Rent Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution for PS3
view large frontback

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
7.3

6133 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Game for People Who Would Love to Have an Empire

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) May 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Just think of having your own empire. You can do what you want to do with it. It's a great experience for all ages above 10. Very easy, which is a downfall for people that want a challenge, but an upside for beginners to stradegy games. Personally after being all of the nations, which you should try, it gets repetitive(to me at least). So, most important thing is to have fun with it and rule like a king!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simple & Fun

posted by Patriarchy (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

34 out of 43 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Meier's PC strategy games were always my favorite. But this game, though it's a bit cartoonish, has lots to offers. The controllers is easy. The game play is Fun, Fast and Simple. Of course for startegy hard-core fan like me,I wasn't overhyping about this game. However, for a fisrt strategy game ever made for PS3, actually multiplatform, the gameplay doesn't differ much from the PC experience. Yup, you still can get that experience.

What this startegy game has that any previous Meier's games don't is that when it comes to a battle, your army won't do the same fighting move. Your army will give expression as they won the battle and they will automatically upgrade their skills. That feels good

The con is that each advisor from military, politic, etc are sometimes bothering my gameplay as they just pop up covering the whole TV screen every minute after you received some new sources in your civilization. Also, just like what I expected, the game during multiplayer online had lag so much. But this is common in strategy games.

I'll give the graphics a B+. Although it look very cartoonish, they are very well-polish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution

posted by Jib7xz (PANAMA CITY BEACH, FL) Jul 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

33 out of 42 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This is an amazing game. There is no doubt about it. The easiest AI is the only AI i've gone against so far, and they all present different problems when you're moving in for the kill. The game went very smoothly from PC to Platform. With all of that said, there were a couple flaws. First off, the other civilizations were perpetually popping up on the screen whining about something, threatening to attack, etc. My Advisers advised TOO much. The game will start in BC and naturally lead into AD. Personally, I thought that the game ending in 2100 wasn't a very well thought out aspect. It doesn't change my love of the game, and i still think it is a definite buy. Save some money though, and buy from Gamefly or a used game store instead of some big corporation, because the game isn't worth 60 bucks. It was good, and endlessly replayable. But slightly repetitive. Have fun ladies and gents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very addicting

posted by ShrapDog (NEWARK, NJ) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The Bad: The Civ series has been totally dumbed down for the console.
No more micro-management, no more attention to every little detail. You can play an entire campaign to victory in 90 mins.

The Good: The Civ series has been totally dumbed down for the console.
No more micro-management, no more attention to every little detail. You can play an entire campaign to victory in 90 mins!!!!

If you like empire building games this is a must have. And if you've ever played this on the PC, you know that 1 campaign can literally last for days...NOT ANYMORE! This version has taken all the 'collect gold, technology and military to expand' and removed all the 'build 4 workers and go build a road on one tile...now build a farm...now build a windmill...now build a ...Who has time for that?!

Streamlined would be a good word for this version of the game. So many of the tasks that could make 1 turn last up to 15 mins can be done in this game in about 2 once your empire is up and running. I can come home, play two entire campaigns and still have time before bed. Good stuff (unless you LIKE to micromanage - with 3 cities it's fun, when you have upwards of 9 and 10...not so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not as good as it should be, but im still addicted

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

21 out of 28 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Civilization was one of the first games ive ever been addicted to. i loved the concept and the detail that was put in the original. while this game still offers a similar addiction, its nowhere near the original concept. there are no options of map size and the world is rather small. the AI is also rather simple. its very possible to get any of the victories in a matter of a couple of hours, where the original Civ took days or even weeks to get through. i still like this game alot, but its far too dumbed down from the original Civ for me to be satisfied. great for rental, maybe even worth buying because its definitely alot of fun and theres plenty of replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Strategy game

posted by Cryoss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you loved any of the Tycoon games (rollercoaster tycoon, etc.) or have enjoyed Sid Meier's games in the past, this game is a definite buy!

This is an fun, enjoyable strategy game, that has a replayability that far exceeds some other games. You have the option of choosing 1 of 16 civilizations to start, each with it's unique advntages/disadvantages. 4 different ways to win with each civilization, and 4 difficulty levels! That's a lot of options there!

Other game modes include online multiplayer, and a game of the week. The game of the week mode has game settings loaded on PSN every sunday. You complete the requirements for your civ and earn points and rankings online!

My only critiques of the game are that sometimes my system experiences a slowdown when I have multiple cities. And as the one user said, sometimes the leaders popping up can be annoying.

All said, if you're not into strategy games, or aren't sure about this I recommend at least renting and giving it a shot. If you enjoy Risk, rollercoaster tycoon, and games like that This game is definitely for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent fun for fans of the series

posted by rnmike (LA MESA, CA) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If anyone has ever played Civ games on PC or any other platform for that matter and was even a tiny bit of a fan of the genre and/or series.... they will love this game. I had a blast with it. Graphics were great, soundtrack excellent, voice acting (ok, the gibberish does get kind of old, I mean "fallom fallom" fails to be entertaining after the 2nd or 3rd time hearing it.) But the game is well developed, the controls and actions are nicely laid out, picking up game play within minutes of first playing. The details might not be as precise as some would have hoped, but there is more than enough substance to play through a few times and have a great time. This one is definitely on my "to buy" list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Totally Addicting, played non stop all weekend

posted by TimmyK (Saint Ann, MO) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I used to love Command & Conquer Red Alert on PS but could only play a few hours in a row. This game blows C&C out of the water & I can't put it down, I must have spent 36 hours over the weekend playing this game. Your are a leader of a country in which everything you say goes, unless of course you form a democracy and you can no longer declare war. I did notice later in the game as cities became bigger there was some lagging going on the Xbox version and assume this will happen on the PS3 & PC much like Command & Conquer when there are a too many soldiers moving at one time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun but it gets boring

posted by dreyster (New York, NY) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

after you beat the game like 10 times it gets really boring. it was really fun in the beginning but after you play it a couple of times its the same thing over and over again. there is really not a lot of options in the game so you do the same thing over and over again!!!! rent the game for a week then send it back!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by swimboy4 (LITTLE SILVER, NJ) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Just from the demo from the playstation store, I knew this game would be great. Great strategy game. The best part about this game is that the situations always change no matter what. You always have different people to face with different challenges. This game is a definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing to Veterans of CIV

posted by Bejers (RICHMOND, TX) Jul 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

I highly anticipated the release of this game and played the demo on PS3. I gave it a chance over a good week of playing, but I just can't make any excuses for the game. Although the cartoonish characters are refreshing and joining units into armies was much needed, the rest of the game is a weaker version of past incarnations.

The most disappointing aspect is the small maps and limited city building. This robs the game of its former strength, exploring and developing worlds. The small map forces you to deal with the lacluster AI far sooner than in previous games. The AI still isn't worth playing against and only gets more difficult because on higher levels they ramp up their production. They are completely predictable with no real chance to enjoy any of the strategies.

As in the most recent version the sea battles are limited and sea units only marginally useful. At least in the old version you could explore massive maps or choose to use a smaller map. In this version it is almost paternal as you are limited to playing nothing more than an enhanced version of RISK.

This game left me with a hope that they develop a new PC version, keeping the Army unit stacking, but bringing back all the useful pieces of the game from former versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you played Civ on the PC...

posted by carmagames (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You will still find this entertaining. It's a watered down version of Civ, but it's fun. No unit limits or maintenance costs, no pollution, etc. It's exactly what a console version of Civ should be. Enjoy! If I had $34 to spare I would keep this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too simple

posted by LBGAMER (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 27, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am addicted to the PC version of this game and spent days at a time playing the hardest levels. The many levels on the PC game provide a gamer at every level challenges, even frustrations. This new civilization for the PS3's of the world must have been designed for 5 year olds. Every game I played, I was done in less then an hour. There is no strategy in this version. Just build and conquer. The cartoon graphics lead me to believe that a child was the focus here. I looked forward to this release for months and have been very disappointed.

I can't say enough about the PC version of this game. Sid designed a game that is my favorite of all time, but this PS3 version is just awful. I feel like Winnie the Pooh is going to pop up at any time and tell me to attack piglet. Games of Madden take longer then this "strategy" game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OK game

posted by BtownGamer (EAST WEYMOUTH, MA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game was alright but it was NOTHING like the PC version. Way to easy. I beat it in a couple of hours. Its a great PC game but not so good for the PS3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome to See it in 1080p

posted by aaustinite (HIGHLAND, IL) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Easy controls, as far as I can tell. I have played the demo version on my PS3 enough times to think a rental of this game is the least you can do. I have this game in my list just until I can afford to buy it. I will buy it ASAP, But, I had to get another game on the PC "Spore" pre-ordered Download version first and foremost. I LOVE strategy games! This game is so good I bought all 3 versions on the PC civ4,civ warlords,&Beyond the sword. I am very excited about Colonization coming out soon!! I loved thaat game when it came out in the early 90's it made me fail a few classes in elementary. I couldn't get enough of any of Sid Meier's games he IS a Game God, all things he makes work and sell like gold. This game is no different, yes it has a more saturated color palette but it does work because on a 1080p HDTV it matters. Most colors tend to fade the larger the screen. I insist anyone to get this game it is Game of the year for Strategy games on the PS3/XB360 (I don't own a 360 so I'm only guessing it's as good as the PS3 one)
GET THIS GAME!! 10 out of 10 5 stars!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

demo is good

posted by Mandrew (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

tried the demo, not as complicated as the pc version, but this one is easier to control and much better looking...the good part is now you can gang up 3 units into an army..but minus square by square work type control...road is no longer build square by square but you can build from city to city...which is good...consider the old day on pc spending so much time just building roads and railroad and tons of workers all over the place... it is a more clean version and I love it. I like the demo so much I bought the game right out of game fly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty yet boring

posted by Trollhammr (FAIRFAX, VA) Jul 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is an interesting take on the PC classic. I love the Civ series, but I find this version a little boring and repetitive. I wish that there were more things to do and strategies to use, but ultimately you are just mindlessly clicking through the end game. It's fun and pretty, but fails as a strategy game. If you play it and like the style of the game, I would suggesting picking up Civ3 or Civ4 for the PC for an extremely involving, strategic, and fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Wife Hates This Game

posted by sequential (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am so addicted to this game. I can't stop playing it and all of my husbandly duties are suffering for it. I will probably keep playing it until my wife threatens divorce.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So easy, so little substance.

posted by Jason26 (HAMILTON, OH) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

To make a long story short this game is extremely easy, I beat it in 2 hours. There's absolutely no depth to the game whatsoever, I learned how to play this game in under 60 seconds. There's 4 ways to beat the game but I could only ever win with domination because the game chooses a winner after so long, so you don't have enough time to develop far enough to create the united nations or launch a space mission to alpha centuari. Do yourself a favor and don't rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Evolution of Civiilization

posted by Chaos749 (BAYTOWN, TX) Jul 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I never played the first Civilization game, I started on the second one, which I had for Playstation. I enjoyed the game it was very challenging at first but once I had a grasp it was all that much easier. I really enjoyed it. Then I bought Civ 3 for the PC and I also enjoyed it but I believe I like part 2 better to this day. Now the latest in the series, Revolution, reminds me of what I liked in the second game, almost. It is highly addictive and has great replay value. But for them to remake the move to the console they dumbed it down.. a lot. For example, I used to have as many nations as I wanted on the map with me. Now 4, including you is the only option. The graphics were cartoonish, but I didn't mind it as much as I thought I would. The gameplay was faster, a lot more than the past. The scenarios made the game that much more fun too, especially the blitz one where everyone is on the attack at all times. Makes life interesting. Overall I thought it was a nice change to the series for the consoles, but I think they could of made it more like the PC versions since our next-gen consoles are strong enough to handle it.. 8/10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

greatest game ever

posted by Kennys (OBETZ, OH) Jul 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is one of the best games in the history of man kind i like it so much you you do a lot on the game i say destroying all of the armies on the game while getting up in technical it cool you can even send a space ship in to space it the bests game i have ever played i can't get off of the game i play it for hours my brother doesn't evan get to beable to play how long I'm on it. i love the game so much i just can't stop talking about it you can be peaceful or be like me and destroy your appoint it's simple to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just Awful

posted by slockwood1 (LAWTON, OK) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

What the bleep was this??? I had really high hopes, considering this was the first strategy game released on a next gen system. So the day it came out, I bought it. I was SO disappointed. The game is WAY too short. They advertise that you can play any way you want, which is somewhat true. But the choices you get limit you so much that you don't really choose how to approach the situation. You just choose which win you want to get. And to make matters worse, there is a time limit!!! You only have about 2-3 hours to get a win. You have no control over your citizens, just your military. You cannot control where buildings are placed. You cannot even see a detailed view of your cities. The characters are way too goofy and all speak gibberish. They get so annoying that it will not take long before you are muting the voices of the game. I had it for about a week before I sold it. This game was just awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very disappointing.. The best part was the demo.

posted by manimao (PISCATAWAY, NJ) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Pros:
- Good Graphics, but could have been better
- Civilopedia feature is informative
- Entertaining for the first few hours.

Cons:
- Very easy
- Never any player available online, game slows down and screen flickers if you have a lot going on on the screen.
- not challenging, can easily defeat the computer.

This was one game i was awaiting for eagerly after playing the demos repeatedly, but sadly this game has been a complete let down.

After playing the PC version of the game, i find that the PC is more suited for this genre of games.

This game gets it wrong in so many levels, its very easy to defeat the computer opponent. The game gets over very quickly,there is not enough of a challenge.

The most annoying aspect is the way the screen pans across the world to your different cities or units awaiting instructions.

You can only have your unit skip one turn before you have to go back and have them ask you again for something to do.

The screen flickers and slows down if you have too many units on screen.

There are no players online, i have been trying every day for the past week and i find no one online.

This game should be rented only if nothing else is available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

civilization

posted by bobdagama (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jun 16, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i didnt like the game because it ends automaticly after a certain amount of time and just as i was going to a special place it make me start all the way back from the beggining not a good game but it was kind of fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

very slow game

posted by sonNlaw22 (Dundas, IL) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game went back in the mail the same day it was received. Played it for 3 hrs... took forever.. if you like simms or other games that just take up time building and building, with not much done, this is the game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse