Rent Silent Hill 3 for PS2
view large frontback

Silent Hill 3

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1140 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quick advice

posted by Techtonic (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Set the action level on easy and the puzzle level on hard.

If your looking for a mindless monster killing game this is not the game for you (try sh5).

This game (like dreamfall and metal gear solid) is basically a movie you interact with.

You play silent hill because you love the story (and I do) and embrace the creativity of its designers.

That being said. 10/10 because despite not being a typical combat game, the story, graphics and sound immerse you in a horrifying world way better than any movie could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Scratched?

posted by BaileyandKaila (WATERLOO, NY) May 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the game to death but i never beat it so I figured i would rent it from gamefly, what a great idea! No, they sent it to me all scratched up i even went and got it fixed and sit still didn't work. I love the game but not the fact that i cant even get it to work. Sad face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If ya dont like it, you didnt play the first.

posted by hedwig1c4 (OXFORD, OH) Jun 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

O.K, first off, you whould have to play the first game to understand the main plot. You play as Heather, who was the little baby that was given to Harry in the first game, seventeen years ago. Her forgotten past comes back to haunt her because her father (Harry) didnt tell her what happened, surrounded by monsters, a few carzy people, a ditective, and the rumor of you being pregant with god, she has to survive.Oh..and Alessia is P.I.S.S.E.D. OFF.

The Sound is amazing, the graphics are great, a must play for any survival horror fan. Plus Pyramid Head has some compatition for Silent Hill Mascot as Robbie Rabbit, and Vitail has come into play. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally an Explanation!

posted by Takerkain (FAIRFIELD, ME) Jun 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I love the Silent Hill games. They have creepy atmosphere cool stories and decent action and puzzle solving. For some reason though, I stopped playing this game halfway through and did not pick it up for some time. When I finally played through it on the second attempt I found more of the same Silent Hill eerieness. What I liked about the first game was how different it was, I loved the story from the second game, but this game I found that I loved the locations the most. I thought the Amusment park and the haunted mansion were great places to exploring, along with the mental hospital, and the church. Essentially every horror movie locality has been put in one game. It was a while since I had played the first two Silent hills so I found the story somewhat confusing when I couldn't remember something specific from the first game, although I didn't have too much trouble grasping the situation. The creatures are fairly creepy as always, although a few monsters were recycled from the other games, such as the nurses, although some of them are holding guns in this game. I enjoyed the choice in the melee weapons in this game, having four of them to choice from to slash or bludgeon your enemies with. The music, as always, added to the creepy atmosphere of the game as did the usual cast of strange characters with secret agendas. As much as I like these games and believe them to be complete, there is a large part of me that wishes they were longer than they are. This one lasted me around four and a half hours the first go through. Overall, this is what we expect from Silent Hill games and why so many people buy them up, although I will admit it is my least favorite of the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best in the SH series

posted by Selic114 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

in my opinion SH3 was the best in the entire series, it covered and finished off the story for the first game, for all those fans who played the first one, they got to know exactly what happens afterward. The main character is the daughter of Harry Mason, when she was in the mall having a good time she ends up falling into a world of darkness, she gets trapped and her only hope to live is to find a way out of the darkness. the games story kept to the original and was told well, there was added mystery with knew characters and twists, there are new monsters making the horrors a new thrill, and the games just gets better and better. in my opinion it's the best silent hill there is, and it's definatly worth checking out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful and dreadful!

posted by Mariya (GOSHEN, IN) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

A trip to the mall that changes your life! And not because you've finally got that skirt, but because- since this is Silent Hill- the world turns upside down,fills with dreadful monsters, and there is no escape. And hey, you're not some S.T.A.R.S. agent with a shotgun in your hand..you're just a 17-year old girl [wearing rather uncomfortable shoes]

I have to say that the game is just STUNNING...
let's start with the graphics. My jaw almost hit the floor when i put the game into my PSX2! Very VERY improved in comparison with SH2. And the cinematics..just stunning! The sounds..well those are gorgeous, as usual. Nothing to add.

Then comes the gameplay. Many complain that it sucks... it's hard to control Heather when you fight blaa blaa.. The controlls are not perfect..but hey, name a game which has perfect controlls..??? The controlls are OK, you just have to get used to them. It's not a disaster as some might think :/

The storyline... well as we already know[SPOILER ahead..??] it's a continuation of the first silent hill story[end of SPOILER] But still, the plot is pretty much original...with some unexpected turns and stunning moments.. it keeps you intrigued...keeps you guessing, contemplating. And this game actually EXPLAINS EVERYTHING which is a rare thing in Silent Hill games.... SH3 leaves you with the answers you've been craving for so long!

To make it short.....the game is a brilliant! It's beautiful...well-made, intriguing and of course...SCARY. So turn off the lights, lock yourself in a room and start playing...(just give your friends a spare key and ask them to check on you in the morning)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

can't rent

posted by tanner1228 (Old Bridge, NJ) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

while this game looks good, id give it a ten if one factor was present: if it was rentable. the game looks awsome, but i can't try it. 10/10- 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

controls suck

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

controls are horrible, didn't even bother playing game. it's a bit impossible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

7.4? Really dudes?

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This is highly regarded as one of the best games of all time! 7.4 is shameful! This game needs no review because it is LEGENDARY just like 1 and 2 before it! Rent this game NOW! Stay far far far away from the HD collection which i gave a good score not knowing was a total pile of poo! They ruined it!

Your best bet is to pick this and 2 up ASAP! Want a HD version? PC is the only option as the HD collection is flat out BROKEN! in every single way possible! This game is a perfect 10! Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Silent Hill's official sequel

posted by MOONSTAR (WILTON, CA) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

For those of you who have played and completed the Original Silent Hill, you may recall Harry Mason Fleeing Silent Hill with Baby Cheryl in his arms. This game takes place 17 years after the event of silent hill (the year is 2000 in this game) and the protagonist is Heather mason (AKA Cheryl)
Silent Hill 3 follows Heather as she contends with the same enimatic forces her father dealt with seventeen years ago. This game includes new weapons, characters, plot twists and, in a first in the series, a bunch of alternate costumes for heather to wear
Gameplay is more or less the same as it had been in the previous games, voice acting as corny as ever, and the continued tradition of multiple endings is once again here. there is the "normal" ending where Heather and Douglas cartland leave silent hill after defeating Claudia Wolf and the cult, there is the "Possesed" ending where a spirit posseses heather and makes here kill douglas, and the "Revenge" ending which relates to the previous games UFO endings in which harry mason has a fleet of Alien Flying Saucers destroy Silent Hill.
Silent Hill 3 is an excellant edition to the silent hill series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

INTERESTING

posted by haku890 (CHICKASHA, OK) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

i absulutlyey love the silent hill series it is actualy based on a true story -
back in 1959 in centralia PA a mine fire broke out under the city it wasint a big deal at first but then people started dying and roads caving in a man was in his back yard and the ground collaps the hole was 4 ft wide and 158 ft deep it is know trying to be controled it will be boked off till 2016 :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Old school survival horror

posted by Fortysix2 (MIDLAND CITY, AL) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

I didn't play this game till 2009. I recently played and enjoyed Silent Hill : Homecoming, and Silent Hill: Origins (PSP). I really enjoyed both of those games and figured that I would enjoy going back and playing the older titles in the series. Boy, was I wrong. This game has the controls of the original Resident Evil, except worse. The camera swings around wildly, and quickly turns this game into a frustrating mess. I can't believe they ever got away with controls and camera like this. And don't even get me started on the battle controls. Oh my god, what a disaster. I didn't play it long enough to find out if the story was any good. If it's like the others, I'm sure that's this game's strong point. I took all the other old Silent Hill games out of my queue after playing this game, and I suggest you do the same. Stick with the newer games unless you are extremely patient and are willing to tough it out just for a good scare. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good game, but not my cup of tea.

posted by 4815162342 (PEKIN, IN) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

I have played through and beaten Silent Hill 2 countless times so I decided to try this one out seeing as it received mostly good reviews. From the start it was evident the game would be similar in gameplay to SH2 as the sound effects for the menus and what not were the same. It creeped me out immediately when I was surrounded by stuffed pink bunnies with bloody Glasgow smiles. I didn't get very far in the game because I became extremely frustrated with the fact that you cannot see anything on the screen unless it is directly hit with the tiny flashlight on the character's jacked. If I cannot see what I'm doing or where I'm going in a game I don't play it. I didn't have this much trouble with SH2. I tried adjusting the in-game lighting and even the lighting on my tv and I still couldn't see a darn thing so I gave up. That's my only problem with the game. The controls are familiar and easy to get used to. The environments, at least the ones you can see, are creepy and weathered and almost make you afraid to turn the next corner not knowing what's around there. If the game were a little brighter and a little less grimy I would have given a full 10/10, but because of the poor lighting I have to give it a 7. If you're into dark games then go for it, otherwise; find something brighter and not so scary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not so well...

posted by xLamentedx (WILLOWICK, OH) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Unfortunately for me, this was just another Resident Evil rip off that was not scary, nor was in fun to play.

I guess the only good thing I can say about the game is... if you never played Resident Evil and want to get freaked out, this is the game for you.

If you are like me and already played every single Resident Evil, it is not worth playing... unless perhaps you get scared easily and you are just looking to get frightened than play a game. However in my opinion I would just go watch a scary movie if that were the case.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good horror game..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Nov 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

I'm a newbie when it come to horror games... this is my second silent hill game.. the first thing you will notice is the controls.. the movement controls is a little different in this game. They use the directionals for movement and the L1 and R1 for turning.. You can still use the analog button but it's a little bit flunking sometimes. Luckily, you can adjust the controller options or get use to it later one. The graphic looks pretty good, except for the main character design, which kind of confusing to tell if uh.. he's a she or a he.. The story.. is.. well.. it's silent hill, so not much to say there. This game will keep you busy for at least a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

silent hill 3

posted by drummerboy (CARTER LAKE, IA) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this game was a good game to play when it came out
the graphics were great the story is great it was fun to play if you played silent hill 1 and 2 you will get what happens in this game this game is worth a rent or even buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Relatively Entertaining Game

posted by RaftRider (ORANGE PARK, FL) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

To really enjoy the Silent Hill 3 experience, you will need to have played the first installment of the series.

Other than that, the game wasn't too-too difficult. The controls were very smooth, and the item inventory is sufficiently organized. Whenever the player comes across a riddle, photograph, or a message scrawled on the wall, the information will be added to your "Memo" in the inventory screen. No need to put the controller down to look for something to write with!

The protagonist is a refreshing change as she isn't like your run-of-the-mill character. Heather has a dry wit--but not to the degree you would roll your eyes every time she opens her mouth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I will never see bunnies w/o thinking of Heather!!

posted by Kittie29 (ENTERPRISE, AL) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I love how this game ties one and three together. Plus, I'm always a fan of games with a female hero :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Depressing, but excellent!

posted by flyinmight (GLADSTONE, OR) Jan 11, 2007

Member since May 2006

SH 3 was great, it held up to the series' standards of horror and riddles, while elaborating on the storyline of SH 1 and keeping the same feel as it.
I'd recommend this game to any Silent Hill fan, especially if you had some unanswered questions after playingn part 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent

posted by DaMoose (MIDLAND, TX) Oct 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

At first I was a little reluctant to play this game. I was never really into the Silent Hill series, but this once caught my eye. I picked it up, and never set it down. The story was well written, the environments are very creepy and realistic. The monsters are well designed, and the bosses are fun as well. It does tend to get a bit confusing after running around so much on certain levels, but fortunatly there are Maps to cure that problem. Overall, a great game with easy controls and very good replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHY THIS GAME REALL YREALLY S%$#

posted by john73 (NORTH MANCHESTER, IN) Aug 31, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

THE CONTROLLER MOVMENT IS SO BAD AND SO SLOW I DONT UNDERSTAND HOW THIS GAME EVER GOT A 7.3 RATING. SILENT HILL 4 THE ROOM NOW IN THAT GAME IS HOW THE CONTROLLER SHOULD WORK AND HOW THE ACTUAL GAME PLAY IS. SILENT HILL 3 IS SO BAD I CANT BELEAVE ANYONE WOULD RENT OR BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

let's see...

posted by silverorgy (MIDDLETOWN, PA) Jun 5, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

I liked this game. the controls were a little iffy and the story was a little weak, but on the whole i liked it. i did stop playing it for a while and when i came back to play it...i didnt know where i was. i couldnt find out in any strategy guids either. so that is when i gave up. i didn't even get to see the end...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dident appeal

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

This game did not appeal to me. I really like the second, this one was not too scary. I just turned it off after about thirty minutes. And it had to be a woman in this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »