Rent Silent Hill: Homecoming for PS3
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Homecoming

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.3

3555 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Decent

posted by Nate0201 (DUMFRIES, VA) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Well I have always been a big fan of Silent Hill all the way back to the original on PS1. They have always been fun difficult and suspenseful. This one is pretty decent it's not a game of the year, but decent. I don't mind the controls, but then agian they have always been the same and I also play Resident Evil so I'm used to them. Some will find them slow and frustrating, but they can be gotten used to.

I really enjoyed the story it keeps you coming back for more. It's always nice to go through again and see all the different endings to the story. The graphics are ok sometimes they look great other times they are a bit shakey at best. A feature I did enjoy is how it looked grainy like an old movie reel I think that added to the atomsphere.

Some will find this frustrating, but you have to conserve ammo and health drinks because you don't get a lot of them. It's just part of the Silent Hill experience and adds a slight diffculty to the game.

All in all I would recomend this game especially if you are already a fan of the series past. If you're not there might be a couple things to get used to, but I think you will enjoy it if you give it a chance. It's for sure worth the rent and even buying at the price to add to the Silent Hill collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The critics were wrong! Play it yourself and see!

posted by Suspect (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

45 out of 54 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

To anyone that base their gaming experience solely on the reviews of IGN or OXM...I feel so sorry for you. you are missing out on one incredible game! I read the reviews and was pretty discouraged about the game but I decided I would buy it anyway because I am a servival horror fanatic and there has been such a massive shortage of the genre this year.

I gave the game a 9.0 because its not perfect but everything the critics complained about in the game was not valid reasons for such low scores. The new battle system makes for the best gameplay silent hill has ever seen. even though you are fully capable of defending yourself this time around, the monsters in this game can easily cut you down to size in a matter of seconds if you are not careful and sometimes even when you are careful. One reviewer complained that the Alex's aim in the game is rock solid. This is true however there is no auto aim for firearms in the game so in all honesty his aiming truely depends on the individual playing.

All I have left to say is that if you are a fan of the silent hill or survival horror genre, you owe it to yourself to play this game. for those of you who hated silent hill because of the poor battle system, you will be pleased to know that this new version has fixed everything you hated about the old silent hill battle system.

Graphics: 8.0
Sound:10.0
Controls:8.5
Gameplay:8.5
story:8.0
fun factor and challenge: 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the silent hill to own all

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

silent hill homecoming is a great game alex knows how to fight which is good alot of the elements look like they were ripped from the movie yeah i know if your a true silent hill fan you might of been a little angry that it was not harry mason's story but the way the world falls apart and regenerates in front of your eyes is amazing the nurses are very realalistic its a really good story so far controls are great fight mechanics just all around great good job double helix and forget ign's review try it your self i like the idea that alex can really hold his own and then some not like the past people that couldn't really even swing a lead pipe lol now you can stab a nurse to death in her head with your combat knife have fun and enjoy by the way graphics look nice oooo well no ripples in the water when you move i can live with that can u graphics by far the best yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not worth the effort

posted by disaster (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

For the first couple of levels I thought this game was great. I was probably about halfway through when I realized that I wasn't enjoying it as much as just anxiously awaiting for it to end. The story is cool, the graphics fair, but ultimately it just becomes more frustrating that anything. I agree that there is not enough ammo or health packs in the later levels, but this would probably not be an issue if the control was better. The controls are so clunky and non-responsive that even a seasoned gamer cannot consistently dodge attacks, let alone successfully hit the attacker. Some irritating examples are the nurses who in later levels can pin you in a corner and slash non-stop, keeping you from being able to dodge or attack at all. Save points are few and far between in later levels and unless you constantly run back to the save point you are aware of chances are you will end up playing the same frustrating parts over and over again. This could have been a great game but the lethargic controls proved to be too much for me. This is the first game I've sent back in awhile before finishing it, but it's just not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excited...At first

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

14 out of 21 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I always thought Silent Hill was a cool franchise, but this installment is a bit iffy. Its confusing and broken but still enjoyable. Confusing because i didn't know what to do half of the time and broken because of how extremely messed up combat is.

The combat in this game is insane and not the good kind of insane. You can barley hit anything with melee attacks, you can barley hurt anything with the few firearms you receive and the game always puts your health on edge. It seems you need to use a health drink or med kit after every battle. Its by far the worst combat system ever.

The graphics look great, from what you can see of them anyway. The game is so dark that i had to turn the brightness on my TV to almost max just to see where i was going. Darkness can either make or break a survival horror game but being too dark will kill just about any game in any genre. It was bad. I felt like i was cheating by having my TV on almost max brightness but i wouldn't have gotten farther than the intro without doing so. Once i could see the graphics, they were good. It doesn't run in 1080 resolution but it still looks good.

Okay, i admit im not being completely objective with this review because i am majorly stuck in the sewer section, but this is pretty much how it goes down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Silent Hill is dead.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This isn't just a bad Silent Hill game. It's a bad game, period. Clunky combat, outdated exploration, atrocious graphics, frequent load times, infrequent save points, and the list of flaws goes on.

I honestly thought things couldn't get worse than The Room, but the new western developer has managed to prove me wrong. I'm genuinely saddened to see a beloved series crashing and burning before my very eyes.

Homecoming feels like a pathetic Resident Evil 4 wannabe. What happened to survival horror?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Games like this make me happy I'm with Gamefly!

posted by neuronet (DURHAM, NC) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you want to be scared, get Dead Space, which is much better.

This game amounts to an annoying scavenger hunt with a clunky battle interface. Run around this town looking for keys, gas cans, and other objects hidden in random places. The payoff for running around for an hour looking for a gas can? You get to turn on a water pump. How exciting.

On the up side, the game is scary at moments, usually when you enter a new room or new part of the town. The graphics are good, the monsters scary. But this is easily offset by the annoying plotline. The interactions you have with the characters are repetitive and uninformative.

I played this game three nights before getting completely bored, and traded it in to buy Dead Space. The best decision I ever made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game..

posted by Yupinauta (MIAMI, FL) Oct 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The story is just the same as any other Silent Hill, but this time they took some details from the movie which made the game just a bit different. One good thing about this game is the fighting skills, looks like this time they took some more time working on the body movements.

One thing I have to say is that the riddles are not as hard as they used to be, I remember that on Silent Hill 1, 2 and 3 the riddles were a pain in ars, but on this game I guess they made it easier so more people would play it.

One bad thing is that they added the INVERT feature but it just won't work, and I heard Konami won't fix it so if you use the invert feature then don't even bother renting the game, 'cause I know it would be really hard to get used to something you just don't like.

The graphics are ok, some people will get confused thought, I've heard that the game didn't have good graphics, but believe me, it does, the problem is that the fog make the game look as if it was on PS1, but you can tell it has good graphics when the fog is not around.

The game is good, you'll like it, try it. Some parts of the game are really spooky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

HUGE DESIGN FLAW!!!!!!!!

posted by boehmtown (MOUNT ARLINGTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This is the first game I am reviewing and I feel like I need to because I need to let people know, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME IF YOU PLAY WITH AIMING INVERTED. When moving around you can not invert the y axis. There is an option to invert the controls but it only inverts them when shooting which makes it even worse switching back and forth. It is unplayable to me, I have been playing inverted aiming for 10 years and can't just switch back. I have emailed the support team at konami and they said that this is not a flaw it was a design choice, pretty much they told me to deal with it. I am soooooo glad I did not buy this game and decided to rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An awesome entry into the series.

posted by Jebuddha (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was afraid that I was going to be disappointed with this new silent hill since games usually lose their appeal as the sequel's progress. But I was pleasantly surprised with this game. I think that we have the fresh new American developing team to thank for that, because Silent Hill four was a stinker.

Anyway I have not gotten to far with the story, but this game is silent hill returning to its roots. In terms of horror quality this game is on par with Silent Hill two. If you liked any of the previous Silent Hill games then I would definetly recomend this one. It has turned out to be one of the best. Not to mention the much improved combat system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Silent Hill Yet

posted by B3H3M0TH (TUSTIN, CA) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Silent Hill Homecoming is the sixth game in the horror genre that is Silent Hill, though I would think of it more as the fifth title then the sixth,mainly because I wouldn't count Silent Hill Origins.

Well now, the basic story is you are a Special Forces, War Veteran named Alex Shepard who returns to his home in Shepard's Glen, only to find his mother in a catatonic state, and his brother and father missing. Alex then travels to the abandoned town of Silent Hill in search for them.

There are a few things that have changed from previous Silent Hill games.

One of the main things that have changed is the camera mode, now you have complete control over the camera making it easier to search your surroundings, while also being able to go into first-person view.

The biggest thing that has changed is the combat mode, which now enables you to duck, cover, and evade your opponents attacks, but this also means that the Enemy AI has improved making it harder for you to kill them.

There are plenty of new monsters and bosses in Silent Hill Homecoming, it also brings back a couple of old ones like the Nurse and the Smog.

A few of the new monsters include the Schism which
appears to have it's head split down the middle. He is a big powerful and fast monster, when the Schism spots you it will charge at you, chase you and hunt you down.

Another one is Siam,
Siam is exactly how he/she/it looks, as though it is two mutilated bodies of a man and a woman mixed in with a bondage theme. It also has large swollen club-like arms which are very similar to that of the Closer's from Silent Hill 3.

Another would be the Needler,
Needler is another monster resembling a human, and partly a spider. It's hands and feet have been replaced by blades which it uses to walk on, which it can also use to slash and attack its enemy. It makes a distinctive "metallic" sound which comes from the metal blades stabbing into the ground when nearby.

WARNING SPOILER!

READ AT OWN RISK!

Pyramid Head is Back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A big let down

posted by ptDave (DAVISON, MI) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've read several reviews of this game. If anything, the reviews giving this game a bad rep, are giving too much credit. This game feels like a game intended for someone who is more combat oriented to get his shot at a survival horror. Doesn't hold true to the game genre in my opinion. The smog creatures, worst modification of the previous monsters. The nurses, way to rip into the movie. The dogs, well, horrible AI. Weaving in and out minor amounts while running, keeps them from doing any real harm. The first boss, I have to admit was in my opinion one of the more difficult bosses. Later on in the game, you realize the sacrificial dagger is the best weapon. You can easily kill everything with it, not necessarily as quickly, but more effectively. My weapons started to overfill with ammo after finding this small tidbit.

Overall, this game stretches the story, to just make a dollar. It isn't worth it to the series fan in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad design decision makes the game unplayable

posted by Jeevz74 (DECATUR, GA) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I would like to have played this game but the developers really dropped the ball on this one.

Do you play first/third person games with the camera's y-axis inverted? If so you are out of luck, the developers left this option out. It's the first game like this that I've seen this generation.

I'll rent it again if they ever patch this but correspondence from Konami suggests they will not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for true fans

posted by Eleven58 (NORTHBROOK, IL) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Silent Hill Homecoming is a huge disappointment to any true Silent Hill fan. The game is incredibly linear and transparent, the exact opposite of what makes Silent Hill games so special. Sure, it has its scary moments but that's about it. The story isn't the worst but for every bit the story is good, a selection of TERRIBLE endings ruins any chance it had at being great. Sub-plots, character development, forget about these elements. The puzzles are a complete joke and the bosses are laughably easy compared to earlier Silent Hill installments. The revamped combat system is shaky at best and turns what I thought was a true survival horror game into another edition of The Suffering. As a game by itself it's fair. As a Silent Hill game, all I feel is extreme disappointment and sadness...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been great...

posted by erockny (CANTON, MI) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I love all the Silent Hill games and i am a huge fan of the series. The game play, graphics, story and sound are all top notch in this game. The only drawback from keep this game an 8.5 or a 9 is its just to hard. I dont want to sound like im whining. The lack of and easy mode was a big mistake. You play this game pretty much on the verge of death and with little ammo the last 2/3 of the game. Some of the monsters are just to hard from previous versions. On normal mode some of the monster take 5-7 shots to kill. That sucks considering you can only carry 2 spare clips. Its nearly impossible to malee atack something without take damage yourself. Combo moves are just to slow. If you can deal with a little frustration you will find this game good. The best way to kill most monsters is just to runaway and not fight at all. Hopefully they will improve future versions. They really could have had a great game. ALMOST...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too bad..

posted by needleseye (OAKLEY, CA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game seems like it would be great. Too bad that at the time of this review, there are no inverted camera controls. For those of us that like to play with an inverted y-axis it makes the game unplayable.

There is an "Inverted aim" setting, but it only effects the aim of weapons. Anyone using this option will have to awkwardly switch between aiming whith inverted controls and looking around without them. In this day and age, there is no excuse for an oversight such as this.

I will give the game another shot if they ever get around to patching it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

At least its better than SH4

posted by PS3willwin (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off, I would like to say I am a huge silent hill fan. Its my favorite horror franchise. I've play all the silent hills. I was very eager to play homecoming. I had very high expectations for it. Now the game wasn't a total let down but I will say i only played through it once. I refuse to go through it again. If you saw the silent hill movie, you seen many parts of homecoming. To me that is bad because the movie was good but it did not stay true to silent hill. To me silent hill 1,2,3 and origins will remain supreme. 4 was embarrassing to the franchise but any way, homecoming is not a bad game. It just moves away from being a horror game. It consider this an action game. A little how resident evil went from horror to action. It just doesn't transfer as well with silent hill. The combat is heavily improved but that is not necessarily a good thing. Yes Alex can fight but if you are fighting multiple enemies chances are you will take ALOT of damage by the time you are done. The mood that we all have come to love and expect from previous silent hill games is long gone here. I dont think homecoming is scary at all. The "otherworld" doesn't seem evil like previous SH games is more like the basement of a factory. Believe it or not, the game is less scary in the "otherworld". As for the graphics, they are great but thats not a good think for silent hill. In part 2, everything looked gritty dirty and decayed, in homecoming, everything seems fine, its just dark all the time. And by the way the light is close to useless. The story is actually very understandable but boring at the same time. A "special someone" from SH 2 makes his return. Overall, I think everyone should play this game to make their own judgments. Do not go by the negative reviews you have probably already read. Homecoming is a great game but it is not one of the best in the franchise simply because SH 1,2,3 and origins are just that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slow to develop, slow-downs, lack luster graphics

posted by Joshiese (MILL CREEK, WA) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So I was all ready for a great game. I love this game on the PS2 and was very much looking forward to it on the PS3....I was very much let down! The graphics were no where near what they could have been for the PS3, the game suffers from horrible slow-downs, at times bringing the PS3 to it's knees -- a sign of poor programming. The only good thing about this game is the surround sound and that even gets old quickly...sorry, this game went back after only a day of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good game, but no INVERT

posted by Dolphin77 (MONTICELLO, MN) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I didn't get too far into this game because the "invert look" feature did not work. This is a deal-breaker for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Inverted Camera = Sucky

posted by conrad143 (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

You can invert the aim on the gun, but not the camera. Stay away from this game if you are like me and need to have inverted camera.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hmm

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about a hour and became extremely disappointed.This game was looking to dark and not a horrifying dark just graphically dark on my lcD even with the brightness turned up all the way,the storyline seems so basic with a poor combat system. look I know I should of went on and finished the fight,but I couldn't it's nothing special...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SLOPPY COMBAT/ CAMERA LOCKUPS

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game,,,,the graphics,,sound and story were awesome ,,,a 10 ,,,it made me jump a couple times (ALA CONDEMMED2) but continually having to die against single foes never mind a boss or two due to sludgey controls and camera freezes,,, made me put the game down. it just wasnt worth it for me....im bummed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

AMAZIN

posted by mommyx22 (LONGVIEW, WA) Jun 11, 2014

Member since May 2014

It's really fun game and I just completed, it would be so complicated if you don't use walkthrough to guide you to play the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Horrifying, intense, and Amazing Graphics.....

posted by fatdude600 (BALLWIN, MO) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Compared to the other Silent Hill games I've played, this one was the most challenging by far when it comes to fighting and action. The monsters were a lot harder to kill and the bosses were more challenging, I've only played Silent Hill 2 & 3 and Downpour and those were more puzzle oriented like the traditional survival horror games usually are. None the less, this game still provides plenty of challenging puzzles and intense, frightening action. I highly recommend this to all survival horror fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Beware playing on PS3

posted by stayrock (SPRING HILL, FL) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

We found a glitch in the game that would not let us continue because we died before killing 3 needlers in the sewer. This glitch has been documented and I have found various articles about it on line but no fix other than to restart the whole game. We sent it back. Super Bummed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse