Rent Silent Hill: Downpour for PS3
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Downpour

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

1160 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Silent Hill is back with another amazing game

posted by fatdude600 (BALLWIN, MO) Dec 17, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Silent Hill Downpour goes back to the more traditional Silent Hill games adding more mind blowing puzzles than Silent Hill Homecoming had. The action and fighting difficulty level definitely dropped in this game, so I take that as they wanted to go back towards the first few Silent Hills. The game has amazing graphics and plenty of frightening creatures that the Silent Hill franchise is best known for. The game also includes a very freaky twist at the end of the game, but I won't spoil it. You will just have to play to find it! I highly recommend this to any fans of Silent Hill or survival horror in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing!

posted by rsvjr (SUN VALLEY, CA) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

This game is SO good it makes we wish I could wipe my memory just so I could play it and experience it all again. It's amazing. I don't know where to start...

1) The story is top notch. Very well written and creepy as $%#! It never diverts from the plot and even takes twists that throw you for a loop but always tie in to the end. It's scary as f#$%! Some of this stuff could give you nightmares. So good!

2) Gameplay and controls are phenomenal. None of that old Resident Evil fixed angle, weird control movement stuff. Actually there are a few small scenes but it's used to add to the suspense rather than just all the time.

3) The sound and music is great. You wanna live dangerously? Try playing this game for a week straight late at night with all the lights off and the sound up. It will freak you out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow.

posted by tgainey14 (NEW BERN, NC) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I honestly don't understand why the reviews were so low. If you're playing for the gameplay, then don't play this. But if you want a story that keeps you at the edge of your seat and scary moments that will haunt your dreams, get this game. A lot of puzzles though, but it's made up for by the great character design and horror at it's disposal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

definately goes back to the first

posted by xfmelissa (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I read reviews and I almost did not rent it. I am so glad that I gave it a try for myself. It made me feel like I am playing the first Silent Hill all over again. The fighting can be a bit weird. For example if you just spam the button he will fail around clumsily. But I think that really adds to the game. He is not a trained fighter, he is not going to do crazy combos. You have to time your hits, be patient, and learn when to run. It is a survival game!
There are a bunch of hidden little things for fans of the previous game to find, paintings, music, and references. I will admit they got me once or twice and I am not usually one to jump in games or movies.
Yes some things a bit predictable if you are a fan of the previous games. But if anything it only gives you expertise to the town.
I love it and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must play

posted by eharvey_4 (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I don't know about anyone else, but I loved this game. It is not at all scary like the previous ones, but it does have a good story to it. I am a mother of an 8 month old and don't have time to play much, but it took me a total of 15 hours to play the game. I've played all the previous ones and this one is at the top of my list.

Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesomeness

posted by alexrose (WARRENSBURG, MO) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was excited for this game to come out, even when the release date was pushed back, and got it almost as soon as it came out. Over all I loved it. I agree with some of the other reviews that the graphics appeared to be lacking, but I believe that was also a way for them to tie this game in with the other Silent Hill games and I don't believe it detracted much for me. I loved how no matter how bright you set your settings some places just remained dark. I am also a big fan of a good story line and this video game hit the spot. It tied in many functions from the other Silent hill games such as: Shattered Memories and Homecoming quite nicely. My friends and I also noticed that it had a way of being scary without having to constantly out-do itself as the game continued. I was actually more scared by this Silent Hill than many of the others and don't feel like a bad fan for saying this is my favorite Silent Hill by far. Only thing I would really say threw me off was at the end with the save function, I guess I am more used to a game that says something along the line of "Wow you did it now you can play a special version with cooler stuff." while it does has cooler stuff after beating the game I think i would have liked more distinction between the two, or maybe I am just a spoiled gamer. Also, it would have been cool if since there are side missions if those items could be moved over from game to game, but probably still spoiled me. Overall GREAT JOB!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic

posted by UmbrellaCorp (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A lot of game magazines and websites have been giving this game a highly underrated score. Its at least 9 worthy. Yes it may not be as true to the roots as people want but it does tie in previous games. Like a random picture on the wall showing shepards glenn from silent hill homecoming, or being able to enter an apartment and it is an exact replica of the room from silent hill 4: the room with a chained door and all. Walking through the town during a rain is as suspenseful as creeping through the darkened areas in Silent Hill and Silent Hill 2.

With some puzzles simple, and others more complex (like reading a poem and using its clues to solve a puzzle similar to silent hill's piano puzzle and the story on the chalkboard) and being able to set your puzzle level harder or easier it is a win win with every type of player. For the true experience I would recommend making the display darker in the options and making the logo barely visible, it makes the lighting and rain effects stands out so much more. Brighter screens really take away the ambiance. Lastly, new game play elements such as balancing on tight walkways, breakable weapons (of which they are everywhere so you never need to look far) and the lack of a radio to let you know something is coming really adds to the suspense in making this game a Silent Hill worthy of the name. Personally, it puts Silent Hill Homecoming to shame, and I am calling this the first next gen Silent Hill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatest Silent Hill Yet!

posted by Thedark1 (LOCKBOURNE, OH) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

If you are a Silent Hill fan like me, then you'll realize this is probably the best ever to release! This game should be played alone, in HD and complete darkness. The hairs on the back of my kneck were standing up for hours on end. Don't pay attention to other ratings. Rate this game yourself! I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool Horror

posted by alexisBeyond (HIALEAH, FL) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

+ Great Horror
+ Great Story
+ Can be Scary
- Bugs problems...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great horror game!!!

posted by nightguy09 (SAINT ALBANS, WV) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

As with most of the horror games going to just action, its good to know we can still trust silent hill to remain at its roots for the most part. Its a great horror game I loved how the missions play out and the freedom to do what you want and go at your own pace but at the same time I don't like how the weapons kept breaking and you could only carry one weapon. I loved the side missions though, they give the game just a little bit more life even though the main story isn't but about 7 hours long. I still recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by RkHfam (COUNTRY CLUB HILLS, IL) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This is a great game really makes you think to try and solve puzzles intending to purchase soon!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first Silent Hill worth playing

posted by Thanatopsis (FAIRBANKS, AK) May 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I don't understand all the negative reviews. This is a good game. Yes, it does have some frame rate problems, but most of them are barely distracting. Yes, the combat is a bit sluggish, but this is not action horror. This is an old-school adventure game, in many ways more akin to an Infocom text game than Dead Space and the like. The monsters are creepy and add a few jolts to the game. Then you smack them a few times and move on with the exploring and puzzle solving.
Maybe I enjoy this game so much because it is one of the first Silent Hill games I can actually control.
I only just tried Silent Hill 1 a few months ago. It is decent, but the outdated controls and graphics suck a lot of the atmosphere and fun from the game. I tried the HD versions of 2 and 3, and the bad controls and horrible camera angles made them impossible for me to play.
Origins was the first one that had a decent control scheme, although the fixed camera was still a little weak. Overall that game was decent, but Downpour is much better. Homecoming looked promising but without an inverted-Y option I died every 2 seconds on easy. It was unplayable and no fun at all.
Finally a Silent Hill with great controls, decent graphics, and a good (if not original or unpredictable) plot. It is creepy and trippy and a lot of fun to play.
Now I just wish they would completely remake 1-3 with this engine, and fix the few minor glitches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Silent Hill game in series!

posted by mingfour4 (STONEHAM, MA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked this Silent Hill game the most because I liked the idea of new enemy variety in the game as far as regular enemies and bosses because let's admit it that the pyramid head, mannequins, and nurses to name a few were starting to get a little old. I also like the idea of a mix between fixed camera and manual control of the camera. The combat in my opinion is now a lot more fluid and responsive although some cry babies are saying it isn't. Whaaaaaaaa. I also like the creepy music and new environments to explore. One of my favorite moments was in the beginning of the game when you first enter Silent Hill and you enter the lit up window of a house and you hear a woman crying in the basement and you encounter a very new and creepy adversary and you are in the pitch dark with nothing but a flashlight for comfort which barely helps you see. I wont give anything away but it is moments like that that makes me the Silent Hill fan that I am today. And this was the game that reminded me of why I love the franchise so much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ever the chilling, creepy tale we love to hate.

posted by FatiusQDolce (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The first thing that you have to take into account when it comes to game franchises like Silent Hill, is that when a great deal were playing the first three, we were but wee babies, probably well under the suggested age, and far more vulnerable to suggestion. Take Silent Hill 2 for example, in my case, one instance in particular, turned the town of Silent Hill, into one of the most appetizingly creepy places to visit.
I had played well into the night, feeling the heeby jeebies at every turn, genuinely creepy, and not terrifying, is why I love this series. Then I just couldn't take it anymore, I loved it, but it was just too much stress. I took the game out, walked to the other side of the house, and placed it on the kitchen counter. I was the only one awake in my house, I've never slept much, so when I woke up, my parents were still asleep, I went into the living-room, and to my horror, the game was back in the playstation, tv on, loaded to where I had left off.
It's things like that, where I was hooked through the gills from that point on, whether or not I believe my parents to this day that they weren't just messing with me, doesn't matter, I was genuinely freaked out, and that made the need to play, even stronger.
My thoughts on Downpour:
In three words, I'm enjoying it. From the moment the music started, I was back, it was like greeting an old friend. Homecoming was a disappointment, mostly because of the overemphasis on a shoddy combat system, so, when I went through the trophy list and found that there is a trophy for not killing a single enemy, my faith was restored.
I won't give much more than that away, but heck, for true Silent Hill fans, that should be enough. No, you won't get the scare of your life in here, and it may not even be as strongly creepy as the old ones, simply because we're older, and more jaded, but I can guarantee some good, creepy fun, and a chance to come back and visit a town we all loved and hated years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unbiased review

posted by Demon_knight (TEMPLE, TX) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Silent hill downpour is awsome! The combat is alittle to spaced out but that just adds to the suspense, character interactions sound forced at times but overall good. Biggest problem being frame rate drop...all in all I'd recommend to anyone needing a good thrill, story or just a big fan of all silent hill

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

People have lost sight of the real genre.

posted by SuperHuman (YORK, SC) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I dont understand all the negativity surrounding this title. I think people have lost sight of what the real survival horror is about. Its about someone like us being in over his head and making the best of a bad situation, not a trained S.T.A.R.S operative.

Over the past 5 years all survival horror has been geared towards high paced action, so when a slow paced watch your back type game hits it bores alot of gamers.

For those that want that Dead Space or Resident Evil feel best leave this title alone. Silent Hill is true to the genre, kinda like Alan Wake.

For those that have been ready for a game that is slow paced, good puzzles and creepy sounds and feel, then this the game you been waiting on.

To each there own, as a gamer I hope everyone finds that title that suits their playing style however I just think Developers use the term survival horror a bit loosely.

Just because a game has zombies or demons doesnt make it survival horror if you have amillion weapons and insane hand to hand combat training lol. That makes it an action/shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Game >+)

posted by lando10820 (LA PUENTE, CA) Mar 1, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

When i first got this game i wasen't really expecting much out of it but once i started playing the game i got really into it. The story is good and there are plently of side missions to do so being bored is not an issue. Also just like all the other Silent Hill games there are some cool and creepy moments to be enjoyed. The graphics are alright but the random saving and some of the attacks that you do are a little weird. Overall it's a good game to add to your Silent Hill collection and for anyone who is into survival horror games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by jwlebeouf00 (SOUTHAVEN, MS) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

very exiting and quite a few hard challenges

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

silent hill homecoming

posted by genesis123 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

this is the best game ever.you can pick up whatever you want and you fight different creatures and can someone help me with the puzzels please

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

silent hill downpour

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) Oct 19, 2012

Member since May 2011

this game is awesome and still creepy. flashlight is cool and theres alot more to do. great story line and like that they keep the same format.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Was ok but boring

posted by cmer8037 (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I didn't like the ending there wasn't much spark in the game. It was ok but not as good as other Silent Hill games....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Way better than expected.

posted by Halen1986 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I heard a lot of negative stuff about this game before I played it but I have to say that, despite some of the aggravating technical aspects, this is one of my favorite Silent Hill Games. I've played them all and I think it's just as scary and entertaining as any other one, if not more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Thrilling

posted by Kloudknine (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I have played the entire series thus far, and I must say... Awesome! The game's spooky and eerie music, the twist and turns, and the spontaneous monsters that attack are what kept me playing. The story line is great as well. The only draw back I found was game play loading and at times it would get choppy, as if the console couldn't handle the FPS. I'm pretty sure everyone was having this issue. Wasn't a big deal... I would definitely recommend this game to people who love thrillers, puzzles, suspense, and action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good but lacks

posted by thamanofmuscles (ANAHEIM, CA) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the game is very good but at time it seems to have some deficualty and the game company need to fix the giliches that it has but i still give this game a 8 out of time for story line and a 7.1 out of 10 for gaming but good never the less

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting modern take on Silent Hill

posted by audimane (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Even though it has it's problems (framerate drop, sometimes clunky combat, etc.) the game was still alot of fun and kept me interested. Loved the exploration of the town and sidequests. I liked the characters, though I wish there was a little more interaction between them. But overall the game is fun and brought back some memories on the original Silent Hill games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse