Rent Shinobi for 3DS
view large frontback

Shinobi

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.2

156 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

i gave up and just played on "easy&qu

posted by bortbort (FRAMINGHAM, MA) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Holy cow this game is hard. I play 3DS games to see the 3D effects and ideas, so after a night of trying to get past the first 20 minute level with only 5 guys, I said nerts to this and just played through it on easy. But even that gets pretty challenging.

This game does a lot of things right with the 3D - some levels are crazy fun (riding on a horse through dense woods) but for the most part it's a side scroller that feels like maybe the camera is too far away.

Overall this makes for a good weekend of 3DS fun, and if you're up for a typical challenging ninja game, this has plenty of those elements. But I'd personally rather be challenged on a bigger screen. For "pick up and play" this is not your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Borderline unplayable...

posted by Ichiban (SAN JOSE, CA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I loved the arcade original as a kid, and enjoyed the PS2 era reboot, but this version is borderline unplayable garbage. It plays like the oldskool 2D side scroller, but it is nigh on impossible to track what is going on onscreen. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hard as a steel sword

posted by rezard (STROUDSBURG, PA) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

shinobi is very hard even on easy if you play on easy you get infinity of lives and I die a lot in this game the final level and boss increased my death count a lot with hard to do jumps and deadly knockbacks this game has a parry system but that only last for one second witch means if you don't time your parries the right time before you get hit you'll take damage the boss fight are hard expect the first one the final boss has 3 phases and if you die in one of the phases you have to start all over to the beginning of the fight I quiet there cause I never beaten him EVER!!!! this game I do recommend to hard core gamers but not causal gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good and Bad Qualities

posted by HippyVock (FITCHBURG, WI) Dec 16, 2012

Member since May 2006

I know very little about the Shinobi series in general and this game does a good job of making that completely unimportant, which can be a good or bad thing depending on your expectations. I was expecting a 2D scroller that looked 3D and was happily surprised to find intricate controls, a solid platformer, and a real challenge mixed with very good looking visuals.

Don't be fooled, those who complain about the challenge have a point, but there is a beginner mode that allows you endless deaths and continues. This lets you learn the levels old school style (trial and error) as you navigate many types of enemies with ranged and melee attacks, platforming trials and trap navigation. It's a game that requires practice, memorization, and some decent skill at timing deflects or dodging enemy attacks all together. Boss fights are difficult, but have manageable patterns and since magic use is actually penalized at the end of missions against your score, there is always a way to win with the standard move set (although the action button is difficult to time considering its extremely brief window of opportunity). Normal begins to put restrictions on lives and continues, with steeper difficulties imposing greater restrictions but better rewards through unlocks of cheats, concept art and skins.

This game has a very old school feel to it reminding me of an earlier Shinobi I played and the early Ninja Gaiden games on the NES, but with an updated look and better movement/combat range. I really enjoy the newer 3D action sequences, but I feel the heart of the game could use more 3D crammed into the lengthy 2D side scrolling combat sections.

The story is restrained and requires interpretation and the animation, while good, should have been in 3D. Overall a flashy looking sidescroller with some decent 3D moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SINobi

posted by eboy2o2 (MEMPHIS, TN) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

i have played this for 30 minutes and all ready it is hard as hek. the parry is very hard and can be unfair because you cant react fast enough. the graphics are good the anime is okay and the ninja is cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SHINOBI!!!

posted by SilentHillDA (HIALEAH, FL) Jul 9, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Okay so first off the game is beautiful! From its cutscenes and its actual gameplay. The only thing I hate from this series is the difficulty. This game is grueling. You have to memorize level layouts and enemies. If you like that sort of stuff you will love this game. I love my games to be a good difficulty but not to the point where i actually want to throw the 3DS on the floor. lol. It was a good game none the less!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Thankfully son is NOT like father

posted by Seisen (Mesa, AZ) May 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

This game is a 'prequel'. The main character of this game is Jiro Musashi, father of the protagonist of the older Shinobi games and we can just thank our lucky stars, get it? Stars? Ninja stars? ha! Okay, anyway, we can be thankful that his son Joe did much better games than his father. The 'eclectic hand drawn style' the review mentions is a nice way of saying 'bad'. The graphics could easily be compared to GBA game, and it's just not done well. The cut scenes are very awkwardly timed, it can be really hard to tell just what is going on since things can blend together and sometimes things you should be able to do, like jump down or up through floors, you can't.
As for game play, the game is just hard. You can only throw a limited number of shuriken at a time and they 'recharge' over time, leaving you vulnerable to the multitude of enemies who apparently have sniper scopes on their throwing weapons as well as homing stars. You have the pretense of blocking, but it doesn't give you much time you're actually defending, so when you hit that button you better be SURE you're timing it right, as it takes a second to 'recover' between blocks. This is very frustrating as it takes a time to learn the timing, plus if you have multiple inbound weapons/attacks you might be simply unable to block them all due to game mechanics. The Ninja Magic can leave you near death when you use it, without any shuriken to throw until they recover, and usually results in your death. This game is not for the average gamer, and is a lesson in frustration and aggravation. If you love the series, then you MIGHT want to rent it, but definitely rent it before you buy it or you may very well regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Unfortunatly...not this time..

posted by JorgieX (EAST TAUNTON, MA) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

I had high hope for this Shinobi port to the 3DS as the console lakes any triple A action games. But the classic Genesis titles are still by far the best in the entire lifespan of the Shinobi legacy, IMHO.! I would rent first and let you decide. I just didn't get into it.

Keep It Retro!
Find me on Twitter: thesocialgamer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »