Rent Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne for PS2
view large frontback

Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

1229 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Great game sporting a hard-to-find storyline

posted by Efaw0006 (WINTER PARK, FL) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. I mean seriously. It bring lots of new or rarely used gameplay options to the single-player RPG genre. Now, this is the first Digital Devil game that I have ever played so some of the stuff I'm awed by might be old news to those that know the saga.

1. You can switch your demon powers to adjust your special abilities as you wish. When you want an ice power, you can get an ice power. Follow that up with a healing power, or fire power... whatever you wish.
2. You can capture or convince your enemies to join you. If successful they will fight along side you in battle until...
3. You can combine your demons at a shrine and create new creatures. Two demons become one... and using this method you can create some totally neat demons you haven't even seen in the game yet.

The graphics were very good, and the effects were awesome.

My gripe is that its not always easy to know where to go next to advance the story. There is no quest log or anything you can check... so lots of times your just running around to every place you can think of hoping you hit a checkpoint.

I gave this game a seven out of ten. Excellent RPG with some nice features, but the story will have you running in circles. This is a game that may force you to use an online walkthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Totally Awesome....

posted by Koujin (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Ok, You might have heard this game is "The Demon Version Of Pokémon" But its a whole different thing. The Story in this game is Very Deep and will keep you On your Feet. But I warn you! This game is very Hard! and you will have to Level yourself to beat boss battles and Such. For my Final Word, I would give this.

Pro:Beautiful Game! its so awesome and its only for the True RPG Fans and you can Fuse Monsters together to get better Monster.....tell me that isn't awesome?

Con:well...my only Cons are that The Difficulty is Hard, and you can't change it
It would also have been Good if they had SOME voice acting, but I can understand because when this was made, PS2 games didn't really have Voice Acting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this is my 5 th game

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) May 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

all has the shin megami tensei.. i started to see the similarities. if you play games from Shin megami tensei before then it wouldn't be any surprise for you. Howerver, in this game, you have the ability recruit demons to join your party (up to 184). Unlike Digital Devil saga, there's little or no voice over in this game. The game is turned based, party of 4, ability to customize your main character' stats after leveling up. This is a good game for fan of RPGs. It's worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If only more RPGs were like this...

posted by Jeremymia (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The main character isn't an orphan and the world is not at risk due to the threat of an evil maniac who wants to take it over.

The main character is a newly-made demon, and the world has ended. The apocolype (or, conception) has occured. The number of humans in the world can be counted on one hand.

Sounds unusual, doesn't it? Unusual describes this game perfectly. Your party members are not other people; Your party members are demons you convince to join you through conversation.

Combat is not a matter of "Attack, attack, attack, attack, OMGHEAL, attack, attack..." It's strategic. Using an attack that the enemy is immune to, for example, causes one of your demons to lose his turn (to put it simply.) Yet, at the same time, combat is fast and does not seem boring.

Everyone in the new world is truly on their own, and that means making all of your decisions. The choice component of this game reminds me of the Myst series. A few people want things to go their way, and it's up to you to decide which way it goes. Unlike Myst, though, there is no right answer.

What's more, the question is rather high-stakes: You're defining the nature of existance! I don't want to go into what your choices are, here, but I do want to say that there are about 6, depending on how you look at it, and they are all very different. (Oh, don't go neutral. It suuucks. Agree with SOMEONE at SOME POINT.)

The game, thematically, is amazing. It has definite hindu influences but a lot of other ones are there. Looking up the mythology behind these demons can be a lot of fun.

The soundtrack is a bit odd, but also good. It's sort of a rock/deathmetal type thing, but not really.

This game is ... perhaps the best RPG ever? I don't know, probably not. But it's not to be missed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's no Persona.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you're like me and have suddenly developed an interest in the Shin Megami Tensei series since playing Persona 3, let me just tell it to you straight--it doesn't get any better. Nocturne's a decent RPG, but it's by no means as good as Persona 3. None of the SMT games are.

Let's start things off with my biggest complaint of Nocturne: the random battles. The longest you'll go without running into enemies is about 10 seconds. Sometimes you'll only go three steps before the next encounter.

Granted, the game has an "Auto" battle feature which makes things easier on your thumbs, and many of the battles end almost as quickly as they begin, but it doesn't change the fact that frequent enemy encounters seriously interrupt the game's flow.

Another thing to mention is that while the plot's very interesting right off the bat (I couldn't put the game down for the first hour or two), things really start to slow down the more you get into the game. It's another pacing issue.

Otherwise, Nocturne lives up to the SMT name. You'll find many of the same dystopian themes, a few mysterious characters, and an awesome soundtrack. If you're expecting greatness on the level of Persona 3, however, you won't find it here. And for such a high acting price, I can't recommend this game as more than a rental unless you're obsessed with cult-status Japanese games and have some money to burn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great concepts, but poorly executed.

posted by Dasher (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The story is the only thing that keeps the game moving. The monster trainer/battler not so fun, but a great concept. the slow pace of the game wont keep your attention. So you will save and go do something else, And theirs the problem. There is no “Log” or “Quest” book to show you what you were doing so you will end up running to the same spots a few times.

Bottom Line: A great rental!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WE NEED MORE APOCYLIPIC GAMES LIKE THIS ONE:)

posted by wraith (HUNTINGTON, WV) May 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It might be a cultest-type game but even a cristian like me would like the chaos, through every level, you might find somthing of interest from old buildings, half-destroyed urban areas, a few overturned cars on the littered roads of old Tokyo.... Very, very good.... What makes it even better is among the ruins you'll encounter creatures like: Faries, Beasts, even deamons like the Succubus and Incebus! Oh, and you can make alliances with some creatures that you encounter, too. My advise to you, the player, would be to make as much allies as you can by any means nessesary: Bribeing, draning energy, giving items, pumbling creatures senceless, destroying all creatures but one and intiminating it to join or die And i'm VERY sure city-slikers would like the half-cat creatures joining...(hehehe....) ANYWAYS, that about raps up the review so... kick-back, relax and have some fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hidden Gem

posted by il21loo (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Jun 26, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Very interesting battle mechanics and plot grabs user's attention with delight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Oh. My. GAWD!

posted by Faerie_Knight (DUBUQUE, IA) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a good game, in my opinion. Use to own it years ago. Then someone stole my copy (while leaving me their strategy guide for the game). The game however is hard. And I mean wickedly insanely hard. You'll be going along, then BAM! You're in an unavoidable fight against something you probably can't beat cause the enemy hits freaking hard, hits everyone, and half your party is weak to it's attacks.

Or maybe you'll be able to escape combat, but you're party gets the stuffing knocked out of it by the enemies popping up every three steps in the area you must go through. Stuff like that happens fairly frequently. So save often.

That doesn't mean it's a bad game, just insanely hard. I love the game. I plan on tracking down a copy of my own. But it's also a game that can be very frustrating. So I give this a six out of ten. Awesome game with difficulty issues. Kinda reminds me of a certain NES game cough ghosts'ngoblinscough

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dante is a Sell Out

posted by Terrents (CARLSBAD, CA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I Went into Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne with high hopes of a good RPG. Also very curious why Dante from the Devil May Cry series was in this game. I played a few Shin Megami Tensei games before. Including Persona 4, Persona 3 and whatever that MMO one was. And so I was very sad to see that it had the creepy art style that was popular in the older Shin Megami Tensei games. Characters having oddly shaped anime eyes. With eye liner and their awkward stare and dull eyes. I was fully aware that persona 4 was one of the few Shin Megami games that didn’t try to be dark and depressing. But I thought this game was going to take more of a brutal approach on it being revolved around demons. Sadly it is more bizarre and confusing. And all around awkward to play.
The game feels extremely lonely with its lack of characters and no voice acting for the characters that are even there. But luckily you can talk to demons! Yay? Right? But the only demon that I felt was worth talking to was pixie. Having some dialog that I somehow found interesting. (or should I say Dia-Log) The other demons just stood there talking to me. Staring at me with their awkward faces shaped like a broom or some other household object. Whenever you find an object that was the equivalent of a chest, the game asks you if you if you want to open it after you press X saying you want to open it. It prompts with a yes or no menu. Which I was only hesitant to say yes the first time. In which case I was afraid the object might explode on me. The camera control was rather odd making you use the L and R buttons to turn it. When the thumb stick could of easily done that. But instead they made it so the right thumb stick throws the camera across the room forcing you to stare into a wall.
The game did an overall bad job at explaining what the heck I was doing or even how to do it. Leaving me constantly wondering if I was playing it right. I felt like I was being judged by the game itself to play it better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

nope

posted by greenman30 (CONYERS, GA) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

if you like pokemon this might be for you. i didnt care for the artwork, nor story line, didnt bond with the charecter and just wasnt real fun i was kinda forcing myself to play just to beat it. no reward in it though lol. worst downfall is that no matter how much you level up you never feel as if your strong enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »