Rent Shattered Union for Xbox
view large frontback

Shattered Union

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.6

858 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Impressed by the unexpected

posted by 4yunglings (DAYTON, OH) Jul 28, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, if you're expecting an RTS (Real Time Strategy) you've come to the wrong game.

After reading the reviews I was very intrigued by this game. I had never tried a turn based strategy game before on a console, but had played around with them before on my PC, what I found was a pleasantly appealing game that holds its own from a strategy view, but does fall on a few things.

The strength of this game is the strategy, first and foremost. I felt the AI was very competitive and seemed to respond well whenever I would change my game plan. I found myself engulfed for hours trying different things in order to succeed.

I thought the animations could have been better, and sometimes the sound would not match to what was happening onscreen. Other than that, I thought the game was very fun, and that goes a long way with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good concept.

posted by nova0629 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Shattered Union is an interesting take on strategy games-No longer can you just throw units away at will to attain an objective, you must actually think about what units you wish to attack and defend with. The premise of the game (civil war caused by terrorist action) is a feasible (though not altogether probable) idea, allowing for a great number of factions and units to be used. Special abilities granted due to faction allegiance as well as political/moral choice round out a great game. If you are a fan of strategy gaming (as I am), then you have to give this game a once-over. Believe me, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Old-School" Board Game Feel To It!

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Apr 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Shattered Union is a game that just about anyone could pick up and enjoy.

It is a lightweight wargame that gets the combat right. To be fair it's an enjoyable, though flawed, strategy game. First off, it handles what otherwise are complex issues into simple, easy to understand, terms. You can pick this game up for the first time, run through the tutorial, and know what your doing from move #1.

Your units gain experience over time, becoming more powerful & more valuable. It becomes part of the strategy, to use or to save these experienced units. What makes this deeper, is that units used per battle need time to "rest" from one battle to the next. Thus you need to manage what units will be used, and which are to be left behind to guard against counter attacks.

The AI is pretty good when on defense, as it knows how to keep forces in reserve and it likes to attack when your forces are strung out en route. On offense, unfortunately, is where the the AI is fairly predictable. They tend to send units a few at a time, even when up against multiple targets. They also tend to attack random units. Where a smart AI would take out the biggest potential threat in the area. This makes it easier to leave a small inexpensive unit in front of (or behind) your more powerful ones to set up as pawns and take the fire, giving your powerful units time to counter or run.

A bigger issue at hand is the lack of depth behind the strategic portion of the game. There's a lack of simple diplomacy. It would have been nice to have been able to create alliances and gang up on the more powerful factions. Progress in the game is VERY slow, unless you cheat. Odds are you'll be counterattacked in the same territory you just won by the same faction multiple times.

But what gets me the most is the slow load time between screens. During the game it's fine...but loading takes what seems to be forever and a day.

All that aside, Shattered Union has a big "old-school" Board Game feel to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Chess Game

posted by Red2ThNeck (JUNCTION CITY, OR) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a lot like chess, i actually like chess so that's why i gave it a 3 not a Zero. Flaws I saw were you can't use the same units you use to Attack with to also Defend with. Secondly you have to keep pushing the A button to skip threw the AI's moves, you can't just hit it once and it moves them all quickly. Third, you couldn't purchase unit's when you were defending, you could only purchase Stationary units( i.e bunkers, artillery) and the Stationary units are one time use, you loses them after using once. Graphics were ok, you can zoom in and see a little more detail. i enjoyed bombing the towns.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than I originaly thought.

posted by vinnylashe (GEORGETOWN, OH) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After getting the controls down to a working thing, we actualy enjoyed playin this game.If you like risk this one is much better.we had it for a week and took the country back with 4 different factions and by the time you make it to take back Alaska from the rusians they realy don,t have much of a chance. If you can't strategize then leave this on alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

shattered union

posted by vermin (TORRANCE, CA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

good game
good replay
worth owning
but no follow-up game
console version panzer leader 3d
i like the strategic mode
no real leaders
no hiding units
great story line especially the intro

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disappointing

posted by frcrash (HOMESTEAD, FL) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I love rts games but this one bites the game play is super slow and you can only move 1 unit at a time maybe i got spoiled with red alert ....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Who developed this?

posted by STKOTOR (STOW, OH) Jun 24, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ok game. But terrible features. Like the hex space environment. When i played this it was so hard and to slow for me. This could of bin a very good game but the game writters did a poor job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

i wouldn't even barf on this game

posted by devildoc (ROWLETT, TX) Oct 19, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

there is a game on the mobile phone called military madness which i thought for the phone ehhhh its alright, but if it were a game haha. welp guess what this is that game. me personally i love strategy and war games i think they are the best out there i mean they are challenging and fun, but this game oh yea this game is bad how bad i cant even describe to you right now cause i am still at a lose of words after i stuck that nastiness in my xbox. please everyone that reads this do yourself a favor and don't rent think or even mention this game shattered union cause it sucks pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

booooooooooo

posted by koolll (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game sucks really i mean 1. its exteamly hard. 2. OMG it just is the worst game i have ever played. And i played pokemon saphire. so boo take 2 not very good job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ouch

posted by melvinj0 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok this game was kinda fun the first time i played it. then it just got boring. i actually paid 35 dollars for this and i totally regret it. do not rent this or buy this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shattered Union

posted by crunchy (SAN LEANDRO, CA) May 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This game is unplayable and lame. The buggy P.O.C. scrolls on its own and it is near impossible to play.

This is an awfully unfun, extremly sucky game. I hate this game, there is nothing good at all about it, i mean the gameplay sucks because only 1 person can move at a time. the graphics are real dated and cheap, there is practly no sound.

For 40 dollars you can have a games thats not worth 40 cents, reveiws tilt? i absolutly hate this game with the passion of 1000 suns. if you buy this, do yourself a favor and shoot yourself before you open it. oh yeah and i forgot about something, your troops can only attack 1 other unit pet turn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't Waste a rental on this game!!!!

posted by AlphaDog (Dunwoody, GA) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

One of the worst games i played in a while...
Dont waste your time on it! very slow, no graphics and BAD in general

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shattered Union

posted by LordXbox (SUGAR LAND, TX) Aug 5, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The games story was pretty good but the game play wasn't all that great! a unit can only fire once you can only move once! Then after you attack someone else's territory all the units that you used in your previous turn can't be used until next time! Good concept and story but it shouldn't be a strategy, it would be a lot better if you a soldier for one of those factions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It sucks

posted by FireLover (VENTURA, CA) Aug 2, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

when i went into the store and saw a game that looks like the command and conquer series but on xbox i thot wow this should be cool, i was wrong at first i thot it was cool but then the idea of only being able to move one at a time makes for a very slow battle, i do not recommend this game so dont waste ur time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay I guess

posted by PIEEEEEEE (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

This game is a one time play through. It was fun the first time but I had no motivation to play through it again. It takes a long time and its hard to make money.And it also has no diplomacy,not even peace treatys.While I was playing as California I had a pretend peace with Texas but that only lasted until they had no where else to go so like 10 turns we were neighbors without fighting.So unless you live right next to a distribution center and can rent this one day then send it back and get your next game the next day,its a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

retarted union

posted by goooooogle (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jul 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

NEVER SHOULD HAVE BEEN MADE

plain and short!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THE WORST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED

posted by Brian29 (QUARRYVILLE, PA) Jun 30, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

I have never played a game this bad ever. Just ever is very bad. I hatted it

I give it a 1 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »