Rent Silent Hill HD Collection for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Silent Hill HD Collection

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.1

1267 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not for kids

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The negative reviews are coming from the little guys used to CoD games. Don't expect to pick this up and play it like it's a AAA current gen title. If you did that then left a nasty review you are misrepresenting this game! The very essence of this game is a tribute to my generation and nothing more folks!

That being said, if you have the stomach for old school controlls and graphics then there is an amazing well crafted story and experience here for you. There is a reason these games are well remembered and held in such high regards! They are epic! Also this is NOT a remake, it's a HD port, period.

Unfortunately this is part of the generation gap issue. Tread lightly kid o's.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Silent Hill Done Well!

posted by marshall420 (LEICESTER, NC) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played Silent Hill for years and really am impressed with the overall improvements they've made to a classic! The HD graphics enhancements and polish is real impressive and great! There are the old voice-overs from the original and there are new voices too. You get to choose between the two.

This collection includes Silent Hill 2 & 3. I would of enjoyed to play the first and original Silent Hill. That wouldo f really helped open up to newcomers to the series. The controls do take some getting used to on the 360 controller.

The way you move your character up,down,left to right and then the camera angles are better and unique. You can do an over-the-shoulder view to see what's behind you, where in the original version it was painful to see at times what's coming at you from diffrent perspectives and angles. This has been very much improved! I applaud it! The game controls are very good.

The graphics are even greater since it's been polished up to HD. One of my favorite series of videogames. Without doubt. If you're not familiar with Silent Hill and want a real interesting and pulls you in quickly with it's long and very well written story with detective-like gameplay with th horror genre, go pick it up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Survival Horror at it's finest!

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Mar 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This my friends is horror done right. 2 classic games we all know and love brought to modern consoles and remastered in stunning HD. I bought my copy today along with Operation Raccoon City and i can honestly tell you i found it very hard to stop playing Silent Hill even for a second. The stories in these 2 games are just so compelling and you might even find yourself being overwhelmed by nostalgia at some points as i was. The new HD look only compliments how amazing SH 2 and SH 3 already are. A must buy for die-hard Silent Hill fans. I only wish they included SH 1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is Silent Hill

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Mar 20, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you want a good Silent Hill experience then you should look no further than this collection. Though is doesn't have the first one, the best one in my opinion, it does offer 2 great games in one. Every Silent Hill after the first 3 were just filler. I hope they make a new Silent Hill that even comes close to the perfection that is Silent HIll 1, 2, and 3. Rent this, you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Classic with a new shine

posted by lowendjim (MEMPHIS, TN) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

First things first. If you're younger & have not played the original, expect to have to use your brain. This series does not hold your hand to mindlessly corral you through set pieces without having to use any real thought process. It is a big boys game. You will have to use your brain.

This remaster is done perfectly. Although Silent Hill purist would disagree, the new voice over are done really well. The updated graphics are also nicely done without over doing it, taking away from the original aura & atmosphere. The sound and music in these games are bad enough in a good way to give Jeffery Dahmer nightmares. Its just plain ole demented Silent Hill at its best.

As for the controls, if you are expecting super smooth, seamless combat and exploring then you probably shouldn't be playing Silent Hill in the first place. For me, the clunky controls adds just that much more to the whole helplessness & slow panic vibe to the game. I found if I changed my button configuration to where all movement was on the left stick, it made for a bit easier exploration.

In final, if you are a Silent Hill fan in any way this one is a no brainer. If your new to the series read 1st paragraph.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The two best skateboarding titles on any system

posted by popokata (PACIFIC PALISADES, CA) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

All together this is the best package I could ever ask for. These games are so amazing they should've gotten a 10 on every review. Anyway I will just review both of them for u guys ok?
Silent Hill 2
The best game in the package, the game is so good I would hug everyone who worked on this game, no joke. Its so freaky, moving and captivating at the same time. I'm serious I bought this package just for 2 but I figured out 3 is good to. I suggest putting more time into this one you will most definitely get more out of it.
10/10
Silent Hill 3
Don't get me wrong Silent Hill 3 is a good game just I really isn't as good as 2 and heres why. It isn't as smart because there are not as much puzzles not exploration. The character isn't as cool at all as James but I think she is much better than other girls in video games. Now to the good stuff, this is super scary and monsters look different and more realistic also feels a bit bigger than ever (even in the small town).
8.5/10
This is a great buy for new comers and olds alike, do not get mad at the controls you will get used to them. And for $40 this is a no brainer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not a mindless shooter.

posted by US2WEIRDOS (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you were introduced to video games by playing Call of Duty and you expect to run straight through this game, you will HATE Silent Hill. Silent Hill is about exploration, solving REAL puzzles, putting together clues, avoiding fights when possible and having a tough chaotic and confusing battle when fights are necessary.

If you're expecting a frantic, action packed shooter style pace, then you should play a good shooter. I love shooters too. But, Silent Hill is about letting your mind slip into the game. Get engulfed by the world. Turn off the lights and allow yourself to really experience what's happening. It's a psychological game and to appreciate it fully, you have to let the game set the pace and not try and set the pace yourself. In a way, this game controls you, you don't control it. And if you're trying to play it at YOUR pace and YOUR speed, you will NEVER get anywhere at it. This game was meant to be a mind wrecker. If you enter this game with the attitude that you will let it take you on it's journey, you will LOVE it. If you go into it trying to make it an action/shooter game, you will get nowhere and quickly get frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for First Timers

posted by Ebass (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

12 out of 27 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

If you are not already a fan of the Silent Hill series, do yourself a favor and avoid this game. After hearing countless tales of how exciting and scary and fun this game is, I must say I was incredibly disappointed. Silent Hill did not age well.

The controls are atrocious. There is no camera control, and the vast majority of the 2 hours I put into the game I was looking behind my character, with no idea what I was walking towards. I doubt they recorded any new sound effects, they sounded terrible. The graphics have been updated, but still look awful. The "combat" is as bad as I have seen. The only tactic I needed was face enemy, hold "A" until it stops moving.

But the worst part is that there is no way of knowing what you are supposed to do. I suppose that is what it would be like to be in this situation in real life, and it makes it more "fun" to have to figure it out, but after running around foggy streets that all look the same for an hour and a half, smashing "monsters" with a stick in what passed for video game combat 15 years ago, I died. There was no indication of how close to death I was. I don't necessarily need a HUD, but give me something. The man(I never even learned his name) should slow down or walk funny or show some damage. So I had to start all over because I never found a way to save. No thanks.

Fans, go for it, because you already know what to do and now you get achievements for it. New-comers, remember Silent Hill 2 came out in 2001, and it definitely shows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful

posted by Sherilosco (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is really awful in the fact that during the first 20 mins or so all you do is run around or actually walk around boring. I expected more, The graphica are visually stunning but I would not pay to keep this. I hate that you are in 3rd person mode and you start off in a bathroom and you are running in circles to figure it out on how to get out,

My recomendation dont play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Annoying

posted by Evildead22 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Nov 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just couldn't get past the terrible fighting mode and wandering all over. I know this is a quality game, but its not a good one for someone with little patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

eh

posted by GeeksWall57 (CAROLINA SHORES, NC) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it realy looked like fun but i hated the controls. i kept it for a week to get used to them but i couldnt. sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

People expect to much

posted by xLuciferxz (BETHLEHEM, PA) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

People who gave this game a 1 need to understand that this is a old time game and a lot of those games where like this at that time just cause its a remake doesn't mean it is gonna be like call of duty or borderlands with super smooth controls if they wanted to re make silent hill like that they would of just created a whole new game People who didn't like the game because of the controls or graphics obviously never played on anything else besides a xbox360 and never a old console like ps1 they fail to realize that the game graphics greatly improved and most of all a old time great hit game is now on xbox and its time to go back to the past again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A bit of nostalgia, A bit of me screaming at my TV

posted by MsMarvel9988 (INDIAN TRAIL, NC) Nov 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I am a die hard silent hill fan, and I must say this before I completely tear apart the franchise lol

First off games that were made back in 2001 are not made to be "remastered" and meant to be played in 2012 when technology has made games pretty much life-like. I was 11 when the first Silent Hill came out, and I also remember standing in line, buying it, and coming home and spending 4 days straight playing it. It was one of the scariest, and best games I've ever played. When PS2 came out, I bought a bundle that had Silent Hill 2 included in it and I remember saying that these games were way ahead of their time because it felt so real. Well, that's because it was 2001, I was 13, and gaming technology had only come so far.

The reason why I rented this game was because I was feeling nostalgic. It's like when you bust out the NES and play Super Mario you feel like you are a little kid, and it's a great feeling. Yeah, this game gave me no kid-like feelings, it actually made me so mad I couldn't play it for more than an hour. The game controls are absolutely ridiculous and you find yourself running/walking sideways or backwards or in a circle. The fog makes everything look like fog, there is no way of knowing where you are going, where you are supposed to be going, and I stumbled upon a save location because I went the wrong way lol. The monsters look like bits of pixels mashed together, are not scary, and can no way be "remastered". I employ you to not waste your time playing this game for the xbox 360. If you really want to play this game, play it on a PS2--the way it was meant to be played. It's not worth being on your Q, and it really gives the whole series a bad name, and as a true fan it really upsets me to even say that.

Happy Playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK game

posted by lonewolframbo (RENO, NV) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game had a good mood and good story that's were its all stops. The game to me feels old and gameplay is for not current gen. The save points are bad and hard to find at times. I would recommend to developers of silent hill to add menu saves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

how do you get out of here on 2 and 3

posted by grant123 (AVON, IN) Feb 23, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i hated it i cant figure out how to get out of this place. if you are good at figuring out stuff believe me you wont figure out how to get out of this place on 2 or 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

glitches and freezes

posted by callfee (OAKLAND, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It would be a good game if it did not constantly freeze on me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its cool but no time

posted by johnmasterch1ef (SOUTH EL MONTE, CA) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

cool game the controlling was kinda hard but got use to it quick. i will rent this again at some other time i just dont have time to figure out the clues right now not enough time right now. i say its worth a rent cause its pretty freaky. returning this tomorrow. My job is the main reason i have no time for his game to realy get into it no weekends off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How could this have ever been any good?

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

So nothing happened as I walked to town in Silent Hill 2. And the controls really oinked. 3 looked more promising but the controls just did not work. Maybe the port was just really bad but I cannot imagine enjoying this junk on any platform. Boo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great original Horror

posted by Zchanda (CHEROKEE VILLAGE, AR) May 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Huge fan of the silent hills. Love the story line and unpredictable stories.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent

posted by alexander21 (SOMERSET, PA) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

2 of the best classics just sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

O_o

posted by goreXchic (KARNACK, TX) May 26, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I love silent hill!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

it was so so

posted by leondarkmoon (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

silent hill wasnt ll that great there was no good story too it it was that good at all its a ok game it funny not scare i was giggling alot at the gme the monstar looked funny

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Perkman (ENFIELD, CT) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I do not like this game due to the lack of ability to move and lokk around your persons the fighting in this game is horrible. Honestly I think they were being kind when they gave this game the rating. Worst game I have played for the Xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

awful.

posted by briannaannate (SCHENECTADY, NY) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 26 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

i was really looking forward to this game after reading the reviews. & after recieving it i stopped playing within' twenty minutes, & confusing, the controls are awful. Complete waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete Disappointment

posted by bbhenley (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 38 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

This was definitely a horrible game I was hoping they would fix the controls fat chance. But then again what do you expect from the worst game series in history

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse