Rent Shiren the Wanderer for Wii
view large frontback

Shiren the Wanderer

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

157 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

A decent RPG.

posted by kuchiyose (WEST COLUMBIA, SC) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I was able to play this over the weekend. I had already played the Japanese version and wanted to see if anything was changed. Nothing was but it was fun to play it again.

The only gripe I have with this game is the "hunger" meter. That I could do without but all warriors have to eat don't they?

This is not a traditional rpg as u are attacking yourself as opposed to a drop down list but it is still turn-based. U attack and then your opponent goes.

It had a decent story. Overall it's about a 7. Not the best I've played but still good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Game Wandering Around In Last Gen

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Feb 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

It is not a good sign when the leading character is a carefree wanderer. All you do is go from here to there without a care. Story? Who needs a story? Who cares if the leading characters do the right thing or not if all they do is walk mindlessly from one place to another?
In Shiren the Wanderer, you play as the title character, and you and your Sensei are our to find a castle.
But all this is just an excuse for you to do some dungeon crawling (like many RPGs) This part of the game has you and your partner(s) wandering about, beating up monsters, gathering up money. It is also the part that many RPG players will enjoy. (I find some of the dungeons a little too large and repetitive for my tastes).
It would be even better if this game wasn’t stuck in last gen mode, but it is. The graphics are lacking, every conversation is text driven, there are almost no cut scenes to uncover, and the story is very bland. I really had no interest in finding out if Shiren and his Sensei find that castle or not.
Another big problem this game has is the archaic save system where the game determines when you can save your game. This can lead to major frustration when I get killed in a dungeon and get sent back to the last save point and have to go through a large part of the game a second time. Guys, the player should decide when the game gets saved, not the game makers.
Shiren the Wanderer is a game for those of us who enjoy an old school type of RPG, but the rest of us can look elsewhere. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ive had better

posted by RyanBaker1 (CHARLESTON, IL) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The best part of gamefly is to ensure that i dont spend $40 on games like this one. The worst part is that i got the game on a friday and moday is a holiday and no mail is going out so i couldnt mail this game back 20 minutes after i started playing it. The story line is non existant, the game controls are frustrating at best, and the weapons selction is also poor. i am at the best of my knowledge halfway through the game and there is still no fun to this game in sight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

shiren is starvin

posted by fringer (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Jul 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I couldnt find where to buy any food in the village. Ridiculous. So my guys are dying of starvation constantly. Also the movement is choppy and annoying. Legend of zelda NES is better, imho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pay no mind to the average review rating

posted by RMLDS1 (MESA, AZ) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game is more of a Cult Classic. It is an import from a very successful series in Japan. That being said we Americans are wusses when it comes to difficulties in our games. "Normal" in this game should be considered "HardCore". Each time you start you have no items and must grind to get them again. "Easy" allows you to keep your items but make sure you always have an escape scroll handy.

Also this game is not a dungeon crawler but more along the lines of a Tactics. It is turn by turn you move and your allies move then the enemy. You can take control directly of your allies and switch between them easily or give them standing orders on what you want them to do.

The story is quite interesting using time travel of 1,000 years and in between, to alter the present. The music while basic stays true to its roots. It also doesn't detract from the game. The graphics for the system they are on are great.

In short this game is not for casual players. The Average review sadly does not take into account that many probably got this game for an RPG and not a tactics well worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring gameplay like Chocobo Dungeon

posted by jrafanel (TWIN FALLS, ID) May 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

If you have played Final Fantasy Chocobo Dungeon and thought it was boring, this game is the same premise for turn-based fighting. you might think OMG TIME TRAVEL IS SO COOL HOW COULD THIS GAME NOT BE GOOD? If you can stand it to get that far it might be, but 20 minutes in after I figured out it is a level/floor based dungeon game like FF Chocobo Dungeon I put it in the gamefly envelope and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »