Rent Shrek: Forever After for PS3
view large frontback

Shrek: Forever After

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, Wii
GF Rating
5.7

550 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

perfect for little kids

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not the best game in the world, but great for children. Also a very easy platinum for the trophy hunters out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad At All

posted by TimDogg420 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most people seem to have already come to the foregone conclusion that "Shrek: Forever After" is a bad movie tie-in game. I for one figured the same until I decided to try the game since there wasn't anything available in my GameQ. I was pleasantly surprised at how well the game actually played. The game centers around the four main characters of the series (Shrek, Fionna, Donkey, and Puss). The game is very linear in it's level design and only allows for minor exploration in the Ogre's camp which is your base level. There are 6 other levels I believe and beside the story there are collectibles in each level for each character to find in a specific way to that character (Shrek is strong and can move boulders while Puss is nimble and agile and can climb trees etc.). The combat was definitely lacking as you only have 2 attacks which makes the combat the most boring aspect of the game. The way the levels are set up is interesting in the fact that each character has upgradeable abilities to get as you progress further into the game that allows you to go back later and find hidden collectibles you couldn't reach earlier like in "Batman: Arkham Asylum". I have not seen the movie yet so I can't really tell you how well the game's story followed the movie's, but I did enjoy the story here in the game regardless. The game is very short and it shouldn't take more than a week to complete for even the most novice of players. The puzzles in the game are decently simplistic. Like everyone else has stated the trophies are very easy to accomplish, aside from finding all the collectibles that is. Overall I gave this game a 6. It would get a 6.5 if it was available. So if you don't have any games available in your GameQ or just want an easy game to play or platinum then I highly recommend this game. You could certainly do worse with other movie tie-in games that actually were bad games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 25, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

this game its fun and easy you can play coop with 2 controlliers there is none of the stuff dont really like this game it's good for kids and parents if you want to get easy platinium get this game for rental or buy for your kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good for trophies, not as a game

posted by NCSFan001 (REIDSVILLE, NC) Dec 11, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

The game is good for any trophy hunters that don't mind collecting a lot of items, but otherwise isn't good for much. It can be beaten in about six hours and platinumed in less than 12, and it does have 4 player local co op. It might be fun for a group of kids but otherwise its not very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Trophy Hunters

posted by shlpeitz (ROSEBURG, OR) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game is great for trophy hunters!! 15.06 hours and I had it platinumed... :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Yeah, I like waffles!

posted by Noitanimoba (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Jan 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The music on this game is hilarious! I rather enjoy killing off enemies to "Do you like waffles, yeah I like waffles!"

Overall I really enjoyed this game for a few reasons:

It's a multi-player game (I played with my boyfriend who normally falls asleep while playing video games but he was thoroughly entertained and it managed to keep him awake... big accomplishment!)

It was challenging enough to make it interesting, which I hadn't expected.

It's great that it lets you go back through and use different skills to get to more areas in the game as you pogress.

I liked that you could switch characters at any time and that each segment or area of the map offered a variety of puzzles and hidden treasure.

It's a very fun upbeat game!

The only down sides are that I kind of wish the story line was longer and that some parts of the game were less repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

kids loved it

posted by hetmarie (WOODBURY, NJ) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this was a great game for my 7 yr old daughter she loved it. It was very easy for her to understand and navigate through. She is not a big gamer though. My 8yr old son beat it in about 6 hrs or gameplay total.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pretty bad

posted by connvict72 (FORT LEE, NJ) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

i played this game with my 7 yr old from beginning to end. its very easy for trophies (i think 10 popped within the first 5 minutes of playing), but the controls and 'combat' are terrible. the game gets very annoying very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok

posted by riki1227 (MIAMI, FL) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

is ok for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game is WACK!!!!

posted by Butt3rfly (SHREVEPORT, LA) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Dont waste 2 days getting this Game.. I put it backin the mailbox the same day... SMH!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Imagination

posted by lilbrother (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Play as Shrek, Fiona, Donkey and Puss as you go through Shrek's regular world and the opposite world and find the enemy Rumpelstiltskin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

to easy

posted by dantedmc22 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

short game easy to plat i plat it in two days want easy trophies get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Shrek:Forever After

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) May 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

it was a great game it and i play well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »