Rent Sid Meier's Pirates! for Xbox
view large frontback

Sid Meier's Pirates!

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.2

2166 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game Is Great!!!!!!!!!

posted by Myself234 (CLEARFIELD, UT) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game, it's a game I would buy, but only if it was 10 bucks, because I would like to have done more with it. I got bored after playing a full life-time in the game, it's quite easy to get the hang of, but even when you think you might have it, there's a little more you can do, for example, when you dance with the governor's daughters, instead of just pushing the button it tells you to push, once. You can spin and twirl and whatever when you push the button to the beat. Sword fighting, also has its special moves, double hits and special dodge moves, interactions with buckets on deck, and cane looking things that you throw, this game has been done very well, sailing, it felt like I was actually there, I liked option of birds eye or the behind the ship view, it was a nice touch. pillaging towns was cool, BUT there was only a select few you could attack, the main ports, you couldn't make one of them your hide out, or make them YOUR towns, they had to be in allegiance to one of the main nationalities, spain, dutch, english, or french, no PIRATE TOWN UNDER YOUR RULE option, which would have been nice. Finding buried treasure, searching ancient ruins for a SHLOAD of gold, finding maps(or peices of them), all of the items you can aquire, and the different levels of each, gaining ranks from the different nations, escort missions, immigrants and peace treaties. Breaking out of jail, sneaking into town, knocking out guards that get in your way. Crew and their morale, or the lack there of, they'll even steal your ships, when its been too long before you've divied up the plunder, trading, HMMM, there is so much to do in this game, if you haven't played this game, you probably should, it's a TERRIFIC game, it even has a multiplayer option for four player ship battling, It would have been cool if you could co-op in the actual game controlling different ships, but I guess that wasn't thought of, all well, PLAY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mutiny on boredom

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

26 out of 28 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Sid Meier is famous for turn-based strategy, so I wasn't sure what to expect from Pirates. And I can say with utmost certainty, it is not a turn-based strategy game. But that's okay, because it happens to be a great adventure title unlike anything you'll see on a platform. Imagine living the life of a pirate, through the mutiny, the swashbuckling, the sacking of rich towns and the sinking of various trading vessels. Such is the world of Pirates. From the moment you set sail, you have very little to guide you except your sense of adventure. You can duel famous pirates and keep their prize vessels, dance with the governor's daughter and destabilize power in the Caribbean by turning various colonies over to the French, English, Spanish or Dutch. Since you are essentially living in a lifetime, you will eventually succumb to age and be forced to retire. And this is where I felt short-changed. I wanted to do more in a lifetime. But it did give me reason to play through again. There are a lot of reasons to play through multiple times, making it an addictive little sandbox of a game that will keep you engaged for many, many hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yo-Ho

posted by PaleHorse (MOBILE, AL) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game. I would say especially for the kids, but I don't have any over 9months yet. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it and would let my daughter play if she were old enough to use the controller.

This is a solid game, and fun. Don't expect it to be something its not though. If you looking for great dialog, and intense sword play that pushes the limits of your console then this is the wrong place to look, but if your looking for loads of good clean swashbuckling fun, then you have come to the right place. It is a very basic game, very similar to the original Pirates made for very old PCs. Of course it has been tweaked a little, but mainly they just brought back the classic.

have fun...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Billybob21 (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember when i first played this game! i fell in love with it! i love everything about it! One of the best games ever for the xbox!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sid Meter games are aways this good

posted by LizardGuy9 (COOS BAY, OR) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest Sid Meters game I had seen with so much to do few games have made me excited just thinking of it the greatness lies in the diversity of all the things you can do you live a honest life, or be a full out of plundering pirate..You can focuse on the main missions, or go off and do your life,conquer nations or fall in love and many other things.This is probably the best live your life game for a original xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love It!

posted by REVENGAx (PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game at blockbuster a couple of years ago and I love it! When you begin your game you pick your Name, Class, Etc. Then your off to sail the ocean. You can work with diffrent countries, or destroy them. You can pillage cities and take them over, or you can just take there gold. You can work with Indians and other Pirates. When you play this game you will fight other famous pirates such as Black Beard and Captain Kid. This game isnt just not worth renting, its worth buying.

Even this game is good, there are a couple of flaws. Like you cant customize your pirates appearance. When you are taking over a city, the gameplay is simuliar to a board game. After a while this game gets kinda of repetitive.

This game is worth renting, trust me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!

posted by ImmenseOne (Fort Worth, TX) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! Problem is there is no XBOX 360 Version and that kills me! Maybe a sequel?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AVAST, MATES!!!!

posted by Rocco1 (CONROE, TX) Nov 8, 2007

Member since May 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As with the original Pirates! This game just "rules"!

Game play is great, and content is outstanding!
For a pirate...this game is IT!!!

Historically, and fantasy wise, this game should be at the TOP of any RPGer's list!

Deserves MORE than a 10...but one must settle with limitations, lol.

~Rocco~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sid meier's pirates

posted by cannonman1 (WILSONVILLE, OR) Oct 19, 2007

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It has lots of adventures and good details.The first time I played it I sucked like one captain against 240 Dutch.The second time I played it I went though them like poo though a goose. Patton said that, not me. I got a ship with 32 cannons the only upgrade i haven't got is the bronze cannon.Anyone who is going up against me is going belly up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for all ages and never ending fun

posted by LAX5150 (BOONTON, NJ) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first got this game I thought this is going to be another one that i'll beat in bout 3 hours then send it back and I was incredibly wrong. This game has good graphics for its console and game type. It has a good storyline and great play. Even when you think you mastered the controls surprises come from all corners. There's so much to do, you can dance with the governors daughters, have bar fights, search for buried treasure or even find lost ruins for gold beyond your wildest dreams. Choose from 4 sea faring nations: The French, the Dutch, the English, and the Spanish. Each has it's own pros and cons which makes it fun to play over. The main storyline is to find the dirt bag who captured your family and put him down while becoming the greatest pirate the world has seen and finding your long lost family. Here's the part I DON'T LIKE, every time you hear that someone knows something of your family members it's the same guy you have to chase every single time besides that the fact that you can hunt down real life pirates for their ships is great but be careful your crew can mutiny and steal your boats and supplies. Got thing is if it get's too easy you can divide your plunder, arrrgh!, and change the difficulty settings from over 5 difficulty types what you can't change is the time you start in but thats great there are multiple historic dates each with its own different stories and diffculties. However it would have been nice if the creators would have gotten some historic facts straight for example, Blackbeard's boat was the Queen Anne's Revenge in game Henry Morgan has that boat but it's ignorable.This game is great for all ages because the controls are simple and the quests are easy to understand not to mention you'll want to start over once your done once to see what you can do as the other factions/time periods. This game is MUST buy though some places sell this game expensive it can be found cheap at walmart and gamestop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

R'nt You into Pirate Games?

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Jun 8, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

First, this is not really an RPG. That said, the mini-games that comprise the larger game really makes for an excellent experience (perhaps next time you can create your own "One-Eyed Willie" traps to protect your stash).

Yay
-Plays just like the classic Sid Meir "Pirates! Gold" game.
-Marry the governor's hot daughter (or ugly one if you're into that...)
-Retiring gives you different end stories depending on how well you played.
-Free history lessons about the golden age of pirating. Just by playing! Yay! Learning is fun!
-Frigates rule!

Eh
-Attacking a town fort with cannon to soften them up before you land doesn't seem to do much.
-You win entire battles by simply dueling the captain like you could in Pirates! Gold. Oh well...
-Traveling across the map from one end to the other can get tiresome.

Boo
-Some of the mini-games can be repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

arrrgh matey

posted by burn2099 (ALBANY, OR) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

for me i liked this game it did get real repetive but it challenged me to sail on the open sea and to use the currents and the wind, and you had to save you family. all in all this was a good game i liked it it has replay value cuz you do get old and a little brittle from all the years at sea. i'd say at least rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its okay...

posted by Kevman (NORTH MANCHESTER, IN) Jun 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I started to play this game, It was awesome. The graphics were good, the ship battles were fun, even wooing a governor's daughter. But after awhile, the game got really tedious. You stop caring about the ship battles and go straight for dueling with the captian. The land battles are cool at first but then, again, it gets boring. Even the governor's daughters start getting boring, for the most part they all looked the same.

Over all the game is good for about 2 times to run through but after that it starts to go down hill. A good game to rent, but not one to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game does not work

posted by mt1043 (WINSTON, OR) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sid Meier's Pirates does not work for an xbox 360 without going online to try and find a update to make it work so please remove it from your list for this reason

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Repeat, Repeat, Repeat

posted by UNVHeather (APOLLO BEACH, FL) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At first glance, sailing around the world, fighting with pirates, and making peace with governments seems like a very original and exciting game Sid Meier has created, BUT about 30 mins. into it, you realize the repeative nature of this game. You do the same thing over and over again, with the exception of finding random treasures and locating your family. Overall I think the whole idea of the game is Great, but the follow-up... Not So Great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Searching for booty, matey?

posted by DeusUmbra (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This title is a pirate simulator. It is, at points, it is really worth the rent/purchase if you are are a true pirate fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by carl123 (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game was not terrible, just dull and repetitive. You need to do the same few actions and moves over and over to move forward in the game. By the time I got anywhere in the game, I just stopped caring. I am a fan of Sid Meier's other games, but this one just doesn't do it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sid meier,s pirates

posted by bonkeyrock (RINGGOLD, GA) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

game would not work on x box 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sid Meier misses the mark this time...

posted by PDJordan (PEORIA, AZ) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Pirates! would have been good about 10 years ago. But the graphics are sub-par, the gameplay is terrible (swordfights are basicly a series of A A A X A A A), the story is hokey, and you spend most of your time doing missions which are carbon copies of the mission you just finished, the ship battles require more luck than actual talent and the trade system is flawed. I've enjoyed Meier's games since the beginning, when he relased the original Civilization, but this game if VERY lacking. I did get about 5 hours of gameplay out of it, but that was becaus I was waiting for something cool to happen, and it just never came.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SID MEIER'S PIRATES ! Good clean pirate fun !!!

posted by Starblazer62 (HAMPSTEAD, MD) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I loved this game !!! I look forward to a sequel. The animation is very good, the characters are a hoot to watch. ( especially the local governors. ) The ship battles are realistic, with visible damage as the battles progress, ( torn sails, broken masts, men overboard, etc.. ) The sword fights between your character and the ships captains as you try to board are not so real, ( no blood -n-guts, torn clothing, etc.. ) but the resulting animation is funny. The captains would make the three stooges proud. Your whole family can take turns being a pirate, and play as a good or bad character. As a good pirate, you work for the local governors, hunting down other pirates, and sinking ships from other nations at war with your governors nation to earn land grants, promotions, and his daughters hand in marriage. As a bad pirate you are at liberty to attack any nations ships, towns, etc., and hideout with other famous pirates from history. The barmaids are a little busty, but nothing to keep younger pirates from playing, so don't worry mom, you won't have to cover little johnny's eyes in the taverns. There is a story line about finding lost members of your family, taken away by an evil baron, and restoring your familys honor and wealth, but you are free to follow that path, or just roam arround the expansive game world ( for its time ) explore, and enjoy !! I give this game two sabres up !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fairly cut and dry, but poor free sailing, no direct port to port travel. Fencing could be better

posted by somedevil (HIGH POINT, NC) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

fairly cut and dry, but poor free sailing, no direct port to port travel. Fenceing could be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

AN OK GAME

posted by UNIMPRESED (CLAY, MI) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

this game is ok if you only have 1 day to play it this game is ok if you like the same thing over and over the game gives no real twists it i just do this and do that there is never any thing except attacking towns and ships i got bored with it after the first few days the game i very random and has very little on a real story i do not recommend this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great weekend game

posted by insomic (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Pirates is a great game if u have nothing to do over the weekend but after u beat it, you seem to just be going through the steps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Pirates life for me...

posted by JonE2Tone (SHELTON, CT) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

As is always the case with Sid Meier games, you spend a good portion of your time in this game planning for what to do next. But, as is also the frequent case, it's still pretty fun!

The graphics are very standard of SM's games. They're cartoon-y and full of bright colors, and altogether nothing a kid couldn't watch.

The dialogue is the standard, which is to say, funny gibberish.

The soundtrack does a good job in both the music and the sound effects.

In fact, there's only a few flaws to this game.

For one, the sailing itself, can get RATHER tedious. The computer has a hard time with the ships going close to shore (say...sailing through a tight channel), and tries to put you aground more often than not. When at open sea, getting lost is easy, even with the overlay map on.

In town and fighting gameplay is pretty straight forward, and once you get the basics down, it's pretty easy to pass through them, though not losing much fun in the process.

Overall, it's a great game, and absolutely worth the rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sid Meier does it again

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

I expected to like this game somewhat because I have enjoyed everything Sid Meier has produced. This game is very fun, very addictive. Once you figure out some of the basic ins and outs, which I didn't really spend enough time trying to learn (I just put the disc in and figured it out as I went) it really isn't hard to start building up your pirating career. Capturing ships to add to your fleet and upgrading them is fun. Once you capture a really great battleship, you can make it your own flagship to use in naval battles. There is an element of diplomacy also as you meet with city leaders who give you promotions based on whether or not you have done something in their interests. Even if you didn't mean to; if you attack a ship belonging to a country they are at war with, they act like you did it for them and show you their appreciation. You might even get to meet and woo their daughter.

This is a very fun game that I will keep for quite a while to get the full depth of it and try to play in different ways a few times before sending it back. I would consider buying it also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse