Rent Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 Portable for PSP Games
view large frontback

Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 3 Portable

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

720 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is WONDERFUL!

posted by hi122neo (SPRINGTOWN, TX) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought P3P the day it came out. I'm a huge RPG fan, but I've never played Persona. As I don't have a PS2 anymore, I thought I'd try P3P.

STORY:
The story involves people who can use things called "Personas". In order to activate said Persona, they have to shoot them self in the head with what looks like a gun. The characters are all wonderful, and the game has awesome dialogue . For my story rating, I'm going to give it a 9/10, because the story it's self is a bit predictable, but still entertains.

GAMEPLAY:
There are two "worlds" in the game. One is the regular world, where you go to school and socialize with people. This "world" plays out like a Japanese visual novel; it's mostly dialogue with a few instances of moving around a cursor to get from place to place. If you've ever played Japanese visual novels, you should be okay with this. The second world, called Tartarus, plays like a dungeon crawler. It's all randomly generated, so it never feels the same. The battle system is traditionally turn-based, but you have the option on how many people you want to control. If you want to control everybody but 1 person, you can. For the gameplay, I rate it 10/10. I love visual novels and turn-based RPG's, so this is perfect for me.

GRAPHICS:
The 3D rendered characters look smooth, and the 2D art is great. It's all anime styled, in case you haven't realized that already. Since I love anime, the graphics get a 10/10.

SOUND:
The music has a pretty huge variety; there's some Jazz, some J-rock and J-pop, and even a little bit of classical. The voice acting is good, and the voices fit the characters well. Sound is going to get a 10/10.

OVERALL:
Yes, P3P DOES have some flaws. No game is PERFECT, but this is pretty close. Great gameplay, decent story, awesome music... If you love RPGs, then Persona 3 Portable is a MUST GET. Renting it is okay too, but if you love Persona, buy it.

For overall, the game gets a 10/10. It is wonderfully wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Truly Amazing

posted by Kazaki (PROSPECT HEIGHTS, IL) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game, and within 30 minutes of game play I decided, that I was going to keep it. This isn't my first Shin Megami Series, but I did not play the PS2 original.

Story: The story is very deep and interesting. There are several characters that you can meet and become involved with, and the plot is simply amazing. The story involves a separate world, referred to as, "The Dark Hour." It being the last hour of the day, that only certain people can see, and shadows(monsters) run amok. You can also choose to play as a male or female for your main character.

Graphics: For a PSP game, the graphics are really good. Not the best I've seen on the system, but very well close to it. During battle you have 3D graphics, and everywhere else is beautiful anime-like 2D graphics.

Music: The music is awesome. Simply put, I liked all of the themes and didn't find any of them irritating.

Game Play: This is where this game absolutely shines. The battle system is pretty simple and somewhat basic. It is a turn based RPG, but it includes a lot of features for you. The social link system being one of these, where you build and strengthen relationships with various characters that you meet throughout the game. There are quests that you can undertake for rewards, dates you can go on, midterms that you have to study for, and etc. The amazing part of the game play is, it's a mix of simple RPG turn based combat with somewhat of a dating sim mix. Now dating sim is probably the wrong term to use, but you have to balance your school life, and your "Dark Hour" life. There really is too much to explain about the game play, but trust me you will not be disappointed.

Overall: With awesome graphics and even better game play I highly recommend this game for anyone who likes RPG's. There are so many things to do, and ways to go through the game, and it has a New Game+ where you get a new dungeon to explore, and bosses to fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unique And Amazing Game

posted by coolio86 (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is based on the concept of using a gun that doesn't shoot bullets called an evoker. The evoker is used to release beings called Personas. This is a completely new and unique concept. With each skill used in battle, the character shoots themself in the head to use their Persona. The main character is supposed to be you. The story is very deep and interesting. This game has amazing battle music and boss battle music. You have the choice to choose between the male character and the female character. The male character will allow you to play the game the very closely to the way it's played in the original. The female main character allows to have a different on the game and all of its characters. Unlike most RPGs, the game isn't entirely about becoming stronger. Half of the game you level up in a dungeon and the other half you get closer to people in your dorm and at school by forming social links. These are a very interesting part of the game, but it takes a guide if you want to max them (especially on first playthrough). New game+ carries over the main characters level, all armor, all weapons, all accessories and Personas. On new game+ you get access to a new dungeon. There are three optional bosses in the game and the final boss in the storyline is like nothing you have ever seen before. The story and the way the characters interact with you really pull you into the game and make you feel like your a part of the experience. This game will really blow you away. There a few (and I mean very few) gripes I have about this game. In a new game+ you will have to level up all your party members so that they can fight and you have to start your social links all over again, but one thing that is really awesome about this game is that if you never played Persona 3 before, you can play as the male character and then do a New Game+ as the female character once you finish it for the first time. Its worth a 2nd playthrough after your 1st one if u want to play as the girl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Persona 3 Portable

posted by alien12885 (CLENDENIN, WV) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a person who has played the original Persona 3 for PS2, I was very impressed with this game. It has the original storyline (mostly), as well as a storyline for the female main character (for those who want a different way of playing the game). The only problem I have with the game is with the controls (mainly the joystick- nub thingie). Other than the controls, I enjoyed this game immensely, and recommend it to veteran players of the series and newcomers alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good JRPG

posted by mdemery91 (TUCKERMAN, AR) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'm not really into JRPG games, this was the first Shin Megami Tensei game I had ever played and I was really surprised. The gameplay is split perfectly between combat and building your social status. I didn't beat it, but I put in several hours by just staying up nights laying in bed playing. Other than a few flaws that most JRPGs have(in my opinion) this game is very well built. I would recommend if you're in the mood for a RPG game or a fun game to play on the PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

As far as PSP Games go...

posted by Delorean (CRIMORA, VA) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

P3P is probably about as good as PSP games get.

The game features the option to select different character gender and feature a lot of voiced content (Main character only gets battle voices, though). There are not many anime or CGI sequences, though.

If you've ever played Disgaea (one of Atlus' other popular series) you can pretty much expect what you saw out of Hour of Darkness when it comes to cutscenes.

This game reminds me a lot of Naruto: The Broken Bond, in the way it seems like Atlus have combined a Dating Sim with a decent RPG story (as the former combined a fighting game with an immersive story.)

The reason I say that, is because anime is full of cute, voluptuous, big-breasted women. To make some Personas, you have to flirt or hang out with certain characters to max out Social Links.

So in the beginning you may find that hanging out with other characters and increasing your superficial parameters might get that hottie to blush and say she loves you, but the game will not let you do everything as freely as you please.

Every once in a while you will be forced to fight a boss, which can put you in a difficult situation, especially if you are not really enjoying the RPG side of the game.

It can be particularly annoying because some of the bosses are actually quite difficult to defeat. It is a particularly annoying feature of the game.

But all in all, it's a pretty exceptional handheld game... by today's standards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legendary game.

posted by stone1 (CLINTON, IA) Sep 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2010

If you have any interest in JRPGs this is probably the best game you can play right now. Not only is this the most stylistic game I have played in awhile it, is remains fresh and original. The gameplay doesn't get boring, how you progress through the Tarturas is engaging and immersive giving you a lot of control of how the pace of your journey goes and just doesn't happen in any genre. The Tarturas is a giant tower that cause a lot of monsters called shadows to appear. The shadow only appear in the time between midnight and 1AM called the Dark Hour. After midnight the world changes, the world turns green, shadows appear and normal people appear in coffins that protect them form the shadow. If these people are actually awake during the Dark Hour and is not in a coffin the shadow attack them and they turn into shells of their former self, stealing their humanity away from them. So its up to you and your team of Persona users to climb Taturas and stop the shadows. What I love about Tarturas is that each day at midnight you get your squad together and venture into the tower. If you spend awhile in the tower your characters can grow tiered or sick, you have to balance your social life, Tarturas, sleeping, and studying. It makes you feel in control and gives you a lot to do. To power up your persona (basically your psych turning into a power ranger robot that let you fight shadows) you must establish bonds with people. All the groups and people you interact with are completely optional and you don't have to talk to anyone but the characters are so well written its hard to want to talk to them. If you have heard anything about Persona you know that the characters play a very important part in every game. Each character is masterfully written and develops over time. The voice acting is very good except with a few exceptions like Fuuta, the chairman and the girl that bullied Fuuta. If you love JRPGs, a great story, and amazing characters this is the best you can get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An excellent remake

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

"Persona 3" was great on the PS2, and it's still great on the PSP! A wealth of new material - including new characters, new Social Links, some improvements carried over from "Persona 4", and the ability to play through the entire story as a female protagonist - all makes this portable rendition of the acclaimed RPG a must-have for series fans. The social aspect of the game seems a little less vibrant, just because you don't actually control your character onscreen during these segments anymore. Interaction with characters and objects is now conducted via a sort of point-and-click interface (move the cursor onto the character with whom you'd like to speak, and press the X button). Still, this does little to detract from the overall charm for which "Persona 3" is known.

If you've never played "Persona 3", this is as good a way as any to experience it. If you have played "Persona 3", there's way more than enough here to justify a return to the epic adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

P3P

posted by Fayet (DIXON, IL) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This is my first Shin Megami game that i have played and I was able to jump right in. The story is very well told, but predictable at parts. The characters drew me in more like all good characters in games do. I am not that far in, but I definitely love how its going. The part that I think is the best is that you spend the game between the real world and "The Dark Hour". So you spend your time as a regular student leveling up your social links and making yourself stronger. Then at night you go and adventure. So far I have no complaints about this game. I would recommend this game to any one who is a RPG fan or someone who just wants to try something new and different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Endless possibilities

posted by Aquateen (WAYLAND, NY) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

This is my first Shin Megami Tensei game ever, and I gotta say, I loved it. A game where you can do whatever you want with your character. Make them smart, charming, or very couragous, make friends with whoever, use that to make new summons, and make your party however you want. It's how an RPG should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game

posted by GmaeHead13 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

Fun Turn based RPG Good story just fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Plain Awesomeness~

posted by starwt360 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

I know when i saw that they were going to make Persona 3 for the PSP i was excited then when I actually got the game and learned that you could play as either a boy or a girl my face--> OwO (cuz yes i am a girl) When i played Persona 3 for the PS2 it was was pretty great my first time playing that type of game where I could have a "typical" high school life and kick-butt at night with awesome Personas. Now in P3P i did like a couple changes they made such as that you can decide whether you can control everyone in your party, the Skill Cards you can get once you reach a certain level with a specific Persona makes customizing the moves you wish a certain Persona to have much easier. This game is just fantastic in my opinion good storyline, voice acting, battle system, and etc. Kinda makes you feel as if you have your own life in the game with the way you can decide the dialogue that goes on between you and a social link as the game progresses. So yeah I really recommend the game, heck I think its better if you buy it because i felt so sad when i had to return this game TwT since i basically rented it for about 8 months xD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DEFINITELY one of my favorite games

posted by Alejandro (ARLINGTON, VA) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2005

you just need to get it. i cant say enough you just NEED to get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by DarkEnforcer117 (KNOB NOSTER, MO) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

So far i've gotten 40 hrs into the game and it's pretty epic, it's my first time playing a Shin Megami Tensei game and it's really fun and challenging. Only thing i don't like is that i'm totally in-experienced to fusing cause i tend to stick with certain persona's cause i don't know any good ones as it's my first time playing and some bosses are hard, but i strongly recommended this game and any other SMT/Persona games to you guys!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

P3P on the PSP!

posted by Seth0154 (SATSUMA, FL) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is yet another Re-release of Persona 3, but on the PSP this time and you get the option to play as a girl! I haven't played the original on the PS2 (I played Persona 4, which belong to my sister and its how I got interested in the 3rd installment). Now I haven't rented this game on Gamefly due to no UMD compatabile support on my PSP GO, so the only way to play it was to buy it, which Im glad I did!
Graphics on this game are good for the PSP, the sound and the music is great, gameplay in general is awesome! The only thing that sucks is theres rarely cutscenes in this game, most of the time theres just a background of the area there at and they show you the characters anime form and their reactions. But I cant blame the developers, maybe they couldn't fit it on the PSP'S tiny screen.
Other than that, this game is awesome. This game is one of the best rpg on the PSP, and its better than P4 despite the lack of cutscenes. I recommend this to not only to P4 fans and the new comers to the series, but to the P3 veterans and female P4 fans wanting to play as a girl in Persona.
I wonder if they'll port P4 on the PSP or PS3 with some extras, hard to tell. Meanwhile, Ill wait for the P4 anime to come out. Thanks for reading and game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best psp game to date!

posted by raveaboutit (NEPTUNE, NJ) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

this game is so much fun. it's a game like ive never played before. the dark hour is the best part. im no so crazy about the whole gun to the head thing though but i quickly got over it. this game is a must have for all psp users!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Ultimate Side-Quest Game

posted by Kthuluai (YORKTOWN HEIGHTS, NY) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is a great game for the casual\renter gamer such as myself. A perfect rpg with an engaging storyline with plenty of opportunities to save makes this a must try!

The battle system is quite simplistic without being trite; mastering it will allow you to fly through levels when you just want to go sleep but can't because we're lame and MUST complete the next task.

Game Overview: You're a kid in high school that needs to shoot himself in the head in order to unleash his special powers. Other kids with similiar issues recruit him to fight monsters. "Personas" are the manifestations that occur after said "heroes" blow their face off. Now they can perform magic.

This is where the side-quest comes in...

You will spend more time building your stats, getting your "personas" into the coolest, sweetest, most dominanting state they can be in that the main story almost becomes irrelevant. You can become friends (or not) with npc's. Regardless of what you decide the game always brings you back to the main plot.

Overall, rent this game. If you don't buy it you're a stronger man than I.

I give this game a 9 only because I need to keep my PSP plugged while playing...'nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome but not as good

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

I give this game a 9 because it dose faithfully attempt to show the story in this view. this games brings a little more originality with its feminist lens with the new female character. i would suggest renting this game after playing through persona 3 fes for the ps2. rent this and play as the female character because that's all this game has that sets it apart from the originals except for its saddening lack of the beautiful cut scenes in the originals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by tmoulder (RIVERVIEW, FL) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Terrific game, great story and mechanics. Gave it a 9 instead of 10 because it's way. too. long... A year in game time took forever to play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great if you like rpg leveling up plus story

posted by mulchlayer (GRESHAM, OR) Feb 23, 2011

Member since May 2010

I like a dummy played ps4 persona before and fell in love so after i played this on the psp. As a game it was great but you gotta love the constantly fighting typical fighting rpg getting what you can out of it leveling up kinda gam (ie weapons n stuff).. The only thing i didnt like which is nothing to squeal at was the fact that the realtionships you make were not as deep as persona 4. For me esp coz u could be same gender realtions uhhh you cant say gaaaye when you write the descirption LOL l but as an overall game awesome and loved it and wish they would make a persona 5 PLZ PLZ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

really great

posted by shortysup (ELK GROVE, CA) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

Graphics 9/10
The graphics are great, especially the 3D aspects when your in Tartarus.

Story 10/10
The story is just freaking great. Aftrer a few days I got addicted to this game and couldnt put it down. After a few weeks I bought it and am not dissapointed at all.

Combat 8/10
The combat mode is great. I havent played any other persona games so I cant compare it to any of them, but its kinda the same as t Final Fantasy 10.

Yea I cut my review a lil short.

OVERALL this game is fun and has a very high replay rate. I recommened renting and If you like i as much as I do buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lots of fun -- but watch out for the crashes!

posted by sobolevnrm (KENNEWICK, WA) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This game was great but, given the limited opportunities to save progress, the crashes were extremely annoying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best RPG's ever made

posted by sonamycool (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

i'm not a huge RPG fan. i usualy get bored with the slow story pacing, the slow, repetative random battle systems, and the usualy one way ending. i don't know what attracted me to Persona 3 Portable, but i'm glad it did. this is an RPG made for me. the story is constantly advancing, with something new happening every day. not only that, but the ability to choose when you want to fight in just perfect. i can go into the place where all the enemys are, fight for a while, level up a few times, and get out, the constant battleing is eliminated and makes room for more story. and the abily to make friends/girlfriends from the people at your school adds to the whole school thing. it actualy kinda makes me want to live in the persona 3 world lol. but i digress. the battles dont usualy last long, aside from boss battles. my ONE complaint about it, is that practicaly everyone who can use a persona, almost automaticaly knows how to sumomn it (they have to shoot themselfs in the head. no joke) if they atleast explained why they have to do that, and told them how to do it, then i wouldn't have a problem. but either way, go to the closest game store to you and but this game. if they don't, then buy it online. you will NOT regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

one thing to say

posted by GamerLikeU (WEST RICHLAND, WA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

i only played this game for pry about 4 or 5 hours so im not saying i know it all but from what i seen it is very very slow paced and its talk talk talk talk talk until your ears fall off and then read something else after that. some say an immersible storyline, i say a 5 hour one way conversation. if you like dating sims or whatever there called then go for it but if you just want to kill something look for something else, i mean for me once i FINALLY got to the battling, at first i thought this is kinda cool but after only 15 mins i found myself bored and questioning why i was playing this game. i could find no answer to this question so tomorrow the mail man shall have a new game. ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »