Rent Silent Hill: Downpour for PS3
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Downpour

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

1178 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hit or miss (largely miss)

posted by Diabl0s (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game. I personally had no problem with Homecoming, a lot of people do but not me. True the depth and crazy twisted nature of Silent Hill got lost in translation but this one is the next step in a feeble attempt.

So Murphy Pendleton is a maximum prison transfer convict that has just lucked when his transport suddenly fell off the highway and into the outskirts of Silent Hill...
The story is rather straight forward and most can guess what the focus would be on. Unfortunately almost everything else about the game felt like HD remake of an older ps2 title. No varieties in enemies (maybe about 3 or 4) and shamefully devoid of any creativity. What they did do right was the exploration aspect of Silent Hill. There are tons of inane side quests that has no relation to the main plot or why Murphy would be wasting his time on doing this instead of escaping his nightmare, I don't know.

While Homecoming was inferior to its predecessor, I would have imagined more refinements to the combat system not harken back to the days of clunky camera and even clunkier combat scheme...

While Silent Hill on the regular world still has its haunting charms with vast areas to explore. The nightmare version suffers from terrible chasing sequence with an unimaginable enemy (no its not a compliment). While the main plot concludes, the other characters introduced are just left in the air as a mystery or just incomplete.

Did I mention how much the combat sucks? That is the true horror this game offers, the fear of having to fight the same enemies over and over with terrible controls. This game had some potential but obviously somethings were cut short. I liked the idea of side quests but it has to make some sense... I also liked that most places and homes were explorable, beats looking through walls and walls of static textures.

Simply put,if you are a fan then you can give this a shot out of obligation but don't hold your breath on scares. The magic i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Worth Buying

posted by kinjo (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well after playing through the whole game, I have to agree with IGN. This game is horrible. Let's start with the fact that it will lag and freeze when entering new areas or when the rain starts. Also, after loading into a new area, the textures take a minute to load in, and the graphics are not that impressive. How about the game play? Well as mentioned, the combat sucks. It would not be so bad if the weapons did not degrade so quickly. Sure wooden sticks will break in a couple of hits, but a shotgun or fire axe will not. I found it very frustrating when my firearms got broken or taken away, especially when there are so few lying around. Your character will also stop running after so long, which is really not cool when running from the vortex or monsters. Let's not forget the 'hop in and out of the window twenty times' problem. I am not BS'ing if you do not move straight after climbing a ladder or crawling through a window, you will find yourself repeating the motion. The lack of direction is also an issue. I would not recommend this game unless the person I'm recommending it to loves screaming at games because they are so frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sad

posted by InsaneSamurai (SALISBURY, MD) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Disclaimer: I think its a bit strange to write a review without playing through a whole game(I only made it 3 hours), but I'm just hoping that someone can read this and save some time avoiding this disaster.

I've been a fan of the Silent Hill games since the beginning, and they've always been hit or miss. This ones a definite miss. The game looks pretty good, and at times sounds great, but that's about it for the good. The control is clunky, there's nothing to assist with navigation apart from the same map system used since the very first game(which leads to alot of wandering), and all sense of fear goes away the instant they throw you into combat. Top that off with a system that can penalize you greatly for not using a walkthrough, and the package is just a waste of time.

The end of the game for me was after wandering around an area looking for a key for about a half an hour, I gave up and went to Gamefaqs. I learned that not only was that key in a room I'd searched 3 or 4 times and just didn't stand still long enough in one spot for the X button to pop on screen, but in the area I had just left I missed a room where you were supposed to get a gun.

A gun is usually a pretty big deal in a Silent Hill game, especially when it's the first one you get, so I try to go back, but Silent Hill: Downpour doesn't believe in going back. Already I've lost track of how many times I walked to a new area just to have the entrance inexplicably become blocked. Whether it's a random boulder falling right behind you, or the door just locking for no reason, it's never something you can tell is going to happen until it's too late, and it can cost you when there are(were) multiple paths.

I can't review the story since I didn't make it very far, but the voice acting was good except for the main character. His lines were emotionless, even when 'calling' for help he barely raised his voice or stopped sounding bored.

Overall, this is probably only for die-hard fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Silent Hill ps3

posted by dman246 (CHICOPEE, MA) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Man,this game was kind of a disappointment I've loved a few silent hills and hated a few,but this one was on the fence for me, the story was full of potential but the game play was full of flaw. I thought we were past the point of repawning enemy's!I would have loved to love this game but I just couldn't

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fear or Just Bordum?

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game has the slowest pace I've ever seen. It's meant to build tension and make the game more creepy, but it just makes the game a complete bore to play. I don't know what the technical term for the graphical glitch where your screen seems to freeze for a second and then your character has moved when the screen unfreezes (lag maybe?) but it happens in this game every couple of minutes. I thought I would like this game, but it's just no fun. The combat and movement of the character is tedious and this game's "sandbox" is empty and boring. Open-world games are some of my favorite, but it just doesn't work here. It feels like a watered-down version of Deadrising 2 with less personality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Move along... Nothing to see here...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Oct 12, 2012

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But seriously, the people who made this game needs to have a complete mental check. This game is about asking if you are a good guy or a bad guy! Yes, it is karma driven, but here is the catch you must not kill the demons of silent hill or else you will be considered the bad guy! What were they smoking when they came up with this karma system?! The enemies can gang up and practically murder you, but heaven forbid that you shiould kill in your own defense? Sadly, it is true. But here is the problem to this concept.. The enemies are stronger than you, they out-number you, and your weapons(while powerful) are prone to breaking, and the only breathing room you are given is when you kill the demons... Imagine that, they made a game where it is bad karma if you kill an evil demon! The evil demons can kill you without any karma penalty what so ever... Factor in the fact, that you are given limited supplies on healing, you don't heal naturally on your own, but it seems that your enemies do however... When you factor in breakable weapons, no real body armor, and limited healing ability(first aid kits) it make me wonder why they just didn't call the game Silent Hill- run for the hills edition. Maybe they could have called it Silent hill- cowardly good guy, and valiant villan edition. The combat in this game has actualy taken a step backwards from previous games in the series. If you spend most of the game running away from your enemies will never get a chance to enjoy the scenery, find any valuable itemss for puzzle solving or find any secrets. Silent hill series is not a racing game, but you would not be able tell the difference if they keep giving us running sections while at the same time, preventing us from slaying demons. Yes, I hate breakable weapons! In a Silent Hill game, a weapon can often become the closest thing you have to a freind, and exploring the town fully might be the only way to find the puzzle pieces you need. Try it out yourself!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Scary good time.

posted by blqnyllow (AZLE, TX) Mar 13, 2012

Member since May 2011

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

If I could I would give it a 8.5, all the negative reviews are disappointing. I enjoy this game so much more than I did Homecoming, yet it's "worse."

Silent Hill Downpour is a definite buy if you're a Silent Hill geek, which I am. The story is probably one of the best Silent Hill stories in a while, and it's very very similar to Silent Hill 2.
Just because the combat is clunky doesn't mean the game is complete trash. Homecoming focused on combat and people and reviewers complained about how it wasn't challenging. Yet Downpour focuses on everything except combat and it gets called garbage. The puzzles are pretty challenging and there are MANY of them aswell as side quests! I really like that Konami finally made a Silent Hill with free roam, and Downpour does a pretty good job at it. There are some areas will it will lag for a few seconds because it's loading the areas, but hey would you rather have a few seconds of lag or a 3 minute load screen? Exactly.

The soundtrack is still amazingly good and creepy. Sound effects can scare you more than the monsters sometimes! The other bad thing about this is the lack of monster variety. There's a total of 5 monsters, and each of them have about two different looks. Don't get me wrong there still really creepy, but I wish there was more of a variety in them.

But all in all I enjoy this game VERY much, and you should too! Don't listen to reviews, listen to yourself! It definitely did not deserve a 4.5 rating from IGN. I suggest you rent this game and give it a try though! Unless you are a fan of the series this game will definitely not disappoint you. And the end boss, is probably the best in the series. Breathtaking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Silent hill Downpour review

posted by evilfinchman (FALLBROOK, CA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

A game with great intentions from a first time maker Vatra studios; Silent Hill Downpour is a great game and would be even better if it wasn't for the constant frame problems and unpolished finish. The game has quite a few jump scares that will get you, and you will feel quite nervous playing alone or with a few friends. However the main story lacked some of the disturbing moments the originals had. The graphics are a bit dated and there are moments where you feel like the creators just gave up and never even played through the game before putting it out on the shelves.
However the story is held up my murphy and a few very clever moments in the game. From making it rain inside a room to turning the world upside down; the puzzles are fun to play through. Fighting isn't as horrible as people say it is, but it still feels very unfair; which after a while can just feel a bit aggravating. Monster designs aren't as scary, but they work alright. AI isn't too horrible o anything. There are six endings including a spoof ending; but to be honest most of the endings just don't bring enough closure to the story. The side missions were terrifying to be honest and sometimes it overshadowed the actual main storyline. Over all the game was fun. I beat it in about ten hours without playing much of the side missions, but it seemed like there was plenty else to do. Rent, don't buy at full price, you'll feel robbed. buy when it's cheaper. 7
The goods:
-good character
-some interesting plot twists though endings seem to come up short
-fun to play through
-some good jump scares and some moments that are just very cleverly executed
negatives:
-fighting could have been much more fluid
-seems to have some plot holes
-voice acting was a bit off
-facial expressions on everyone but murphy look awkward
-dated graphics and a lot of technical errors

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

People have lost sight of the real genre.

posted by SuperHuman (YORK, SC) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I dont understand all the negativity surrounding this title. I think people have lost sight of what the real survival horror is about. Its about someone like us being in over his head and making the best of a bad situation, not a trained S.T.A.R.S operative.

Over the past 5 years all survival horror has been geared towards high paced action, so when a slow paced watch your back type game hits it bores alot of gamers.

For those that want that Dead Space or Resident Evil feel best leave this title alone. Silent Hill is true to the genre, kinda like Alan Wake.

For those that have been ready for a game that is slow paced, good puzzles and creepy sounds and feel, then this the game you been waiting on.

To each there own, as a gamer I hope everyone finds that title that suits their playing style however I just think Developers use the term survival horror a bit loosely.

Just because a game has zombies or demons doesnt make it survival horror if you have amillion weapons and insane hand to hand combat training lol. That makes it an action/shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ever the chilling, creepy tale we love to hate.

posted by FatiusQDolce (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The first thing that you have to take into account when it comes to game franchises like Silent Hill, is that when a great deal were playing the first three, we were but wee babies, probably well under the suggested age, and far more vulnerable to suggestion. Take Silent Hill 2 for example, in my case, one instance in particular, turned the town of Silent Hill, into one of the most appetizingly creepy places to visit.
I had played well into the night, feeling the heeby jeebies at every turn, genuinely creepy, and not terrifying, is why I love this series. Then I just couldn't take it anymore, I loved it, but it was just too much stress. I took the game out, walked to the other side of the house, and placed it on the kitchen counter. I was the only one awake in my house, I've never slept much, so when I woke up, my parents were still asleep, I went into the living-room, and to my horror, the game was back in the playstation, tv on, loaded to where I had left off.
It's things like that, where I was hooked through the gills from that point on, whether or not I believe my parents to this day that they weren't just messing with me, doesn't matter, I was genuinely freaked out, and that made the need to play, even stronger.
My thoughts on Downpour:
In three words, I'm enjoying it. From the moment the music started, I was back, it was like greeting an old friend. Homecoming was a disappointment, mostly because of the overemphasis on a shoddy combat system, so, when I went through the trophy list and found that there is a trophy for not killing a single enemy, my faith was restored.
I won't give much more than that away, but heck, for true Silent Hill fans, that should be enough. No, you won't get the scare of your life in here, and it may not even be as strongly creepy as the old ones, simply because we're older, and more jaded, but I can guarantee some good, creepy fun, and a chance to come back and visit a town we all loved and hated years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by UmbrellaCorp (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A lot of game magazines and websites have been giving this game a highly underrated score. Its at least 9 worthy. Yes it may not be as true to the roots as people want but it does tie in previous games. Like a random picture on the wall showing shepards glenn from silent hill homecoming, or being able to enter an apartment and it is an exact replica of the room from silent hill 4: the room with a chained door and all. Walking through the town during a rain is as suspenseful as creeping through the darkened areas in Silent Hill and Silent Hill 2.

With some puzzles simple, and others more complex (like reading a poem and using its clues to solve a puzzle similar to silent hill's piano puzzle and the story on the chalkboard) and being able to set your puzzle level harder or easier it is a win win with every type of player. For the true experience I would recommend making the display darker in the options and making the logo barely visible, it makes the lighting and rain effects stands out so much more. Brighter screens really take away the ambiance. Lastly, new game play elements such as balancing on tight walkways, breakable weapons (of which they are everywhere so you never need to look far) and the lack of a radio to let you know something is coming really adds to the suspense in making this game a Silent Hill worthy of the name. Personally, it puts Silent Hill Homecoming to shame, and I am calling this the first next gen Silent Hill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Silent Hill: Downgrade

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Dec 15, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Before we begin. I've played all the Silent Hill's and have liked them all. The community is usually split on how they see The Room and Homecoming but I honestly like them both...

And that's not to say that I didn't like this one, but, it truly doesn't add anything to the series. Is it more Silent Hill in the sense of it being just more of something we like, therefore, it's good? Yeah. But, at the same time, there's no real evolution to be had. Earlier in the series, there were significant improvements and even some changes, especially with the approach in The Room. Homecoming may have simply benefitted from being on the next generation system (possibly the same thing that aided The Room) but there were also progressions in combat and story development that progressed the series as a whole. Origin also had some of these attributes. Even Silent Memories was an interesting turn, albeit, a bit different.

This game, is in no way a "bad" Silent Hill. It just is Silent Hill. It's totally fine. I will say that, on the harder difficulties, it really makes combat unbalanced (they want you to flee) but I suppose that just their way of making it difficult...

If you like Silent Hill, there's nothing to really complain about other than technical bugs (especially when saving) but if you've got a pile of other games, or just not in the mood for this genre, don't feel bad if you save this one off to the side. If you think you're gonna pop this in a get hooked... probably not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Scares plentiful, mechanics lacking

posted by clovelady (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm currently up to the monastery in Silent Hill Downpour and so far, I'm really happy with the game. While alot of the more well known publications are saying that the game is plagued with technical issues I haven't seen too many. Some clipping glitches and occasional framerate drops occur, but nothing that, in my opinion, takes away from the overall play of the game. Combat, like with all other silent hill games, is second rate. It's slow and can feel unwieldy at times, but the combat is spaced out far enough that this doesn't prove to be too much of a nuisance. The story itself harkens back to the classic Silent Hill series (1, 2, and 3) making this less survival-horror and much more psychological thriller which I thought was a very welcome return for the series. Overall the gameplay is solid, the storyline is exciting, and the scares are plentiful and yes, mannequins make a dramatic return. All in all a worthwhile rental that I would recommend to any fan of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An Improvement to the Series

posted by starlessbird (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 25, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From the get go, the game is a rental at best until it hits at least $30. For a Silent Hill game, it isn't great, but it is a step in the right direction and an imporvement over Homecoming.

Graphics are outdated, but not distracting. I played on the PS3 and oh boy were there some problems with framerate. And it isn't a choice of loading screen or slight dip in framerate, because there were loading screens too and half my drops in framerate were during combat scenes or if I turned around too fast (my PS3 is fine). While the outdated graphics were fine, the very obvious stuttering framerate did more to pull me out of the game and distract me than anything else. The blood splatter on the camera was annoying as well.

As far as story and characters go, Downpour did fairly well. The endings were a bit lackluster.

Some things got old fast though. When you open a door and walk into a room, it will eventually close behind you with a loud bang. This is scary twice. Then it gets annoying. There are quite a few gimmics like this. I loved the other sounds in the game though. I quite enjoyed the soundtrack. The monsters however, were lacking and looked pretty generic.

The combat mechanics were frustrating. I like that you had to swing hard and heavy. It means that the emphasis was no longer on combat, like it was in Homecoming. The idea is to run away more than fight. But I found a lot of places where that didn't work. I didn't like the free roam in Silent Hill because half the time I would go somewhere and get into a dead end, then monsters would endlessly spawn behind me. So naturally you get blocked in a corner and get murdered because even blocking staggers you.

The Good:
-Interesting story and character
-Some brilliant moments
-Interesting take on the town
-Great sounds/soundtrack

The Bad:
-The graphics/framerate
-A few bits that get old fast
-Monsters were dull
-The fight or flight/combat mechanics felt unfair

Not great, but an improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Silent hill fun!! some framerate issues

posted by OneBadWood (BEAVERTON, OR) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

dont listen to ign or other review sites. this game is defenifely silent hill and fun. a must rental. not worth buying until it hits 30 but rent this if you want something different or love survival horror. the framerate dips alot when loading or saving would be the major downside but all in all good fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Barely worth rent

posted by wsolomon4 (DETROIT, MI) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game is really did the puzzles were good but the lag and sloppy fighting mechanics made certain stages harder then they should. I would say if your a fan of the series then you might could stomach those issues but for me it became way to frustrating and wasn't the game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Sep 11, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I walked around for loooooooong time not doing too much. After a few hours I packed it up and sent it back. This is not like Silent Hill's of the past.... which might be a good thing for diehard fans, but it was to uneventful for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What happen to the old way

posted by Hellrazr9 (CINCINNATI, OH) Jul 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well what I always say is "if it's not broke don't fix it" but in the case with the Silent Hill franchise it looks like their fixes broke the game for me. What happened to the challenging puzzle aspects from the old ones? This game was a breeze which made it it very mundane. The most interesting part was the story line, why I gave it a 2, but the fact that I was bored 45 minutes into the game left me to look up spoilers online. If you are a true SH fan I would not rent this game. I was hoping it was capture my imagination as 1,2 and 3 did but it's just another fail SH IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boooooring!!!!

posted by Primer55 (EULESS, TX) Apr 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Wow this game is an atrocity to the new age of video gaming. I must've put 6 hours so far into this game and a good portion of that time has been spent on getting around the stupid town. The rest of the time was just slow and boring. Going to the other world isn't nearly as fun as it was in Origins and others. Side quest are alright but a lot of them give little to no reward. I guess the real treat is doing the side quest in general. I will admit there are some (very few) parts of the game that was cool or somewhat creepy. But they're far apart from each other. Sometimes I find myself just trying to go for the main objectives to hurry up and beat it so I can send it back. Overall its the same old thing. Same type of story but with much less scares. The enemies are a joke and look dated back to the PS2. The last two SH games were garbage IMO, so I'm not surprised that this one blows a fat one. I don't know why everyone is complaining about the combat. It's just as awful as its always been. Most of the indoor settings are too dark to even see where you're going and you'll probably get a headache before your objective is done. The story of almost every SH game is relatively the same. This game is avid proof that this series has reached it's bitter end. It has nothing to offer as far as a unique experience or any real spookiness. Dead Space defecates on this game when it comes to scaring the player. Survival horror can be fun but not if it comes from Konami. Lame, waste of time, and not very entertaining at all. Sorry to be so harsh but man I wasted too much time trying to like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesomeness

posted by alexrose (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was excited for this game to come out, even when the release date was pushed back, and got it almost as soon as it came out. Over all I loved it. I agree with some of the other reviews that the graphics appeared to be lacking, but I believe that was also a way for them to tie this game in with the other Silent Hill games and I don't believe it detracted much for me. I loved how no matter how bright you set your settings some places just remained dark. I am also a big fan of a good story line and this video game hit the spot. It tied in many functions from the other Silent hill games such as: Shattered Memories and Homecoming quite nicely. My friends and I also noticed that it had a way of being scary without having to constantly out-do itself as the game continued. I was actually more scared by this Silent Hill than many of the others and don't feel like a bad fan for saying this is my favorite Silent Hill by far. Only thing I would really say threw me off was at the end with the save function, I guess I am more used to a game that says something along the line of "Wow you did it now you can play a special version with cooler stuff." while it does has cooler stuff after beating the game I think i would have liked more distinction between the two, or maybe I am just a spoiled gamer. Also, it would have been cool if since there are side missions if those items could be moved over from game to game, but probably still spoiled me. Overall GREAT JOB!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Silent Hill game in series!

posted by mingfour4 (STONEHAM, MA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked this Silent Hill game the most because I liked the idea of new enemy variety in the game as far as regular enemies and bosses because let's admit it that the pyramid head, mannequins, and nurses to name a few were starting to get a little old. I also like the idea of a mix between fixed camera and manual control of the camera. The combat in my opinion is now a lot more fluid and responsive although some cry babies are saying it isn't. Whaaaaaaaa. I also like the creepy music and new environments to explore. One of my favorite moments was in the beginning of the game when you first enter Silent Hill and you enter the lit up window of a house and you hear a woman crying in the basement and you encounter a very new and creepy adversary and you are in the pitch dark with nothing but a flashlight for comfort which barely helps you see. I wont give anything away but it is moments like that that makes me the Silent Hill fan that I am today. And this was the game that reminded me of why I love the franchise so much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unbiased review

posted by Demon_knight (TEMPLE, TX) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Silent hill downpour is awsome! The combat is alittle to spaced out but that just adds to the suspense, character interactions sound forced at times but overall good. Biggest problem being frame rate drop...all in all I'd recommend to anyone needing a good thrill, story or just a big fan of all silent hill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Need a 1st person version

posted by punkydude (SWEET VALLEY, PA) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2004

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

This game would be an 11 if they could finally come out with a 1st person version! It would be a hunderd times scarier! Remember how scary Fatal frame wa when you were in first person trying to catch the ghosts in your camera lens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

definately goes back to the first

posted by xfmelissa (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I read reviews and I almost did not rent it. I am so glad that I gave it a try for myself. It made me feel like I am playing the first Silent Hill all over again. The fighting can be a bit weird. For example if you just spam the button he will fail around clumsily. But I think that really adds to the game. He is not a trained fighter, he is not going to do crazy combos. You have to time your hits, be patient, and learn when to run. It is a survival game!
There are a bunch of hidden little things for fans of the previous game to find, paintings, music, and references. I will admit they got me once or twice and I am not usually one to jump in games or movies.
Yes some things a bit predictable if you are a fan of the previous games. But if anything it only gives you expertise to the town.
I love it and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth playing wont be game of the year!!

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Mar 28, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

My big beef with this game not enough scary moments are bad guys. You can go for 30 minns without nothing to fight. Then when you do cross paths with a bad guy its not that thrilling. halfway through the game i only dyed onetime and that was from a falll. If you want a scary game go play Dead-space 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse