Rent Sid Meier's Pirates! for PSP Games
view large frontback

Sid Meier's Pirates!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.2

611 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

boring at first but one you get the hang of it fun

posted by scott26 (BUFFALO GROVE, IL) Jul 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never played Sid Miers Pirates before. My friends said it was awsome for the computer so I tried it for the psp. At first I didnt like that much cause I didnt really know what to do to become a good pirate. I was gonna return it cause I had it for 3 days and I still did not know how to become a good pirate but my friend played and said how to capture cities do land battles find treasure dance with the Governers daughter it was so fun I could not stop I cant believe I underestimated this awesome game!!! I recamend this game to everybody who has a psp but if you do not no what you are doing it could be really fustrating and boring. Im gonna go play Sid Miers Pirates and get Black beards tresure!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Non Somalian pirate stylee!

posted by J4rmz797 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 29, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Listen Sid, This is a great update to a legendary game. The "Sandbox style" play is perfect for all those that dream of sailing into Tortuga with our standards flying high. But for the love of God! If I had to suffer through one more ballroom minigame just to find out where my "darn" Uncle is!! Well...

Here's the thing. The game has hours of enjoyment and tons of replayability. Simply defeating all of the most wanted pirates in the Carribean is a great game in itself. But the repetition of the affair is what bogs down the overall package.You will find yourself searching aimlessly for the mysterious "Baron Raymundo," or whetever his name is, for hours on end until its time for your crew to revolt and re-start the procedure. This is just a small example of the MANY situations you will see over and over and over again.

A saving grace of this title though is the beautifully executed ship combat that has you engaging any and every ship crossing your path that you do not like. Allign yourself with a patron/pimp, and its off to slog a few English spines. But while you are out there, check for the many glitches popping up around te ocean. Hey, look over there, the ship ive been chasing for the last ten minutes has escaped by sailing over land! Truly, a magical sight!(Breaks PSP).

Overall,yes. Despite the maddenning detractions, the title offers what most PSP titles only wish they could. Fun, if only for so long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its sloooow fun

posted by charlescab (FORT MILL, SC) Mar 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a little slow paced at times sailing around and attacking but its pretty good overall. Not action packed mind you, but still fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simple, Fun, and Incredibly hard to put down

posted by SeptemVII (Richardson, TX) May 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful


I found this game to be very addictive.

It's simple, fun, and full of things to do and see. All of this is done with a cartoonish overhead world map, and fighter style sword duals.

I literally started playing at around 6pm with the intent to play an hour or two with a full battery. Then I noticed my battery was gone and it was 10pm.

The real fun comes from trying to make yourself the richest most powerful, most famous pirate in history. This is done by shooting and looting ships from enemy factions, killing the top ten pirates of the day and finding their buried stash, courting beautiful (or ugly!) governer's daughters, finding your lost family members, becoming admiral in one of the four navys (British, French, Danish, Spanish) buying and selling cargo to differant ports, even helping the tavern wench fight off a drunken captain!

This game is truly a work of art, its simple nature is a disguise for a stuffed cargohold of great gameplay. (9 out of 10!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple, Fun and Addictive

posted by bonsek (OAKLAND, CA) Feb 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Very simple pirate plunder strategy and lot of fun to play.

You start with one ship and few satisfied crew and after that its up to you to keep em happy and to grow your wealth and crew.
There are a lot of quests and mini games to keep you occupied, thou some of the quests are repetitious(catch one person over and over in various ports).

Interesting part is that you can't play it forever, because your character has a life span, so it depends on you how you end up at the end, as a governor or a pickpocket guy at the dock.
So, lotsa ships to attack and plunder, captains to fight in a sword duels, governors ladies to dance with, treasure hunts, search for lost relatives and trading if thats your thing.

Good Times, defenetly worth playing and some might wanna keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but gets old quick.

posted by lughxer (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 20, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you like problem solving and hours intense video game play -- uh just replay San Andreas. This game goes by quick but it is still fun while it lasts.

I'm not sure why video game publishers have no moral objection to releasing games for the PSP when they are still full of annoying bugs. While playing the PSP version of Sid Meier's Pirates! (I sort of yell it when I say it out loud because of the punctuation!) you'll notice that enemy ships are able to magically cut right through solid islands but you are unable to follow them. Other bugs include sometimes not being able to turn your ship right or left and just for fun sometimes the game quits for no reason when you pause the game. When I say 'pause the game' I mean power off the PSP while the game is still running. Most PSP games let you power it off in mid-play and then later pick up right where you left off. Which is a feature I'd love to have for any game console.

If you can get past all of that -- Sid Meier's Pirates! is still enjoyable, mindless, piratey fun which includes: blasting enemy ships with cannons, plundering towns, romancing the governor's daughter at the grand ball and sword fighting on the decks of mighty clipper ships. AARRGH MATEYS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Civilization on the sea

posted by BigShawn (SYKESVILLE, MD) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Until Sid's big seller is on PSP this is excellent! I drive tractor trailer and can't wait for a delay to pop out PSP and play a couple hours! I played it about 50 hours in a month while
driving 11 hours a day & sleeping 10-12. It is so addictive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Keeper! No two games are ever the same

posted by Beavis610 (ELIZABETHTOWN, PA) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is outstanding for the PSP. A very good port of the original, and the sub-games coupled with the simple gaming interface of ship travel/combat makes this game a pleasure to play on the PSP. Throw in the game's penchant for constantly changing goals/quests from game to game, and the ability to change your character mid-game by 'upping' the difficulty level, and you've got a recipe for a keeper. I bought this game from gamefly after having it 3 days. I can pick this one up and play it anytime. Enough said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA- AAAAAHHH

posted by maddog54 (CHEVY CHASE, MD) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This was a really surprising game... in a bad way. You land in port and do the same thing in each one, and when you do an on ship fight you only fight the captain. At first, you have fun, but then it got worse, and worse, and worse. dont waste your time renting this game, go rent MADDEN 2007.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

like civilization revolution

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

I love this game it is very good. I play like all day.
The only thing is that it can get boring for most people(not for me).
It does get pretty hard. They send like pirate hunters after when you keep attacking the same ships over and over again. You can sneak into towns.
You sword fight.
Everything a pirate does you do in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Arrr you ready Matey?

posted by SkoDZ5 (WESTMINSTER, MD) Dec 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Played this one on the Amgia kids and it's still just as fun! Hey, and with the improved graphics came some improvements with the mini games. And lets face it, this is a game of mini games . . . on the high seas Arrr!

So it's easy to pick up a put down.
A decent amount of ways to play the game.
And there is something rewarding in choosing to let a ship sink or sail.

Things that'll drive your ship into a reef are as follows:
Sailing - I don't care if you want to make travel more realistic, just don't make me come to a full stop because I'm in a head wind. Travel time can be too long sometimes. Away too long. I wanted to mutiny.
Accomplishment - This is a pick up and put down game so you get something out of the mini games, but I did everything I could to "BEAT" the game just to find myself with all the riches in the world but empty on the inside . . .
Dancing - If I wanted to dance, I would have asked . . .

Good as a travel game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ehhh...

posted by Zademan22 (MILFORD, MI) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Sid Meir's Pirates is your average game. It is OK at everything, good at nothing. The graphics are just the same for about any other PSP game. The game is about as long as any other as well.
While, I wouldn't buy this game you should consider renting it, if anything. I would say this game is worth playing, but nothing more.

Zademan22

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by pizzaman2 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Sep 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

The game was and is very good. It could give the dueling more detail. A tip to gamers:remeber always have food on your ship. I personally give the game 8 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!

posted by skyhermie (BROOKINGS, OR) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DONT PLAY THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game was a dissapiontment

posted by guitarman8 (Pleasant Grove, UT) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Well when i saw that Pirates! was on psp i was really excited, i have the computer version and i love it.

I rented it because my disk tray on my computer has been broken for a while and i wanted to play the game without taking my computer to be fixed.

when i started playing the game i was really pleased because the cut scenes looked about as good as on the computer, then i started playing it and it was ok then i got into a ship battle and i just was really bummed.

on the psp version your ship turns on a dime when your ship is like over 100ft. long! it turns sharper than a freakin sports car!

also when you fire your cannons it takes like two seconds for them to load again! i was very mad, the game play sucks and is so unrealistic compared to the original!

now if you never have played this game on the computer or xbox then give it a rent still worth it, but i strongly recomend gettin it on xbox or computer its alot more fun and realistic withouth being boaring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok i gess

posted by hogol55676 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

this game is good at first after 3 days BORING.i just cant find good games now.pirates are my thing untill now i like monster trucks but again its ok i gess.=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This ship sails, but, there are some leaks.

posted by bamaman84 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Overall, this is a good game. Its entertaining. Its easy to get into. Nice graphics. The options within the game really allow you to make your own path. After that, the linearity of the game stops. You never know what task the game will give you next in the quest to find your family, so its hard to prepare for. Also, it almost turns into a scavenger hunt, as you will find yourself going back and forth across the Carribean and the Gulf of Mexico looking for people and things that you really have to ponder if it really has anything to do with finding your family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOT A GOOD GAME

posted by DMAN45 (GADSDEN, AL) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I rented this game but buy 10 minutes i was bored.
This game doesn't have many places to roam around free.Or maybe none it all.The sword battles are dodge then attack over and over.The graphics are not even good. If you want a fun Pirate game play Pirates of the Carribean online not this.Its not worth wasteing your money or time on. And if you put it at the last of your list you might get it soon like I did 3 times in a row.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Playable

posted by almoore (OXFORD, MI) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

I liked this game. I'm not a big fan of pirate games but this one was very playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So Much Potential, but...

posted by ral3id516 (BENSALEM, PA) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

Its a good fun game, the only disappointments would be how short the game is, and lack of replay value. If you beat it once, there isn't much else to do, except say "screw it" and go around sacking all the towns, sinking all the ships and not getting the story done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Really Worth It

posted by rr92890 (CORTLANDT MANOR, NY) May 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

this game is fun for the 1st hour or so but then it gets repetitive and the lard worlds make for long trips between different settlements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Argh!

posted by photogirl7 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

When starting this game, you get one ship and a few satisfied crew members; after that it is up to you to keep them happy and healthy.

There are a several quests and mini games to keep you going, but some of the quests are repetitive. Seems like you are catching the same pirate over and over, but really there are 10 different baddies.

The sailing around part can get slow at times and the controls are not as easy as they could be. That, and the fact that they excellerate the time/clock while sailing means that you will quickly loose the happiness of your crew.

You only have a certain time frame to complete all the quests before your pirate has to retire, so it is up to you, retire poor, or retire rich. Argh! Matey!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »