Rent Shrek the Third for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Shrek the Third

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GBA, DS, Wii, PSP Games
GF Rating
5.5

1208 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice little Movie to Game

posted by Setral (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Jul 16, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You'll laugh, you'll cry, then you'll bang your controller.

The game shows how to go from a Movie to a video Game, its fun and entertaining and the children will giggle when you realize Ogres really do have layers.

The game explains quite well how to play and activate the various special abilities of your characters as you play, its extremely easy and the mini-games are a blast.

The only real issue I had with it, was the Camera is really touchy and unfortunately there are some areas where it will make it near impossible to see what you need. Its still a very good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YA

posted by Tool04 (REDDING, CA) Jul 8, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hey gamers. you guys want a quick 500-600 gamer score points then pick this one up. Its very easy and actually a pretty cool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not great but not horrible

posted by Kitler (KNOXVILLE, TN) May 17, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game is getting alot of bad reviews. I will have to say the game is by no means great but is not the worst game ever. This is a great game for a younger gamer that loves Shrek. If your older and expecting a great game that will keep you interested, this is not it. The graphics are good and the story is good, of course its the movie. Hard to say if I would recommend but for a younger crowd, yes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

omg!!!!!

posted by iLOVEmy360 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 19, 2007

Member since May 2007

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST SHREK GAME IVE PLAYED..GET IT IF YOU HAVE A LIL'brother who likes shrek... but if you hate shrek and you do not have a lil bro I would give it a 1 out of 10...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREATEST GAME OF THE YEAR?!? I THINK YES

posted by Jlow12 (BROOKEVILLE, MD) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Alright forget halo3 and crackdown get shrek tres

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

shrek DA thirddddddddddddddddddddd- dddddddddddddddd

posted by y0y0y0 (VASHON, WA) May 14, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 49 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

Shrek da third iz da best gam!!!!! i laft da hole way through it it iz sooo funny and cut and kiddy just lice me. verry little violnce and humr a thre yere old girl would love.dont rent it. BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

shrek the boring

posted by Snowman93 (SAINT FRANCIS, MN) Mar 10, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

just didn't have fun with this title. expected to be more interesting but it was kinda plain and boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shrek the Third Xbox 360

posted by msmithjr83 (COLDWATER, MI) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

There are games out there that have ambition. There are games out there that showcase technical benchmarks. Shrek the Third is neither of these. While I wasn't expecting much, I was at least expecting a competent game.

While some movie-license video games are unjustly plagued by the stereotype before most gamers even lay their hands on it, this is not one of those games. This is a prime example of why people pass judgment on movie IP video games.

When playing through Shrek the Third, one must wonder if the game was even properly tested, as it is so plagued with technical flaws that any fun or charm the game would have possessed by being a Shrek product is almost completely lost. Countless deaths from poor design, getting hung-up inexplicably in mid-air or on the ground, absolutely boring combat with terrible hit detection all pop up frequently throughout the game, which is also incredibly short (which is most cases might be frowned upon, but obviously here it is a good thing).

I rented the game because I love the Shrek franchises and was looking for an easy way to improve my Gamerscore and have some fun doing it. The former panned out, the latter - not so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really bad game

posted by wait4pop (DALLAS, TX) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The graphics are really hard to look at. I only rented the game so i could farm for ach points but after 5 hours and only getting around 90 points i just gave up.Those hours could have been used to play my arcade games or i could put some progress into PERFECT DARK but no i wasted it listening to bad jokes about a donkey!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair at best. Quickly made game

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jun 16, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

This game is what you'd expect from a kiddie game, especially one based off a cartoon movie. It's as simple as it gets, but is still pretty fun for kids to play. The donkey is hilarious as always, but the voice acting for Shrek seemed way off. If you're looking for achievement points, this one ranks maybe a 4/10 difficulty for 1000G, and will take you anywhere from 4-10 hours, depending on how much stuff you collect the first time around. It's a definite rent, play for 5 hours, throw back in mail and don't tell your friends you just played Shrek. Good thing xbox lets you hide your online status!

You basically walk through levels defeating small enemies as Shrek and the little cat guy with the fencing sword. You push X to attack, B for power attack and Y for some finishing moves. It's VERY basic, but fun enough to mix up the combos and keep it interesting....for 20 minutes. The finishing move slow-mo part is really annoying and repetitive, and once I got the achievement for that, I button mashed X the entire game and never died on a single level.

You can beat this game without dying one time if you want, but sometimes the camera angles are very annoying and you can't tell your depth or angle whatsoever. This may get you killed a few times. Graphics could be for Gamecube here, and it's not a very long game. Beat some levels, get some little collectibles, and unlock like 4 costumes. Wow, I'm done. And did I really just write a review for Shrek the Third??? I'm not writing my gamertag at the end of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a great game

posted by trish58103 (MONROE, CT) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i bought this game and have alot of fun playing it. a thing to keep in mind tho is to open doors pull leverls and open the gold treasure chests dont continualy hold the x button press it a bunch of times at a fast pace and use objects in your surroundings to help you jump up onto things like crates and walkways. smash as many things as the game lets you even if you think something cant be smashed try to. cause alot of things look like they cant but break apart in like one or 2 good shrek punches. getting fairy dust is very important. im new to xbox and this game has been helping up my gamer score ps my gamer tag is gypsy sunflower <3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining Game

posted by kmurphy45 (LA VERNIA, TX) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I found this game entertaining for both my 5 year old son and myself. Some of the bosses were a little difficult for him, but he is only 5... We liked it - though not enough to buy it.
An easy to follow adventure game for youth. Serious game playing adults (aka Dad) will probably find this a snore, but I thought it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Yawn

posted by Gonzo151 (CHASKA, MN) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I didn't expect much from the Shrek game and as expected it didn't deliver. For starters the fact that you cannot control the camera is mighty annoying and almost ruins the game entirely on its own. The characters are weak and repetitive and the level design is simple and unattractive. The controls are easy enough since it is a children's game but the game itself is just plain Boring. my son played it for about 10 minutes and asked to play Lego batman instead after about 5 minutes with the game myself I could see why. There was one redeeming factor to the game and that was the voice overs they sounded pretty good and When Captain Hook performs his song that earned the game a whole rating point on its own lol. If you're really into Shrek are your kids abosolutey love the movie it might be worth the rent but other than that id avoid it unless you want some easy Achievement points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game in history

posted by icerock (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

this game was horrible, how can it be for kids. this game needs to get off the gaming market. the person who made this game need to update the characters and all the scenes. this was the worst game i ever played in my entire life. if there was such a thing as negative zero i would definitely give shrek the 3rd that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Little fun with the kids

posted by SnoSlyders (ARVADA, CO) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

I had fun playing this with my six yr old kid. Not the best game that has been ever made, but I really did not expect that when I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wish I hadn't rented

posted by uncnsrd (UTICA, MI) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Graphics were somewhat okay, but I wasn't expecting much either. The story ling in general was boring, couldn't keep my interest. Would recommend for children to early teens. Anyone older won't like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game for children

posted by NexT2099 (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I must admit that this game was enjoyable to play. The humor from the movies has been put in this game. The voice acting is great! Its a fairly easy game so if your looking for a challenge I'd skip on this. I recommend parents to rent this for their children.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by arkgunreap (WILMINGTON, NC) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

if there were no jumping from area to area or stone to stone this would be a great game but all that jumping has made my girlfriend hate it. this game really sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so bad

posted by 46plus2 (PEABODY, MA) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I rented this game for gamerpoints and it wasnt a horribly boring game to get achievements. I got 700 easy points, and most games that are easy for points, arent fun to play but this one isnt bad at all. I gave it a 5 for that reason alone. Some people play games like this just for points and its a long drawn out process but this game was fairly quick, easy, and not painful to play. It took me about 4 hours and the achievements are simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game for a Good Movie

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Jan 20, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

I'm willing to try most games. I even find some enjoyment in most of them.

This, however, was horrible. Top to bottom. Some of the humor was decent (Shrek 3 is my favorite film of the bunch), but the play was horrible. It is a button-masher par excellence. All you do is mash buttons constantly. Words fail to describe how tedious it is. You get to be Shrek, Puss in Boots, Donkey, Fiona, Arthur, and Sleeping Beauty and all of them control fairly similarly. Sure, Shrek is much stronger than all the others --- but the basics control are somewhat yawn-inducing.

Please don't even get me started on the animation. This game is blatantly a port of a previous gen title --- and the animation STILL is slow. Puss in Boots animation is pretty apparently slow as all get out. Everything just drags. Slowdown in a game with the visual firepower to nearly poke holes in wet paper is just baffling. OK, we can pull off CoD 4 with no real slowdown --- but a basic platformer with mediocre visuals is just too taxing for the 360?

They seek to re-tell the story of the movie, except without nearly the level of quality. I know, it's a movie tie-in --- but I played Harry Potter and it actually made the world seem alive. Shrek makes the world feel like a drowned rat that has commenced to smelling funny. This would be worse than Transformers if not that some parts of the game are borderline amusing.

This game really isn't worth a rental. And don't think "Well, it's an easy 1000 points" because while the game, admittedly, is easy enough that babies in the womb can pull off a win in utero --- the Achievements are glitchy as can be. Don't even deal with the idiocy of having to play the entire game on difficulties that you have to unlock --- but where you can't immediately re-start the game, it is a bit of a challenge.

Do not play it. Do not rent it. If you own it, just chalk it up to inexperience and never admit you paid money for it. If you stole it, please seek professional help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could have been alot of fun but it wasnt

posted by kevinwpbfl (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this actually wasnt too bad of a game, my 8 year old loved it and i suspect thats who the game is targeted for.
it could have been much better, it needed more time to polish out some of the bugs and minor annoyances.
the graphics are pretty bland, but the character animation is awful, puss-n-boots being espically bad.
the sound isnt much better either, the sound of the characters running sounds more like horses then people, and why they couldnt get the real actors to voice their characters is beyond me.
the controls are ok, its just alot of the camera angels are poor as well, and you have no control over the camera.
the levels are short and easy combat is just a matter of button mashing.
the achievements are easy to get. on my first play through i had 800 gamer points, only had to go back and play it on "grimm" and "charming" settings, as well as find all the coloring book pages to get the full 1000 points.
its a shame that this game turned out to feel so rushed and so unfinished. why movie makers feel so compelled to have to release the video-game on the same weekend or day that their movie is released on. this could have been alot of fun but alas it wasnt..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shrek 2 was a lot better

posted by drew489 (MERRIMACK, NH) Oct 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

The entire point of Shrek 2 was it's a fun multiplayer game to play w/ kids. Shrek 3 is not a true multiplayer. It has a few side games that are multiplayer but the actual game itself...is not.

The graphics aren't good, the story isn't great, the game play is average and repetitive and, as said above, the 2 player is non-existant.

They should have just made an updated version of Shrek 2 w/ newer graphics and the Shrek 3 storyline and it would have been a hit.

Oh, and you can probably win this game in less than 5 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Above Avg. Platformer!!

posted by Braveheart (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I actually enjoyed this game, one of the better platform games to appear on the 360! My one big complaint though, would be the jumping which can be awkward to control. Gone are the days of Sonic and Crash Bandicoot. Good platform games look like a thing of the past but I'm glad Activision are trying to make them a bit more enjoyable. I have noticed that it's been a long time since a platform game actually got a good gamer score! Even one of the best "Transformers The Game" got bad reviews. These are actually really good games for their intended audience! R.I.P platform video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could not hold attention of my kids

posted by councilman (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

This game is pretty unplayable fare for adults. Difficulty is all over the place. Most of the game is painfully easy, while other areas require far too much coordination given the target age group. The "combat" system is utterly pointless -- they might as well give you one button to mash. To call Shrek a poorly "game" is putting it mildly.

My two young daughters, who can hold their own in everything from Forza 2 to Kameo, jumped to the conclusion that this title was not worth their time. I agree with them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

2 reasons to rent Shrek

posted by CobraKai (KENMORE, WA) Sep 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1) Kids will enjoy it. The game has fairly simple controls and is relatively linear. I would guess most children should be able to get from point A to point B in the game fairly easily. On Charming difficulty even the youngest will not have any problems dispatching the enemies. If your kids like Shrek they will probably enjoy the game.

2) Achievment points. This it he reason I picked it up. 1k should come pretty easily. With a little effort you should be able to do it in 2 play throughs (1-Grimm + 1 Charming). There may be a few levels you will need to replay to get perfect & a couple of the battles can be a bit tricky on Grimm, but it will save you time.

I have played a few of the other moview tie ins and thought this one wasn't half bad. It was quick and simple. If you are looking for a game with a bit of complexity to it, this isn't for you. The camera can get frustrating at times, but that seems to be the case with a lot of platformer type games/levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse