Rent Shadow the Hedgehog for PS2
view large frontback

Shadow the Hedgehog

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, Xbox
GF Rating
6.4

954 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Shadow the hedge hog

posted by PCGamer (COLCHESTER, VT) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought it was an O.K game, its kinda confusing with the choose your destiny stuff. it was just go through the game, but other words I had a good time playing it. It's a good game for people who like the choose your side games and difficult games like this, I think you should try it. But if your on the good side the soldiers will still shoot at you. You really should try this game, its fun, and has a lot of suspense, so check it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

shadow the hedgehog

posted by wingnutaep (FORT WAYNE, IN) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

cant wait to play this it looks awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

sigh..

posted by jmobile (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Why did sega do this? If I wanted a shooter game I could just get call of duty or halo, but I want a sonic game and this is like a rip-off version of all shooter games. I mean I liked to know about shadow and stuff, but they could have made his levels into running and exploring levels instead of this rip off call of duty or halo. Also, if you were looking for a family friendly sonic game it is not this one because all of the sonic characters cuss and shadow shoots humans and aliens with some type of gun. Don't get me wrong I would rather play this than Mario(no offense Mario fans i just like sonic better) but its just not that great. Unless your a shadow fan, don't get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game with a few flaws.

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) May 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fairly entertaining, but has a few flaws. Your gun doesn't have a reticule unless it is a rocket launcher, so a lot of times you end up getting punished by G.U.N. because you accidentally shoot them. All in all fun game. It would have a 10 but the multi-player is too limited, containing only duel death match, so multi-player really let me down. Here are overall stats:
Game play: 10
Controls: 9
Idiot CPU players on your side not shooting you: 0!
Multi-player: 8
Overall: 9
This game is worth buying, or renting. I bought it, and that was a great idea. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Causing Chaos With Shadow Is Fantastic

posted by hedgeH05ID (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Sega game is awesome.Every corner I turned was danger And excitement.This game has awesome graphics.And the weapons were destructive.PLUS The choosing the the path of the character was an awesome IDEA!I really loved the new villain BLACK DOOM.He had a creepy personality.And all of the black creatures INSANE!!!So the next game you rent should be SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Ser- iously it should.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sonic (And Related) Games Aren't Like The Old.

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 8, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked Sonic the Hedgehog and Sonic the Hedgehog 2 for the Genesis, but Sonic and related games aren't like that anymore! This is about Sonic the Hedgehog's enemy Shadow the Hedgehog in a game of his own. The graphics in this game are like the graphics in Sonic Heroes: BAD. It also has boring multiplayer. In this game, you use guns to take down your enemies. One player is okay, but not amazing. Like I said, Sonic games aren't like the original ones. I give this game 5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool

posted by Blockos (NEWPORT COAST, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic. It is cool because every other Sonic related game has been about Sonic, but this one is about Shadow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

COOL, NO MORE THAN COOL AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!ext.

posted by rockin56 (HOBE SOUND, FL) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SOOOOO COOL! Expecilly the gun's you git to use. Plus all the cool vieacale's you git to use. You should rent this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Shadow the Hedghog

posted by cellAMM (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was always wondering when Sonic would showoff his bad side. They did it with Mario and Kirby in Super Smash Bros.. Now instead of Sonic in a darker game we get the already dark Shadow the Hedghog. If you were dying to play this game before it was coming and finally played it you may have been playing a peice of garbage. The game plays like a Sonic game but it doesn't feel like a Sonic game. This comes to the coclusion that all you have to do is give a rated E character a gun, give the game a stupid,twisted story, and make that character say a few curse words and you got game of the year for 7 and 8 year olds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A new breed of hedgehog, Shadow style.

posted by Kabuto (HENDERSON, NV) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Shadow the Hedgehog, one of the popular fan favorite of the series lays claim to his own title, which puts you in control of Shadow to discover the secret of his past and to shape the current's world present and future.

While this game boasts 11 different endings and muliple paths to achieve each stage, which, in itself, choices you can make to change the way the game ends. Do you wish to save the world? Or destroy it so no one remains.

While the idea is quite nice, many of the games endings, and bosses despite different routes are repeats of the same, even some of the endings are near mimics of each other, if you enjoy those bosses and endings, it isn't a big deal, but to those who dislike them, they won't like the idea of such.

Now, the game isn't without it's own flaws, Shadow the Hedgehog has numerous camera issues, Shadow's weaponry sometimes being too tough to aim without the help of a "lock-on' button, but, if you can make it past those problems. The game --can-- be fun, if you're into the Sonic series and do wish to know more bout Shadow's past, or looking for another hedgehog game. Gone however, is the somewhat RPG feel found in the Sonic Adventure Series, and we have a more tradiational Level, by level based game we've seen tried and true to the series.

Each stage has at least 2, sometimes 3 ways of completing it, which can range from get to the "Goal" or defeat 50 hero enemies or 50 villain enemies to proceed to the path.

In game options range from a nice ability to change to either the US Voices or the Japanese voice track depending on your taste of games.

Overall, the game is solid, if you can tolerate the game's before mentioned ingame problems, it's one of those games that require a bit of paitence and understanding before you find yourself controlling Shadow as if you've had all the time in the world too practice.

So, while it may not be for everyone, it is worth considering to those who are a fan of the Sonic series overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE COOLEST GAME WITH SONIC BUT HE'S NOT THE STAR

posted by Sonicfan1 (COVINGTON, LA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game had cool features to let you control Shadow's destiny which makes it awesome and the graphics are INSANLEY AWESOME!!!! RENT THIS AWESOME GAME!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My Total Review

posted by MegaJock (ROWLAND HEIGHTS, CA) May 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Shadow is the bomb! The game though is not that good. First off, the story is confusing. All you do is go around blowing everything and everybody up! Plus it's kinda hard because no matter which side you choose, EVERYBODY STILL SHOOTS AT YOU! The graphics are OK but i think they could've been better, they could've let you look around a little bit more instead of having you stare at whatever's in front of you. I also hate how when you start over at a checkpoint you lose all your weapons! I LOST 300 AMMO ON THE MACHINE GUN MAN!!! There are some good things though, like the weapons you can use are awesome! I LOVE the machine gun! It's also pretty tight how you can play the game for a month and still not finish all the story mode levels. All the abilities you get rock too, chaos blast is AWESOME!!! the other abilities are cool too, like how you can skate, or how you can teleport. The attacks (besides the guns) are not really that helpful either, the only good attack is the homing attack, and even that sucks if you fall off the edge. well I hope you liked my review. later!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shadow The Hedgehog ROOOOOOOOOCKS

posted by 12joshua (EVERETT, WA) Jan 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games I have ever played it has the best gaming and I think having to be Evil or good or none is awesome and like the stories so much(even though it is rated E 10+)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is a butt kicking game!! It rox!! shadow rox!

posted by bilybrger1 (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i luv it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

:/ ...... I don't know.....................- .......

posted by Camilla (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Well......Oh (sigh) I .... don't love or hate it Shadow...well he does say this the bad word it's great but after a while it pushes down!(if did not understand I mean that it's hard & aslo do READ what it says on rated E + 10!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh...

posted by Daklathen (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The controls were confusing and not laid out at the start. It's not the Sonic style game I thought it would be. There are "sub quests" in each level aside from pushing forward and jumping to solve quick puzzles. These sub quests include killing certain types of mobs, IE humans or aliens.

It required slow actions to kill the mobs but at the same time you would fly about 20 feet when you ran in a direction. Its really almost impossible to play.

The story line is really flimsy.

If you are a Sonic fan, don't play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A disapointment...

posted by gamerlove (ATLANTA, GA) May 27, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was sorely disappointed with this game. I don't mind the different missions and the choose your own story line, which seems to be the only highlight of the game, but it's the game's graphics and two player option that disappoint me.

This game moves entirely too fast. By the time your eyes and brain catch up to Shadow, you've fallen into a ditch some where and die. Another thing, in the other Sonic games the second player ACTUALLY makes a difference in the game. In Shadow the Hedgehog, the option to play with another person shouldn't even be there. The second player can't keep up with Shadow at all and when they do they don't do much of anything. Sure they can hit the enemies but what's the point if Shadow is moving around all over the place and the second player is constantly being left behind?

I really should have given this game a rating of 1 for being so user unfriendly but I did like the choose your own missions, so that should be worth something, right?

I hope my review can dissuade people from renting and/or buying this game. I, unfortunately, own this poor excuse of a Sonic game. You would be better off not playing. It will only make people who are die-hard Sonic fans angry as I still am.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh.... pretty good i guess

posted by Bloos1RP (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Apr 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Shadow is not the best or worst Sonic game because there are a few things good and bad about this game. The goods that you get to use a gun instead of just jumping on the enemies, when you get attack you don't have all your ring gone at the same time, pretty fun mission from the good or bad side. The bad that the only playable character is Shadow, you can't get a life when you get 100 rings, and Sonic is ten times better than Shadow and it would be cooler if he was playable. Shadow is mostly good for the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what were they thinking!

posted by thissucks (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this is the worst ever game, he yells &&&& though out the whole game. if you don't like cussing avoid dieing more and the guns are so hard to aim best to shoot homing guns or use swords. and you have to dodge shot and don't touch. even the guys on your side hurt you if you touch them. this game is horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by marluxia (BIG BEAR CITY, CA) Jul 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game if you ask me is preety good if you understand why you do a a over agin

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Paved With Bad Intentions

posted by GRod456 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Shadow the Hedgehog is a "spin-off" game from Sonic Adventure 2 for the Sega Dreamcast, one of the best games in the Sonic franchise. It was essentially the last really good game to be released on the Dreamcast console before it committed suicide when it found out that the Playstation 2 was coming to take the spotlight. However, just like Archie Bunker's Place and Private Practice, Shadow the Hedgehog retains nothing from its predecessor that made is so good. All it managed to inherit is its bad camera controls, which they managed to make even crappier. Half the time you can't tell what is going on which ultimately leads to the player falling to his death on countless occasions. This, coupled with the incredibly bad control scheme, which offers almost no control to Shadow when he is in full speed and very little when he's moving slow, creates some of the most frustrating gameplay in video game history.
Now, from the beginning, you can tell that something is really wrong with this game. There are firearms and a few melee weapons scattered throughout the levels which are a pain to control since the game designers felt an aiming system was unneccessary in a game with guns. Characters from the series are thrown into each level with no explanation and the dialogues sounds less like battle jargon and more like people discussing the weather in a coffeshop. Yeah, there's 11 possible endings but in order to get to these endings, you are either incredibly determined or mentally ill.
Today, Shadow the Hedgehog is recognized as being one of the worst video games ever made and is a prime example of what not to do with a popular and long-standing franchise. Since the release of this game, there hasn't been one really good Sonic game to come out and yet, the game still recieved a huge fan base. This once again proves that no matter how bad something is, it can still spawn a wave of approval from misguided fan boys and girls. I call this the "Robert Pattinson Effect".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

shadow is crapow

posted by golcindy (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

this game is not a real sonic game. its shadow. This is a game that should be rated T. Shadow says bad words, kills people and turns to the DARKSIDE! you dont race. and multiplayer is just shooting each other! this dissapointment is just a huge pile of poopy! if you like hedgehogs with bazookas, machine guns and grenades shooting the life out of people and if you like them sayin ship
and funk then this game is for you. Look at the reviews, the always tell the truth!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Okay?

posted by gamerman43 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Oct 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

This game is just like the other sonic adventure games excpt it is in 3-D.This game SUCKS OUT LOUD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never rent it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why does he say d#&% every time he dies???

posted by WolfGirl09 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Aug 17, 2007

Member since May 2006

Why does he say d#&% every time he dies???I mean hello??This is a childrens game here!!Why would you make a dark character cuss,Sega?Well,let me refraze that.Why would you make a dark E ratted character cuss?If you guys can,piture it: mini sonic fans,you know the really young sonic fans,pleeding their parents to buy or rent shadow the hedgehog.When their parents give in and buy or rent the game,the mini sonic fan starts to play.Their parents leave the room.Eventually the mini sonic fan dies and hears Shadow cuss.The mini sonic fan probobly has no idea what the word means and thinks it is O.K. to say it since Shadow said it.He or she says it front of his or her parents and one more angry review is added to GameFly.What were you thinking Sega?My mom was not happy when she heard the genral cuss in one of the cut sences.

On the bright side the story is O.K.And I know some think the story is all funky and twisted but I normaly love weird and twisted storys.There is nothing to weird for me story wise.

The best person to play this game is someone who has no kids or someone whos kids are old enough to know not to say cuss words and someone who can tolorate a wierd story.D-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

nooooooooooooo i should have kept shrek superslam

posted by matthewsea (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Jul 26, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

i'm not lieing shadow the hedgehog is... BAD!
exibit A. gameplay. well in shadow you don't go fast. the turned it in to a 3 person shooter. in conclsion i dock it 5 points of a perfect 10

exibit b. grphics. the grphics look like most 2d cartoons turned to a 3d game which looks fine but visuls yeah expolsions would be considered fine on a N64 docking 1 point
exibit c. sound not bad but not actuly bad i mean you know what it sound like going through rings. i'm giveing it 1 point. for mercy
but wait this just in theres cursing with usess of the d word and h word i am just hereing now that the say it a in a couple cutscenes. what every time you get hit he'll say the d word docking 1 point
but becuse of the voice acting i'm adding 1 so it avarges to nothing no points earned or tsken away from shadows okay sound.
exibit d. a.isome of the dumbst in game history i shot no body runs.
this ginet worm thing that come out from the ground. goes stright up and down and you can fire at it till it goes under ground which is just a set time. so i'm docking 2 points
exibit e. the game also feature mutply paths fanily somthing good the say there are 8 it think endins. so 3 points added
exibit f. length. the game is shooooooort only 5 levels. total while it dd has replay value. the gsmeplay dosn't want to make you play it agene. 1 point lost.
exibit. g control set up. awful k you probably think the set up is.
r1 fire
r2 roll up in ball.
l1 spacil attack if you have one
x jump
squre reload
o none
trangel none
o none
actuly
r1 and 2 starf
l1 nd 2 none
squre fire
o curl up in ball
triangle spacil move if you have one so i dock a point
so 10-5=5-1-2+3-1-1= 3 the score

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »