Rent Shellshock 2: Blood Trails for PS3
view large frontback

Shellshock 2: Blood Trails

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.7

820 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SHELLSHOCK 2

posted by jsl990 (EUCLID, OH) May 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a fan of horror games I was looking forward for this game. The first game (Shell shock Nam67) was really impressive to me. Not only the authenticity of the environment and structure,but the weapons,gore and plot really intrigued me. I love what I saw from the First Mission all the way to the last. Shell shock 2 Blood Trails really impressed me. It had a crazy plot,gore,weapons and many other aspects that interested me. There may not be as many weapons as the last game. There's the M16,AK47,Mosin Nagant, Tokarov TT33, S&W M17,M1911, M14, M870 and the M60. But they did alright in this game. Also the game had a intense plot with many cool cut scenes. And unlike the last game, The protagonist speaks. You may not be able to see him but at lease he has things to say. The gore was great,blood,neck snapping, Gun butting and dismemberment. Key elements that makes a horror game great. Lastly You now have a choice of ending. They make seem the same but it has a long term effect on the player and the war. Yeah it could have used some extras when you beat the game, and yeah it could have been a third person shooter. Still looks OK. All in all Id rate this game above average. Besides, there's always room for improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game for PS3

posted by Bamarhoade (SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, IL) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I recomend not wasting your time with this game. Graphics are not good, gameplay is horrible, storyline is even worse, I mean, I enjoyed the first one very much and was excited about this one, but it just failed all over, I sent the game back the same day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waist you're time

posted by FPSfan (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Horrible graphics, really bad sound effects, and overall 'smoothness' of game 0 out of 10. Returned it within 10 minutes of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Allright

posted by ericloyd82 (CYPRESS, TX) May 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game wasnt very good, the story was allrught but the gameplay was a little lacking, it was like a regular run of the mill, but a little below average, first peron shoorter. I did not play this game through so i cannot comment on the whole game but from what i played it was unsatisfatory in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolute garbage

posted by Jdubski (CHANDLER, AZ) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Worst game ever on PS3! Graphics arent that good, the sound effects are terrible and its hella boring and lame. I played it for about 15 min before returnig it. What the heck were the creators thinking? Are they mentally challenged? This game freaking sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ShellShock 2

posted by Sherlock (IMMOKALEE, FL) May 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game was alright, but could of been better. The story line with zombies in vietnam was good but, the gameplay, graphics, control configuration could of been better. So rent it before you think about buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What were they thinking?

posted by dsector (ABBEVILLE, SC) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Didn't like it, with titles like C.O.D., Gears of War, Resistance and so many other good shooters. You have to wonder what these developers were thinking by putting out a sub par game such as this. 3 or 4 years ago this game would have been awesome, but now it isn't even close to the level a PS3 or Xbox 360 should be seeing. I wouldn't waste your time waiting for it to come in the mail, it will probably be sold for $2.00 in a few months then you can use it as a coaster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

don't buy it

posted by Jackmnstr (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

great graphics, killing zombies gets monotonous, beat it in a about 10 hours on medium difficulty. i'll admit it had some scary parts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak excuse for a shooter

posted by temak82 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I just finished playing the first level and will probably return the game. Like the previous review said, this game would have been good on a PS2 a few years back. The graphics are very mediocre, sound effects are pretty bad as well as the lighting/shading. Not to mention that it's pretty much impossible to see who is shooting at you.

I'd recommend to skip this one altogether, get Fear2 and Killzone 2 that are out as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont buy

posted by yamaha250g (DARLINGTON, SC) Apr 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

K, first things first. this is not as good as alot of shooters out there but these guys make it seem as if the world is falling apart because of this game. this is my first reveiw and im doing this because those others just write stupid stuff.

I rented this from a local movie store and played and thought it was ok. i got to like forth level nd thought it got kinda boring and its deff. not scary. so just rent if bored but dont waste the money.

this could have been a good game if the controls werent totally diff. from other games so it messes u up. the graphics are OK and the actuall story was a really good idea. they just need to improve the actual game play nd G
uns deff. o and dont try to hide because they always see you and you can not get behind cover because they always hit you.

HOPED YOU LIKE MY FIRST REVEIW AND HAV MANY MORE TO COME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

didnt like

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

i didnt like this game its more of a zombie game than a vietnam game your always out numbered no mater what

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth wasting your time with

posted by Falcon3268 (PENDLETON, OR) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game was loaned to me by a friend and by the way it was described as a game that should be really good. However when I started playing it, I found that the storyline was weak and the general idea of it not following it to a point shows that it wasn't worth even playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is okay

posted by 352boyz (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The controller of the game not so good have to turn up the brightness of the game as well it wus to dark and hard to see is not a bad game but don't waste ur time on this game get something better to played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Shellshock 2: Blood Trails

posted by cobra007 (CAMPBELLSVILLE, KY) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This is a pretty solid game. The graphics could be better but the enviroments feel real. The visusls with the oustanding sound effects ,make the game feel real at times. As to the gameplay its your standard first person shooter. Also the Ai is not bad either. All and all, its a solid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sad

posted by TrueGame (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

When the first shellshock came out, Shellshock nam. was a great game. I loved that game. I played it several times but i played this one a terrible storyline play off that was like a want-a-be Zombies for the Call of Duty series. So you are this solider who is introduced to these "Hellish screams" which you hear like twenty times in the first 5 minuets and i dont mean you just hear the screams. He (person you are playing as) continuely says those hellish screams. it gets very very old. the games graphics are like PS2 graphics. The storyline sucks, and you never know where you are supposed to go. I played for 25 minutes and then refused to play anymore. The saddest part is that im very open minded on video games i play all different types and dont normaly... Dislike a game its rare for me to say i just realy dont like that game. But this shellshock shouldnt of had the name Shellshock on it because the first was so good and this one wasnt. It should of just been called bloodtrails thats how bad this game was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i hate it

posted by jdohner (BLAIRSVILLE, PA) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

it was the worst game ever made you couldnt see the whole game was mostly dark it was so stupid it made no sense

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Shell Shock II

posted by Tamster (NORMAN, OK) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

Game was hard to see. Not really very difficult. Not a lot of surprises to it. Language would stop me from allowing a teen to play and was not something that I enjoyed either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK game not great

posted by rvcc81 (CAMBRIDGE, MA) Jan 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

In my opinion nice game, good senery. those are my thoughts regarding the pros the cons: the controls very complicated but the controls won't drive you crazy. targeting system is really hard to control for me. Those are the cons. I'm ADD and I love video games but despite me giving this a low rating it was a decent game it gave me a challenge. Games with great graphics, storyline and can give anyone a challange is a good game.

All in all 6/10 for this Vieateam shoot em up game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boring ...dumb

posted by clayton75 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

nuff said!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok but nothing like shellshock nam 67

posted by brian22 (STOCKTON, CA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The graphics are ok,storyline is good,it seems like they were trying to make a vietnam game with a resident evil mixed in to it but were totally off. Team ai sucks,enemy ai is ok. Its worth renting but far away from worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad, but not real good

posted by hazzard (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

I read the about the game, but i had to find out for myself if it was any good or not. I got the game and put it in and played the first level. It turn out to be a first person shooter instead of a 3rd person like the first one. I think it was cool that it changed to 1st person to give you more of a true look of the soldier see's. As you progress through the game you come across an undead vie-cong solider that jumps down in a trench trying to rip you apart. Alot of the motion controls are pointless and should have been fixed. As you more through more of the game you fight the undead more often. The thing i wish they fixed a bit about the aiming system for the game is that it would be just a bit smooth. It would be nice if you could go back to base and chose another weapon of your choice instead of just using what they give you. It would nice if you could go online with it and play others. Story wasn't bad with the zombies, but could use some more work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the first one was so good

posted by jacobtime (OREGON CITY, OR) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

i don't know why they made this game it's awful in every way shape and form the first one for the ps2 was alot of fun . I would list off the good points of this game but it had none,now for the bad points....BAD GRAPHICS,BAD AIM,BAD GAMEPLAY,ENEMYS ARE HARD TO SEE,BORING,VERY BAD LEVEL DESIGN,THE SIX AXIS USE DOES'NT WORK WELL WITH IT,ALL AND ALL THIS IS MAYBE THEE WORSE GAME ON THE PS3 AND I WOULD OF BEEN BETTER OFF RENTING KUNG FU PANDA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game downright sucks

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) May 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

This game is so bad I'm having trouble even trying to remember all the things wrong with this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage!

posted by RedDragon (Channahon, IL) May 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This was one of the worst games I have ever played! there should be a law against this type of abuse!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GooD/BaD review

posted by JayJay99 (GREENCASTLE, PA) May 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

Hey these posts that ppl have been posting up are trash alls they tell you is the bad stuff about the game well im here to tell you the good stuff. First off I played the game for a day and sent it back I personally didnt like it but it deoends on the person. If your into PS2 graphic WAR/ZOMBIE game then this is the game for you. This is my first post I'll be posting more so rate me and try this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse