Rent Silent Hill: Downpour for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Downpour

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.5

1323 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sigh

posted by TheHil (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This is hands down one of the worst games I have ever played, and it tarnishes the celebrated Silent Hill name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Very Good

posted by RenaBena (GILFORD, NH) Apr 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I played other silent hill games, and this one was just really poor. it lacked alot of stuff, and the end was horrible. you could not get close enough to her to take a swipe at her. very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont buy

posted by mwschoonover (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this games gameplay was not good at all rented for a week and just did not like it at all so if you want to try it cool but i would not buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I've beaten every silent hill

posted by MoeJoeKing (ARAB, AL) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

I gritted my teeth through homecoming, and the payed off in the end was meh. But this one, this one shoves character facts into your face, destroying the mystery of silent hill and its occupants.

To any silent hill fans who wish to delve into the mystery that was silent hill walk away, for those who want noise scares and barely passable FPS rates look no further.

Disappointing, at least i still have my "HD" collection of sh2 & sh3.

This franchise has fallen. Any of you "hardcore fans" who actively support and defend this garbage only hurt the series more.

Silenthill: Downpour
May you join the landfills of Alamogordo, New Mexico where E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial video game lies.
Nuke said landfill.
So after we are long dead and gone, other space fairing civilizations wont pull this excrement out of the rubble and think we thought this was an excusable tissue to wipe our posterior because that would be giving it to much credit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sadly Disappointed.

posted by theG0LDENteap0t (MIDDLETOWN, PA) Jan 8, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Has poor game direction and actually has in game lag for a single player non Live game, and a lot of it to say the least. The controls are terrible and the game switches frequently from over the shoulder to a fixed perspective at random parts; there is no need for that, it's irritating and confusing. Too often did i find myself asking 'what do i do?' and 'where do i go?'. Also a sad excuse for a Silent Hill game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad disc

posted by ElSlasherJunkie (WOODLAND, WA) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't get to play it because the disc I got was in terrible condition. The innermost part of the disc was worn down so bad that it won't read.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

game that broke silent hill

posted by aries28 (CARRIERE, MS) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

honestly i do not know what happend with this game when they were making it, but this just broke the series. i used to be a big fan of silent hill. i played the game for maybe an hour and that's as far as i could get before i wanted to shoot myself. that's why i am rating this game a 2. you know those game fly commercials where the people are screaming and crying because they bought a bad game, thats

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Saves ruin this otherwise dumpy game

posted by Deadnoobie (CORONA, CA) May 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game doesnt give you the option to save so you are never sure if it saves or not. Three times I've been put back over an hour to a save point. Two times it said it saved and it didn't, and one time i died and had to start 1.5 hours back. This is too lame for me so I'm going to return it without finishing (which i rarely do).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Silent Hill Downpour is not Silent Hill Quaility

posted by StarsCaptain (MOAB, UT) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game had glitches right out the gate. I had 3 areas in the game that i couldnt even continue without restarting on another difficulty. And the other difficulties would have there own glitches. I couldnt even open the first door the glitch was so bad. I was super excited about this game but it became a huge disappointment. I would not recommend this game to anyone. This game is not original Silent Hill quaility.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Truly horrifying!!!.. framerate, combat, and story

posted by dwilss (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I'm reminded of the Gamefly commercial where disgruntled hipsters are chucking televisions out windows and throwing hissy fits after flushing $60 down the toilet. I spent zero dollars on Silent Hill: Downpour (subscription notwithstanding), but still found myself on the brink tears by the utter badness of this game and the crippling dismay I felt at ever having put it in my GameQ.

I'd heard that the weather and its effect on the town's denizens was a cool new feature that complimented the more open-ended, sandbox type world they were shooting for. Sounds pretty cool, it's just a shame that 95% of the game takes place indoors, in the dark, with the worst in-game flashlight I've ever had the displeasure of using. When you do venture outside you may be faced with the daunting task of fighting a horde of (3 or 4) baddies with a bit of wood that you've miraculously discovered using the game's ludicrous and cumbersome highlighting system. Having splintered your foes into unconsciousness you look closer and discover you've wiped out a family of twin brothers and sisters. We'll call them "male 'metal retainer' zombie" and "female 'The Ring' rip-off zombie." Each variety of enemy ("variety" here meaning four, maybe five) in Downpour shares the EXACT SAME character model with those of its kind.

I won't bother talking about the combat. It's clear they didn't talk much about it during development. If you ever find yourself in a tight spot, simply jog away. Indeed, jog away, like you'll do throughout the entire game, at a good 20-minute-mile pace.

The story is muddled and disjointed beyond the point of comprehension. Die-hard fans of the series might be duped into thinking there's some good stuff in there but it's all just a bunch of cliched babble. The dialogue was penned by seventh-grader, and the all-too-frequent "chase" sequences turn into tedious guessing games with the protagonist screaming liking a woman at every turn.

There's more bad here. I'm just out of ro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Seemed unfinished...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

I played for about a few hours and then just got bored with it... The game plays as a 3rd person adventure title with a very creative storyline, but falls short in the graphics(May ONLY be that way on the Xbox) . The gameplay is very unique and genuine, but it didn't really get me to want to play anymore.

Murphy is an inmate in prison with a dark past that is shrouded in deception and false accusing. Upon being transported to another prison facility, a accident happens. Waking up, Murphy finds himself free and only survivor of a bus wreck. Murphy then makes his way to a seeming deserted town that is not what it seems.

I enjoyed many aspects of the game... The "insanity" parts that will have escalating paths... But with the lack of graphics and the seemingly small color pallet and objects that were used constantly OVER and OVER... It felt like I was just constantly running in circles, seeing the same things... Only, re-arranged. It has a very interesting story, with few interesting gameplay interfaces. It might have been just the Xbox not having, as good of graphics, but it made it seem very repetitive. It possibly would have been more appealing to the eye if I had a 3d TV, but if you don't have a 3d TV you may find yourself not enjoying it as well.

If you are a fan of the Silent Hill titles, and HAVE A 3d TV... You should try this game... It had some parts in it that would have looked cool with 3d depth to it. But since they don't think of the small people out there... Who do not have 3d TVs... I'm not giving it a high score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tired of Konami's pathetic attempts.

posted by williammc (OMAHA, NE) Feb 15, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I for one am sick and tired of the makers of silent hill. The first 2 games were great but every single subsequent entry I have played is absolute garbage. I don't know What is wrong with konami but they seem to think that the fame of their first couple games is all they need to keep people coming back. No matter which game it is there is always some minor technical issue that makes it impossible for me to enjoy the game, and it's always something that would have been caught if they had looked over the game 1 more time before putting it on the market. Whether it's the chunky movement and terrible enemy tracking or the fact that in most of the games it's so freaking dark you end up looking for a door or item for half an hour before realizing you've run past it twelve times, no matter how high you turn up the brightness. This game was acually fun at first but I played for 2 hours before running into the first enemy and the auto save function doesn't work most of the time. I had to replay about an hour before I got back to the spot I had quit at before which was seconds after the autosave symbol appeared on the screen. Plus they just decided not to do any major sound effects which has always been their saving grace so I seriously think one of the higher ups in the company has suffered some brain damage. I try to give every silent hill game a try but this one has crossed the line for me. Thank you konami for ruining one of my favorite game franchises and I really hope everyone else who is a fan realizes soon how pathetic your games are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not interesting

posted by andrewsr324 (BRONX, NY) Aug 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

couldnt get into it.... not very interesting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad

posted by Quiksilver425 (IMPERIAL, PA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Bad cam angles and disc was scratched making it skipping a lot and could not play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boo

posted by TheEnvis10ned (BRIDGEPORT, OH) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Firstly, the graphic aren't so bad or too good at the same time. They feel rigid and right off the bat the movement to them has no fluidity. Then the attack system is horrible. After 30 mins I was crazy bored. This game is not good unless your the Silent Hill faithful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

rented for story and eh.. yea

posted by Adubb513 (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 25, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ill start with the good. The story leaves trying to reveal why hes in the place hes in, what happened and why. It gives you dome good jumps if you have surround sound also. I didnt care to look at the notes I picked up or pages because I only wanted to play story. Graphics were pretty good also.
The bad was combat, you dont get achievements for normal winnings on there, the game glitched so much if it was mine I would of broke it. Yhe puzzles on some things were so hard that you had to youtube . Overall id say its not worth a rent but more of a watch someone else play so you can get the story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected

posted by mccracker (PEARLAND, TX) Oct 27, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented Silent Hill Homecoming and it was an awesome game full of intense boss fights and action packed gameplay. When I saw another Silent Hill was coming out, Downpour, I was really excited to give it a try. I was pretty disappointed with the game as a whole when I finally had the chance to play it. The weapons system was changed to where your weapons break after a few uses and even if you try to smash an enemy with your gun it'll eventually go flying out of your hands. You can only hold one gun and one melee weapon at a time, which is very annoying. The enemies are extremely repetitive and boss fights are non-existent. It is suspenseful being that you are so limited on your weapons and ammo, which gave it it's own challenges. It's one of those games where I was anxious for the end of the game to come and I was ready for it to be over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the Same

posted by AngelX (PARAMOUNT, CA) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

It was an alright game, and if I had not ever played the ones prior to Downpour, I would have probably liked it a LOT more. I had no idea what it was about this game that just did not feel like Silent Hill. It is good, but not....in terms of Silent Hill-esque. Konami was not a part of this Silent Hill game, and you could really tell. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Trying hard to be a good game

posted by topgamerscore (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game tried so hard to be great, but only reached decent. It seems like one of those ambitious projects that runs out of money or time halfway through. The combat is the worst part, especially the guns (the reticle constantly floats around even when standing still). There are limited types of generic enemies, and they just get really repetitive. One of the more cohesive storylines of the series, and good characters. Didn't hate playing this game, but didn't really enjoy it either. Could have been so much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Silent Hill Dissapointment

posted by CoyoteOmega (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was alright. By itself it would have been a good game but as a Silent Hill game this one is a disappointment. In a genre known mostly for it's creepy atmosphere and disturbing monsters of all kinds this title comes nowhere near the frightening power of it's predecessors. The monsters are few in type, all basically humanoid and more annoying than scary. The atmosphere was bland and boorish. Even the haunting use of creepy music which was the previous titles strength was absent in this game. If you are an avid fan of the series you will be disappointed. If you know nothing about the series and want to thrill yourself with something your grandma would find scary but you probably wont, pick up this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

For American Silent Hill - Its not too bad.

posted by ilovebiohazard (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I have played all of the Silent Hill games (even origins) and I can say this was not terrible. I liked how the developers/producers had his or her own take on the "Other world" and it was challenging on hard. The story was ok, not a total "mind blowing" but had its moments.
The thing I did not like was the total lack of a variety of monsters. I know the other Silent Hill games only had about 5 monsters you encounter on a daily basis, but the monsters in downpour seemed so boring and about 4 of them I thought we modeled after 1 monster which took the "scare" factor out - making it seem very repetitive.
All in all I would give this Silent Hill a 5 because the story was ok (not great), the monsters, and the music (sorry I love Mr. Yamaoka - it really makes the game).
Give it a try if you like Silent Hill - if you have never played... Give the first one to 4 a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Bad

posted by SoulStain (RESEDA, CA) May 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

The game was fun at first until the bugs. Broken side quests, game never saves when it says it does, choppy graphics and just an all around sense of boredom. Could have finished the main quest but got sick of crawling around at a snails pace. Dont think i'll play a konami game again since they release broken products and refuse to fix them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Freezing makes the game unplayable

posted by ClydeFrogg (WINNETKA, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I will start off saying that I love the Silent Hill franchise. Despite their shortcomings, they were always one of the few fun games that I could play together with my wife (I do the battles, she does the puzzles and exploring). This game started off great, excellent graphics, decent storyline, a little clunky combat...but whatever.

We quickly discovered a VERY huge oversight...the save system. The game shows a "Saving" icon literally every few minutes, however it is not actually saving your game progress. The game only saves at predetermined points, and there are surprisingly few for a game that requires you to explore numerous locations and solve lengthy puzzles. Normally, this isn't too big of a deal, but in this case it destroys the game due to the CONSTANT freezing. We would play the game for an hour, then it would freeze up. We would reload it only to find it hadn't saved any of our progress (despite seeing the "Saving" icon dozens of times). We would try to get back to where we were only to have it FREEZE again. Sometimes it would freeze just trying to load our game after the last freeze.

The combination of unfathomable freezing and lack of save points literally rendered the game unplayable for us. We gave it our best efforts and replayed the same parts over and over (and over) just praying for the next save point. It's unbelievable that in this day and age that a) a game doesn't have a decent autosave and b) a game can get out the door with such inherent glitches. We tried the game on multiple systems with the same results, and other games worked fine. It was extremely frustrating and disappointing, as the game was shaping up to be very entertaining.

If you're considering this game, and you like Silent Hill games, this one has great potential. If you're lucky enough to not encounter the freezing issues, you may have a good experience. However we were not so lucky and my pregnant wife was 2 seconds away from chucking it out the wi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Game Actually

posted by Panther2103 (MARYSVILLE, WA) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

So I enjoy Silent Hill games, all of them, 1 through Homecoming (though Homecoming not as much as the first 4). Based on the reviews I read this was set to be the worst in the series in my mind already, and it wasn't that bad at all.

The story of the game isn't the best in the series, but it does keep you entertained and wanting to continue. Basically you are Murphy, who is in prison for reasons unknown. He doesn't seem like the type to be in prison at all, he is nice, somewhat held back and doesn't seem to have any mental issues. He is being transferred to another penatentury and the bus crashes, allowing the prisoners to escape. The story unfolds from there and has a lot of very nice plot twists. The ending I got was considered the "Good" ending, and I thought it was a nice wrap up to the games story.

Graphically the game isn't that great. It looks nice but texture pop in occurs sometimes and there is horrid frame rate drops in some areas in the game.

The controls are another downside to the game. The team took into account the bad reviews from Homecoming for the ease of combat, and tried to do a mix between the easy combat and the combat of the older games with a very annoying block system that works half the time. Guns have a horrible aiming mechanic with a red dot laser that doesn't actually allow you to control it, that likes to jump around the enemy which yields bad results when fighting with a shotgun against 3 enemies.

All in all I would give it a try if you are a fan of the series, or just looking for a decent survival horror game. It does have a few scares, the enemies are very messed up looking and have that Silent Hill feel to them. Just don't go in expecting another Silent Hill 2. I don't know if Konami will ever produce another game that great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good with puzzles on hard and fighting on low.

posted by Cevre12 (OGDEN, UT) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The story line was really good and kept you interested, yet wasn't quite as gory or gruesome as past Silent Hill games.

The Fighting in this game was kind of annoying, although you usually had plenty of items to use in enemy encounters. the enemy AI kept them just out of reach and they leap ridiculously at the most inopportune times.

The "Other World" in this game is very frustrating. Its mostly just running away from some crazy vortex thing. Oh, and by running, i mean hoping you survive long enough to hit some sort of checkpoint.

If you want a game with a good scare factor though, this probably isn't your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse