and be really creepy while doing it. Silent Hill is still one of the few games you can hack the heck out of and cheat and STILL get a good scare going. Origins continues this track record, though if your looking for a new style, look elsewhere. Personally, this game was all I expected, no more and no worse.

This game isn't perfect, but no game is. Like most Survival/Horror games, it is a slim crowd that the game focuses on, but it does it well. If you can stand the flaws it has, the game does offer a very nice, creepy experience. Just make sure to keep the lights on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Silent Hill is dead.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

It pains me to say it, but it's true--Silent Hill is dead. After playing Origins, I can finally understand why the original dev. team disintegrated. Silent Hill hasn't evolved in an entire decade! Whether they didn't know where to take the series, or didn't want to upset all the crazy fanboys, we're looking at stagnation at its purest. Origins could've easily been done on the PS1, as could any of the other SH games.

Yes, this is coming from a longtime SH nut. I've been with the series since its inception. It didn't dawn on me that I was playing rehashes until Origins though. And why? Atmosphere. Origins lacks atmosphere. The developers took a few classic SH locations, slightly altered them, turned down the brightness, and threw in some fodder for the lead character's two-by-four. It's not interesting and it's not scary.

Because of the lack of atmosphere, each and every gameplay flaw inherent with the SH franchise becomes that much more noticeable and that much more annoying. I commend the new developers for trying to spice things up with a new combat system, but it just doesn't work. I can't recommend Origins to anyone except obsessive fans who feel the need to own every SH game, no matter how horrible. I can't say I have any hope left for the series.

Major positives:
+ It has Silent Hill in the title...?

Major negatives:
- Static camera
- Poor graphics
- Boring gameplay
- Bare-bones storyline

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

15 Minutes was all I could give this garbage

posted by drunknspid (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Since I'm limited on how much I can say I'll just list the negatives.. there really are no positive points so don't worry.
1. The graphic are a straight port from the PSP, bland, DARK and very blocky, this is worse than Silent Hill 2, which for it's time was pretty Effing good.

2. The camera makes you want to throw the controller, seriously the PS2 has 2 toggle sticks, can we please use them?

3. Combat is repetitive and your weapons break. I'm all for some changes but how can you break a hammer after killing one monster? Apparently Konami has never heard of Craftsman

4. You can see absolutly nothing but where your flashlight is pointed, everything and I do mean everything else is black.

Avoid this game, save your rental days for something worthwhile, revisit one of the other Silent Hills, but don't rent this game, its horrid. I'd rather have dental work done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A true Silent Hill fan's review

posted by achgfd (Columbia, MO) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Ok so I this game isn't as good as silent hill 2 or 3, its much better than 4 and I can't remember much of 1 to make a proper judgment. But reading one of these reviews made me angry that you people are getting the wrong information.
This silent hill goes back to some of the better parts of the silent hill series. The puzzles are similar and the style is the same. This game got my heart pounding. I would go into a room, completely empty... leave... come back and woah! There's a monster right in my face. The setting is eerie and the sound quality is outstanding. I want to look over my shoulder every few feet just to make sure. These monster's aren't painfully obvious or in your face like in other action adventure games, no they like to sneak up on you.
The story is similar to the other silent hills, except the main character doesn't seem to have something drawing him to Silent Hill other than the fact that he was in the wrong place at the wrong time... similar to Silent Hill 4. Some true silent hill fans might not like this factor, but if you love the effect and style of the games you can ignore the missing pieces in the story line.
One main factor that other people had problems with is the breakable weapons. This is a new introduction to the Silent Hill series and it makes the battle system more difficult than in the other games. What I've noticed though as that when one weapon breaks, I find another one nearby. It's also helpful that you don't need weapons and can fight enemies with your bare fists. You can also stomp on monsters to finish them off. If you just walk up to them and press X. If you don't do this, they keep coming back so make sure you finish them before leaving.
All in all I love Silent Hill! This game is difficult at first, but once you figure out how to handle the monsters it gets better. The sound, story, and picture is amazing. This is a game that's challenging, beautiful, action packed, and has gripping storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So disappointed..

posted by Jeangrey00 (JOHNSON CITY, NY) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

After waiting this long for this game to come out, then waiting for it to hit the PS2, I can't tell you how disappointed I am in this game. Is it pretty? For a PS2 game, it's graphics are ok. Is the sound good? Definitely. The sound effects and music (especially the actual songs) are classic Silent Hill, and for that they are wonderful.

And that's it, folks. That's the entirety of the good points of this game. The story is pretty weak and does not go into the complete origins of Silent Hill, it's just all about Allesa.

Travis is a mediocre main character at best, and lacks almost anything to make him interesting. Ok, that's not entirely accurate. He's the only main character thus far to have the cajones to hit one of the Silent Hill critters barehanded, and for that I'll give him a few points. Other than that, he's got nothing going for him.

The voice acting is sub-par for most of the characters, and for a high profile title like a Silent Hill game that's just plain unacceptable.

The combat system is GOD AWFUL. Most of your weapons break in a few hits, which I'm not entirely opposed to, but the problem is that when your weapons break and enemies keep respawning you're in deep trouble. Oh, and health items are even fewer and farther between than in any other Silent Hill title I've played (which is all of them except the Japanese-only mobile phone game).

The lighting is /terrible/. Now I know a Silent Hill game is supposed to be dark. I'd be upset if they made one that was perfectly well lit throughout the whole game. But when the only area you can see /at all/ is directly in the flashlight's path and nothing else, it's not good.

The camera is not controllable, and often gives you almost no ability to actually see what's around you. Half the time it's putting your view at really bizarre angles that (I guess) are supposed to be scary, but just end up annoying.

There's much more that's bad about this, but I'm out of room. Avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Silent Hill: Origins

posted by JadeBH (JACKSON, MI) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Of all the games in the Silent Hill series, this is the only one that turned out to be a big disappointment. Even the first Silent Hill out does this thrown together programming. Sure, the graphics are good, but graphics alone do not make a game worth playing.

One hour into the game, and I had enough of the clunky controls, lack of camera control, and weapons that spontaneously disintegrate. How exactly do you break a tire iron anyway? The attacks are extremely slow, he can't run more than a half block without running out of breath (and you'll be doing a lot of running, those monsters will kill you in a few hits), and you can't even kick them while they're down. That's right, no stomping on them to kill them, one of the most endearing traits of previous Silent Hills.

If you're looking for a decent horror survival game, where you can hunt down and systematically destroy monsters, save your money. There are better games out there.

If you can't live without playing Silent Hill, go back and beat first four again. At least you won't be wishing for that hour of your life back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the origin of the series..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This silent hill game's controls are much better than the the 3rd one. If you play silent hill before than you know the silent hill formula and what to expect in the game.. There are two things that i want to change about this game.. is its breakable weapons (most are useless after 5-6 slashes) and of how you can't run..The graphic is designed to add more fear element along with its camera view (you can't control the camera). If you like horror games.. you should give this a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A poor translation

posted by Vernefrax (PERRY HALL, MD) Jul 23, 2008

Member since May 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What should have been a great translation of the PSP's first horror title has instead turned out to be a rushed port that suffers a number of unfortunate bugs.

Origins is a prequel that begins prior to the events in the original Silent Hill. You play as Travis Grady, a truck driver with a shadowy past who finds himself in Silent Hill from the outset. Unlike other protagonists, Travis is a bit more handy with weapons - particularly his fists. Because of his punching capability, Travis is never truly unarmed against the demonic denizens of Silent Hill, though his punches can't make up for the other issues plaguing this title.

The story is spot on, and the spooky atmosphere is exactly what attracts fans to the series. Unfortunately the visuals suffer a bit of blockiness and pixellation - likely a result of development on the PSP. Controlling Travis proves to vary between simple and difficult depending on the situation. Konami has included an exhaustion system that prevents Travis from always running, forcing him to take frequent breaks to catch his breath. While this looks good on paper to increase the tension, it only serves to frustrate the players as exhaustion strikes at the most inopportune times, often resulting in a monster sneaking in a few extra hits. Health and energy drinks are spare while enemies are numerous. Combined with poor camera controls (I experienced more than one camera bug that left the point-of-view stuck while Travis kept going - resulting in death and a forced reload), the newly revamp-ed combat system is more disappointing than welcome.

For any SH fan without a PSP, Origins is worth playing if you can overlook the flaws. Otherwise, stick with the PSP original and save yourself a few headaches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this is the game to have

posted by calebm (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

if your renting any silent hill game let it be this one

silent hill origins-as creepy as the others you find out how it all started

not much as changed from the psp version still a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game

posted by Queen_Derpy (COLUMBUS, GA) Jan 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I love this game. There are a few bad points. The camera style works better in the PSP version, but it still works. With the wepons breaking part, there is a new hammer, meat cleaver, TV, ect whenever you turn your head. The battles tend to repeat, and it will get really annoying. There is not alot if varification among the monsters, which can be good and bad. Its bad because fightin the same thing tends to make you slam the controller on the floor (at lease me anyways). And good because you quickly learn how to take each monster down. The bosses are very cool. They are easy for experienced players, but if your new to Silent Hill, I recomend spending ALOT of time lokking for health drinks, ampoules, first aid kits, and weaponds. You are going to need them. One last thing, don't be freaked out, the osund effects are the scarriest part of this game. Other than walking out of a room with 3 nurses trolling you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not a bad addition to the series

posted by MOONSTAR (WILTON, CA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

This game seemed promising when i first rented it, and it provided a few great aspects.
this game, first and foremost, explains much of why things happened in the original silent hill, such as how Harry Mason and his wife found Cheryl. It also explains much about Silent hills cult, including Dalhia Gallespie and Michael Kaufmen.
Silent Hill Origins also had a unique way of traveling between silent Hill and the Otherworld through mirrors with a bloody handprint allowing escape from the Classic rusty realm.
All this is going on through the eyes of Travis Grady, a truck driver who, as you will see, will play a huge role in the events taking place in the timeline of the Entire series.
Not much went wrong, the worlds were erie as always, enemiesas scarypuzzles as teeth grinding ( for me at least ;)) though if i had to point out flaws, id have to say would be the weapons. your weapons will break easily and at some point you will have to fist fight, which was probvided for the first time in the series.
this game is not have bad, it has many excellant elements and provides insight into the original story. it is a great addition to have to your silent hill collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What's the hate?

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

People mostly say that Origins isn't a great or even good game....bad....horrible....a lot of people say that but even when people say that.....people don't realize that games can....and in Silent Hill terms....be "art"....
Origins is an example of that but I will say it's not perfect.....but in my opinion....does it FEEL like Silent Hill? Yes. It feels like any other Silent Hill games from 1 to 4. they're are fixed-camera angles....the audio you expect from a Silent Hill game and, of course, music by the best composer in video game history Akira Yamaoka....The combat is MUCH better than Downpour's and Homecoming's at least....and there wasn't many scares but there were a few, but very genuine. But there were a few problems....the protagonist...Travis Grady has a very boring personality....nothing likealbe....if your interested in trucker's than.....well, that's something for you......and the story can be very confusing because....if this is supposed to answer all your questions about the evil behind the town of Silent Hill....the developer (Climax really doesn't explain it that well...actually creates more questions than answers.....what's that triangular box (the flauros) have to do with anything....yes I know it has to do with something but.....too much open interpretation...any way great, artistic game.......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Really?

posted by Xaicast666 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

As an un-bias gamer that has been playing video games since the original NES came out, I can say for certain that this game is simply not interesting and recycled goods. You are a trucker (yeah, I almost turned the game off right then when I found out I was some stereotypical male trucker) who tried to take a shortcut through Silent Hill to reach your destination and wound up caught in the middle of Silent Hill's madness.

The story is basically the story of ALL of the Silent Hill's (meaning you are some random person who knows little to none about Silent Hill, one way or another you find yourself there and get caught in the middle of the craziness, and you also happen to be someone with an unrealistic thought pattern that feels like they have to solve the mystery about the little girl and the monsters instead of trying to get the HECK out of there) and the gameplay graphics look almost identical to the very first Silent Hill on the PS1 (that's not good). There is nothing different about the plot at all so if you've played ANY of the other ones, OR watched the movie, you already know who the little girl is and why everything is the way it is. There is no suspense or horror at all really.

The controls are among the WORST controls I've ever had the displeasure of getting used to. It's as if they tried their best to incorporate every single button into the game even though it isn't necessary and thus making you press combinations of buttons that seem unnecessary because one button would do.

The camera angles are HORRIBLE and you can ONLY change it if you are in a room that allows the change AND if you press the botton that makes the angle go directly behind you. You can't even look to the side, you actually have to turn directly towards somewhere and put the camera behind you and that is dangerous and annoying because the camera WILL get you sucker punched by the monsters on several occassions.

A quick summary of this is: This game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ho hum

posted by firemang (LEVITTOWN, PA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

While I truly believe all horror games live in the shadow of SH2, this game plays like a remastered PS1 game. The developers should have thought better of releasing this one and just left it as a PSP ga,e for that community. I was very disappointed and while I don't want to believe that the SH franchise is dead, this one certainly has it in nursing care.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Silent Hill Origins

posted by 212416 (SIKESTON, MO) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

It was a good game but it was too dark. It's hard to find things in the game and hard to find doors. really hard to find your way around without the maps. The game needs better weapons and more life sources. The best part of the game is that the bosses' are really easy to kill. My advice to u is to save all guns and ammo for the bosses.Try to use other weapons in the game. Your best bet is to run past them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

noob programmers

posted by yhaoooooo (FRANKFORT, KY) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

epic dissonpntiant this turely sucks i tryed to not get killed by the montsers but u cant stomp on them to kill em this ruins the sires i had some language when i palyed this suckish game noob programmers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

In Comparison to the rest of the series

posted by lamoxlamae (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) May 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

Here is what I saw different in this game from the rest of the series.

The camera angles are radically different. Half the time you can't see the monsters attacking you, but the radio keeps going off which does get annoying (in my opinion). The graphics are a lot better than they used to be, though that's to be expected. The sounds were OK, though Travis' voice acting felt a little canned and stilted at times.

Being able to use nearly anything as a weapon gave a lot more variety than past games, even if most weapons are single-use. The multi-use weapons also can break now and have health rings. Speaking of health rings, I was glad to see that the screen gains a red ring when your health is low.

As to the monsters, I didn't like many of the monster designs in this game- they were mostly lumpy, formless, and even a little tasteless in the case of the almost X-rated Two-back monster. Also, what is with all the fanservice with the nurses? This is supposed to be scary, not Girls Gone Wild: Silent Hill edition. The monsters also seemed tougher than normal, or perhaps the weapons were just weaker.

And then there's the plot.; they weren't joking when they said they are taking a lot from Silent Hill 2. I was also able to guess what was going on pretty quickly- not good for a Silent hill game. Making it worse, this game kept introducing small details that clashed with the rest of the game cannon and movie. For example, didn't the cops save Alessa from the fire according to the film, and not a trucker? I really enjoyed Dahlia's scenes, though!

Over all, this wasn't a bad Silent Hill game, though it's not the best. If someone is new to the series, however, I wouldn't use this as an introduction due to the contradictory feel this game has against the rest of the series as well as the harder monsters and weaker weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sillent hill orgins

posted by accannia (LOS BANOS, CA) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

this game is good i played all of the silent hill games this one is better especially playing in the dark with all the lights out it will keep you on the moved this is a good game its more crazy when your playing in the dark world that is when the fun begins the monsters come back for more and the Cinerama is great its a game that keeps you on the edge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Origins

posted by NiknSid (MESA, AZ) Oct 12, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This one is by far the worst Silent Hill game ever!!! Do yourself a favor and leave this one out of your game Q!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

umm i didn't like it

posted by jasonwhit5 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

i liked it but it got kinda boring.. i might like homecoming better just because th3e fact that gamefly rated it in the 8t's so i might like homecoming better but its your opinion wether you like it or not

p.s. not a fact haha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

340hero review

posted by iam340hero (CHATSWORTH, CA) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

this game is awesome this so far for me is by far the best silent. i have beaten all the parts of the series. the room, part 3, etc.. anyways this game has great graphics. the game play is so much better then the other ones. there's new options camera wise. new fight sequences cool characters its got a great ambiance of horror.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The silent hill formula?????

posted by da1n0nly (HENDERSON, NV) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

i agree that this game is a little lack luster in alot of areas especially puzzles. look i play silent hill for the puzzles and the oh s##t factor it gives me. i like the fact that when im alone i dont want to play....but with this game its different the puzzles were way too easy some were down right stupid and the monsters aside from "the butcher" were not even scary. i finished the game just so i can say that i did. all in all its a decent rental but a waist of money so you decide!!! i say wait for silent hill:homecoming on 10/02/08 and skip this one altogether.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another classic Silent Hill

posted by headless (SUMMERSVILLE, WV) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I've played all the Silent Hill games. I love the series. What you have here is another installment where the gameplay is pretty much the same. Above all I have to say Silent Hill 3 is the scariest. This game doesn't really scare me too much. The monsters are pretty much recycled versions of all the others. The butcher is pretty cool looking but like all the other bosses he was too easy to kill. The real challenge of the game isn't in the monsters but in the puzzles. You will spend 80% of your time searching in the dark. That's what i've liked about the series, the eerily calm hours spent wandering abandoned hotels, hospitals, sanitariums and what have you. The ability to switch between the 'otherworld' and 'fog world' whenever you find a mirror was a cool addition to the game,thus giving you twice as many maps to wander through. overall i'd say this isn't the BEST silent hill, but they've stuck to their roots and provided another installment that has held true to what made the others so good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fight the good fight...with the camera.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I've been a long time fan of the SH series. I looked forward to Origins and found my desires crushed into the ground. At first I liked it, the cut-scenes were nice and all. But as I played it, that is when it began to die quickly. Constant fighting with the camera angle got tiresome real fast. Why nobody seems to understand that shoving the camera up the guys nose is not a way to play a game?! I want an over the shoulder 360 camera so I can actually see my surroundings and what's coming at me. When you can't see what's coming off screen it's very agitating. Besides that issue, the weapons system needs work. Although I can understand a broom handle or stick breaking after using it a while, something like a pipe or monkey wrench should last indefinitely. Weapon breakage becomes a problem in this game especially when the enemies respawn or there are many in one area. Usually I had to avoid fighting otherwise I'd use all my weapons up. Also the game is terribly dark. I know it supposed to be gloomy but I don't want to be blind either. And running across the map and back again to retrieve and item get's old and boring. The character runs so slow it takes forever to get anywhere. Also just about every door in the game is blocked or locked there are only a few places you can go at a time. If you're going to put 100 doors in the game at least let me open more than 2. My breakdown:

THE GOOD
The SH concept
Good cutscenes
Variety of weapons
Creepy atmosphere

THE BAD
Way too dark.
Weapon breakage
Too few health items.
Constant key item searching
Slow character movement.

THE UGLY
Horrid camera angles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse