Rent Shift 2 Unleashed: Need for Speed for PS3
view large frontback

Shift 2 Unleashed: Need for Speed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.2

1857 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A nice try but...

posted by jjchef (STURGEON BAY, WI) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

26 out of 32 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

If you plan to play this with a wheel, do not.

There is a very bad input lag that cannot be fixed at the moment, and it ruins the experience quite badly.

The cars feel dead and floaty just like the first one, you CANNOT get your cars to oversteer at all, it's completely understeer.

All in all a terrible game that had potential but EA messed it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Nice features on paper but does not deliver.

posted by Rafy186 (OZONE PARK, NY) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

After reviewing some of the major publication reviews I was expecting a game that would deliver, but the car handling was so terrible I put it down near an hour after trying. I've put a lot of time in GT5 and this doesn't feel no where like a simulation racing many are calling. I then tried to use my Logitech G27 and thats where I returned the game to GF. As some of the reviewers here have noted, there are a lot of issues using a racing wheel.

What bothers me the most is how IGN, Joystiq and a few others gave this game the same rating GT5 has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another bland racing game

posted by Viciouslig (LACEY, WA) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Quite honestly I am going to state that racing games have become overly traditional and just keep to the same mechanics. Only few games such as Split/Second and Motorstorm really change it. This is a really really bland racing game.

Story - 3
It is a racing game -_- what story do you want? Honestly I gave it a 3 because they try to place a basic story.

Gameplay - 6
The gameplay rather stiff and loose at the same time. This game is for race lovers because after awhile it just gets irritating. Also I read that you can't change camera view, yes you can. It simply does not make it better.

Graphics - 8
As most racers graphics are clean and polish and car damage looks great.

Sound - 7
Good car sounds but when I think of racers I think of awesome background music. That was not the case here. Although this is just a personal preference.

Overall - 6
There is nothing special or new here really. This is for the race lover not for the general community.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Still not hitting on all eight cylinders

posted by MOClone (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Need For Speed: Shift 2 Unleashed is a game with a bit of an identity crisis. It's trying to be a simulation title, containing a myriad of professional racing and drifting events, a healthy selection of cars to purchase and customize, and a wonderful selection of tracks to race on (including staples like Spa and Donington, as well as the thrilling Mount Panorama).

Unfortunately, the gameplay is heavily slanted in a more arcade-friendly direction, with cars handling unlike any real world facsimile, to the point that a new player will require a healthy dose of practice and quite a bit of driver assistance to simply get around the track. That disconnect is ever-present too, lingering through every level of your driving campaign. You never feel like you're driving a racing car, so much as playing along with a fantastical interpretation of what an auto race should look like.

Online play, meanwhile, is a mess. The autolog system is required to be turned on when playing, and through my experience it had a nasty habit of shutting off mid-race, tossing you back out to the main menu. And that is setting aside the sorts of drivers that populate the online space, four out of every five of whim believe that the best way to brake for a corner is to use the rear bumper of the car in front of them. You'll find yourself praying to start on the back row of any given race, just so you can dodge the inevitable first corner pileup.

This is all quite sad, because the game succeeds on a number of graphical levels. The game looks quite nice in motion, with impressive car-models, pretty tracks, and the helmet camera makes a very welcome addition (though it does take some getting used to for newbies). The menus are sharp as well. That said, I did have some issues with the custom livery creation system, which was FAR from user-friendly.

Shift 2 is not a bad game, but it has so many problems and failings that I can't suggest anything more then a short rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Incredibly frustrating to play

posted by viejid (CULVER CITY, CA) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Caveat: This game was not what I was looking for, and that has a lot to do with my review of it.

I wasn't looking for an incredibly realistic game to play. I was looking for something that was fun, where you can drive fast and ask questions later. This game is nothing like that. That is not necessarily a bad thing, but if it's not what you're looking for, you won't enjoy it.

Having said that, despite being very realistic in certain ways (read: very difficult to drive), the lack of realism in other areas (AI) makes it very frustrating to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrific Control

posted by DeathGodPlox (SALEM, OR) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Remember the pre-views? Best ever graphics. Most realistic racing EVER. It was all hype and no delivery. The handling is so bad it is practically impossible to race even with the controller. Your experience may vary to mine if you have a wheel.

It is also very obvious that they were showing PC graphics for the game and not console graphics. The very first track, I recognized immediately from playing GT5 extensively. To compare the two is a joke.

Shift 2 is unfortunately a huge disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing...

posted by Vilens (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a very poor man's Gran Turismo 5. The controls feel quite rigid, the car modification settings are stripped down and ripped right out of GT5 but affect the driving significantly less. It has some of the same courses and vehicles as Turismo but the look and feel of these vehicles and courses pale in comparison to Tursimo. Now I recognize that it's not fair to compare a game with a huge budget and epic development period like Turismo to smaller titles like SU2 but it sticks out blatantly. If you're going to rip another game off at least do it right. Don't waste your money or Q space on this game, you're much better off with Turismo as a driving simulator or split/second and hot pursuit for an arcade racer. This game attempts to be both and falls short all around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

GT5 is way better

posted by GoodAdvise (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There's nothing in Shift 2 that GT5 doesn't do better.NFS Shift was better.Not even worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame

posted by Necrometal138 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) May 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Unrealistic in every single aspect of handling. Nitrous has no affect on acceleration. Whoever designed this game knows nothing about how cars handle. Worthless. I'm so glad it was free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Real Racing

posted by C_H_O_C_O_B_O (ROCKLAND, MA) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The starts off with some diffculty. After a few races and several tunes you get the hang of it and start winning and unlocking lots of nice rewards. It has a new helmet view from the drivers perspective which I highly recommend. All in all you like this game if you'll enjoy realistic racing. They basically took the first shift game and tweeked it for the better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not bad at all

posted by C4pta1n1 (LIBERTYVILLE, IL) May 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I must say I was a little reluctant to even rent this game given all the low reviews, but I'm glad I tried it out. The game is a bit less refined and detailed than GT5, but it does offer full damage from the very first race instead of requiring you to virtually beat the game before unlocking it as in GT5.

The graphics are on the same level as GT5, but the crashes far exceed anything I've seen in any game so far. Intense crashes will blacken and blur your vision temporarily, and leave you with a ringing in your ears. Go sliding sideways off the road hit the sand and you'll be rolling over a few times, destroying your car (try keeping up with only 2 wheels).

Now don't get me wrong, overall GT5 is a better game in my opinion, but Shift 2 does have it's good qualities and may even be preferable to someone looking for an insane audio-visual experience and a game somewhat less serious than GT5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shift 2 Unleashed: Need for Speed

posted by SimGamer (LYNBROOK, NY) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a pretty good arcade/semi-sim racer with many of the car upgrades one would expect from a racer claiming to attack the sim racing world. The main problem for me was that the calibration of the GT Force Pro steering wheel was not as precise as other sim racers I have played such as Gran Turismo. I did enjoy the different feel of shifting gears on manual in the game. The in game menus do provide you with variable settings that you can tweak manually to your liking to come close to the steering wheel responsiveness of Gran Turismo but I personally was unable to get it to that total control level but maybe you might be able to. I usually do not play driving games without the use of a steering wheel on any home consoles or PC but the game is very enjoyable with a control pad. The head cam which is the staple difference that separates it from others is interesting and takes some getting used too but I found myself switching back to regular in cockpit view when races got close. Probably should have given the user more in game points as an incentive to use the helmet cam more like how it was done in GRID with the locked to head cam. Very good car body damage/physics in the game though, I especially liked the way the car would roll over if you got into a turn wrong and get wheel lock. Lots of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

2 thumbs down

posted by jmmalone23 (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

All the features that make a good racing game must have been copyrighted, because nfs shift 2 has no good features. The graphics are ok but thats the best thing. It kinda seems like your driving a car that weighs as much as a semi or something. I didnt really play it all that much im not big into racing games anyways so i sent it back after like an hour of playing it. So it may get better but I seriously doubt it.

I would recomend renting this game first before buying, because chances are your not going to like it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

tried to clone gt5....didn't succeed

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Overview
====================
It seemed to me like they were trying to clone GT5. They just didn't succeed in being as good. I found the steering to be very hard. On the straight away it still seemed like the car was constantly pulling. I'm not much of a racing simulator fan....but I did play GT5 and thought it was better.

Pros
==============
1) nice graphics

Cons
==============
1) poor controls

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I wanted this, but now I'm glad I rented it!

posted by vahdyx (WESTMINSTER, CO) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I have Gran Turismo 5 and I was a bit disappointed my real life car wasn't in the game. (Turbocharged Cobalt) Now before you hate on my car just know that it's fast and there's no reason why it should be hated on. I beat Evo's and STI's on regular basis. Anyway that wasn't a deal breaker for me. I love the handling, control and realism of the game.

So when EA made the statement that Shift 2 was gonna be the most realistic racing game to date, I believed them. Then I found out the supercharged cobalt was in the game (even though significantly slower than the turbocharged cobalt) I was pretty excited. I got the email probably a day before I ran out and bought it.

So now that I have it in my PS3 and I'm ready to play, Right away during the tutorial I notice I don't like it. Sound, controls and graphics weren't great. I buy the Cobalt and notice the steering is lame, Graphics aren't nearly as good as I want them to be and the sound bad. I kept getting this weird clunk type noise. I keep playing and buy a Evo X and same noises, same bad controls, and I'm sick of the tracks.

I just didn't enjoy the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by Scientist (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's an ok racer. Not on par with how the cars handle in GT5. If you are using a wheel, the force feedback is inconsistent and can make you crash on the straights. You can change the driver view to all the views GT5 has. It has some neat features, but only good for people who want a more arcady style sim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Online Pass - No Thanks

posted by Trucidatio (METAIRIE, LA) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I refuse to play any of these new games requiring an "online pass".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Probably the worst racing game ive ever played.

posted by govmagic (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

awful.

stick to blur or burnout or NFS's... EA doesnt add anything good here..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME IS BROKEN

posted by mn56789 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wish I would've know that this game has a fundamental flaw that is unfixable before I rented it! The steering is delayed so badly that it ruins the entire gaming experience! It was so frustrating that I'm surprised gamefly even offers to rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Way to difficult to play !!!

posted by 703AliKabir (FAIRFAX, VA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is way to difficult to play, what ever happened to fun enjoyable video game EA used to make where I don’t have to take 30 min. to complete one race…

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EA is killing NFS

posted by robman30 (SALE CREEK, TN) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the second NFS game I have played in as many weeks and just like the last it completely blows. Game controls are awful. Don't wast your time unless you like being frustrated with poor steering and lack of any real control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wast of time

posted by kevonson (LAKE TAPPS, WA) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very boring game dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not for me

posted by codywest69 (MIDLAND, MI) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i felt the method of steering they used was to realistic for me =]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not the best racing game out there

posted by teamsmithreen (LYNN, MA) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

+epic action + realistic crashes -hard events -drift events are super hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than many think.

posted by frankd14321 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've got Shift 1 when it came out and loved it! I loved how it felt you were really in and driving the car. So now I got Shift 2. And I like it even better!! It is for hardcore racers though, this is not typical N4S game, it shouldn't even be a part of that franchise.

And yes you can switch views but the in car view is best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse