Rent Silent Hill 2 for PS2
view large frontback

Silent Hill 2

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.5

677 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Silent Hill 2

posted by monoxide (CHICAGO, IL) Jun 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

what can i say that hasn't already been said about silent hill. this entry in the infamous series is truly my favorite. from the opening cut scene down to the very ending you can feel the strangley preverse eerieness of the game. as james, you have ventured to the town of silent hill to find your wife mary (whose been dead for three years) upon arriving silent hill you will encounter several entities and people. one thing to keep in mind is that nothing is as it appears in silent hill. i recommend playing the greatest hits version of silent hill 2 so that you you can experience the mini-branch off scenario entitled Born from a Wish

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I DARE YOU

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I DARE anyone to take this game on full volume, in the dark, alone, start to finish. If you are not scarred there is something amiss and you are not into horror. This game was way ahead of its time. Released in 01? Just like the first installment you must run to live. Pyramid head with the cleaver is just petrifying. The atmosphere is just so creapy, and lets face it if you live on the coast and you have to hear sirens I feel for you. I for one will never like hearing a siren or seeing an eclipse at the same time. If it happens to you pray to whatever you pray to cause guess what your in a place that makes dantes inferno seem like disneyland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Recommend It.

posted by RaftRider (ORANGE PARK, FL) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Unlike your typical survival horror game devoid of any real plot, Sigmund Freud would have a field day with this game!

Although I found this game to be too short for me in duration, try the game out! I think you'll enjoy the experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

W-O-W

posted by Jeremymia (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 18, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Silent Hill 2 is old. It's outdated. The graphics are fuzzy and the cut scenes are not believable.

...So why is it so effective?

Silent Hill 2, more than any other game I have ever played, will draw you in and you won't be able to escape from the dark realm it portrays.

I'll admit the game play isn't so great, not for today's standards. Wonder around until you find the right thing you need, kill some weak (really weak) monsters, solve some ridiculous puzzles...

The voice acting is also bad. Specifically, Angela's. Wow. She's supposed to be Spanish and she's supposed to be young, and she doesn't portray either, even though she's probably the most interesting character. Ah well.

So why would you play this game? The story. It's an absolute masterpiece. THIS is what Video Games should be about. It doesn't give a sub-movie plot and then try to turn it into a game. It uses the fact that it's a game, and you are absorbed into the character. It's scary, but you almost feel what he feels.

Anyone who appreciates a good story needs to rent this game immediately - AND PLAY TO THE END, even if you are discouraged near the beginning. People who appreciate good survival horror will also like it.

Don't play "Born from a wish" before the main scenario. Spoilers ahoy.

...Excuse the bias.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Silent Hill 2: A 2010 Perspective

posted by azjoe73 (MESA, AZ) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I recently finished a Silent Hill 2 and was somewhat disappointed in it. I had heard for years the it was the best survival horror game to ever be made. Maybe my expectation were to high or maybe I am just getting jaded in my old age, because the game did not live up to that. The game is wicked easy and I finished it in under 8 hours. I give it a 7 because I do understand it's place in history and recognize it's importance in the history of game story telling, but in my opinion it is really starting to show it's age.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty good

posted by itTInerds (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The graphics in the game are really not the best.
but the story is cool and the monsters are cool looking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Does this need a review?

posted by EQOAnostalgia (NEW YORK MILLS, NY) May 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Seriously, you are at this moment looking at one of THE BEST games ever created. You can't look at a top ten list for PS2 games without seeing this! You would be hard pressed to find a all time greatest game list without this game near or on the very top of it!

If you are thinking about Silent Hill 2, just get it and stop reading right now! If you are more mainstream and into CoD and flashy no brainer games, this series is NOT FOR YOU!

These games didn't become legendary by offering the best combat and controlls available. This isn't your highschool buddies game. This is dads big boy game! This is where the adults go for story and gameplay! So most of the new generation simply won't understand it at all.

The rating on here should read 10. But it doesn't because little kids rent it thinking it's another brainless zombie shooter. This game forces you to think! If you are a strategy guide type of person this game is wasted on you! The game is meant to be explored and overcome on your own!

The story woven together here stands as one of THE BEST stories i have ever heard and completely pulls you in making you feel a huge range of emotions. It toys with you, it punches you in the gut and makes you beg for more! Also it's pretty darn scary!

Not pop out cheap jump scares either. SH2 DARES you to walk through the next door, and trust me, you won't want to. It actually makes you feel exhausted mentally and puts you through the ringer! In a good way!

With that said stay away from the HD collection. I was duped into giving it a solid rating before i knew of it's bugs and flaws! Get this and part 3 NOW! If you can get them on PC do it, because they look AMAZING in 1080p!

Game on, with caution!

"There was a hole here.... it's gone now"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Survival Horror at It's Peak

posted by venom3 (MEDFORD, OR) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2006

This game is one of the best games of all time. You may be saying, "How is THIS better than Amnesia?" I'll tell you.
Story
The game follows James Sunderland, a lonely, quiet shell of a man that has lost his wife 3 years prior to this game. He receives a letter that says that she is waiting in their 'special place', which is Silent Hill. The story overall is a very well crafted experience that remains an example of great game story telling.
GamePlay
The one complaint many people have is that the controls are horrible, and it's obvious that people are talking about the 'tank' controls. Really, they're there for a reason, to make you feel helpless. If you want, you can change the settings to 2D mode, but I've personally never tried it. You're looking at your usual Survival Horror experience, with puzzles you have to solve that are very hard to solve. But it makes you feel good when you do. There's also a short escort sequence with a character that can't fight. This is one of the only good escort missions in Games.
Graphics
This is going to shock you: The graphics look like they're from an Xbox 360 game. Yeah. I said It. If you look at it compared to a game like Fallout, you'll see that It looks just as good, if not slightly better, than some of the games that are here today.
Final Verdict
This game is the Pinnacle of Survival Horror. Team Silent showed what great story-telling, gameplay, and genuine scares can do to you. This is a very disturbing game. I know I should've gone into more detail about the monsters, but If I did, I would have to give away certain plot points. This game deserves to be experienced by yourself, in the dark, at night...

This game gets a 10/10. Go get this game. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best in the series

posted by MOONSTAR (WILTON, CA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2007

Silent hill 2 brings back the scares of silent hill. This game follows james sunderland as he is drawn to silent hill by a letter sent by his dead wife. this game draws more upon a number of psychiological aspects than the original Silent Hill, drawing upon aspects such as guilt, abuse, lust and hate. many monsters are formed out of theses aspects, such as the 'abstract daddy' which represents a female characters father who sexually abused her when she was younger.
while the Aspects are differant, Silent Hill 2 still brings in the scares with dark enviroments, horrifing monsters and gruesome scenes. it also brings back the teeth grinding puzzles we both love and hate. While the voice acting is laughable, it has improved since the original Silent Hill.
This game also has a Number of endings like the original as well. the 'leave', "Maria', and 'In Water' endings are all available before first completing the Game. The 'Rebirth' ending is only available if you beat the game and collect 4 special items. The 'Dog' ending is only available if the first 3 endings are all attained or Rebirth ending is. the UFO ending Carries of from the UFO ending of the original Silent Hill, but is only available in the Directors cut, Xbox, or HD collection additions of this game.
This game - in most ways - is the best in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Expect nightmares....lots of em!!!

posted by hades360 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is freakin scary!! Not like things jump out at you scary but just like what is that noise or i thought i heard breathing. Most of the game is dark and you get this little flashlight and some weapons and you are in a foggy town full of nothing..that what makes it scary, your in a town thats deserted with creepy noises and explore scary places with wierd things in it, i just cant describe it really. What scared me the most was the un expalinible noise...you could here a clock or a crying baby and never find any of them,weirdddd.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Silent hill 2

posted by 132joker (DENVER, CO) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

This is the best Silent hill game I have played. You play as James Sunderland who gets a letter from his dead wife. About 20 min. through you meet Pyramid Head a creapy bloodest thing in a silent hill game. about 5 minuntes after that.you find him rapeing stuff... overall this game was fun and recamend it to all fans of Action/adventure or Survival Horror 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sequal of an all time Fav.

posted by JimPlanter (WASHINGTONVILLE, NY) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Silent hill 2 recreated the fear i felt in silent hill 1 for the Playstation. it's graphical leap from pixeled and rough to a "this gen" graphics engine submerced me into this game.

Gameplay: 9/10
- i enjoyed playing, it was rewarding to have beaten it

Graphics: 10/10
- amazing for it's time and even todays standards

Storyline 7/10
- was heart touching, but silent hill 1's storyline got me to like its character more.

Overall : 8.9 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MASTERPIECE

posted by PYRAMID203 (TAMPA, FL) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

this game is a great survival horrer game and i think you should go out and buy it or rent it because you will get caught by the story line and the characters are amazing in my opinion pyramid head is the best!!!!!!! but the game is very scary at some points and they still use the radio YAY!!!!!!! this is a must buy or rent game so i think anyone who loves a survival horrer genre should keep up with konami and look up any of their new games that they will come out with GO KONAMI SILENT HILL AND RESDENT EVIL!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

silent hill fans will be pleased

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Oct 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

At first glance this game is just another survival horror game but when you play it longer then you will realize that this game has subtle differences than say.... a resident evil game. First off this game is no RE4 okay, so don't expect one. This game is more about being scared than action. The controls take some getting used too, but after about 5 minutes of playing around with them you should get the gist. The graphics are surprisingly good for a game that came out in 2001. The sound design is flawless, anytime you start to shrug off the uneasy feeling in the air the sound effects will put you right back through the experiance again. So now when you put the game in you know what to expect.
Welcome to silent hill a somber hellish place that has a dark past. Your character (James) Starts out in a bathroom, with a dumb-stuck look on his face. After about an hour or so into the game he starts to question the fact the letter he got is from his wife, (who died 3 years before)really sent him a letter telling him to meet her in their "spiecal place". If you've ever played RE2 then you get the slightest feeling that james resembles leon from RE2. But enough of that. The game has a good story and the presentation is good. However the controlls make moveing around in tight spaces somewhat of a chore. It is easy to say that this game is the best of the series. The music seems to always kick in with creepy sounds when you least expect it keeping you on edge the whole damned experience.

All in all its a great game for fans and other gamers alike. The game really gives you something to appreciate with the attention to detail, and the creepy monsters are just great too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

silenthill 2 for ps2

posted by dime4ever0 (VALLEJO, CA) Jul 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

im not too big of a silenthill fan till I borrowed my silenthill 2 to check it out and was instantly hooked.this game is loaded with hard core super natural action mixed with mystery behind an awesome story line.after receiving a letter from james wife to go to silenthill,hes instantly emerged into a whole new world only to discover the shocking truth that he killed his own wife unintentionally.with awesome weapons and plenty of challenging puzzles.this game will have you hooked,guaranteed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Silent Hill 2

posted by i4gotmysn (SANTA MONICA, CA) May 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I was enthralled at how good the graphics were for it's time. It's a big game, and there's a lot of remembering to do, but nonetheless I loved it. Because I liked it so much I'm motivated to play the 3rd and 4th one as well. The game is scary and the story-line is suprisingly really good. I'd recommend this game to anyone who likes horrors or isn't easily spooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Silent Hill 2

posted by Sesshomaru (PEORIA, AZ) Apr 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

The best one in the Silent hill series this series is based on real events that happened in Silent hill West Virginia I did lots of research and found the town but the game is very good lots of action and horror just the way it continues to amaze and freak you out. P.S don't play when you are home alone at night

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In a genuine moral delema or just a jerk?

posted by Kittie29 (ENTERPRISE, AL) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

You decide which James is. One of the most adult-themed heart wrenching games out there.

Oh and don't forget Pyramid head. This game catapulted this freakish character to cult status...you MUST play this thought-provoking game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Masterpiece

posted by Mariya (GOSHEN, IN) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Ahh my most favourite of the series. You've got it all- fear, love, mystery, a small town with a huge disturbing secret,a dead wife who writes letters, and a beautiful soundtrack hehe!

Many people tend to compare it to Resident Evil. I'd say they don't even come close! Silent Hill is about psychological fear...the feeling that something there, in the dark, is watching, following, even controlling you. Resident Evil, though, is more about the !BOO!-kind of fear... Now, i'm not trying to say that RE sucks. I love the series. Are they scary? well...yes... was it terrifying, twisted and stunning? no...that's what Silent Hill is for.

I've heard people say that SH2 is not scary enough.(!?) Actually, in comparison to the original SH on Playstation..i agree as well. But saying that it's NOT SCARY is an absurt! Are you telling me you didn't freak while walking through those claustrophobic dark corridors of the appartment building...suddenly hearing disturbing noises..knowing that there is this THING with a pyramid-like head stalking you??? if not then you have some good nerves! SH2 IS way TOO scary... just the uncertainty about what the heck is going on gives you the chills already.

But the "scary" factor is not all that important while playing a game like Silent Hill 2. The plot is what matters a lot. You are brought to the town of Silent Hill by a letter from your wife that died 3 years ago...and after all the twisted stuff you've spend hours telling your psychologist about..when your mind has settled all those things that you have discovered during the game and now that you have some theories of your own....the whole thing just collapses on you and stunns with an unexpected outcome. Moreover, even when you finish the game..you stare at the blank screen and realize that you really didn't GET it...So u enter Silent Hill once again! >:) Worth buying, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Omg! this game is so cool buy it!!!!

posted by weirdo13 (HAYWARD, CA) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

frist of all i love the silent hill games i just finished it today and i hella loved it even though i put it on easy and i didnt think the game would be that easy lol but other then its a great game ill prob buy it becuase it was that great and whats cool about ti after you beat it there is a differnt story you can do where u get to be that one girl i forgot her name!!!! so i deff recomend if u like horror survival games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by prock22 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Aug 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

the game is great and I think its better than all the other ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good and easy game

posted by snooch (CYPRESS, CA) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

this game was fun, but it was too easy and too short. the graphics are good and the story plot was creative. Silent hill 2 is a generally good game with strange and obscene monsters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

God, it was great.

posted by Khujop (LEHI, UT) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This is one of the few games that ever actually managed to scare me. Its severly involving, but a little short for my tastes. But on harder modes (It rages from beginner, easy, normal, hard. Plus easy, normal, and hard mode for riddles) it can easily absorb your life force.

The controls are really awkward at first, but can be changed from two different settings, 2d and 3d. The voice acting, except for one character who I will not mention as not to ruin the story, is awesome. And the use of random sound effects and chaotic music really add to the atmosphere. But be prepared to strain your eyes. Its dark, really dark. And it should be.

Aside from the great gameplay, its CGs are also awesome, and the storyline is like a great movie. Also, depending on what version this is, you will also get 6 endings to try and obtain.

Hope it helps!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's a love hate type of thing

posted by floackle (ALTON, NH) Jun 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

Looking at the title you're probably thinking, 'why id he give it a 10 then?'. Well the answer is because it scared me. The game is great, amazing even. The only game to make me turn on the lights. With a great story and scary enemies it has everything a horror junkie needs. The only reason I hated it was because I'd have to turn the ps2 off just to calm down, it was that intense. The only warning is that you'll most likely need a strategy guide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very frightening yet stressful

posted by EBison (SHAFTER, CA) Jun 5, 2006

Member since May 2005

Graphics - The graphics in this game are very well detailed. The atmosphere of the game portrays so much isolation, decay, pain, and darkness. The creatures in this game are just as disturbing and are more of a subconsious threat than physical one in the game.

Controls - The controls in this game are wrather lacking. It is hard to aim correctly with what ever melee weapon you are carrying. Then when used it is slow and awkward.

Sound - The sound and soundtrack in this game is just amazing. It's the sound and soundtrack in this game that gives SH2 its disturbing atmosphere and fear. It's the sound that will give the player paranoia.

Gameplay - Overall, the game itself is wrather stressful since you have to figure out the puzzles and hints yourself. If you acquire a guide online though you can get through the game wrather easier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse