Rent Shaun White Snowboarding Road Trip for Wii
view large frontback

Shaun White Snowboarding Road Trip

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

1091 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

ROCKS!

posted by capthuge (VICTOR, NY) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is a BLAST!

Great music and if you have a Balance board - it's absolutely a blast to play. great exercise, a lot of fun. a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by gamecat78 (DENTON, TX) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's not much to it, but this game is a lot of fun. I have only played it using the balance board, but it's great. The simplicity of the controls allow you to play it right away and just figure out the tricks as you go. Fantastic use of the balance board

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

shawn white snowboarding wii

posted by pinion (EMINENCE, KY) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome. Does excellent job of replicating real snowboarding. Graphics are great. Background is way better than some PS3 games i recently rented. Good music. What a workout on the balance board. Bought the game within 30 minutes of opening the gamefly package.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ould Have Been Big Air

posted by Chris1988 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I love Extreme sports, and love the games.Considering I can not board my self I was really looking forward to hitting slopes on my Wii Fit board.
While this game does use the Wii Fit board, if someone who is lighter then hopes on after you, they can't get it to work. It needs to recalibrate to the users weight if lighter then you. So it is a bust for party games. Now the game does make good use of this board, lots of the tricks are done with how you shift your weight.
Graphically, it is decent for a Wii game.
One flaw that I did not enjoy is there are only four mountains and it is not a sandbox type snowboarding game. I also could not create my own boarder.
In short, because I really hate writing game reviews. The game is fun for a rental, but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shaun White Snowboarding

posted by monorail76 (WESTERVILLE, OH) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome!! It is so much fun even if you do not have a wii fit board. My friends and I played each other for hours one day and didn't realize the whole day was over. Its fun for kids of all ages!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wii have a hit on our hands...

posted by VegasRiv (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot going for it:

It's a hugely fun to play, alone or even better with a friend. An absolute must for your library, due to high replay value. No two runs are the same.

It's SIMPLE to play.
I preferred to use the wii-mote instead of the balance board, leaving that to the younger, more agile members of the family. Tricks are simple to do and with a little practice, You will be surprised at what is possible.

The music is multiple genre and will appeal to the whole family.

The cartoon-y character graphics add to the overall pleasant environments. Nice to look at.

All in all, this game should be on your shelf at home. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Easier Then It Looks

posted by bohicaou (RESTON, VA) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For the whiners, "It looks toooo HARD!" I am a gimp as in disabled vet, and along with fit I use this game as part of my aerobic exercise time. I found the controls and the game concepts easy to understand. My wife and I find it humorous and a way to play together.

The graphics are what are to be expected from the Wii, this is not an XBOX, but they are pleasant, and functional. The biggest wow items are that this game is competitive; fun level ramps up slowly; controls are easy to master with plenty of room to grow. The slickest thing about this game is that when I reached the point I had to rest, {remember the handicapped part mentioned earlier} I was shocked to find out that I needed a towel to wipe of the sweat I had built up. I had been having so much fun, I honestly had to think a minute to realize it was from 'playing a game.' I mean I usually am not laughing and sweating that hard. Is it really a game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Game

posted by Suspiria66 (TERRELL, TX) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

We loved this game. Using the balance board really adds a new dimension to the game. The soundtrack was pretty good as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Games

posted by sirrich211 (HARRISBURG, NC) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Me and the kids can't stop playing it. May end up buying it.

Nothing like the real thing, but still is alot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for wii

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Using the wii board is hard and thats why many like it. The game is one of the best for the wii board and although it can get a little boring the game is diffuntly gold

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun in the snow with out the cold

posted by EvilD68 (BUFFALO, NY) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I though this game way pretty good, graphics were a bit mediocre on the WII, but so are most other games. Pretty simple to play as the first thing you do is get a walk through. It gets progressively harder as the game plays on. Never snow boarded so i don't know how close to the real thing it is, but it was fun. Scoring could use some improvement thou.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a BLAST!!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never snowboarded in my life before getting this game that came in a package deal with my Wii Fit. It was super easy for me to figure out how to play it. I do tricks off (still figuring this part out)of the jumps but my favorites are the sliders. I'm still figuring out how to steer too as my rider goes where I don't want him/her to go sometimes. You get points for tricks and if you're successful at it you get a ticket which opens something else up. You get another run to play with, earn another ticket, points, etc. You get 5 tickets then you open up another country to play in. I found this out last night and just opened up Chile. You can play this game without the balance board but I can't imagine how fun it would be without the board. I got off of my board last night sweating and breathing hard. It's great exercise, a ton of fun and by far my favorite game to play on my Wii that I own which isn't that many right now. I can't get enough of this game as I have such a good time with it! I can't recommend this game enough! The graphics on this game are amazing too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Balance Board makes the game

posted by linz127 (WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I snowboard often, and was very pleased that the relative footing and weight distribution is similar to the sport. The backside of my legs even burn after a few runs.

Perfect to have a couple friends over and take turns riding.

The cartoon style graphics are great, I'm happy Ubisoft spent the extra time to make the graphics more Wii compatible and didn't go for the 3D realistic xfx possible on other consoles.

Lets be honest, we all bought Wii's because we were intrigued with it's physical interactivity. I think this game takes that experience to the next level.

The game does require a fair level of coordination, however after minimal practice, non-gamers will be turning tricks, and slamming rails like they've been born to ride.

Without the balance board, I don't recommend the rental. It's a basic turn your wrist, shake your remote, sit on the couch kind of game.

I bought it almost instantly after riding with the balance board. In fact, I can't wait to get out of the office today so I can go play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

in the end couldn't win

posted by bobman (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok i love snowboarding and the wii they finally put them together and you get this game. it has super awesome music like don't fear the reaper your characters are cool cut scenes are pretty funny and gameplay is awesome. the drawback it might just be for me because i am really bad at half pipes and the ending challenge is a half pipe and i tried everything and couldn't make it. i say it is an almost perfect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loads of fun ( we kept this one )

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I'll make this short and sweet. As someone who snowboards every winter this game is fantastic. The game isn't completely realistic with the balance board, but it's real enough that it's a great fun to play. You get the feel of doing the toe and heel turns like in real life. Steering takes a little getting used to as it's slightly touchier then real boarding, but you can adjust the balance board sensitivity.

Bottom line:
If you like to snowboard, or are curious what it feels like and own a balance board. Rent this, no buy it. At the curent price this is a great value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game, not too difficult

posted by DonStar (TALLMADGE, OH) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

So far we're really enjoying this game. We do not have a balance board (heard all the issues with changing players) but the control with the remote are difficult enough to make it challenging but easy enough to make it fun.

As SSX fans it's hard to keep our attention on a snowboarding game but this one does a pretty good job.

There's a lot of cool tricks to do and the rails are pretty fun.

The graphics are not as good as we thought they might be. It's hard to get a good idea of the slope when you're landing or exactly where the ramps are sometimes. It's very 1 dimensional.

We're looking forward to the next one, hopefully the graphics will be a little better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent Overall

posted by s1aveone (FORT GRATIOT, MI) May 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

The game plays great with the Wii Balance Board...until the more difficult challenges come up. It "works" but it is very difficult to use the Balance Board after you get so far. The Wii Remote controllers are extremely tight though and very responsive. The graphics look decent enough on my 37" HDTV and the licensed soundtrack is quite good at complimenting the style of the game. Its not quite perfect but this is still a blast to play. Just be prepared for a tough time about 2/3 into the game if you are using the Balance Board as your primary controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boo

posted by deadeye78 (WINSTED, CT) May 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

This Game is so bad on the wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Entertaining but difficult controls

posted by danfwii (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) May 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

My family had some fun, but ultimately the controls kept us from an exhilirating experience. Graphics are good, challenges are fun and pace of gameplay is adequate. Still, controlling the board is so artificial that they'd be better off ditching the wii balance board and going with the remote instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shawn White - Not Bad!!!!

posted by Jambots (OAK PARK, CA) May 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Interesting Game, entertaining, difficult without being so hard it's boring.

Even my grand daughter likes it, and that's saying something! She doesn't like anything! :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Feel the snow in your face

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 8, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Shaun White Snowboarding Road Trip has a lot going for it, but it falls short of greatness. You'll still find yourself looking to hit the powder.
The story is simple: Shaun has asked a bunch of boarders to follow him on a worldwide tour of the best slopes you could ask for. As you travel to each country, you'll pick up more members of your motley crew, each with their own strengths. Each boarder has a set of stats that make them best suited for big air, tricks, speed, etc. But they also have different power-ups for you to use when assigned as the cameraman. This is a nice touch, because I always wondered who was taking all that beautiful footage on the mountain.
Road Trip's biggest strength is it's simplicity. Take off that nunchuk, because you won't need it. Tilt the Wiimote left or right to turn, flick up to jump, flick to the side for tricks (aided by the A & B buttons), A speeds you up, B slows you down. That's about as simple as it gets.
Road Trip's biggest weakness is it's over-simplicity. Using your Wiimote to control all these functions at the same time can make complex tricks and actions really awkward to pull off effectively. And the Wiimote has a tendency to ignore your flicks while your turning, meaning you'll start doing an elaborate ground right before you hit the ground and get covered in snow. This is most evident by the frustrating half-pipe courses, which will test your wrist's motor skills to the limit. I really wish they just added the nunchuk so movement controls were mapped separate from tricks. Luckily, if you have a balance board, you can use it in conjunction with the Wiimote.
I still think snowboarding games reached their peak with SSX3. Road Trip does a good job, but still doesn't measure up to that benchmark title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you have an Xbox 360 get it for that.

posted by LoyalRebel (DOWNEY, CA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

So I am a big fan of the Wii and its innovation to the gaming world so when I heard this game uses the Wii fit board as a control I was all in. So overall Shaun White Snowboarding Road Trip was a fun game but not a great game. The controls worked well and it was fun to use the Wii fit balancing board to make it feel like your really snowboarding. The games art style and story did its work for the game but is not at all anything special. The main flaw in this game it that it just gets redundant really fast. Since your most likely only going to have one Wii Fit Board multiplayer is limited and really there is little player to player interaction (you cant directly effect the other person). The tricks are also realistic but personally I prefer the classic tony hawk games where you can grind everything and unrealistic but freaking awesome combos. Shaun White falls under the category that more realistic does not equal more fun. Also as you wonder about the title of this blog by now, So I saw my friend playing this cool snowboarding game and I asked what it was. To my surprise it was Shaun White Snowboarding. I will not to begin to rant on how watering down good games to make Wii games out of them is a crime to gaming humanity, but instead say get Shaun White Snowboarding for Xbox 360 and have a lot more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool & fun game for the entire family

posted by Rampage3 (CREST HILL, IL) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I love this game that you can change the sensitivity of the balance board it helps you get more control. I wish there were more characters to choose from, you can only choose from 2 characters, one boy & one girl. Maybe as you advance through the game you get more players but we have not gotten there yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Bad, Could Be Better...

posted by Meekson (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

Overall the game is decent, making good use of the balance board. Doing tricks in air were fairly easy. The only control problem I had was getting the board to respond to left-right movements while on the ground, could be better. Definantly a rent before buy game. Fun to play, but I would not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Underwhelming

posted by SDean98 (SPRING HILL, TN) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

My son and I tried this game extensively with the remotes and using the board and it was a big disappointment. We couldn't find a tutorial on the disc which is plain absurd so we tried to figure it out as we went and were very disappointed. Looking at the avg rating it seems others aren't that happy with Wii's version of White either. We are hopeful other skiing/snowboarding games come out and improve on this dud. Rent it before you buy it that is for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »