Rent Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.5

1703 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A ripping good time!

posted by Wherewolf (GARDEN GROVE, CA) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

27 out of 27 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I saw this game first mentioned I was very skeptical as I thought this was simply riding on the coat tails of another movie.

Being a Ripper enthusiast I was waiting for the big disappointment as always but I will have to admit I had a ripping good romp.

The fact that you get to walk around, flavor White Chapel and investigate the grisly scenes just adds more to fun, but when you step into the shoes of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson that is just a real treat.

To further historical accuracy there are actual documents, photos and witnesses who were present at the time of the murders. Now I am not saying the studio didn't take creative counter measures to make the game more interesting but they did leave the element of the real investigations.

The only sad thing about this game is the frame rate skips sometimes and the investigations are more like a walk through vs. a quest. The only time you really have to "think" is when you examine the crime scenes and deduce the events and person/s who caused them.

This game would had been superb if it had multiple question and answer selections ( Mass Effect style ) and outcomes, but the superb voice acting and environmental detail make up for that lacking.

So if you want to hunt for Jack The Ripper and investigate while wearing the shoes of one of the greatest detectives of all time, then this is the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy 1000 Achievement Points!!

posted by BabyDemon (DOVER, FL) May 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

44 out of 51 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper is a click adventure. By that, I mean that you move the Left Stick around trying to find "Hot Spots" to click on the then you press the A button for some action/interaction to occur. You can easily jump from place to place using the map (press the Y Button).
The puzzles range from very easy to a little hard, as some of the puzzles do not give you any clue as to what you are supposed to do. I only ran across a snag on one of the puzzles and had to look up FAQ to get through that one puzzle.
The 1000 achievements are easily made just by playing through the game and clicking on everything! I mean everything. I had to play through twice because I forgot to click on certain items and I missed (4) 80 pt achievements because I did not click on everything in the room/street.
I was able to get through the entire game in 3-4 hours. Like I said, a quick and easy way to grab a smooth 1000 achievement points.
There was a lot of game freezes and a more than a few quirks that took away from the gaming experience. Perhaps they will fix that with an update.
In conclusion, the game is pretty easy, with a few hard puzzles here and there. I would not buy it but it is worth a rent for an easy 1000 achievements points. Thanks for reading my thoughts! BabyDemon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decent Game

posted by Palumbo (CORAM, MT) Mar 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Story and gameplay are pretty straight forward. it was entertaining enough for me to finish, but its not for everyone. You will be spending most of ur time doing chores for information. you get to investigate a few murder scenes which was entertainig. there are also ALOT of puzzles, some pretty straightforward others leave you scratching your head, wishing there was a hint button. in terms of sound and graphics, this game could have been released on the original xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Still a mystery...

posted by Jariah (HAYWARD, CA) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had such high hopes for this game. I know, I know, a point and click game for consoles never works out, they are always boring, slow and dull. But I thought this one would be an improvement! I mean, Syberia was great....sadly, this one is servicable if anything. Some of the puzzles are ridiculously difficult...one of them needing and intense knowledge of American history (for a mystery set in the UK...go figure)...the story is interesting but nothing too new. It seems to be based on lots of theories floating around out there about the Ripper and the Ripper reveal is not startling at all...just kind of...oh..um...ok..I guess....no suprises, no shocks. It's too bad. Visually the game looks nice, although Sherlock tends to get stuck in his running mode constantly, the mapping system with its quick jumps to locations is a plus. There is still plenty of needless wandering looking for things you don't realize you need. The acting is okay, nothing special except the fact that Sherlock comes off as a pompous, vain donkey...and not in a likeable Robert Downey Jr. way either...heck, not even in a Basil Rathbone way. A miss, my dear Watson, not even near the target.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Challenging

posted by nickidoo2 (WINNSBORO, TX) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished the game after a grueling battle with the last achievement left for me to get. Still didn't get it! The game was fun and intellectually challenging. Not something you would want to play if you aren't willing to be pushed mentally. The graphics really suck and the characters move the same every time they talk. As long as you can ignore that it's pretty great! I still can't figure out how to get Dogged but i'm giving up. Already beat the game twice and haven't been able to get it! Oh well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved It

posted by Rickmus66 (TIMBERLAKE, NC) Oct 27, 2010

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

From the opening murder, all the way till you figure out who Jack is.
This game will keep you on your toes,and keep your mind thinking.
From puzzles to locks, to examaning the dead bodys, to deductions,this game has it all. This is not a plug and play game. It takes a lot of time to figure out the locks,and puzzles.So if you think you are gonna fly threw this game, thats not gonna happen.
Took me 4 days (with no cheats) to finish it.And thats playing 3 to 4 hours a day.Achievments are pretty easy to get.Just play threw the game and you will get them.
The only reason I did not give this game a 10 is because the graphics are not as advanced as alot of games.
So if you are looking for a game where you have to use your brain.This is the game for you.
Elementary Dr. Watson

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by gameengine (LEBANON, OH) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was actually pretty good. There is no gunplay, no fighting, really not much of anything besides walking around and solving puzzles. I enjoy games like this to get away from the norm. I believe the people that gave it a bad review are just typical meatheads who are too stupid for this game. Thats why they need to stick to the basic run n gun games with all the action. Now i enjoy those games too but this is a game that is worth playing if u want to get your brain working again. the graphics are not great even though i dont think they need to be for the genre of game this is. It is not worth buying but definatley worth a rent. If you are an achievemnt hunter then you will want to play this game. It took me 4 hours to get a 1000 score. If u are kind of stupid it might take you a little longer but nontheless its easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Puzzler!

posted by JohnnyKapz (DALLAS, TX) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What can I say, SHVJTR has a great storyline and unfolds just like a novel. If you don't like to think hard on puzzles this game is not for you. I spent hours sometimes figuring a puzzle out, but I love to solve issues in games, thus this game was my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Give it a chance

posted by bluskyline (TACOMA, WA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a low-budget game, it's obvious. However, this game deserves a chance. If you can get past the graphics and bad voice-acting, you'll find that the game actually has a pretty good gameplay engine. It's not monotinous. There are different puzzles each time you find clues, a steady storyline and a unique plot.

Most people judge a game by its graphics, and less on it's gameplay. IMO, this game is unique in it's own right and deserves a second look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A classic (maybe too much so) adventure game

posted by Jasonindy (GREENWOOD, IN) May 4, 2010

Member since May 2010

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper is a solid example of a popular 90's PC genre-the classic point and click adventure game. There is really nothing extraordinary here, but fans of the genre will find something to enjoy. Those looking for an action game should definitely look elsewhere.

The game is marketed at a budget price which is likely a reflection of both the diminishing appeal of this genre and of the use of old technology in the game. This is a port of a PC game running on an old engine and it shows. The graphics are essentially late Xbox/launch 360 in quality. However, the interface works quite well. The left trigger can be held to identify the items on each screen that can be interacted with saving the player the tedium of searching the muddy textures of the background for not always apparent clues.

The puzzles are okay but not particularly challenging because the game does a good job of leading you in the correct direction. This is not like some of the early Sierra games where you could find yourself wandering from screen to screen with a full inventory trying to figure out what to do next.

The selling point of the game is the setting and the juxtaposition of the fictional Sherlock Holmes detective with the real life but now legendary Jack the Ripper. I would definitely recommend this as a rent but only to adventure fans. The game is quite short and contains little reason to replay so there is no point in purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a good yet bad idea

posted by jcrouch (CARY, IL) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

the idea and premise behind the game outstanding Sherlock Holmes one of the many great people in history (yes he was based on a real person.) excited to play and become one of the greatest detectives of all time. upon arrival of the game excited to play and see how the game was only to be disappointment by some what of poor graphics, and an even worse game play, every 5 seconds a cut scene, as well as tasks the detective himself would not ever do, granted the game designer was probably trying to just fill in time but this was a game that had a lot of promise and the game designers did not deliver this. sorry to say i rate this game a 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tedious

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Sep 16, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pretty easy 1000 gamer score, but is pretty tedious to get through. Plan on using a guide or you will really struggle finding all the clues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the ripper

posted by lusence (DEMING, WA) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A pretty cool game. Gave me nightmares, not the horror but the puzzles, some can be pretty annoying. Anyways was pretty fun, and intresting to play with the ole origional serial killer, and they had a good take on who jack the ripper was, as in real life they never found him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper

posted by dave67 (MYSTIC, CT) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

but I think it might be to boring for the younger gamers. I am old enough to remember my first saga system graphics back than where 16bits not like the games now.

I always read reviews before I buy any game before I was a gamefly member. But I must say I am shocked at the to point difference between IGN and gamespot. I always though IGN was always to hard a some titles.

I use Game-informer magazine and game-spy myself they seems to have almost the same rating as the other maybe if one has 8 the other will have 8.2 etc. I base my choose on how that game is controlled does it respond well . Does hit detection work like it should? Game stories are not a worry for me but if they get campy I skip them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is a good game

posted by shaggy176 (FRANKFORT, KY) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i havent read what other people wrote about this game 1st off let me say ive been playing video games.for the last 25 years and this game reminds me of the old nes game.shadow gate or the old nes game uninvited. also reminds me of the csi games if youve played those its a hard game.so put your thinking caps on but i promise you its not a poorly made game.so if dont like mysterey games and into fast action games this game isnt for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not too good

posted by drock1 (CHARLESTON, SC) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Running around the city was hard with the camera angles and lack of directionality & also made superfluous by the "warp" feature on the map. Also a little irked by the fact that it doesn't auto-use items in your inventory. Puzzles were ehh. Game feel was ehh. Story was alright.
Too bad though - had high hopes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

easy achievements

posted by Rigo3220 (APO, AE) Oct 16, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

easy achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Jack the Rip OFF

posted by XBLRadio (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Leave this one alone! It is truly awful. Nothing but constant chatter, constant backtracking, and awkward game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sherlock Holmes vs. Jack the Ripper

posted by Xtract9 (VISALIA, CA) May 2, 2010

Member since May 2010

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

As a sherlock fan it's irritating to say this game lacked too much. It should've just been strictly for the pc. Don't expect an all out action/adventure slugfest in a stable with Pig Joe & the gang. This is totally for those who enjoy simply moving their character from one place to another and solving puzzle after puzzle. With that being said, it also adds to the fact that the Sherlock Holmes character didn't feel like Sherlock Holmes at all. The game just focuses on him as a detective and not as a technical tactition of the beautiful martial art that is dear to Holmes (in this case, brawling). The best thing this game can be compared to is probably American-made sphaghetti-sauce. No herbs, no spices, and no flavor!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GAME IS HORRIBLE

posted by philip0221 (CHICAGO, IL) May 15, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

THIS IS THE WORSE GAME i HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE, AND I'VE PLAYED SOME BAD GAMES BEFORE! DO NOT RENT OR BUT YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

W T F

posted by x40milesx (FORT WORTH, TX) May 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 48 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Seriously?
Don't waste your time.
No, really.
Don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sherlock holmes vs jack the ripper

posted by dracpyro (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

the game had worse graphics than the original playstation way too involved in general i do not recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really?

posted by tim5494 (LYNWOOD, IL) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game was horrible it was so boring that id rather play maplestory... it was just bad....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a sad budget pc game getting good ratings???

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 31 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

who exactly are the people rating these games??? developers of the title perhaps...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a terrible game

posted by Metallica0 (BEAVERTON, OR) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

Wasted time playing this game and it ended up glitching out and i was unable to complete a puzzle, not that i really cared about seeing the ending but i still wasted time trying to get to the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse