Rent Shadows of the Damned for PS3
view large frontback

Shadows of the Damned

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

2473 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A weird, strange trip...

posted by ZKB (RIO VISTA, TX) Aug 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a deep and intriguing story driven game, look elsewhere. If your looking for a game full of dirty jokes and parodies of horror movies and games, your in the right place.
The story isn't great, the dialog is witty, and makes a normally scary horror game into a horror B-Movie game. Without the jokes, and witty one-liners this game would be freaky. Its a basic 3rd person shooter. If you've ever played 3rd person shooter, the controls will be very familiar. The game is very linear, and the puzzles are very simple. There's quite a bit of enemies, with some variety, but it does feel repetitive after a while. The boss fights are pretty easy, stun, shoot core, repeat. The character models are top notch, and unique. The game took me about 9-10 hours to complete. Its a solid rental, though there's not much replay value. I think I got 70% of the trophies in my 1st playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by blitzmr2 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Resident Evil meets Dante's Inferno. Very unique game. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent game!

posted by theshizps3 (BILOXI, MS) Feb 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Definitely a must play for any survival horror fan. If this game was advertised appropriately it could have sold 10x what it did sell. Enjoyed it, cool weapons, funny bold humor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Resident Evil 4 lives again but this time in He11

posted by Robstyle8000 (DENVER, CO) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Shadows of the Damned..... Damned..... Damned. Ha ha ha.

Welcome to my review for Shadows of the damned. This is a fun, mature, and crazy third person shooter. If you have ever played resident evil 4 and loved it and wanted more, then odds are you are going to love shadows of the damned. It is fron Suda 51 the man who creates Killer 7 and No More Heroes. He also teamed up with resident evil 4 creator and silent hill music creator. It is awsome because the music and sound give the game an eire vibe. The controls are simple and easy. You have aim, shoot, and melee which is mainly used to knock demons back. Also sprint.
What sets this game apart and makes it fun is the crazy story, weapons, and atmosphere. You have a sidekick skull that wields as your tourch and can transform into guns including a pistol a machine gun a shotgun and the big bonner (yep, lol). Also the darkness plays a huge part in the game as you can only kill demons in the light. Think Alan Wake. Light kills and it is also your protector.
The story is typical you are a demon hunter the head demon kidnaps your gal and you go to he11 to kick butt! But trust me what makes it fun is that it doesn't take itself to seriously. It can even poke jokes at it self and does some cool movie refrences film geeks will laugh at.
It stays fun through out the 9 or so hour campaigne deepending on the difficulty. I did normal. Plus spent time looking for red gems to upgrade weapons. But the reason it stays fun is it mixes up the gameplay enough so you can enjoy it and not get bored. Even throws in a couple of 2D levels.
The only real flaws is sometims you hit a button and it feels like a slight delay. This doesn't happen very often. Also the one hit kill levels can be a tad annoying. The biggest flaw is when you beat the game, that is it. There are no bonuses or anything and you can't go back through the story with all your upgraded weapons.
So this game is definitly worth a play for mature gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If firing off a gun called the Big Bone er.....

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Jun 30, 2011

Member since May 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

..is funny to you, then you are in for a good time with Shadows of the Damned. Otherwise you might want to skip this one.

This is the newest game from Grasshopper and Suda 51 and you can definitely see their unique style in this game as well. Shinji Mikami and Akira Yamaoka also helped work on this game as well. So, you definitely see some gameplay elements of Resident Evil 4/DMC from the former and a great moody and atmospheric soundtrack from the latter.

In Shadows of the Damned you play as Garcia Hotspur, Hunter of Demons. Your girlfriend gets killed, kidnapped, and taken to the demon world . And naturally, you go in after her. The game plays a lot like Resident Evil 4/5 but with a light/dark element that makes it stand out from those.

Basically, darkness can creep out at anytime and engulf the screen. Most enemies cannot be killed in the dark and you will have to find ways to bring back light so you can kill them. Such as shooting Goat Heads and Sushi Lamps or firing off fireworks. It is actually very well implemented and keeps things fresh throughout the game by continually adding new elements for the entire playthrough.

Then there is Johnson, your Former Demon Skull sidekick that acts as all of your weapons and your source of countless jokes and crude humor. Which can be hilarious at times or a little too over the top. As Johnson gets upgraded your weapons become devastating. One weapon can create sticky remote mines while others fire multiple skulls for massive damage.

As for the Pros/Cons:

Pros:

Combat feels fresh and smooth
Fantastic Boss Fights
Light/Dark Element is very well implemented
Sushi Lamp music is AWESOME
Good Soundtrack
Interesting Puzzles
Very Funny at times
Unique Style
Alcohol heals you

Cons:

A bit too many genital jokes for my taste
Animations can be very wonky at times
Textures sometimes take a while to load in
Not much to do after beating it

If grindhouse humor and gore is your thing, give SOTD a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Resident Evil

posted by voporak5 (WONDER LAKE, IL) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Yeah it is definately Resident Evil 4/5 but it just doesn't feel the same so I didn't like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok but...

posted by ps3456 (PASADENA, CA) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fix the controls and this game will get a higher rating. the story is entertaining but game play is frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A hilarious Underworld experience like no other

posted by jalapeno (FAIRFAX, VA) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Within the first hour, Shadows of the Damned had me hooked. The gameplay is fast-paced, exciting, and slick and the atmosphere is both comedic and disgusting (which sometimes also works to the comedy). The dialogue between Garcia and his demon skull buddy Johnson is hysterical and well-delivered. The boss fights are clever and placed just at the right points in the story. I also did not face the problem I did in chapter-based games like Bulletstorm. Though I loved that game, I had to ask myself at the end of every level "Do I really want to play the next level right now?" I never faced that problem with this game. I wish that the game had a New Game Plus option, but other than that, I have no quarrels with this game. Absolutely fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I wanted to like it

posted by Torm (NEVADA, TX) Aug 10, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

What can I say? The game started off pretty good and was fun despite the story line and dialog that seemed to be written by a 12 year old boy. I actually laughed out loud at a few of the incredibly cheesy one liners and enjoyed the visuals and game setting.

The more you play though the more the frustration sets in. First off the game is extremely buggy. Constant crashing, sound problems, and levels that would not even load properly, followed by a very annoying feature where your lover runs after you at the speed of light and when she gets close to you you die, over and over and over and over. The aiming and controls are TERRIBLE. There is a very frustrating lack of ammo and health "potions" so when you get to a boss you are basically down to 10 "bullets" and maybe a drink or two which is never enough.

I sent this game back without finishing it, just could not handle the stupidity anymore. What a waste, it could have been great.

Also this game is nothing like Devil May Cry, not sure where these folks are getting that from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

spanish Devil may cry

posted by colton16 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 22 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

it is just like devil may cry and what do you expect it is made by the same dude. the story is fun. the gamply is intersesting in so many ways. but in the end it is great and steve blum does good voice acting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

gameplay is fun, but the endless cutscenes kill it

posted by jay1313 (BROOKHAVEN, PA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you stop every 60 seconds to have things explained to you, spelled out for you, get instructed, etc.. it gets real annoying, real fast. The actual gameplay is cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So

posted by Fleshbot (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What could have been a scary, fun, bizarre game is just a long pedestrian walk through a large Hot Topic and Spensers Gifts filled mall at night on the day before something cool happens. You keep thinking that the great thing will be just around the corner, but it isn't. I feel like everyone cool, intelligent, and creative was fired after the first month of working on this game and this is what everyone who was left came up with. CFI

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Shadows of the Damned Completely Spanks

posted by rapini (ROSELLE, IL) Aug 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible! No fun, load times suck, forced cut scenes over and over. Underwhelming weapons regardless of what they are named, the shot gun, really?? It took forever to reload, talk about a useless weapon. Complete frustration simply for the sake of annoyance, not for the sake of game play! If you needed to move quickly it was somehow impeded, if you needed ammo there was none and if you were very close but died you would be forced to play through the entire scene and section again. I wouldn't recommend this as a rent or buy. Only gluttons for punishment could find this game fun, and the whole "in the light or the dark" is still a dreadful game-play idea! I love a challenge, but this game was frustrating and annoying not challenging!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Simple and Stupid

posted by tike0vitz (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks. The aiming is choppy at best, the combat is simple and easy, and the during play voice acting is limited to three different sayings which weren't that funny to begin with and just get more annoying with every move. The character customization thrown into it just to say "RPG Elements" but is really pointless and you can go through the game without ever upgrading and be just fine. Anyways, this game is a waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

major eye strain/head ache on PS3

posted by whatok (RESTON, VA) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Played tons of game with same TV/PS3 and this is one of few that was unplayable. Somethings off with graphics. Tried on multiple days, no issue with anything else. Pop this game in and i can feel my eyes straining after a few minutes. People watching and not playing the game are even worse off. Has OK review on gamefly, assume they're voting for XBOX port.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Gar-Bage

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) Sep 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because it got a reasonably high rating from other players and from Game Informer magazine. How it earned these ratings I do not understand. The 3rd person gun aiming sucks. I mean it SUCKS. You can be standing right in front of an enemy with a SHOTGUN and miss? The game is full of profanity that is not needed. On the easiest mode it is hard to play.

Be warned. It seems like many liked this game. I am not one of them. I literally hated it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You went from Resident Evil to this ????

posted by Shrimpman (COLUMBUS, OH) Jul 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Hey, 2002 called. They said they want their game back. (posterior gas noise).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

meh.

posted by Petrialze (SHORELINE, WA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

If it weren't for the terrible button layout and combat mechanics I might have played this game past chapter 2.

The story, what I saw of it; was entertaining in a childish immature kind of story telling. Attacking zombies with my "big b0ner" is example enough, I wouldn't want to ruin the plot for anyone.

The game wasn't entirely terrilble. I did like the light vs. dark worlds and the graphics were amazing, but it takes much more than that too keep me into a game.

3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Freezing probs

posted by giggles8077 (MISSOULA, MT) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I used to own this game an loved it!! Then I had t stolen from me and recently got a new game system and first priority was to find this game I never got to finish an when I started with gamefly I was so excited they had it an with option to buy but when I got the game an tried playing 3 times and kept freezing before the end of the first act so disappointed really wanted to BUY this game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a waste

posted by kidoplivous (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

The story was lame,the gameplay was clunky,and the ai was just the same.... stay away!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a bad game

posted by gallagher2201 (SNOHOMISH, WA) May 16, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Graphics weren't bad. Game play wasn't bad. Aiming was a little different but I didn't mind it. The game was a little short and a little easy; AI enemies were easy to kill once their patterns were (easily) found. The game was also a little short but all in all it was entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

varry good

posted by PL4YSATION (PHILADELPHIA, PA) May 6, 2013

Member since May 2013

wen i saw this game as soon as it hit stores i didn't want to get it ,but now!!! OMG i missed out if i could go back 2 wen this game came out on launch id pay top 60$ for it NO DOUGH! IF U DIDENT PLAY YET GET IT NOWW ITS VARRY GOOD! 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun!

posted by Flyguy27 (HONOLULU, HI) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Most fun I've had playing a game in a long time. It's a little short, but sweet. It plays like a smoother version of RE4, and the humor is definitely not for everyone, but if you can get into it, it's more than worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by mistagino815 (ALPHARETTA, GA) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

Nice gameplay, with creative RPG elements that give this shooter game good depth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very average.

posted by synce (CUMBERLAND, MD) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

The first 30 minutes of Shadows of the Damned aren't too bad. The game's main problem is that like many shooters it's too repetitive. A clever game designer would get around this problem by making sure there's an interesting story being told (Binary Domain) or putting in some amazing set piece moments (Uncharted). Shadows doesn't have any of that. There's only a vague weapon upgrade system and the occasional weewee joke attempting to break the monotony.

Akira Yamaoka provides a great soundtrack and the boss fights are kind of interesting but tend to drag on too long. All in all this is a game that doesn't have clear-cut direction, which is what happens 100% of the time you get Japanese and American developers trying to collaborate - even when big names like Shinji Mikami and Goichi Suda are involved. A decent rental, but you may not even care enough to finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse