Rent Silent Hill: Downpour for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Downpour

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

1343 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Silent Hill Dissapointment

posted by CoyoteOmega (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was alright. By itself it would have been a good game but as a Silent Hill game this one is a disappointment. In a genre known mostly for it's creepy atmosphere and disturbing monsters of all kinds this title comes nowhere near the frightening power of it's predecessors. The monsters are few in type, all basically humanoid and more annoying than scary. The atmosphere was bland and boorish. Even the haunting use of creepy music which was the previous titles strength was absent in this game. If you are an avid fan of the series you will be disappointed. If you know nothing about the series and want to thrill yourself with something your grandma would find scary but you probably wont, pick up this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

One step forward, one step back

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Mar 31, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Compared to Silent Hill Homecoming, Downpour's core storyline is coherent, tightly written, and satisfying to explore from start to finish. Unfortunately, compared to Homecoming, the controls and combat mechanics are an absolute disaster, and other annoyances - like constant backtracking, and the protagonists' ridiculously slow running speed - make it a frustrating playthrough at times.

Silent Hill has been a series that always preys on its characters' fears and secrets, and casting a convicted felon as the lead is a brilliant direction for the franchise to take. The story is just ambigious enough that the many endings can all "fit" what you're learned up to that point, while leaving them up to interpretation.

You'll follow Murphy Pendleton as he escapes a prison bus crash, makes his way to Silent Hill, and tries to piece together his own past as well as several mysteries along the way. Why does Officer Cunningham seem to hate him? Why does water play such an important theme throughout the game? What is Murphy's actual secret, his biggest regret?

Fans of the series may be frustrated by the tedious backtracking and awful combat, but they should find a story within it all that's well worth expriencing at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing............ but flawed

posted by Ipwnzombie (MONTICELLO, MN) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2009

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Amazing............ but flawed, but come to think of it what silent hill game has ever been perfect? thats right none of them. They all have been a little bad but their all still great games. Im going to make this short, i thought Downpour was awesome. Yes it was flawed but it exceded my expectations as a silent hill fan, above and beyond. So this is how i look at this game, ok so imagine an empty frying pan and konami wanted to cook a new silent hill game up. So they take a little silent hill 1,2, and 3, silent hill origons, silent hill homecoming, and silent hill shattered memories and mixed them all up and boom you got a darn good silent hill game. And dont listen to the other reviewers that say this game isnt scary because it is pretty scary. I play all the older silent hill games all the time and this game still managed to make me jump like a girl and send chills through me. I also thought that the story was dead on perfect and i say good job for letting me play as a prisoner because silent hill is a place of punishment and who ever is called there or ends up there is basically paying for their sins. And who better to suffer for their sins than a prisoner! I also think that this game improved on tons of things that the silent hill series needed to improve on, (the god dang health system being one, which is perfectly fixed in this game.) anyways all in all i give this game a 8 mainly just for some graphical, musical, and gameplay issues. but as a die hard silent hill fan i give this game a solid 10, because i see this game as the game that all the fans have been asking for, its just you got to look past some issues to see it. ohh yea and also just cause i love all things silent hill. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly good despite bad reviews

posted by donomanx (LAWRENCE, MA) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I saw that this game had some really bad reviews but as a fan of the series I felt I still needed to check it out. First thing to mention is that the combat is horrible. However, this game tries hard to make the player avoid conflict so the bad combat isn't too much of an issue as long as you're not blood thirsty and fight everything you see. There's some great scare moments and the atmosphere is great. I would say this probably had the 2nd best story in the series next to Silent Hill 2. If you're a fan of the series (love the setting, puzzles, scares, and weird stories) rent it for sure, if not then I wouldn't bother with it (go play resident evil or any number of horror games with better controls/combat).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Had flaws, but enjoyed it

posted by Skreame (PORTAGE, WI) Aug 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The graphics aren't the best and the combat, although expanded, is still pretty bad. The main storyline following the tribulation of Murphy was great and the added atmosphere set by the side quests were fantastic. I very much liked the addition of the concept of storms even if the actual combat didn't provide, and I was glad with the amount of roaming one could do. Diehard fans might be upset with lack of puzzle difficulty and actual horror. Casual players will be fine with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by SilentWaffle709 (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all a very good game but not very scary or disturbed like the old silent hills we love and know but still great the fighting mechanics in the game could be improved gives a great creepy atmosphere but could be easily lost so I insist on using a map i do recommend but still not the best silent hill but is a great game. I give it a 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Freezing makes the game unplayable

posted by ClydeFrogg (WINNETKA, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I will start off saying that I love the Silent Hill franchise. Despite their shortcomings, they were always one of the few fun games that I could play together with my wife (I do the battles, she does the puzzles and exploring). This game started off great, excellent graphics, decent storyline, a little clunky combat...but whatever.

We quickly discovered a VERY huge oversight...the save system. The game shows a "Saving" icon literally every few minutes, however it is not actually saving your game progress. The game only saves at predetermined points, and there are surprisingly few for a game that requires you to explore numerous locations and solve lengthy puzzles. Normally, this isn't too big of a deal, but in this case it destroys the game due to the CONSTANT freezing. We would play the game for an hour, then it would freeze up. We would reload it only to find it hadn't saved any of our progress (despite seeing the "Saving" icon dozens of times). We would try to get back to where we were only to have it FREEZE again. Sometimes it would freeze just trying to load our game after the last freeze.

The combination of unfathomable freezing and lack of save points literally rendered the game unplayable for us. We gave it our best efforts and replayed the same parts over and over (and over) just praying for the next save point. It's unbelievable that in this day and age that a) a game doesn't have a decent autosave and b) a game can get out the door with such inherent glitches. We tried the game on multiple systems with the same results, and other games worked fine. It was extremely frustrating and disappointing, as the game was shaping up to be very entertaining.

If you're considering this game, and you like Silent Hill games, this one has great potential. If you're lucky enough to not encounter the freezing issues, you may have a good experience. However we were not so lucky and my pregnant wife was 2 seconds away from chucking it out the wi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Saves ruin this otherwise dumpy game

posted by Deadnoobie (CORONA, CA) May 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game doesnt give you the option to save so you are never sure if it saves or not. Three times I've been put back over an hour to a save point. Two times it said it saved and it didn't, and one time i died and had to start 1.5 hours back. This is too lame for me so I'm going to return it without finishing (which i rarely do).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game and story

posted by RE4Gamer9 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game. A lot of people are hating on it and I don't see why. The story is amazing, the graphics are good, and it kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. The game is pretty long too. Including the main quest and the side quest, it took me 14 or 15 hours to complete. My only problem I've dealt with is the frame rate issue. Every now and then the game will get choppy, but it isn't a game-breaking issue.

I highly recommend this game to hardcore Silent Hill players, or just casual gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Underappreciation

posted by xSpeedKitty (CLIFTON, NJ) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Honestly, I don't know why this game gets such terrible ratings. I just finished the game, and am not at all disappointed with this game. Its story-line is actually quite compelling and lives up to the silent hill name, even though it is not developed by the original SH team. It's abstractness and ambiance are very vivid, and it pulls you into the game whenever you run from the red light (and also props to the devs for the sh3 reference). So ambiance and story-line in my opinion are atleast an 8+. The sh series is a cult classic, if you don't like the other games you probably won't appreciate this one. If you begin to attack the graphics as why this game is not up to par, The Walking Dead won game of the year with graphics right out of 2006. If you attack it closed-ended gameplay, its a silent hill game, not a free-roam; however this game does incorporate free-roam abilities. Not on skyrim's standards, but the ability to enter different houses and get different side quests is intriguing, especially with maintaining a silent hill consistency and ambiance. When I picked this game up, I was awaiting disappointment, and tried to find things to scoff at, but after the first two missions, I was in love; impressed with the games developement, originality, and abstract portrayal. Overall, I think this is a really excellent game, with its references to the other silent hill games, and ability to keep within its own story-line and borders,and how it leads to a climatic ending. This game is way underrated, and suggest it to anyone who actually appreciates games and see's them as they are, not blindly follow what others say a game should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont buy

posted by mwschoonover (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this games gameplay was not good at all rented for a week and just did not like it at all so if you want to try it cool but i would not buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sadly Disappointed.

posted by theG0LDENteap0t (MIDDLETOWN, PA) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Has poor game direction and actually has in game lag for a single player non Live game, and a lot of it to say the least. The controls are terrible and the game switches frequently from over the shoulder to a fixed perspective at random parts; there is no need for that, it's irritating and confusing. Too often did i find myself asking 'what do i do?' and 'where do i go?'. Also a sad excuse for a Silent Hill game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

rented for story and eh.. yea

posted by Adubb513 (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 25, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ill start with the good. The story leaves trying to reveal why hes in the place hes in, what happened and why. It gives you dome good jumps if you have surround sound also. I didnt care to look at the notes I picked up or pages because I only wanted to play story. Graphics were pretty good also.
The bad was combat, you dont get achievements for normal winnings on there, the game glitched so much if it was mine I would of broke it. Yhe puzzles on some things were so hard that you had to youtube . Overall id say its not worth a rent but more of a watch someone else play so you can get the story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad disc

posted by ElSlasherJunkie (WOODLAND, WA) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't get to play it because the disc I got was in terrible condition. The innermost part of the disc was worn down so bad that it won't read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected

posted by mccracker (PEARLAND, TX) Oct 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented Silent Hill Homecoming and it was an awesome game full of intense boss fights and action packed gameplay. When I saw another Silent Hill was coming out, Downpour, I was really excited to give it a try. I was pretty disappointed with the game as a whole when I finally had the chance to play it. The weapons system was changed to where your weapons break after a few uses and even if you try to smash an enemy with your gun it'll eventually go flying out of your hands. You can only hold one gun and one melee weapon at a time, which is very annoying. The enemies are extremely repetitive and boss fights are non-existent. It is suspenseful being that you are so limited on your weapons and ammo, which gave it it's own challenges. It's one of those games where I was anxious for the end of the game to come and I was ready for it to be over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

game that broke silent hill

posted by aries28 (CARRIERE, MS) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

honestly i do not know what happend with this game when they were making it, but this just broke the series. i used to be a big fan of silent hill. i played the game for maybe an hour and that's as far as i could get before i wanted to shoot myself. that's why i am rating this game a 2. you know those game fly commercials where the people are screaming and crying because they bought a bad game, thats

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Scary and fun

posted by SamWells3 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i LOVE horror games and this game is my 2nd favorite silent hill, right after silent hill 2, i had fun and sometimes peed myself and i loved the creatures, weapons, and the surroundings, made it very creepy i loved this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sigh

posted by TheHil (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This is hands down one of the worst games I have ever played, and it tarnishes the celebrated Silent Hill name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by 3HUNNA_GBE (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I loved this game ialready beat it twice and got two different endings. i started the game over a third time to try and unlock all the endingd. but its a great game and i really recommend it Great story line and doesnt get boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game was good

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) May 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

I liked this game, I want to rent it again in the future to try to see if I can make it to the end. Has the typical silent hill foggy scenery and roads that are inpassable. Gameplay was easy to figure out, if you like this style of game I recommend giving it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fanboys go home

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

So i stayed far away from Silent Hill after 3. Why? Because i listened to the fans, i felt they were a good representation and to be trusted. Boy was i wrong. Some of these guys need to just stop playing the game and shadap already. Each one of the new Silent Hills has something unique and fun to offer and this one is no different.

Sure it has it's flaws but so did 2, you know the golden god game that everyone holds up on a pedestal? Ya it was FULL of flaws but it was still a good game. So please ignore the butt hurt fanboys and rent this game! Homecoming is just as awesome so is Shattered Memories!

It's not 2001 anymore but guess what, i don't want i to be! Life moves forwards and what i realized from this is you have to try things yourself! You rely on others and you miss out on YEARS of good gaming and end up playing catch up.

This is more than a rating for Downpour, it's a response to all the misplaced hate! Don't go into this game expecting Silent Hill 2! Also those saying it's a good game if you take away the SH name.... LOL then it's still a good game! The end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Very Good

posted by RenaBena (GILFORD, NH) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I played other silent hill games, and this one was just really poor. it lacked alot of stuff, and the end was horrible. you could not get close enough to her to take a swipe at her. very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic Silent Hill

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

To the ones complaining about bad combat... Its a horror game, they have always had bad combat. I have played all the other SH games and this is more of that. Really enjoyed it and would recommend to Silent Hill Fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not the same as others

posted by dragonknight (BUFFALO, NY) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a decent game. however doesn't have the scares or even the same monsters as other silent hill games. graphics are good. soundtrack is amazing. controls and camera angels could use tweaking. 7/10 I give it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boo

posted by TheEnvis10ned (BRIDGEPORT, OH) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Firstly, the graphic aren't so bad or too good at the same time. They feel rigid and right off the bat the movement to them has no fluidity. Then the attack system is horrible. After 30 mins I was crazy bored. This game is not good unless your the Silent Hill faithful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse