Rent Silent Hill HD Collection for PS3
view large frontback

Silent Hill HD Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.8

920 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Survival Horror at its best

posted by fatdude600 (BALLWIN, MO) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What can I say about Silent Hill 2 and 3, they are both probably the two most challenging games I've ever played. Not because of the action, but because the puzzles are so intense they make your head spin. These are the first to Silent Hills I played from the franchise and I have to say that they are two of the most scariest games I've ever played. The in game play definitely messes with your mind at some parts to the point where you don't know whats going on or what your supposed to do. I wasn't too fond of the controls when I first started playing the game, but after a while I got used to it and both of these games ended up being great games to play in the long run. Saying Silent Hill is scary is a huge understatement. These are two of the most creepiest and horrifying games you will ever play. This is survival horror at its best. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in trying out the Silent Hill franchise or is a fan of survival horror.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still very great games!

posted by violent_dosage (CLIFTON, CO) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Reading the reviews I can understand why such low scores (pre-patch). I started playing them after the patches for the PS3 so I guess I got lucky. But these games were my favorite in the series. They always will be. They are originals and should be graded as such. These games shaped survival horror for the future. Dead Space, Assylum, and other next gen survival horror titles wouldn't be what they are today if it weren't for the Silent Hill series (aside from The Room, you didn't even go to Silent Hill in that one). After Playing I realized that I was experiencing them for the first time again. Hearing noises that I could never hear before. Also seeing things that I didn't understand playing them on an old tube TV. For example; In the apartment building in SH2 after you get the flashlight on the second floor you see pyramid head standing behind some bars in the hallway. Back when these games were released, I had no idea that's what it was. Games are art. People put years of their lives into these games based on ideas. I think we should give them credit where credit is due. (Aside from the XBOX 360 version. I heard Konami is offering credit towards other Konami titles in exchange if you bought it and can produce a reciept.) But they were and are still very great games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why all the Hate guys?

posted by MOONSTAR (WILTON, CA) Jul 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Silent hill HD collection provides Gamers to enjoy Silent hill 2 & 3 on next gen consoles. people complain about the controls and the claustraphobia inducing darkness and the camera angles, but ignore the good stuff.
Both games provide excellant stories, a number of both fun and irritating puzzles, a variety of scary monsters to battle and unforgettable characters.
To make things even better they enhanced the graphics and improved the Voice acting, making the games look and sound spiffy for the 360 and PS3. Some people complain about how the new voices dont fit the characters or that the graphics arent that good, but they are wrong. sure the graphics arent Resident evil 5 or Call of Duty good, but they fit the bill, and the voice acting? well thats their opinion. i personally have no problem with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truely a masterpiece

posted by BlackSabre500 (SLIDELL, LA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I don't even need to rent this game to tell you how great the Silent Hill collection is.I've played Silent Hill 2 when i was a kid and i was hooked onto the series (of course it was really scary to me but i had major fun till the hospital where i got stumped by one puzzle, lol).I am really confused however about why did it get a 7.9? Just because of camera angles? I mean if you can move the camera then how can it be scary then?Truely you should buy it if you are a true Silent Hill fan, if not but want to be one then rent, but never call yourself a Silent Hill fan if you played only Homecoming and Downpour till you played the Silent Hill collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still a must have!

posted by Brownsnd41 (TULSA, OK) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ever since I played the original PS2 version of Silent Hill 2, I was hooked.

From the creepy simple landscape to the disturbing monsters that fill the ashy world of SH.

In this version most of the frame rate problems have been fixed to move much faster and more fluently without pause. In some ways I feel this was a mistake, and the reason I say that is because the framerate from the original is what made the game a little more realistic.

But none the less I have no other complaints. The graphics are much sharper and with cleaner lines. All in all still a classic.

Im a stickler for the original voices from the game and not the new ones. Its so wierd to listen to!

This is a must have game for your collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Blast from the Past

posted by Itsfroggybaby (CURTIS BAY, MD) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Just like the old days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good for newcomers, bad for veterans.

posted by Triedge (LAWRENCEBURG, IN) May 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

I've read a lot of reviews over this game, and I've noticed one thing: Most of the people who give the game low ratings or harshly criticize it are people who have played the PS2 originals. This seems to be the case with A LOT of the reviews. Here's my two cents.
I played both Silent Hill games on this. Let it be noted, I never played the PS2 originals, so all of this was entirely new for me. Needless to say I enjoyed it extremely. I was happy to finally be able to play the two most critically acclaimed SH games, now in HD.
Like the title says, if you're a newcomer to Silent Hill in general, or if you haven't played SH 2 and 3 yet, this collection will be your cup of tea. If you played the originals on PS2, chances are you aren't going to have as much fun, because you'll constantly be comparing it to the PS2 version. That's just my opinion though.
I did enjoy both games a lot, the HD looks very nice, and even though there were a few glitches here and there, they weren't anything to ruin my experience playing these amazing games. The story to both was great, the gameplay was good, the music and sound were both amazing, and the graphics look wonderful and have a gloomy feel to them, as Silent Hill should.
Like I said, I played the HD collection without ever having played the original SH2 and 3, so that might be why I enjoyed it more than some people. Definitely satisfied me and gave me some good scares.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Piece of Nostalgic Gaming

posted by clovelady (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Not a whole lot can be said about this game. Controls are archaic, lags a bit, but man. Venturing through the storylines of my 2 favorite entries in the Silent Hill franchise was just as fun this weekend as it was the first time I played them years ago. As always, Silent Hill 2 remains my favorite entry and the ending almost always brings an emotional response. Game development at it's best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I don't understand all of the negativity.

posted by ludacarson (GALLOWAY, OH) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Ok so I just finished the Silent Hill HD Collection and while the trophies are super time consuming, I don't quite understand all of the negative reviews. Yes in Silent Hill 2 the camera is a bit of a challenge but if you can get over it (and you will get used to it) this game incapsulates everything that the survival horror genre should be. I would challenge people to find a suitable survivor horror experience that has been released on the console's in the last five years. These games are oldies but they are goodies! While the graphical quality is quite eh, it keeps the experience close to what you had back when these games were released. I remember going to school the next day and talking about how creepy the hospital was in Silent Hill 2. If you enjoy survival horror you will enjoy these games! High recommendation!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

after patch, it's actually good

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I read a LOT of reviews about how the version originally released was broken to the level of being almost unplayable. The PS3 version was patched, but not the Xbox360 (so don't even think about getting this on X360 over PS3). Reviews stated that the patch made things good, and I will agree. The only issue I saw was in SH3 where the game might freeze for 1/10 to 1/4 of a second, but it never effected the game.

As for the games themselves, they actually were quite good. I personally didn't care for them, and my gut tells me that they won't be most people's favorite survival horror games. They just felt a little too heavy on the puzzle side of survival horror games. I truly enjoyed having the option to play the action and puzzle portions at differing difficulties in both games, which threw in real replayability. But, nothing made me jump like a Resident Evil, and action always felt to take a backseat. Even though action wasn't the primary focus, and the puzzles that were there were interesting, they didn't live up to what I like in puzzle games: all out in your face puzzles.

The stories are both off-kilter, but do raise some mature thoughts (death of a loved one, good vs evil, etc). There are also other alternate endings, where you can see a glimpse of the quirky side of Japanese culture.

It's rare that I'll rate a game highly because I see the quality in a game, even if I don't like it. If this series had a different balance that matched my tastes, I'd definitely say that this would be the rare game I'd buy. Since it didn't, I just played through each game a few times, and still am happy I rented the game.

If you've never tried Silent Hill and are curious, definitely get this game in your queue!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by soulASASSIN (PERRY HALL, MD) Jun 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

these games are pretty good the horror is soo nice i prefer original voices but anyway this is a really good game i highly recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome.... didn't know silent hill made games

posted by Plasmanoid3000 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The fact that silent hill became a game spell terror in every corner. i had fun shooting brain dead nurse and stomping floor junky...awesome. i would love to play origin and 4 if it were able to play on PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

gotta love the classics

posted by hf57893 (APPALACHIA, VA) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

if you are a fan of the survival-horror game, then silent hill HD is a must play. better graphics and better voice acting really does silent hill 2 alot of justice. silent hill 3 also benefits from the HD improvements. if your new to these games be warned: the controls are considered to be "tank" controls, but i got used to them in a little bit of time. these games arn't what i call scary, but more like really creepy, sometimes even disturbing. i only wished they would have thrown the original silent hill in with them, but if you never played the first game don't worry you won't be lost in the story of either of them. SH 3 does have some connection to part 1, but it'll be ok i promise. both games have 5 or 6 endings and SH 2 has a sub-story with a different character, so if you get into this you have alot of reply value. trophies earned on these games are also challanging that require you to play the heck out of to get. but all in all this is a great chance to play two classics games from years before in all their glory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Silent Hill 3 was better

posted by sovereignslink (GARY, IN) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I only rented this for Silent Hill 3 because it was better and I did not like Silent Hill 2 at all only fighting Pyramid Head because he is a beast. Silent Hill is too much running and you die in 2 hits and the controls suck in it. Seeing both games in HD is so much better than the PS2 version because it is so much more crisp and environment seems more creepier than before. Other than that had not problem with the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Silent hill HD collection

posted by lonewanderer900 (SHERRILL, NY) Nov 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

There was a number of bugs in this ported version of the games,and the fog was dubbed down so much that you can see very far into the areas you explore.Despite that these games are just to wonderful to the survival horror genre to look past.Still two great games just not the greatest port.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7-10

posted by MikeDQ (TRENTON, NJ) Aug 8, 2012

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good. I enjoyed the originals, but this set is pretty good. Skips frames and is VERY hard to move around at times, but it is a pretty good port to HD. I liked it a lot and brought me back to old times with the same scary parts. I wish it included parts 1 and 4 but thats ok too. I guess they werent big sellers compared to 2 and 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ha!

posted by jaysin (WAKE FOREST, NC) May 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

These games are CLASSICS so don't let these 12year old new school kids deny you a taste of the PAST! They way people review this game is as if it really was made in 2012.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Silent Hill Collection

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Im Getting Tired Of The Companies Calling These Collections When There Missing Alot... This Has Silent Hill 2 and 3.. Shouldve Added 1 And 4 also.. complete... But 2 and 3 They Look a Little Cleaned Up... and sound Is Clearer With Better Voices... But Still Plays Exactly The Same... couldve Just Played These From Ps2 On Your Ps3... But Anyway Same Creepy Games... But They Just Got Steal Over Time... They Were Considered Great For There Time... Especially 2... Rent These Games If You Dont Have Them... If You Do Why Bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better on the PlayStation 2

posted by kuchan (HARRINGTON, DE) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

The controls are horrible. for some reason when my characters walking it freezes and or slows down. I don't recall this ever doing it on the PlayStation 2. A remake is supposed to be better not worse. Konomi where's your head it's obviously not into games. I'll stick with playing these 2 titles on my PlayStation 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rent if your first time playing it

posted by punkbenRN (SANBORNTON, NH) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

These games were a lot of fun when I initially played them. Not really sure what was tweaked (new voices?) Couldn't tell the difference.

If you're new to the silent hill series, you need to play these. If you're not, save your time and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not much to say, it's just another rerelease.

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

I like the original games, I rented this to play them again with the hope of updated graphics. not the case. the same as every other HD collection. Don't try unless you have never played them before!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not much has changed

posted by akira2501 (ROUND LAKE BEACH, IL) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was hoping for an update on an old classic but little has changed.
The control schema is awkward, the game play frustrating, the environments are repetitive and dull.
This game has excellent atmosphere and horror potential though; which is why I was looking forward to an updated version, but this is not an updated version, just an old game that really doesn’t hold up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Had High Hopes

posted by DesolateEntity (ERIE, PA) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I never played the Silent Hill games for the PS2 when I was younger, so i had hoped that the HD collection would show me why these games are considered a classic. I read reviews of the game while I awaited its arrival from Gamefly, so I knew that I would not be experiencing the games the way they originally ran on the PS2. Regardless of the reviews I still had high hopes that I wouldn't run into any of the numerous problems that others were experiencing on the PS3 version. Even with downloading the 300 megabyte patch, the framerate in Silent Hill 2 skipped and hitched even when nothing was really happening on the screen and I felt like I was missing some audio here and there. I tried out Silent Hill 3 and did not notice any major framerate hitches, but the audio is out of sync at times. Which is a issue when you rely on your trusty radio to cue you in when there is a enemy around. I don't know if the 360 version has these same bugs, but if not I will try that version. If you can deal with the framerate and audio issues then by all means, enjoy the game, but for me, it just wasn't cutting it. I just feel with the delays the game had it should of been more polished going out the door instead of feeling like a money grab. Oh and where is Silent Hill 4 or even some PSP releases? At least Konami did right with their Metal Gear Collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

POORLY REMASTERED MESS

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

very boring,not scary or frightful at all,, ridiculous footstep noises become aggrevating ,, but the controls and confusing,idiotic puzzles made me hit delete after several hours on both games,,, and I NEVER RECEIVED ONE TROPHY... sent this one back quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hope HiJinx Patches This Soon...

posted by _XYZ_ (NEW LONDON, CT) Jul 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

(To keep it short, I'll skip the obvious)

it was revealed that this title was ported from an unfinished version of both (SH2/SH3) original games (which is the cause of all these horrible, moment-killing bugs). In response, a major patch will be issued by HiJinx to fix the matrix-like game lag and sync issues that plague everything from the moment you press "New Game" up until the ending credits finish rolling.

If they really go through with this patch, I'll be more than happy to give this game a "10".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse