Rent Silent Hill: Book of Memories for PS Vita
view large frontback

Silent Hill: Book of Memories

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.8

160 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is not Silent Hill.

posted by Supermane1985 (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Don't let the title fool you, this is no Silent Hill game. This is a mediocre co-op dungeon action brawler that shamelessly dishonors the monsters that used to give us nightmares. There is no psychological context for the monsters, and the "puzzles" and "levels" are ridiculously recycled. 5/10 for the gameplay -3/10 for butchering something I love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by zigwiglig (PLAINFIELD, IL) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game sucks, Luckily you don't need an online pass for it, but it isn't even a silent hill game. The entire game is just one stupid level after another with no silent hill qualities in it besides the monsters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Vita Game

posted by psv123 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game allows for you to make ur own player and upgrade your weapons and other fun stuff if you want a fun game that will keep you interested add this to your library I personally downloaded it because I wanted to play it anytime without haveing to have to change the card

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Connection errors

posted by Weeeeeeee (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Every time I want to play online I have to wait around 30 min - 1 hour to get people join my host, but when I started it gave me some errors (black and white letter then frozen my PS Vita, people lost their connection (I play alone), kick me back at start up and give me a send report error option.
Loading takes too long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Very Special.

posted by EricHecker Feb 18, 2013

This game reminds me of Diablo for PC and thats my issue with it, its really not inovative for such an advanced hardware platform.

I found it very hard to imagine that I was in the game or associate with the character.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Champions of Norrath this is not

posted by Schnippshly (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Let's just ignore that this is a Silent Hill game that is an RPG. Even on its own, it is just not a good game in general. The level design is really lazy and simple. Silent Hill 4 had a better combat system, and what is it with these modern Silent Hill games and having breakable weapons? Plus, if it's an RPG, why is there only one type of each weapon, like plain old regular "Knife"? There is no armor-type equipment, and who wants to use repair items on weapons that break after a few kills? Why can you sell medkits and ammo at the store? Shouldn't you want to keep that stuff? Shouldn't a store in an RPG be for buying better permanent equipment and selling unwanted items?
There is a co-op mode, but if you play offline, you get no teammates, because that would require the programmers to not be lazy. If you're offline, you can still access the voice commands for no reason and talk to nobody.
I couldn't even find anyone to play co-op with, and I certainly wouldn't want to play this generic game on single player by myself. The extra-sad part is that there are special rooms in each level that can only be seen on single player.
I can see the appeal of playing this with a friend, maybe, if you're desperate, but the game is too expensive to justify two people buying a copy of it. And you can't play online due to there being nobody to play with, plus RPGs and games where you can't join in the middle of a session in progress are just inherently bad at letting people of equal or similar character level play with each other.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »