Rent Shaun White Snowboarding for PS3
view large frontback

Shaun White Snowboarding

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
5.0

1531 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste of time

posted by FoxHound22 (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i just rented this game and i was really hoping it would be another great snowboarding game. It turns out it wasen't the controlls are very confusing, and there are short glitches that need to be fixed for example i was riding at the top of the hill and there was a giant hole in the mountain and as i tried to jump it I fell in the glacier and it didn't spwan me at the top of the mountain instead I was stuck in the glacier and I couldn't get out so therefore I had to start all over. If your the person who likes trying to unlock things such as snowboards or gear or whatever it might be then this is not a game for you. I sure hope that they make a snowboarding game like they did on the ps2 which was: SSX. If you have a ps2 or a ps3 I recomend you playing it first before you play Shawn White Snowboarding. I hope this review was usefull.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great with some cons

posted by fightermav (ORINDA, CA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Saun White is an incredible game that uses some stellar graphics and awesome gameplay but has some mistakes and flukes that give the player a frown every so often. First of all, the board isnt really on the snow, its front end "hovers" over the snow indicating a programming flaw. Second, the wipe outs are unreal as the character crashes then gets up in less than a second. Otherwise i LOVE this games and would totally recommend it to ANYONE snowboarder, skier, or none; its still a great game to play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Game

posted by CharlieKly (NEWARK, DE) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Now Gen systems seem to be lacking in a huge variety of snowboard, surf, etc games, but this one isnt as bad as people make it out to be. If you liked skate you should be able to find some fun here. Granted skating and snowboarding are very different so you cant really compare them. When I first started playing I didnt like it as much, but after a week or so I got used to the controls and allowed myself to experience the relaxing nature of the game. There is a lot to explore and I really see no major fault with it. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

shaun's yard sale

posted by diadoram (AMES, IA) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

shaun white snowboarding was a fantastic idea without a whole lot of replay value. The open, free roam world was pretty awesome- however, by the time you saw something that looked sick to try, you were already halfway down the mountain. The map pull-up to see where you were was very vague, making it hard to get to places you wanted to explore. The graphics were great.. the controls were not. Moments that tried your patience were far too often. For such an free roam game, it was fun just to fly down and through the other boarders and see the landscape. The creative use of a helicopter to the top of the mountains, and chair lifts to get partway, was also great. This game was aimed for groups of boarding bums wanting to try sick tricks, all sitting on the couch enjoying some brews.. instead, waiting to take turns to try tricks that not any one person in the group could master. The fact that only one person could play at a time also led to my decision that they just didn't meet gamers expectations and needs. (yes, there is multiplayer online, but this game would truly thrive with a couch full of smack talking and snowball throwing)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

shaun white snowboarding

posted by jrides4 (GRAND LAKE, CO) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game sucks!!!!!! cool boarders graphics, game play, just bigger world. you get no real feeling or riding like you even do in 1080. i own it, wish i had got it from game fly so i could send it back, i thought it was going too be good. riding around online can be fun, but the game is awful. do not buy, sorry shaun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid startup Franchise

posted by Seraphim (ESCANABA, MI) Dec 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Let's start off by saying that 8 might be a slight overrating but this game, imho, is deserving of a 7-8 thus far. The graphics are excellent, the slopes are varied & good, the controls work, & there's some good tracks, though fairly limited, to listen to.

First off Shaun White Snowboarding is more Sim than Arcade so you're not really going to get the SSX moments out of this title. That being said it also doesn't feel like a hardcore sim. Which is good, but it's bloody hard to do the competitions. Of course a lot of that could be w/ the board I'm using and level of progression you'll gain by earning money & getting better equipment.

Anyway, the riding is real smooth, the tricks are easy, grinding is about what you'd expect & the slopes are pretty well designed. As others have pointed out there is a real lack of that feeling of speed & often it REALLY shows in that you can't get any big air. Which is where a level of arcade style would have really helped this game imo. But remember it is a sim of sorts & they wanted to emulate a more realistic feel into the game... Overall though the gameplay is solid...

There's a few different styles of events, & other trivial things such as collecting 3 tokens at each of the 4 locations to unlock focus. Then there's also 3 other sets of 3 tokens times 4 locations to get as you progress...

There's a decent amount of events & stuff to do & they're all very challenging to take 1st place in. They allow you to fast travel up the slops to ski lift positions & some of the slopes offer air lift to get to the very top of the mountain. However if you want to compete in an event you have to travel to the nearest ski lift then snowboard/walk to the event. I think a fast travel to events would have been a nice addition. Though at the same time it might allow you to just rip through the game & not really enjoy it.

Anyway, if you're into the genre check this game out.

not 1 of my best reviews but I felt I had to get something out there..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

yuck.

posted by usmcair23 (WOBURN, MA) Oct 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with this game. Everyone knows Shawn White from snowboarding on television. He competes in all of the biggest events all over the world. So why am I stuck with riding the same 4 mountains? I thought the mountains were poorly designed for game play, and the actual playing of the game was ridiculously redundant. On another "bad" note. The controls were terrible. In a snowboarding or skateboarding game you should never have the spin control serve as the steer control. This makes for very annoying unnecessary crashes. I thought the focus powers were a little unnecessary as well. When it came down to it, I thought I was playing a watered down, less fun version of SSX Tricky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I'd rather play 1080 and Coolboarders

posted by hardtosayx (COATESVILLE, PA) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really liked the game Shaun Palmer's Pro Snowboarder. It had good music too. But this game, I can't even figure out the controls. You can't speed yourself up, you don't get much air at all. I played it for a very very short time. I gave up trying to play it. The graphics are decent, but doesn't make up for the lack of good gameplay. And I would really rather play 1080, Coolboarders and Shaun Palmer's, so that's pretty sad on this game's behalf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Shaun White's Huge Letdown.

posted by Shrimpman (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this game but the controls are the worst I have seen in a long time and the only way I would be able to finish this game is if I was locked in a cage with it for 10 years. It's awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Typical

posted by BoomTown (CHINO HILLS, CA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Just another fantasized snowboard game. Everything except the gear is unrealistic and lame. I expected a lot beter from a pro snowboarder, or maybe not because Shaun White is a lame corporate sellout that little 8-year olds love.

Graphics are a 7/10. snow and trees lack realism
Gameply is a 6/10. Ever since skate, other games gameplay just feels sketchy

Amped 3 is a lot worse than this, but i still cant be content with what snowboard games have to offer at this point. I want realism, and i want a fun game. This isnt quite it. It has some cool gear and stuff, but besides that the game is pretty lame. Rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What did you expect?

posted by Mikerra (Grand Rapids, MI) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Just like the title what do you expect?
After seeing this introduced at E3 I knew it wouldent be above par I was right.

Lets just start from the begging you have shawn white doing his thing yadayada, well anyway you go along mountains terring it up on the slopes while idiots throw snoballs at you. Well thats it.

what Im most dissapointed about is the contols isnt that the most important part of the game? I guess not these guys needed to take a few tips from the makers of amped 2 it is not smooth contols it feels very rigid and unpolished.

I dont feel like wasting anymore of my time on this my ruling is as follows.

Gameplay - 6.0 (controls suck)
Graphics - 7.0 (ehh its alright)
Sound - 6.5 (Buch of expected boarder music)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WOW

posted by burtonguy (LAKESIDE, CA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Did not think that Mr. White would let a game come out that disrespects snowboarding. Terrible controls with no sense of speed. Way to go looser!

Contest riders should not be allowed to help design a video game!

Cool Boarders was and is a better game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame beyond belief

posted by Stonedelve (CLEARWATER, FL) Dec 28, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game tried to be Amped...and failed miserably. My son generaly loves these kind of games...Not this one. Play skate, or Tony Hawk..but avoid this game. Controls suck,graphics sub par. 2 thumbs down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by DizzleD (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 26 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SOOO SICK!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SHOWN WHITE SNOW BORDING THIS GAME EARNS A 3 OR 2

posted by gameflymaster (NEW HAVEN, CT) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

its not bad ill give it a 3 becase the coins arent so easy there almost isent eny real missoins. but the ticks are easy to do maybe too easy we want a challenge for the tricks. like a trick missoin mybe when you got all the coins you could face shown white

THE GAME IS SHOWN WHITE SNOW BOARDING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Eh.. Nope

posted by Haylew (NEWBERG, OR) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I was not happy at all I was looking at this game hoping that it would be closer to a skate style game for snowboarding but this is closer to an ssx game... again.. so if your looking for a realistic snowboarding game.. Well your not going to find anything for the ps3 this is all we get so far. One major thing that ticked me off about this game was the fact that you jumped up slowly but as soon as you started to come down it was like 5 times faster than the speed you went up. So this made it very difficult for me to time the tricks and flips while riding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not fun at all

posted by killkarp (OMAHA, NE) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

horrible graphics (the board is either under the snow or hovering over it)
tricky controls (the jump button is one of the trigger buttons, but I'm sure this could be changed)
I played this game for about 10 minutes to see if it would get better (it didn't take even 1 minute to realize it was awful).
I've played way better snowboarding games (amped was so much better despite the cartoons)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by ksmith676 (WALCOTT, IA) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

h=wow this game sucks had it for 10 mins and im sending it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for me

posted by yemphish (WEST WARWICK, RI) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I played this game for 20 minutes and sent it back. It was well detailed and the graphics were good. But it just wasn't for me, I could not get the handle of the controls and found it difficult to navigate to challenges.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and awesome!!!!!!!!

posted by littlejj26 (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

this game is cool i played it on the 360 but i bet on the ps3 this game is better,ok the people out there that said this game is not fun or say it's yuck then you got a problem because this game is about snowboarding,freedom,and shaun white!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game stinks

posted by Zacharacam (ELMER, NJ) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

this game took me over 3 three days ust to get all of the euros and some of the yens its so boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hppe the make a new one with cooler areas

posted by BISENN (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Hope that this was the first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shaun .... what the heck

posted by AzClimb (MESA, AZ) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I was totally stoked to play this but was left lacking...First the controls had me in tangents ... not because they were confusing just wrong...
The gameplay is slightly repetitious... only 4 mts... really?
I liked this game for about 3 nights and now it sits on the shelf... bummer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by jkrollings (NORCO, CA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

this is the worst game I've ever played i felt like kicking my television in that is how bad it was. If you want a free roaming game then get Skate 1 or 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good but not good enough

posted by videogame1 (NEW MARKET, MD) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i do love this game but the graphics and very good. the tricks are good but i think its a copy off of tony hawk's downhill jam.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse