Rent Sid Meier's Pirates! for Wii
view large frontback

Sid Meier's Pirates!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.4

287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice!

posted by deltaspike (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played the original xbox version and ii think that this does a very good job of imitating it. A classic free roam game that is very fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love Swashbuckling!!

posted by jolivi9 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So on this game you get to attack other ships, swordfight, ride the rankings with four different countries, try to woo the governers' daughters. It's endless pirating fun and I can' tget enough of it!!! I love the adventerous and unbound gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!

posted by DudeLove (CEDAR CITY, UT) Nov 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is just like the old Sega genesis game pirates gold. It's remade and upgraded but identical to the sega game. And they added a fun 2 player option. Mainly one player but you and your friend can play together and during the battles or dances or other stuff the 2nd player remote activates and you can play along with your friend to help them defeat opponents or win over girls hearts this is a 10!!! Definitely buy this game if you have played the sega one it's just like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sail the seas!

posted by MaDPimP (BARABOO, WI) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, Lets keep in mind that this is a remade version for the wii from what could easily be considered a "classic" video game.

That being said, the graphics are not going to be winning any art awards, but the animations and screens are bright and vibrant, and there is very little that is more satisfying then watching the ship your battling with get torn to shreds by your cannon fire!

Overall, game play is fairly simlpe but incredibly fun and addicting. With the right strategies you can quickly become one of the most famous pirates in the game while still having tons and tons of in game missions available. Admittedly, the ship battles are the funnest part of the game and are probably going to be the crux of what you do.

On the downside, the wii controls are iffy at best. As said in other reviews, a button option as opposed to the motion controls only would have been a great boon. Ive had many periods screaming at my pirate for either doing the exactly wrong thing or nothing at all, but when they're working, it can be a bit fun in the sword battles.

Overall, some slight control issues aside, this is a great addictive game with literally untold hours of game play available. A definate must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Avast ye land lubbers!

posted by RedDog1 (OAKTON, VA) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now you can set sail to plunder and make the cannons thunder!
Graphically this game is limited.
But honestly it is fun to play, you free roam and search for ships to battle and complete missions along the way as you try to go up in rank of the best pirate out there.
You go from port to prot recruiting and plundering as well as trading your stolen goods from high sea escapades.
It takes a little getting used to (control wise) because it's not like other games the creator has put out. I was honestly expecting something like other titles.
The map is a little difficult to get a grasp on since you can't navigate to far away ports on autopilot. But hey did Capt Jack Sparrow have autopilot? Oh wait that compass thing sorta was autopilot.
Overall:
This game is fun to play and that's really all that should matter when it comes to a game right?
I was going to give this a 6 but decided to give it an extra point just for the dancing part lol. (my GF liked it)

RENT for sure!

BUY?? only on discount rack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I Love Pirates! but ...

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Oct 6, 2010

Member since May 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I found the Wii version challenging. I played the first version on the PC ages ago. I have the PSP version and I wanted to see if anything changed or added to the Wii version and it has.
Sword fighting is hard. Timing with the remote is awkward and lagging. I felt I was either right on, making it an easy 4 hit victory or unable to time a swing at all. I was hoping for a key assignment instead of a Wii motion but that wasn't available.
Sailing was a challenge as well since the distance perspective is very close I could see reefs and small islands but never a good distance to navigate or notice a ship or fleet ahead. The mini map was too small, making it hard to locate your position and the next.
Most of the menu and game user interface seemed hard to either read or understand the icon. I had an advantage since I knew the game and all of the game play and options are the same. So for first time Pirates! players you will enjoy the game. For die-hard fans, don't expect any new items, better play or added bonus. I felt it was a rehash done on a different platform. IMO rent the PSP version and you will not be disappointed since you can play it on the go ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wow, 2K. Why?

posted by gibson96 (DAYTON, OH) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I NEVER thought I would be this disappointed with a port of Pirates! Pirates! has been my favorite game for a number of years; I went out of my way to see what the Wii version was like.

Multiplayer is terrible. This is a very traditional one-player game. Multiplayer should've been skipped.

The graphics are gorgeous, but the camera is too close, as another reviewer said. I enjoy the ability to customize ships and character.

Achievements and the "roadmap" are nice, but I would like a way to toggle the roadmap on or off.

Finally, the controls. The controls are simply terrible. Sword fighting and dancing are almost impossible. Since the road map includes "marry a governor's daughter," it's almost impossible to finish the game. The controls are just awful and have made me regret renting the game. Thank god I never have to buy a bad game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

To confusing

posted by Calikittie (VICTORVILLE, CA) Jun 12, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is to confusing, it needs an instruction book to play! Civilization is 100% better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interesting but clunky

posted by ToddAhren (CONCORD, NH) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The concept of running your own pirate crew and building your strength by taking over other ships and attacking ports is great. However, the controls seemed incredibly clunky and steering the ship was near impossible. Perhaps the booklet explains some necessary controls that the game tutorial does not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lacking (to say the least)!!

posted by playdan1 (SANDOWN, NH) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I absolutely LOVE this game and have played it on different consoles including pc throughout the years and was excited to learn it was available on the Wii, so I rented it. Much to my dismay, the game almost sucks. Nintendo could have made it wayyyy better, but instead seemed to have rushed it to add another title to their list! When your boats come upon other boats to get info, you can't read what 'news' the other boats have including what country they represent unless you are sitting within 2 ft of your tv and even then it's hard. In every port you sail in to everything is the same, but maybe in different colors. It could have been changed up. The game could have been more interactive instead of repetitive. The basics of the original are still there, i.e. you are a pirate who can pick a nationality to represent and attack on their behalf or go renegade and attack everyone, but that has its pitfalls. You also have mini-games which are nice, but could be a lot better with a lot more, considering this is an advanced console compared to the originals. The SNES version to date is still my fav. I was quite disappointed with this one! If you like the game though, you should like this version (although only to a certain degree).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Yo Ho Ho and a bottle of fun

posted by lazyncrazy (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

super addictive i kept it for 2 months, easy gameplay, realistic and...... just sooo fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good 1 player game, terrible documentation

posted by scubamatt (TAMPA, FL) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

If you've played the Pirates! game before on the PC, then this version will seem familiar, and fun. You'll also have the advantage over anyone who hasn't played the game before, because there are almost no instructions for how to play it. In game, there is a splash screen for each mini game that labels the controls, but that's it. Your best bet is to look online for guides to the PC version, and use those to help you work through this version.

The key differences in the Wii version are:

- no land battles anymore, you bombard the enemy towns from the sea instead

- you have to do much more to get a Governor's daughter to marry you (a quest that involves a dancing mini-game and a sword fight)

- the original 9 ship classes are divided into small, medium, and large versions for a total of 27 ship types.

Despite the lack of instructions, the game itself is enjoyable, with a wide range of difficulty (adjustable) and plenty of things to do. There are opportunities to have a second player join in (briefly) but make no mistake, this is a 1 player game. It is played with the basic 'motion+' wand controller. It has a high replay value, since the location of quest items is random in each new game, and the quests themselves take a lot of work to complete.

The one thing I haven't been able to figure out how to do is review treasure maps that I get from the Mysterious Stranger. Once I buy a map and have my first look at it, I can never again pull up the map and review it. This led to a lot of frustration, but this was the only serious negative during game play.

I'm a big fan of the original game, and the Wii version brought back a lot of good memories. It is a faithful interpretation of what made the original so much fun to play, with several new twists and lots of cinematic cut scenes to spice it up. It was well worth renting, and if Gamefly had included some instructions (or even had a downloadable PDF) I would have bought the copy I rented.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good remake for wii.

posted by mastercaleb2007 (LAKE ANN, MI) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Yes here we have Pirates for the wii!

Gameplay is addicting but has some big downfalls that make it a 7/10.

You take control of a young pirate with a missing family. Soon you get control of your own ship and can take control of the sea. The game is free roaming so you can help out any of the 4 countries claim land and sea if you wish (Spain, Dutch, France, England). Or you can just go around being a hardcaore pirate looking for tresure and ships to sink and villiges to plunder. There is also a main storyline you can follow that is fun as well.

Pros-
Its a pirate game that lets you do what YOU want.
Controls are super easy to learn and fights are fun to play.
You can customize your ship and have up to 5 ships in your fleet.
Plenty of ships to play with and attack
Cons-
The wind only blows west. Yet you have to sail both ways.
Sailing across the map takes a loooonnnggg time and can get boring to say the least.
Dancing with the gov daughters is a litle tricky

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A bit disappointing, but still fun

posted by LoboSix (BUDA, TX) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I had played the original Pirates game back in the day (on a Mac, actually) and missed the remakes. This did a good job of capturing the feel of that original game, particularly the ability to choose your own path. And sailing around the Caribbean is beautiful! However, this Wii version does control a bit poorly in some of the minigames, the motion controls feel a bit tacked on, and aren't timed very well. The bombarding is the only mini-game that really does well with the motion control (a caveat, I didn't get captured, so didn't try the lock-picking). I stumbled a bit in the dancing, which is apparently the hardest mini-game, but did better as I got the hang of it.

A bigger offense is probably the weak documentation. I benefited from having played the previous version. But, if this was your first experience, you might be a bit lost. Still, it's good fun. I don't have a PSP or Xbox, so playing this one is my chance to relive some great Pirating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »