Rent Showtime Championship Boxing for Wii
view large frontback

Showtime Championship Boxing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
2.4

337 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

"Throw In The Towel! Ya Bum!"

posted by lightsaber (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

55 out of 58 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Well here we go again. Another substandard third party game to review. Luckily for all you gameflyers out there I've got enough patience to play this mediocre boxing game so you don't have to. Where to begin well ok how about the presentation. For a big time boxing program like Showtime the whole look of this game is lacking that same degree of quality. The textures are ok ( for a wii game i guess) but the player models are just dull and lifeless. Now for the controls which are really what breaks this game. You'll punch yourself in the face for buying this game before you land any clean blows on your virtual opponents. The controls are unresponsive to say the least. So while the prospect of a great boxing title for the wii still remains (Please Nintendo make a new Punch Out!) this is not it. Showtime Championship Boxing throws a low blow and lands it right in the family jewels of unsuspecting boxing fans looking for a new way to throw down on there wii. Did you know wii sports has boxing? FYI it does and fortunately for all of us it comes with the wii. Not to mention it's still better than every stand alone third party boxing release for the wii thus far. In other words go play Wii Sports Boxing and wait for a real heavywieght contender to arrive. Anything vs. Showtime Championship Boxing. Anything wins. TKO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I should have listened

posted by Csinclair (FELTON, DE) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game dispite all the warnings, In part I think, because I want to be able to play a good boxing game on the wii so bad.

This game is just horrible. Do yourself a favor, and never buy or rent a game that has anything to do with Showtime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Boxing Game I have ever played

posted by ITNES101 (SYLMAR, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Punch Out for the 1980's Nintendo is way better than this game. Controllers are very very slow, There is only like two kinds of punches you can do, Boring game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Showtime Boxing

posted by Oscisa (FIFE, WA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The response time for the wii remote and nunkhuck were very poor in comparison to Wii ports boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

notime boxing

posted by pwood76 (QUANAH, TX) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

showtime boxing for the wii is trash! no graphics, no good at all....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT

posted by Skuzzlbut (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth the discount shipping fees that GameFly pays to the USPS. Years from now, this game will be determined as partially responsible for several forms of testicle cancer.

The controls are intuitive and easy to use, but the game play is as forced, clumsy and awkward as a game of 'duckduckgoose' at Michael Jackson's house.

Here is a spoiler - this game is horrific.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How Could Showtime Put Thier Name On This ish?

posted by Kingpin (GREENBELT, MD) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Terrible... Very Depressing.. It just the type of game that makes you want to beat your kids for getting honor roll .. ITS JUST THAT BAD.. the controller dosent pick up any movement.... the punches are unresponsive.. the graphics are shaggy... I cant say i liked anything about this game... do yourself a favor dont be like me and ignore the reviews.. dont get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i can't punch

posted by tommyshooter (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The first day this came in the mail, I was so excited i shoved into the wii as fast as I can. The menu comes up. I press start. Soon these 2 big burly guys come onto the screen. I swing the remote forward, but it doesn't do anything. I press all the buttons, and it still doesn't do anything. Then my opponent swings his fist. it hits my face and I drop. K.O!!! it says. So I beg you DO NOT RENT THIS GAME. (and DO NOT give it a high rating. Don't even give it a 3.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BASURA!!!!! I wish I can rate this as ZERO :(

posted by mrmrsmikes (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Oct 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The winner, by unanimous decision: the crappiest game of all time- Showtime Championship Boxing. I hope Nintendo will start getting their act together when it comes to sporting games. This game is almost as horrible; NO- is worst than Big League Sports. Punch Out 2009 RULES! All hail Little Mac!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the Price of Admission

posted by RWatson (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This is probably the worst boxing game I have ever played. Here is why.
- Clunky Controls.
- After every round, both boxers have full health.
- Loading between rounds and matches is clunky.
- Could not create personalized boxer from the beginnging of the game. I do not know about later in the game because I had enough of it.
- Cheesy Boxers.
- Uninteresting environment. Announcers and crowd are virtually non existant.

Showtime should be mad that this game bears their name. I am glad I got it on gamefly and did not purchase it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time!

posted by BigBlazin (OTSEGO, MI) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The play on this game is terrible, the movement is to slow and the timing between punches is off. They need to have it where you can push a button to throw body shots and to gaurd the body. So in closing don't waste your time!Really!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

showtime boxing

posted by quinn333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

worse game i have ever played... ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Showtime? Championship Boxing

posted by hollyp (BROOKS, ME) Oct 13, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Wow! Absolutely Horrible! I too am surprised Showtime would put their name on this. Even the Wii Sports version of boxing is better than this! Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Quite Possibly the Worst Game Ever

posted by Drewrobert (CRANBERRY TWP, PA) Jul 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

No exaggeration, no hyperbole; this is by far the worst game for the Wii, and possibly the worst video game ever made. To compare this to any other boxing game would be an insult to every boxing game made up to this point (and I’m including Atari, Com64, and CelecoVision). The graphics are weak, the game play is choppy, and the controls are practically unusable. I’m not sure what the makers of this game were thinking… oh wait they weren’t! Or at least it doesn’t appear that they were, or else they wouldn’t have made this lousy game. Please don’t waste your time renting, buying, or playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game was horrible

posted by forever19 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

it was way worst then boxing on wii sports there is no reason that anyone should rent or buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by scottynic (MANVILLE, NJ) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

do not rent,buy, or even glance at this game... not sure who gave this game the go ahead for production, but WOW!!!

dumb controls, dumb animation , just dumb!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »