Rent Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked for 3DS
view large frontback

Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

363 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Good, The Bad, The Overclocked

posted by M3ATSICLE (LOS ALAMOS, CA) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game without having played the previous version for the DS.

The Good:
I had over 60 hours of game play time saved once I beat the game and that's not counting any resets or deaths. So it is not a short game. I don't really like games that are too easily beaten. Voice acting throughout most of the game (even if the voices may sound a little off for the character). The difficulty starts off easy until you get somewhat through then it gets harder and harder. Also has great replay value and the story is better than I expected. you can also choose slightly different paths each playthrough. I would very likely rent this game again

The Bad:
Very little 3D in the game. The only time I can remember seeing any 3d is when fusing Demons. Not too much exploration. Voice acting is a little off on some characters. I would have cast different voices but still not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good strategy RPG for fans of MegaTen

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Pros: Very interesting story, full voicework, lots of demons to capture and train, combat is engaging, the Atlus touch

Cons: Doesnt utilize the 3DS capabilities, some of the voicework is annoying, combat can get really hard (even on the easy setting), very limited exploration

Overall: Fans of Shin Megami Tensen and Atlus should try this game, very engaging story and combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love It! Very Good RPG!

posted by Assasain15 (Copperas Cove, TX) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Most People Say that making the original from the 3DS was pointless, I say that it was worth it. Overclocked is an awesome remake I played the original and I liked it. Now the remake was even better. While true there's barely any 3D parts but that's okay. For one RPG's on the DS happen other BOTTOM SCREEN! the top screen is for info reasons-so it didn't surprise me that they didn't do much 3D. Two: your not suppose to have 3D on all the time, it strains the eyes and wastes energy. Three: Its an RPG! It's suppose to be about the 3D, It's all about the story and Game play as well as art design and epic cut scenes. But let's get back to subject. Concept (9): I love it, the fact that your trapped in a city having only demons that you decide to recruit to survive is cool and unique, multiple endings is always great too! Let me remind you that the game gives you a lot of hard choices that can alter the game greatly i.e this one time when I had to choose to kill the demons or angels or humans...I killed the angels, why? you'll see (: Graphics (8): Graphics are great for this game (Demons are freak en ugly though) I also love the new voice acting they put in it's perfect for every character I especially love midori, haru, and gin. Game play (7): I liked the game play Its pretty simple for a turn base though it gets harder the further you go, And I mean MUCH HARDER as in ANNOYING HARDER...so...keep track of your demons. Oh! That reminds me, there's an option in the game where you have to fuse demons to get stronger demons-hears a tip, level up your MAIN CHARACTER a lot you'll see why he's important. Also keep track of your demons and try to keep the unique ones. Anyway, the game also offers 20 new demons than the first one, some are great. The game also offers the mysterious 8th day, that's interesting. So anyone who payed the original should get the this one or if your new to shin megami, Devil survivor is great for you. Peaceful Days Die...Let's survive...heh good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I must admit i'm NOT impressed.

posted by Flowper (HAVERHILL, MA) Aug 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I have to say i'm very disappointed in this game. I played the original on DS and it was great, and when I heard it was coming out in 3D i was ecstatic about it. Little did I know that there would be a very VERY small amount of 3D in it at all. The voice acting in some parts was pretty bad. One character has a very whiny voice which can really get to you after a while. The all new 8th day is an okay addition, but the lack of 3D makes me wonder why they bothered to make the game for the 3DS at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Still Devil Survivor, with some nice additions.

posted by Dobiedobie (GLENDALE, CA) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I didn't initially realize this is just Devil Survivor with voicing added. While the gameplay is fun and the scenes of Tokyo are excellent, for the Final Fantasy Tactics style RPG. I've always had a tough time with this kind of game and putting Overclocked on Easy mode doesn't seem to help much. I still find myself getting stomped over and over again, no matter how many times I change strategies. The voice dialogue is excellent and if you enjoyed the original Devil Survivor, this adds a little freshness to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Devil Survivor Overclocked the unsung gem

posted by SaitoHei (EAST PROVIDENCE, RI) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Devil Survivor Overclocked is more or less a rehashing of the original Devil Survivor with additional content. The major differences between the games would be the polished and brighter in game sprites (Though little improvements in graphics as a whole) and the inclusion of English and Japanese voice actors which help break down the walls of text. The game takes place over the course of seven days or potentially eight days, you and your friends Yuzu and Atsuro will be trying to survive a mass lockdown of Tokyo, trapped inside with blood thirsty demons all the while trying to uncover the truth behind the incident. During the 8-12 hours of this game you will be participing all manner of battles from main story, to optional, to grinding battles. This game does require a bit of grinding but honestly, not all too much compared to some, and it uses a fairly simple combat system so it even accommodates to casual rpg players. All in all, the game has enough alternate paths and endings to keep the game fresh and new upon replays and it's nice to see how drastically the endings will become depending on the choices you made the days prior. There are plenty of demons for you to summon, 100+, and they come with Magic skills, passive skills, racial skills or just mad skills in general. This game is amazing and if you like Persona series I'd seriously considering picking up this great 3DS title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Why you should not Overclock

posted by rogenjemi (PLAINVILLE, CT) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

After a few months of digging, I finally arrived a some of the 3DS titles I put on my Q. This must have been some poor juggling on my part, as I seem to recall this DS RPG port being described as a "launch title" for the new system. And therein lies the problem: how to judge this fairly, being previously exposed to Atlus's ambitious DS TRPG.
The simple truth is this: If you played the original, you have absolutely no reason to insert this into your 3DS, unless you absolutely ADORED the DS title, with the minor exception of that title's voiceless, all-text script.
If you did not play the original, you should only play this game if you are a fan of the Shin Megami Tensei universe, but somehow did not have the opportunity to play it out on your Nintendo DS system. Because the reality is that the uninformed consumer who is/was looking to purchase their first RPG for the 3DS system has only sorrow and disappointment in their future.
In Conclusion, it is only that truly small subset of people (or two, counting the voice actor purists) that will receive both anything & the most that this title has to offer. Everyone else will only suffer in their attempt to survive the experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG

posted by jhandy (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

A little different then your standard rpg. I like the demon fuse aspect. I would have held on to it for a second play through but I want to get the new FF13.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eh...

posted by dustygiraffe (FORT WAYNE, IN) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I wasn't impressed. I love how they drew the characters though. My problem with the game is the gameplay. It's another one of those games like Jean D'Arc on the psp. I can't think of the word so I'll just describe it. It's set up like a board game and you can only move to so many squares and can only attack enemies one square away. I hate that! So if you're like me and don't like games like that then you won't like this...plus not to mention it isn't in 3d. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for me

posted by racc04 (MANOR, TX) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Game is just not for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not 3D

posted by jay9297 (PENSACOLA, FL) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game is not a 3DS game. There are maybe 20 seconds of 3D in the whole game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its was ok

posted by Kenjibaby (KISSIMMEE, FL) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I really liked the story line but the fighting style bothers me too much. It's the same reason why I don't play final fantasy. It just takes to long to fight like that. I'm a Kingdom Hearts fan because the fighting is fast and animated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It is NOT a #DS GAme

posted by LuckyBuck (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

After the cutscene the 3DS green light goes off and you have a DS game. I was hoping to play this in 3D but unfortunately did not get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »