Rent Shin Megami Tensei IV for 3DS
view large frontback

Shin Megami Tensei IV

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $32.99

GF Rating
7.9

141 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but not great.

posted by sammycakes88 (TROUTVILLE, VA) Aug 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The one thing that stopped this game from being great for me was the battle system. The monsters were. 2d pictures and attacks from both enemy's and ally's were just a bunch of yellowish circle over the 2d images. That aside this game has a few cool things the gauntlet toy get acts as a menu/computer and you can instal apps that help with battle, hp recovery, number of skill you or your demons can have. The demon fusion in this game fits the digital computer like theme really well. Not a bad game but the combat graphics really kill it, if it had looked like nocturne, persona 3 and 4 or any other one released on the ps2 then this game would have been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing RPG, one of the best in the series

posted by Thekylekurtz (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Jul 23, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Usually, the SMT series is remembered for the Persona titles, which are all excellent games. The others in the series, while good, just don't stand out. This one does, though. The monster gathering and fusion mechanics are amazing, the visuals slick for the 3DS, and the music is well paced and matches the atmosphere perfectly. The overhead map introduced later in the game is... atrocious. But the strengths make this one problem forgivable. Give it a try if you love RPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Worthy of Shin Name

posted by whatnow12012 (NEWPORT, TN) Jul 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been with the series since day 1 back on the NES days. This is by far one of the worst Shin games since Strange Journey back on the NDS days.

The game is largely empty, with little to no story plot, bland characters, no romance, also no choices what-so-ever. The game is repititive, Quest, Quest, then Story, you constantly die over & over due to high level Demons.

I whish I rented this game instead of buying the game it isnt woth 55 Dollars, it is a Rent if anything. Being a Hardcore Shin fan I was really disappointed with the game.

Also people you can not compare Persona with Shin Megami those are 2 diffrent Genre's being Dating Sim while Shin is Old School Dungeon Crawler being extremly difficult. Even for an Expert gamer such as me. Me I say advoid this game like a Plague.

I am now very worried on Persona 5. By the way this is my 19th Shin Megami game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very addictive gameplay. Everything else is meh.

posted by Jheff (MADISON, FL) Jun 6, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

After experiencing Shin Megami Tensei fusion heaven with SMT 3: Nocturne and Persona 3 and 4, I gave SMT IV a go. I can honestly say after playing it, I'm left with bittersweet thoughts. Mainly having to do with the story overall. It was very bland all the way through and has definitely one of those analogy types of endings that may seem deep but isn't really. Then again it is about angels and demons so the religious stuff is very heavy here. I can imagine a devout Christian playing this game with a blank expression on his face.
Anyhow, the addicting aspect to this game comes from the fusion and leveling system. I was never bored grinding at all because every single level that you gain means something. The ability to fuse new demons each level is awesome, albeit not so much rewarding if you grow attached to using some of the demons. I hate to have to let go of my Metatron due to the higher level demons that come down the line.
The essence of Shin Megami Tensei is here and yet everything feels meh... it felt like this game was just to get my demon fusing fix before they release another Persona game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An OK Dungeon Crawler

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I like this game, but I don't love it, it's just okay. Unlike the rest of the series, this game is played in third person and is not tile based in movement, which confuses me as to why they decided to do so. Leveling up takes forever, it's hard to find enemies that you can battle and win and gain enough experience to level up in order to beat the next boss. It's also pretty inaccurate to the timeline it's supposedly based on. It's supposed to take place in Japan in 1492, however the setting seems quite Mideival Europe and most of the names are not even Japanese, plus there's still a few cyberpunk elements to it which is inaccurate for the time. I find it strange, but it's not bad, it is a little fun, definitely good for a fan of the series, but not for hardcore fans of the series or big fans of dungeon crawlers. I recommend trying it, maybe just renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NOOOOOO IT"S TURN BASED FIGHTING!!!!

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I did not know that this game is turned based fighting style. I don't have time fot this. NEXT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Absolute Must have RPG title.

posted by DreamCastrater (LA PLACE, LA) Jul 26, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

I admit, at first I was kinda skeptical with the perspective of everything being presented through first person combat because I was used to the third person view of other RPGs, but I was wrong when I finally got my hands on this crazy addictive game!

The whole concept of the demon fusion system is worth the price tag ALONE! The only negative thing about the game is the navigation system once you get to Tokyo. A lot of people are gonna get lost due to that poor design (Like I did once).

This and Fire Emblem on the 3ds are the best RPGs on the platform so far. Both are incredibly addictive and Deep. Be warned though, this game is very challenging on its standard difficulty, so be saving often,lol!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »