Rent Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Silent Hill HD Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.8

935 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

time i want back

posted by drave55 (SHERMAN, TX) Oct 11, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

waste of time .graphics is bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by biggsteve42 (MORROW, OH) May 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

the controls are sloppy, these games were good on ps2 but not now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely pathetic

posted by Bloodsucka (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 2, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

Out of the hundreds of ps3 games I have played this is the only game that was unable to install. It is stuck on a required installation. I have tried installing it several times. There is no way to play this game without this installation, even offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just awful

posted by Lstjedi82 (ORANGEVALE, CA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I wasn't pleased in the least with this game. It was too slow and mind numbing, not enough of scare or action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by gdizzle25 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game blows

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible controls and camera make it unplayable.

posted by Thanatopsis (FAIRBANKS, AK) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I recently got into the Silent Hill series with Origins for the PSP. I tried Homecoming a few years ago, but the lack of inverted Y axis made it unplayable.
I'm used to old-style controls such as the classic 90's Tomb Raiders, and even the first Silent Hill, where "forward" moves the characters forward no matter which way they are facing. But with those titles the camera is almost always behind the character, so "forward" really is usually forward.
The camera in Silent Hill 2 is terrible. The angle changes from one arbitrary static position to another far too often. It is impossible not to walk into a wall every 10 seconds. Maybe the design is to make it more nerve-rattling, but to me it is just frustrating and no fun at all. I'm glad I just rented it.
I wish I would have known just how bad the camera and controls are. I wouldn't have even wasted the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Silent DOO DOO

posted by jrsooz (PANORAMA CITY, CA) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This Game Sucked! The Graphics is the worst, Did they not get the memo? we're in 2012, Graphics has come a long way since the first silent hill, this game was terrible, absolute worst game ive rented here

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

slient hill 2

posted by muin (DETROIT, ME) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

sucks big time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unplayable

posted by Wolfn1 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 12, 2012

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

DO NOT rent this! I have been a long time silent hill fan since the very first one came out. This HD remake of SH 2 and 3 is pathetic, glitches from the start of the game all the way to end. Pausing loading even while trying to just walk down the street. Feels like your playing an untested beta, which is truly sad considering that SH 2 came out more than a decade ago and run smoothly with no problems. This remake feels like it was done by someone who didn't really give a #$%# if anyone played or not. A real slap in the face to long time SH fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sorely disappointed

posted by Sabbage (KENNESAW, GA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was eagerly anticipating the opportunity to play the highly revered Silent Hill series because I was much too young and skittish to handle the games when they were first released. Unfortunately much to my dismay the game design is painfully dated and aggravating despite all of the commendable stylistic choices. The controls are inexcusable and are probably why the survival horror genre will remain forever a niche unlike horror films known for their mass appeal. What aggravated me the most was the distribution of ammunition in confined areas which you are not allowed to leave. The first hospital stage left me facing a boss face with the bare minimum of supplies and a stick for my alternative and since nothing regenerates and the games prohibits the character from leaving the stage based on its absurd logic I was left with the option to either start the game over or try to beat an enemy with a stick. This all occurred in Silent Hill 2 which up to that part I had found myself enjoying to a fair degree and then the callous design of the game essentially spat in my face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Scary Sloooooooow Moooooooo....not so scary.

posted by MetalGears (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Silent Hill 2 and 3 are 2 of my top 10 games. Mind you Fatal Frame 2 and Xenosaga trilogy rate above it however they are 6th (3) and 5th (2) on my favorite games list. This port however butchers the series in such a way I thought impossible. The game was so terrible Konami released a day 1 patch that fixed....absolutely nothing.

Silent Hill 2 suffers slow downs and the new voice overs are horrendous to the point I'm happy they released it with the original voice overs. However the voices are out of sync and sometimes I feel like i'm watching a chinese dubbed movie with the way the lips move and the voices speak. The HD graphics are crisp, however the game suffers lag at times. It feels like i'll be running at regular speed, 60 frames per second, then I suddenly drop to about 5 or 6 frames.

Silent Hill 3 suffers all the problems above...however at a more constant pace. The slow down accounts for 90% of the game. What should have taken a speed runner 2 hours and 15 mins to complete (my last speed run time, knowing where everything was, on easy) took 4 hours and 10 mins however the game still logged me at 2 hours and 9 mins. The slowdown is THAT bad. The new voice overs are horrible, however konami in this case couldnt release the original voices due to Heather Morris not signing off on her voice work. People claim they couldn't find her however its the same Heather Morris who voiced Cheryl Mason in Silent Hill: Shattered Memories so Konami has her contact info. The new voices are so terrible I muted the game and put on a series of cutscenes on my laptop and hooked in Headphones to play when a cutscene played. The only actress who seems to care in Either game is the new Heather, at least she sounds invested, the other guys just phone it in.

If you want to play these games in crisp clear definition, buy a 25 dollar Playstation 2, grab Silent Hill 2 Greatest Hits, and Silent hill 3, and hook it up with a Component cable. Still cheeper than this watered down port

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you want to play the worst HD port of your life

posted by fungo (ONALASKA, WI) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

If you want to play the worst HD port of your life, then SH HD Collection is for you!

First, Silent Hill 2 HD

With extreme lag, stuttering, hitching, slow-mo, frame-skipping, and freezing non-stop even after a 300mb patch. The lag screws with the controls, making turning more difficult and quick-turn a hit-or-miss. The lag also has a hand in putting the horrible, awful new voice overs out of sync by 2 to 5 seconds!

The audio is garbage. Bad volume levels, wrong pitch for monsters, random SFX. No stereo leveling. End credits are so distorted they will blow your eardrums. Monsters in the game had their audio swapped to a frentic mess of noise.

Graphics look terrible. Game is letterboxed during cutscenes, unless when they forget to put letterbox on. Shadows are not anti-aliased and blocky. Textures on the streets were changed to make them look freshly renovated and clean. Any prerendered CG cinematic is suffering from low bitrate and no enhancements. They all look terrible (this includes the intro and credits). Sometimes there's pop-up. Sometimes the rope/nooses don't load for the 6 hanged criminals puzzle, so they are just floating in air. Sometimes the upside-down bodies in baskets don't load in Pyramid Head's room.

There is a 2 second blackness between going through doors, or activating cutscenes. Because of this, it is hard to get anywhere fast, and you can sometimes get lost. Also because of this 2 seconds of black, it cut the suggestive scene with Pyramid Head and two mannequins in the apartments. It also cut the scene of opening a can of... lightbulbs.

New voices do not get the point, nor match their characters. The acting is not very good at all compared to the originals. The one nice thing I can say about the game is that you can play with original SH2 voices. But the game is still too laggy to sync their lips to the voices and some actors were changed anyway, like the doctor and game-show host (he is the worst).

Don't buy it. Don't even

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TROPHIES SUCK

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I been playing this game for hours and have not got one trophy, Im always running out of health and ammo controls are dumb and enemies are to hard even on easy liked it better on ps2 atlease it had cheats bad remaster =(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Silent hill more like blind hill

posted by mich666 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I was expecting a much different game. I enjoyed the first 2 installments and this is the next I have decided to try. It was very hard to see anything, but I know that is part of the premise of the game. The thing that disappointed me was not having any type of real control of the camera movement, it was so sporatic to when or if the view would change which made it very diffucult to maneuver. I lasted approximately 20 minutes and then couldn't handle the views anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is bad...

posted by iColdBlooded (BAYSIDE HILLS, NY) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

trust me don't get this game the control is so shtty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wouldnt buy, and would hesitate to rent as well

posted by sh4dow (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

you had to have played these when they first came out in order to really appreciate this set. The game mechanics are very frustrating compared to games nowadays. There are zero "thrilling" moments especially compared to its competitors. The absence of in-game music makes you fight the inevitable nap after an hour or so of playing. I would go on but at this point, you either know you're getting it or not. So to SUM UP, get this for the nostalgia (or the platinum if you're a hunter) and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

most horrifying part, the controller

posted by fangtasia (HOLBROOK, MA) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

forgot what a pain the controllers were in this game....got frustrated right away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The Thrill is Gone

posted by Mr_Fassbender (NORTH BEND, OR) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Once, I thought the tale of a sleepy town destroyed by darkness was completely intriguing, which really made me anxious for each installment. Instead, going down memory lane has resulted in knowing just how much games have changed in 10 years. The mechanics are terrible, the speed and render time is just not good. For example, Heather died because she kept running into walls and stabbing her knife in the opposite direction intended. Such a great concept whose time has passed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

really bad

posted by donsellers (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

this game is so dull

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I would rather buy the PS2 versions again

posted by AtelierRe (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) May 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The reason I am giving this a bad review is because the games are somewhat to not playable at all. I thought a HD remaster suppose to be better than the original. I guess I am wrong. For starters, silent hill 2 is a little playable. The problem is while playing it, it suffers lagging and major slowdowns. Also, the voices do not match the characters anymore. The sync is way off. That is just part 2. Part 3 has the same problems but worse. Silent Hill 3 was one of my favorite games back on PS2. They have ruined both games. I do give credit for the HD revamp. The graphics do look much nicer. In the end, I would rather buy these 2 on PS2 again than play this collection. Save your time and GameQ List and skip this title and just buy them on PS2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HORRIBLE

posted by JustAguy (TAHLEQUAH, OK) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved silent hill 2 when I was younger. It was and still is one of my favorite horror style games ever. I don't know what went wrong but good god these HD versions suck. The annoying stepping sounds where it sounds like you are stepping on a bag of chips everytime you take a step, the horrible controls/camera angles, and the down right horrible frame rate...DO NOT RENT THIS! I played both SH2 and SH3 for about 10 minutes turn it off and cursed myself for wasting my time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst game ever

posted by skennedy25 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

For a game that is suppose to be toughted in HD, the graphics still look maybe PS1 to PS2 at best. The controls are awful. couldn't even make it past 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where did it all go wrong?

posted by TheOldGuyGamer (LOWELL, MA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Sloppy, lazy, inept...these are the words I would use to describe the people in charge of making Silent Hill HD Collection(PS3). Silent Hill 2 and 3 were and still are amazing games and are classics of the survival horror genre. But these ports are simply atrocious. Frame rates that stutter, chug and freeze to the point of making the games unplayable. Horrible lip-syncing during cut scenes and delayed or nonexistent audio effects. And the fog...how do you mess up the fog? Silent Hill 2 actually looked better on the PS2! There's also some odd control issues in Silent Hill 2 where the buttons simply stop working for no reason. Combine these control issues with the slow as molasses frame rate and you get a frustrating and disappointing experience that will make you want to dust off your PS2 and play the original games. Speaking of which, I have SH2 and SH3 for the PS2. I can pop them in right now and immediately start playing them with no trouble or waiting. So can somebody out there tell me WHY Silent Hill HD Collection requires a 4GB install and a 297MB patch??? These games are a decade old! Why can my little PS2 handle these games like a champ but my PS3 can barely run them, even after taking up 4% of the HDD? There's simply no excuse for ports as shoddy as this and Konami and Hijinx Studios should be ashamed of themselves. If you've never played SH2 or SH3 but you really want to check them out, do yourself a favor and hunt down the original PS2 or XBox versions. That way you won't be severely disappointed or get the wrong impression about these wonderful games. Let this game be a lesson for all developers out there that are thinking of doing an HD collection...THIS is how you do it WRONG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

decently dated.

posted by octuplex (WATERLOO, NY) May 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i'm going to be brutally honest, its not really scary. neither of them. the levels are lovingly created and designed, but its extremely hard to get into.

there are some absolutely ridiculous effects designed mainly to pad it out, such as the debilitating fog that just cuts off half of your view (thankfully gone in the sequel). however, its not nearly as bad as the darkness (made a core gameplay feature in the sequel), and i'm going to rant here for a second.

its so bad that it made me assume that the redesigners decided to stop making the graphics better and instead decided to make it nearly impossible to see even on the brightest settings, gamma all the way up, and the flashlight on. IN BRIGHTLY LIT PLACES. it gets even worse in the next one, where near the beginning you have to find your way through hallways filled with enemies, randomly interacting with walls hoping to find a door that isnt broken.

the controls are gimmicky and annoying. theres only one camera control that centers the camera behind your head, and to attack you have to hold one button while pressing a different one. and it never tells you this. or anything.

the puzzles are just stupidly rediculous. theres one in SH3 that requires you to put books on a shelf, and its literally impossible if you dont know the works of shakespeare. which the main character openly admits to.

the story seems forced, like a fill in the blank puzzle found in a doctors office with half of the spots filled in with nonsense.

on the bright side, the music is AMAZING... in SH2. and the enemy design is awesome in both, but prepare to see the same monsters a million times over. but thats pretty much all of the bright side things i can think of.

if it wasnt painfully obvious, this is my first review. but if you seriously need to play it, get a version for the ps2, so that you dont have to deal with my biggest complain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Two Amazing Games, One Horrible Port

posted by mrkatamari (HYNDMAN, PA) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I feel bad about rating these games a 3/10, and in fact I am not saying that the games themselves are bad--in fact, they're amazing--but this 'collection' is beyond bad. It's downright horrifying.

The graphics are 'cleaned up' so much that the gritty, foggy, rusted worlds are now pristine and free of tension or character. The sound, likewise, has been tampered with to such a point that the original PS2 version is superior in every way. Even the sound of walking on steal plates, like in Silent Hill 3, is made clunky and poorly recorded/put out. There is also a myriad of sound syncing issues. The game's voice track struggles to match the lips of the characters' mouths in an obvious and sad way. The sound of swinging a sword or shooting a gun is often lagged and plays noticeably later than it should. It's embarrassing, really.

Then there's the actual bugs and glitches. This game is a mess. It struggles frequently with frame rate issues. In Silent Hill 3, which has more enemies on screen at once, the game often slows to a crawl as the main character runs in slow motion. The screen will often jerk around while loading, and sometimes a simple action like moving the camera around will cause immense slow down and lag. It's sad when this supposed 'HD Collection' for the powerhouse systems of 2012 struggles to run this years old PS2 game. It boggles the mind.

Again, the games themselves are not actually bad. It's the port--this 'remastering' that is the stinker here, and man does it stink. It ruins the entire experience. For that reason, I highly recommend finding the PS2 originals. For Silent Hill 2, there is also an Xbox version which is better than this port. Both games also have PC versions, though they may be hard to find. Silent Hill 3, in particular, looks great on PC and will run well on most gaming rigs. So please, play these games...just pass on this 'collection'.

P.S. You wouldn't know it by this 'collection', but there is also a Silent Hill 4 for the

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse