Rent Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS
GF Rating
7.7

13428 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fun Game...But There Is Something Familiar..

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

37 out of 41 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

After playing through the game 5 times on different settings. I have to admit, I could not get a win on the King or Deity levels, but this is one addicting game. I love the graphics, and love the gameplay. I love the fact that you can start with any Nation and have a different experience each time, and that different Nations have different ways of dealing with certain situations. For instance, when playing the Mongols each Barbarian tribe you beat, joins you as a city. While playing with most of the other Nations, they simply are wiped off the map.

I know that you can switch your goal for victory mid-stream with ease, and is supposed to give you a lot of leeway for choice of victory. This is a good idea, but after a couple times through the game it is very easy to build up two, three, or even four different victory goals at the same time. Then just choosing one to go after towards the end of the game.

I will have to admit, if there is anything I had to say against the game. In truth, after going through the game once, it was so familiar to me. See I have Civ III for the PC. This game is nearly an exact duplicate of that game, though with a major upgrade in graphics. But it obviously has the same purpose, same goals, same way of doing things. Sure there are different opponents, and a few new techs. Yet it's nearly the same game.

Another aspect, I do not like, is the time limit. On Civ III I always had a hard time pushing towards a Space Victory because I kept running in to the time limit. In Civ Revolution, it's much easier to attain your goals before the limit, which I believe is the year 2100 AD. But I once again found myself hitting the time limit with certain Nations.

I have always been partial to the Civ games, and have always loved them. For those with no prior experience with the Civ series, this game should be a buy. But for those who have had prior games, it's a rental, unless your a huge fan, which I am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost the classic that PC gamers have known

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jul 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

160 out of 181 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This latest iteration of the Civilization series has a few minor annoyances that keep me from giving it a 10, but it is every bit as addictive as the PC version. It will keep you playing much longer than you intended to because you have to be able to stop saying to yourself "Just... one... more.. turn...!" before you can turn it off.

The same build and conquest concepts are here that have been the point of the whole series for the last 15 years. I have always enjoyed the turn based nature of the game because you don't have to worry about a small army attacking you while you are checking out the details of your capital or setting up build orders in your cities. You take care of all the details you want to take care of and then when your turn is done, the game makes its moves. The game AI is smart enough to make it very challenging, but with practice, you learn how to approach certain battles and what works best. I'm already finding certain leaders that I look forward to wiping out.

The problems I have with this version are small. I find the cartoony graphics to be good except in the case of the advisors. They annoy me every time they pop up. That's disappointing because I've always enjoyed checking the advisors. In this case, they don't sit back and wait for you to see what they're thinking. They pop up constantly speaking in a jibberish that sounds like baby talk. I was ready to never see them again after the first five minutes.

Problem two is the control. Console people that have not played this series before might think it's great. It's actually not too bad considering you have to play with a gamepad. But giving directions takes more time than it should. The map sometimes scrolls too fast and sometimes too slow. The accuracy of giving unit directions becomes just a tad annoying sometimes. Just enough to make me occasionally ask myself if I'd like to fire up my copy of Civ 4 on my PC and do things much faster and easier there.

Also, no overview map?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Civ for the Console

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Jul 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

60 out of 70 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

After a terrible port to the PS1 years ago (try and fathom how bad of an idea that is), we are seeing one more attempt at producing a good Civilization game on the console. The obvious technical problems porting one of the most deep and complex strategy games on the PC to a console with an input system that is not as robust as the PC is an obvious problem in trying to bring all of the complexity of the game to the home.

Fortunately, Firaxis tried something different. They made a game that is a significant departure from the PC game. They streamlined a lot of the more monotonous activities and produced, instead, a more "big picture" strategy game. You don't have to assign workers to do things like build farms --- resources are automatically used. No real fudging with the tax rate or how much of the economy you use to provide your citizenry entertainment. Now, I did like some of those things in the PC classic, but I'll be darned if they did not manage to make this game amazingly fun in spite of it.

The game also tends to be shorter. Games take, maybe, an hour (some scenarios go as quickly as 15 minutes). And you won't really miss the lack of input options. Everything is actually mapped to the controller exceedingly well.

The game is an absolute blast in every sense of the word. You can find special locations and get bonuses. You can unlock great people and get bonuses. You can find hidden artifacts and get bonuses. The game constantly rewards you for doing anything. ButAnd, unlike in the PC titles, it is nigh impossible for a low-tech unit to defeat a high-tech unit. Pikemen, no matter how many fights they've won, are not terribly likely to actually defeat tanks.

It was a daring choice to not try and do a port but, instead, to produce a unique game with some similar features, but with significant difference from its namesake. It is one of the more playable titles on the 360. A game you owe it to yourself to try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as the PC version, but not bad either

posted by RaeBurby (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Yes, years ago I played the PC version of Civilizations which took months to beat the world...this watered down version is fun for awhile, then it gets repetitive FAST. Its quite easy to master the game and beat other civililzations in like 5 hours. Dissapointing. Also, in the diplomacy panel, YOU cant threaten other nations but they can threaten you all they like. You cannot focus enough on what the players look like when they do battle. I do like that you dont have to be bothered with workers, or pollution -- things liek that are very hard and annoying to get rid of as in the pc version. Overall, good for a 4 hour play. Given the oppurtunity again, I wouldnt have bought the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very addicting

posted by bearsfan (SMITHS GROVE, KY) Dec 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I am not a computer gamer. This is one of the most addicting games I have ever played. I found myself playing to the early hours of the morning and putting off leaving just trying to win one more battle or have one more round. If you haven't had the opportunity to play these games you owe it to yourself to at least try it. I am not for sure if it is for everyone because it isn't fast paced but I enjoyed and will definitely be adding it to my collection if I find it for a cheaper price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Borderline Very good

posted by JakeyBoy (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Civ Revolution is brand new to me because I have never played civilization on the PC. But now on the Xbox 360 it is brought to me in what many critics say one of the best games in 2008. Gamespot and IGN give it 9s but I don't think it really deserves that. I would have to say it's more of anywhere from a 7.5 to a 8.5. I'm 19 yrs old playing this game so I might be way out of the target audience but I do agree its quite an addictive game. It totally sucks you in for about 25 to 50 hours of game play. But soon after that you find yourself in a little more quicker version then the what i heard the PC game entails. The graphics are sub par but it is not one of these games that needs superb graphics to have fun. The nice intuitive game play gives you a Strategic feel of how to rule your civilization til the year 2100 that's when the game ends if you haven't won it by that year. Mostly from the demo and trailers you see nuclear weapons going off but sometimes during games its near impossible to get to technological advances like that without finding the mysterious artifacts hidden throughout the map. The game ends either right before you are going to have nuclear weapons and space travel or way before you have that. I've found if you find the artifacts quite quickly your basic technology is unlocked extremely quicker allowing you to have technological and economical victories over the world Domination victory. The easiest win is the cultural victory... Basically unlocking the World Wonders from Shakespeare's Globe Theater to unlocking all the world's government types. All in all Civilization Revolution is a good solid game to play on a rainy day. It gives you a break from the Gears of War, Call of Duty 4, and Halo 3 shooters that rot our minds... Civ Revolution allows you get a quick and easy taste of history with the Civlopedia basically an in game Encyclopedia giving you information about everything in the game from how to play to the video of the atomic bomb. Enjoy...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still Hard to Put Down

posted by HeyMonkey (TIGARD, OR) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very good translation of the CIV gameplay to console. If you've played the PC versions, you know what to expect! Some elements aren't quite as in-depth as the PC counterpart, but that's to be expected when this type of game is made for a console and the controller. Controls overall are pretty good, however, cycling through many units can become tedious. You'll learn when to try to manually select vs. jumping to the next unit in line. None of these things get in the way of a very enjoyable and addictive experience for those who like this type/genre of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun, smart, strategy game

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jul 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

16 out of 26 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This Civilization game is a watered down, console friendly game. It's easier to pick up and play then it's PC counterparts, but it's still just difficult to master. You control an entire civilization, from the earliest small cities to the future and space exploration. As you may guess, this leads to quite a bit of management by the player... lots of micro-management!

It's easiest to compare this to RTS games like Command & Conquer or Lord of the Rings, but this game is less about conflict and war and more about the advancement of your civilization. You can use diplomacy to end most conflicts and you can choose to share your tech with rivals. If you're a fan of RTS, you have to try this game. It's not action packed, but those looking for a mental challenge will love playing this game on it's harder settings.

Give this game a rent, it has more polish than most games and is pretty complex under it's easy controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Civ revolution

posted by killrich (HELMETTA, NJ) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is tons of fun and replay value is pretty much endless since the terrain is different every game. I wish there was a bit more variety to the units, buildings, and wonders but all in all the game's content is good. This is definitely the best strategy game on a console in my opinion.

The real disappointments, and what kept me from giving an 8 or 9, comes when looking for a greater challenge on a higher difficulty and the absurd in game bonuses. Instead of making the game more challenging they just made it frustrating by having the majority of the computer civ's gang up on you while the others run away with a win. The Atlantis artifact bonus is just silly as well, if you find this you learn like 5 tech's giving an extreme advantage. Both of these kinda kills the whole strategy concept for me. Graphics are also a problem at times as enemy troops are invisible sometimes and fighter jets are hard to see at times, but this is rare enough to be tolerable.

All in all this is a quality game and lots of fun. There's always online play or a greater challenge since the AI doesn't really produce. I bought it and would recommend that to anyone who likes the demo since the replay is so high. This is the first strategy game I've liked on a next gen console and it's so addictive at times I can't put the controller down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Less Confusing Turn Based Game

posted by Naragov (BOONVILLE, IN) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It seems a little cartoonish, but it's really not a kiddie game. While it's a lot easier to understand than some turn based, civilization games, it can get extremely tough depending on what approach and difficulty you play on. Very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Rocketboy5 (DURHAM, NH) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2005

10 out of 18 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Great game, closely resembles age of empires but don't get me wrong they are two different games. To tell you the truth I do not know why I cannot stop when I've started a game, it seems childish and cartoony but that does stop me from playing. Don't look at it and because it looks cartoony say wow I'm not playing this. It is truly a great game. I would refer this game to aanyone who likes a good RTS game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Instant Classic

posted by XeonPro (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Civ Rev takes the best parts of the Civ series found on PC and brings it to us in a new, fresh and fun way that makes it difficult to resist.

Micro-management (as some have posted):
The game has been refined to eliminate the need to micro-manage on such a large scale as was required by it's PC predecessors. But, I was impressed to find out I can still micro-manage to my hearts content if that is what I enjoy.

Game play:
One word can some this up, addictive. It took a couple of games for me to grasp the game play mechanics. But the more I play, the more I find out about what I can do and the more I want to play. From units, cities, wonders, exploration, tech research to multiple civilizations, maps, game variants and more. This game provides limitless opportunity with huge replay value. Multi-player or single player alike.

Summary:
If you like Strategy with an RTS like feel, then you will like this game. It is not an RTS so it can't really be compared to an RTS. It does offer that open ended feel and game play though; you decide the outcome of your civilizations fate or rise to power through culture, Tech or military might. It will challenge you in so many ways and will keep you coming back, begging for more. This game is a definite purchase for me, how about you?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok but got boring

posted by maz22nh (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall when I first started playing I really enjoyed this game but after my first time beating it this game just got very boring and annoying. I would not suggest renting this game because you would only keep it for a day or two I sent it back the second day. The graphics are ok for this type of game. Game play isn't great. Just an ok game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best 360 games.

posted by J3tS3tH3ro (ENDICOTT, NY) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The best thing about this game would have to be the playability. You can replay and replay and replay over and over and over again. Each time you can head a different way to victory since you can win one of four ways (domination(take over every other capital), Money (collect 20,000), culture (collect 20 famous people/ great wonders), and technology (reach Outer Space)).

Even when your losing its better then just about any game out there because you can just start going a different way to try to win. There really isn't any problems i have encountered with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why did you look this up?

posted by didjyk (DETROIT, MI) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not interesting at all. You know what I am glad you are reading this right now because you need to before you put this in your que. Just to set the record straight this game does not allow you to create your own leader, you pick. Also you can have the most powerful, popular, richest civilization out of all and still be taken down. Its rediculous! Also this game doesn't allow you to make moves with your army when you want, you have "TURNS" after a certain time the game allows you to move to a spot by "SQUARES" so if you want to move, where ever you want to move better be near you. Although this game does allow you to find things, and soon as you get the hang of things its okay, but you will get fustrated, after 30 minutes or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same as it ever was

posted by CWilson33 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Figured i havent played anything from the Civ' line up in years... pretty much the same, new graphics, same basic premis. Control the world thru military might, or $. Basically keep researching and you can out wit your way to victory without ever leaving you first city, or wipe out everyone before you even get into the industrial age... your choice, rinse repeat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good Game

posted by MaximusVII (BENTONVILLE, AR) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played most of the Civilization games and I am a big fan. I anticipated this game to be as good as the last and it is in its own way. The game has been streamlined somewhat and made a bit easier to play. I would have preferred the ability to zoom out a little bit better, and a little bit more technology abilities. However, all in all this is a good game. Go ahead and skip the easy difficulty setting as the game is way too easy. If you set the difficulty into the mid range you should be able to have some challenge and still win. I was suprised how short the game play was. You can probably beat each game in about 6 hours on average. Lots of fun, but a little short and much fewer technologies then you will be use to if you have played the other civilizations. The city management has been streamlined to be much more fun and there is no cheat mode to my knowledge. Overall a very fun game and a great rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

600-650 Pt game

posted by owtkast (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

1000 is definitely achievable but that's only for the hardcore gamer. For the average gamer you should be able to get your fill of fun and get no less then 600 in the process. If you've played the PC version then you know what fun is in store. The characachures are also great. Not a 10 just because there's no such thing but it is very close and has the replay ability that is sorely missed in today's video games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good for new gamers

posted by ionstorm (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Overall its a good and fun game. As a Civ gamer for many years on the PC this title is very lacking for the regular civ fans.Each game is literally 1-2 hour long and very repetitive.You cannot change victory outcome whatsoever and the AI civ will give u the option of either giving them a unrealistic amount of gold or go to war with them.When i played this game i always had the feeling that i have to rush before it hits 2100 and thus i cant enjoy the game.I dont recommend for regular PC civ fans as its very gimp. But for newcomers its a good taste of what the PC title can offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution

posted by gr8gamer (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Civ Rev is a fun game. Very detailed, a good strategic turn based game for anyone who likes their intellect tickled. I have not played any other Civ games in the past so I can't compare but I do know. Lots to learn about this game. I would not recommend someone getting this game if they do not want to put some time into it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No lasting appeal

posted by googoo (PELHAM, AL) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was convinced by a friend to rent this game. Don't. Strategy games on consoles are OK... but I can put up w/ most. Except this one. It's turn based (somewhat;you can put multiple actions per turn) which I hate. There are annoying characters that pop up and attempt to give you instructions. And the historical interpretation is pretty stupid. For instance, America's military in game starts out with warriors, not minutemen or any other troop. The concept is okay, but the controls are annoying. Sid Meier surprised me. I expected more. You might like this game or hate it. I sided with the hate side. You're better of renting Halo Wars, or any other game. I hoped Y\you found this helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

....Ugh

posted by naruto753 (DENISON, TX) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to this game with great anticipation. I like how you can beat this game many different ways but after the first time beating it I never picked it up again. The gameplay is cool. But the graphics are quite bad. I think this game could have been a lot better if the way the battles took place were more interesting. All in all i thought this game was absolutely horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Knock Off Without the Depth.....

posted by DH5021 (COVINA, CA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is the kind where it should be hard to put the controller down, (wait for it...) BUT for a turn-based, conquer the world style game, it involves no depth or strategy. I've heard the pc version is better. The only pc game I have ever played is Total War, which accomplishes everything this game tries to do and brings realism to it(and strategic battles). All you have to do in this game is produce military and conquer the other cities. This gets old quick. If you have played a more serious turn-based game that has depth, I do not suggest this game. If you haven't played this kind of game before, you might find it amusing for a day or two. Having the actually historical figures in the game is kind of cool too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is sweet and bitter all at once.

posted by MDiver82 (PALM COAST, FL) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game shines as a turn based strategy, and is only really hampered by some major technical flaws. It's very involving and will grab your full attention from the very start. However, on harder difficulties, it gets frustrating; and not because the A.I. uses better strategies.

As far a gameplay is concerned, everything easier then King difficulty plays the most realistic. Once you try your hand at that, you'll see that other civilazations never fight each other, and will completely gang up on you. You'll also find that a 44 attack loses too often to a 22 defense or a 22 attack completely wiping out a a unit with a 44 attack. Sometimes the disparity is even greater. After offering you peace, they will often come with ultimatums for additional peace. If you do that, the second that last term of peace comes they will attack you cities with everything got plus the new technology they weaseled from you. This makes it almost impossible to expand your ground or advance technologically. They're guns always seem to be better than your guns, and they are able to produce them much faster for some reason from the get-go.

Technical issues I found are frame rate changes (happens when you have a lot of things being built at the same time), units not fighting (sometimes they won't fight and just sit there, or everyone floats around the screen until you get sick of it and order a retreat), and the sound comes off at a real high pitch at moments (usually the background sound to the advisors, it gets really sharp and loud).

Needless to say this game is worth a rental, iof not a buy. Flaws aside this game offers a ton of hours of replay value, and a really deep challenge that most like. However, if you hate things being to challenging or to easy, this game might not be for you. The step from Warlord (normal) to King (Hard) is insane. They have two more difficulties after King. Tech flaws and gaping difficulties kept this from getting a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by CGNASTY (ALBERTVILLE, AL) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is really addicting. There are 16 civilizations all with different specialties and they are balanced perfectly. With four different ways to win this game can relate to a lot of people who want to play their own kind of style. The scenarios are really challenging and fun and the multiplayer is awesome(with options of free for all, one on one with bots, and two on two). After a few games its hard to put down once you get the feeling of taking your civilization to the top.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse