Rent Shadow the Hedgehog for GC
view large frontback

Shadow the Hedgehog

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
7.2

1146 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great fast Game, that steps beyond sonic's Shadow

posted by Jesterart (NEILLSVILLE, WI) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've read a lot of reviews about this game, and although I respect the opinions of others I Don't agree or understand them. Shadow The Hedgehog's first debut video game appearance, takes him quite literally out of the shadow of sonic. As he sets out of his own, original Darkly-Almost-Gothic adventure. To find out the truth about who he is.

Set in a visually stunning environment the game "Shadow the Hedgehog." is pact with everything you'd expect from other games of the Sonic Series. While at the same time stepping beyond the Vail to show Shadow's own perhaps darker unique capabilities and skills. Including a speed that rivals Sonic's throughout the whole game.

Filled with over 50 missions, of action, adventure and even first person shooter, where the user gets to decide not only the fate of Shadow. But whether or not he will end up good, or evil, or perhaps somewhere in the middle.

This game has everything that a fun game should have and a lot more. Buy this game and add it too your sonic series collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice...killing aliens with a rifle.

posted by Fox101 (GUILFORD, CT) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Finally, a game based on Shadow. You get to kill aliens with a rifle and GUN soldiers with a bazooka (I'm just coming up with random guns here)! The graphics are nice, but the gmaeplay is much better. All in all, buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Nov 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I had played but not beat the game SHADOW THE HEDGEHOG. POSITIVE: you get to play as Shadow and play through different kinds of levels if you are playing to be a hero or evil or try combinations to discover other levels. NEGATIVE: the graphics could have been better and the speed of Shadow is a bit slower. This game is ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Unless you liked Sonic Heroes, stay away

posted by Coriff (ROCHESTER, NY) May 1, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Shadow is back in his own game and he wants to know about his past, regardless of consequences. When you have an armed black angry hedgehog on a quest for knowledge you think it should be pretty sweet, right? Wrong.

They killed the speed. It's dead. If you're lookin for the typical Sonic style speedy game you've come to the wrong place. Shadow is often trapped within rather enclosed areas and given simple but often annoying objectives such as kill x amount of enemies or reach x item in y amount of time.

Weapons. Some of the weapons are fun to use... for a few minutes. They don't really add much to the game and killing enemies is still pretty easy even with the standard homing attack.

Story. Shadow wants to know about his past and a big black alien says he can tell him if he gets the Chaos Emeralds. However these aliens are hostile to everyone but Shadow. Along the path you can choose sides at various points, allowing many paths through story mode. All of these paths reveal little to no info about Shadow until you beat them ALL. With such a poorly made, half-fun game is RIDICULOUS.

Overall, this game could have been a million times better if Sonic Team actually put some thought into it instead of just throwing some random cool ideas together. If you like Sonic or Shadow you may like this game. If you like Sonic Heroes you may like this game. Otherwise you will probably hate it and curse Sonic Team more for their steady destruction of what once was a great series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The WORST Gamecube game EVER!!!

posted by macnaju (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

14 out of 30 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

There has been a lot of horrible Gamecube games, but let me tell you this is the WORST game EVER!!! Ok, let's start with the controls. THEY SUCK!! Ok, you're trying to walk on a ten foot ledge. As soon as you go Shadow runs to fast and falls off the ledge!! As soon as falls off tthe edge SEGA tries to be cool, and makes Shadow says a word i'm not susposed to use on this website! He was already cool without the cussing.
Another thing, you can pretty much just walk and your there! The game pretty much walks for you. The misssions are either stupid or too easy.
The vioice acting SUCKS. There mouth don't match the word ever! That stupid bummble bee! His vioce just makes you want to take a gun up to his head and blow it off! It is that annoying!!
I think you have heard enough of this reveiw to say this game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad bad bad bad.

posted by Silhouette (Palatine, IL) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My problem with Shadow the Hedgehog isn’t the fact that he uses guns or swears or anything related to that at all. My problem with this game is that it’s one of the most un-fun and agonizingly bad games I’ve ever had the misfortune to play. Here are some of my major grievances:

1. You’re slow. Maybe not compared to other video game characters, but compared to the speed of other 3-D Sonic games you move quite slow. If you attempt to race to the end of the levels like most people are prone to do, you are constantly stopped by random falling objects, obstacles, enemies, etc. There is almost no sense of speed in this game at all, and if you get going at a good pace, often-times you end up falling to your death because of the awful controls.

2. Voice-acting. It’s atrocious.

3. The missions. You can complete either good, neutral, or evil goals for each level. The neutral goal is just to reach the end of the level, and the good/evil ones are along the lines of “Kill all the enemies” or “Find/destroy 5 thingies” They’re all very mundane and often times frustrating, because you often have to back-track to find everything you have to kill and regardless of whose side you’re on EVERYTHING attacks you.

4. The weapons are awkward to use and the vehicles are virtually pointless. Sonic games should be about running and blasting through enemies, not stopping every few feet to shoot things.

5. The endings. I don’t understand why anyone would want to beat the game multiple times to get an ending which only varies very , very slightly from all the other ones. You beat a boss, get a chaos emerald, Shadow says two or three lines, the end. It’s awful payoff.

6. I’d to say the graphics are some of the worst I’ve seen on the GameCube. They’re worse then Sonic Adventure 2, and that was on the Dreamcast.

Anyway, in short, don't buy, rent, play, or go anywhere near this game.
It will burn holes in your face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a new star

posted by log159 (Willow, AK) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was pritty good and instead of sonic,you play as shadow the hedgehog.you can defeat eneimes and use their wepons.you can drive vheaclhels and have parnners like sonic,black dooms eye,knuckels and others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shadow makes a "killer" comeback!

posted by shmanmom (LEICESTER, MA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sonic fans mourned at the death of a fallen Eggman voice actor, but it was the beggining of the Jason griffifth days (but I liked Ryan Drummond a little more!) Shadow the hedgehog brought in the 4 KIDS voice acting series, though I liked shadow's kick butt obsession with guns!!! Anyway, most of U who played this game on da' cube probabley know the basic storyline and controls, BUT I'm telling u anyway!Shadow had just helped team sonic (SONIC HEROES) destroy metal overlord after being reawakend on accident by Rouge the bat! But, he then sees a dark,red cloud appear over Westopolis.BAM! Millions of dark creatures spill out of the sky and randomly destroy everything! Shadow at first does not help Sonic to destroy the dark creatures,but after being convinced to get the chaos emeralds by Black Doom, he went on his way to a dash pannel and fell into Westopolis. Controls for grinding were way better than HEROES! But the homing attack will not be as powerful this time, with this move, you will also shoot guns at inocent soliders and/or guilty dark creatures! This game was awsome, with better 3D cutscenes and mildly shaky controls, I hearby give this game a 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Jan 10, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well i love this game but its just i cant figure out how to get to the final story mode. so i dont know what the FINAL boss is like. so get it and hopefully you will do better than me! the sonic universe has done it again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can't Send a Shadow to do a Sonic' s Job

posted by Illuminado (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Every year, we wait for an awesome Sonic game to come out that top's all the rest. Whether it be something as simple as the story line, or much more complex such as speed, graphics, characters, etc. For some odd reason, each year the Sonic franchise gets a little better each and every time, but they just can't seem to hit the nail on the head.

Sonic Heroes was about the closest the franchise ever came to a near perfect game, but like all the other' s before it, it always seemed to carry several flaws. Shadow the Hedgehog was, in my opinion, an attempt to bring out a very popular anti-hero character that many fans seem to love and center an entire video game around him. Sure, you get to meet the other characters from the Sonic universe as well, but for some reason this game isn't the same.

First off, if your going to have a high speed game, it needs to be continuous. You can't keep stopping every 3 seconds to destroy some monsters, grab a gun, mount a vehicle, or grab certain things to complete certain missions. Allot of times, you find yourself completing a mission on accident, such as trying to be a "dark" mission, and instead beating the "hero", or "neutral" missions, which totally throws you off your groove. Plus, Sonic has been known for it's crazy special powers that are shared between each characters, not grabbing semi-automatics and bazooka's to destroy your enemies. Sure, it seems fun at first, but after awhile it just seems like nonsense. The spinning of the ball or the simple bonk on the head doesn't do it anymore.

Plus, the story lines aren't that deep either. To be honest, I don't think you need an entire game dedicated to Shadow just to learn about his past. This game seems like a different step taken away from normal Sonic games, and attempts to establish a new generation all it's own. I just hope other Sonic games don't loose the same old basic stuff that made Sonic so fun, like this game has.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Maybe the worst game of all time!

posted by KOTORman (EDMONDS, WA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Shadow the Hedgehog. A bad idea in concept and an even worse idea in execution. The gameplay is flawed and pretty crappy. Shadow can do his standart jump and attacks. But the big twist is that Shadow can wield guns! Who really cares though. They are what make the game really bad. You use B to shoot. This is wrong button to have the fire on. Isn't that the button you use for speed dashs. That was moved to the X button. As if that wasn't bad enough you are givin multi objectives. These are really confusing and most of the time you just do the bare minimum to get the level over with. The graphics are as bad as the gameplay. The graphics are rough and blocky. Even after that the the frame rate goes down. The graphics are a disgrace to the gamecube. The sound the just awful. The sound if you have a sort of old TV the sound will come out all screwed up. The changed the voices of the characters and the suck even MORE. If you can sit through this game the value still isn't that great. I got this game off of gamefly and I sent it back the SAME day. It was that bad. I love Sonic and his older games. This game nearly made me hate the series. If you really want a 3D Sonic get "Sonic Adventure 2 Battle" for the gamecube. It is soooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- ooooooooooooooooooooooooo- much better

Result: 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shadow the Hedgehog Ain't For the Kiddies

posted by TheDon (PORT SANILAC, MI) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

When I first heard that there was going to be a Shadow the Hedgehog game I was ecstatic. But then I finally got it from GF I found out it wasn't what I thought it would be. I thought I would have all new game play and a great story. BUT NO! WE GET THE SAME EXACT SONIC GAME AS WE DID BEFORE AND THIS MAKES ME MAD, hence the caps lock. All you do is pick up rings and get from point A to point B, but along the way you get treated with bad voice acting, horrible game play, and a horrendous storyline. The only cool thing about this game is that Shadow gets guns. Really, that's it. Rent it if you have to but please DON'T BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sadly Disappointing...

posted by Johannes (WILKESBARRE, PA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was a disappointment to say the very least. I was always a Shadow fan, so when this game was coming out I made plans to buy it. BIIIIG mistake. Lets get on with the review.

Graphics: Not bad. I know, after the whole rant above you, you were expecting something negative. Don't worry, the worst is yet to come.

Game play: Here's where the game plummets. You use all kinds of different weapons to attack, but they attack in three ways: Sword, gun, and rocket launcher. For all the weapons, they left out a lot of variety. Then there's Light dash. I was disappointed. In Sonic Adventure 2, I was used to high speed, and then going into light dash. I don't know if it's just me, but it seems like it has to be more aligned (which is bad). Then there's controls. Let's say I want to pick up a gun, well the smart creators made the spin dash button, and the pick up weapons button the same. Now, unless I take the time to make sure this weapon will be picked up, I could very well spin dash off the edge. This is not Sonic. Sonic games are about blistering speed. I have other complaints, but I'm running out of space. These complaints take off four of the five total points.

Length: This game is plenty long, and if you can stand it, you will be playing for quite a while.

Sound: Another down side. Sadly for this game, the music isn't good enough to save the game from its bad voice acting. I hated the sound, and this is the second most important part of the game. Minus two points.

Story: At least the story was done right. Shadow fans can finally know the story of there favorite hedgehog. Is that good enough to save it? NO!

Graphics: -0
Game play: -4
Length: -0
Sound: -2
Story: -0

Ten minus six equals four. Final score 4/10

Rent, Buy, or Ignore: As a Shadow fan, it pains me to say this, but Ignore this game. If you wont ignore it, then rent it, but you will probably hate it. If you must buy it, I'm putting my copy on eBay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is the bomb!!!

posted by cutie123 (Bronx, NY) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Let me just say this.If some people think this game is wack,ya are wack.This game right here is the bomb right here.And if ya notice,even shadow curses in the game.This is awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super action !

posted by exelent (NORTH PORT, FL) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I think that Shadow the hedgehog is one (1) of the best games ever made. In s/h you literally get to do anything on any side (good, bad, or your own). The weapons and gun fire are amazing combined with some of the best graphics ever. By the way the action is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by lilygoat (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 25, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

And not just in the video game genre. I am including board games, RPGs, and that game where you jump out of the closet and startle your little sister.
The controls are sloppy, Shadow has two speeds, too fast to pick up items, and crawling, and the camera is sometimes not under your control at all. You have your choice of good, evil, or neutral missions, but after you've selected, the game sometimes switches it around on you. Then it gives you an annoying "helper" character. On normal levels, he mainly just annoys you by talking you to death, repeating the same phrases. On boss battles, he stands behind you, teaming up with the camera to make sure you can't see anything. The only thing to recommend on this game is it sure gives you time to go read a book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

review of shadow the hedgehog

posted by coolness (COATESVILLE, PA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I was sadly disappointed in the game shadow the hedgehog. They tried to make the game more mature witch all well and good but took out the reason I rented the game, for my brother, I can't say the game is completely helpless the whole roller coaster game play is STILL cool, it has 50+missions, a pretty cool v.s. player, and good graphics but I found all these things very short lived. I bet the average gamer could beat the game, all missions, in 30 days. All in all a good rental but not a good buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best sonic games ever made!

posted by BeastBoy (WINCHESTER, CA) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

8 out of 24 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Shadow the Hedghog is SSSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOO- OOOO much fun theres tons of missions branching storylines and multiple endings! you can shoot it out 2P battle mode exhilarating action speed and shooting nothing gets in the way of shadow but let me ask you one thing are you a hero or villain uncover the truth about sonics arch rival shadow the hedghog. to destroy or to protect shadow the hedghog carries a dark past that is shrouded in mystery. embark on a journey to unveil his true identity. the way you play the game will determine the outcome of shadows future and when you bet the last level you get a new gun when your playing you can do what the bad guy tells you to or you can find the emerald on your own or you can listen to the good guys but when you play you just press start and choose what side you want to be on like if you wanted to be on the dark side and you have to kill all the troops and you run in to sonic and he wants you to kill all the aliens just press start and switch and in a diffrent level you can change what side you want to be on theres a bunch of levels well i cant tell you what can do cuz i cant explain it but I'll tell you one thing RENT THIS GAME and ne other thing in some levels you can ride on like these bat like things and you can ride in a car or MoterCycle its is so cool you can ride on more things but i havent got to yet i forgot what i was going to say o ya i rember you need to RENT THIS GAME ok all be posting on more Games so for now see you later

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Language

posted by luvbug968 (THOMASTON, GA) May 10, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my child. The mild language is more than mild. I had to send it back the next day because the game includes curse words.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game was all about bad stuff.

posted by marioman86 (TEWKSBURY, MA) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I may have have said a this game is bad, but this game deserves it. It has bad camera control, bad controls, same graphics, and last we play as the dumb bad guy who can't even remember he's bad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW!

posted by redninja (DANVERS, MA) May 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok i saw this game and thought wow this is gonna be AWESOME!!!! then i played it and i was like WHAT THE HECK! first of all the graphics are ok and the replay value is worth it but u can barely move without like running off an edge. the game play is terrible the weapons was a surprise it just totally went in the wrong direction from the classic sonic series. pretty much its just really really really frustrating!!!! i was soooooo depressed when i ended this game. i had to buy another ps2 controller after i smashed it from this game. the camera angles suck and pretty much you have to change your mission whenever it changes it automatically which sucks too. what i liked was the range of missions and the different categories and powers u had that was good but i mean cmon that's only one thing. pretty much this game was horrible and i don't recommend it to anyone maybe a rent for a hardcore terrible game then get it but nothing else. i give it a 1/10 and there's nothing that will change my mind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Sonic Game Ever

posted by Sandra (EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge fan of the sonic series and enjoy to play them all, But with this game i have one question for SEGA. What were you thinking?

You're not fast, Controls are the worst of any game i've ever played, ever. Voice acting is worse than Dynasty Warriors series, Graphics suck, And you have a gun? Why in the world would we want a gun in a sonic game along with a motorcycle.

And it wouldnt be so bad if the guns didn't suck, it didn't even feel like you're shooting a gun. Take my advice and avoid this one, In fact if you ever see this game or see it being played burn the game and slap who was playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ok..

posted by PS3GAMER12 (CRETE, NE) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not what I expected, it was just, wierd, enough said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

It amazes me that this game was released

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Falling off cliffs
running into walls
clitchy camera angles
none responsive enviorments
none responsive controls
repetitive level design

these are just a few of the problems with this game. Hopefully next time Sega releases a game, they will make sure it actually works. Because this game doesn't.

You may want to know what happens to Shadow, we all do. But its not worth finding out, playing through this. I can honestly say, I have never returned a game the same day I have received it, but with this one....I did.

This game had no work put into it, and it shows
2/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Sonic game of all time!

posted by Animelover (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am also a sonic fan, and I was looking forward to this game two months before it was going to come out.And when I bought it and played it, I wanted to throw up.THIS GAME SUCKS!What was Sega thinking?!?!If you want to make a shadow game, don't make him a human killing demon!For god's sake Sonic is a kids game!Don't get me started with shadow swearing, that ticked me off big time!ITS A KIDS GAME!!!In my opinion it should have been rated T or M!This game is so horrible, it makes me want to puke whenever someone talks about it or if I hear it.Trust me, I am a huge sonic fan, but this game is just terrible!Don't rent it if you know whats good for ya!Believe me, it was absolutely the worst game of gaming history.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse