Rent Shadow of the Colossus for PS2
view large frontback

Shadow of the Colossus

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

7961 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Too Impressed

posted by ihategames (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

52 out of 54 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I am entering my 30's and I have played many a game. This game somehow hit closest to my heart than any other game I have ever played. Something about the seclusion of just you and your only friend, your horse, is very endearing but also frightening. I enjoy games for a lot of reasons: gameplay, graphics, music, etc. but very rarely does a game capture me emotionally. This game did just that. After completing Shadow of Colossus I was informed of ICO, an earlier release I was unaware of, and jumped right in. I enjoyed it as well, but more for the concept than anything. Both games felt very personal with their execution and I would like to shake the hands of the men and women who made these games possible. Job well done... times a thousand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautifully crafted in every way

posted by kratos2488 (MESA, AZ) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Shadow of the Colossus is the closest that a game has ever come to approaching art. In every way, this game is a beacon to how video games are the new dominant form of artistic creation.

The game's premise is pretty simple: there are 16 Colossi between the Wanderer and the revival of his girlfriend. Each fight is essentially a puzzle to solve, as each Colossus requires a different strategy to defeat. Some of the fights will take 15 to 20 minutes to finish, particularly the later ones in the game. The Colossi are the only "enemies" in the game, there are no other creatures to fight.

Graphically, the game is gorgeous. Considering that it is close to 4 years old now, the game holds up surprisingly well. Played on the PS3, frame rate drops did occur, but it was never detrimental to the gameplay. Everything from the lighting effects, animation and the Colossi are painstakingly detailed, and proves that a game doesn't need raw horsepower to look good, artistic direction will go a long way.

The gameplay is very unique, requiring a lot of climbing to scale the massive Colossi. The Wanderer's grip is very important, and as such, will always have to be managed. If the grip meter runs out, the Wanderer will fall and will have to begin the long climb again. Riding on the horse also takes some getting used to, as well as the fact that the sword is relegated almost entirely to stabbing the Colossi instead of swinging it like a typical sword would be used. The slower pace of play may turn off some players who want quick thrills, but the pace fits perfectly with the story and the overall feeling of the game.

The story is the main draw of Shadow of the Colossus, and it is one that will keep driving the player to the end of the game, constantly wondering what will happen next to the Wanderer. The ending is fantastic as well, a perfect bookend to a superb game.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must play for PS2 owners

posted by malcolm (RICHMOND, VA) Jun 11, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

76 out of 85 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

before I wrote the review I took a look at some of the previous reviews, both negative and positive. I agreed with most of the people that gave the game an 8, 9, or 10. the majority of people that gave the game a 1, 3, or 4 had bad grammar, spelling, etc. that's fine, I don't consider myself the master of the english language, but there's a freakin' spell check right there in the corner!!!

what I'm getting at is that the people that hate this game don't like it, because they cant figure out the (not-so-hard) puzzles, or even how to search for a FAQ on the internet!!

that being said, I'm gonna get on to the review.

STORY: this prequel to ICO clarifies a lot of questions arisen from ICO. It conveys a great story, while still using barely any words. by the end, you really feel for the nameless wanderer. SCORE: 9

GRAPHICS: similar to ICO, SotC makes up for it's slightly-above-average graphics with beautiful scenery. it's only a minor graphical upgrade from ICO. this game proves that a game can look good without the newest, most-advanced graphics. SCORE: 10

SOUND: the sound effects and music is much better than in ICO. What once was nothing but footsteps in ICO is now a beautiful orchestral score in SotC. SCORE: 8

GAMEPLAY: gameplay really is the most important aspect of a game, and in shadow of the colossus, the gameplay excels. Much improved from ICO, SotC puts you against 16 colossal creatures. from a giant electric eel, to a living castle-like creature the size of the empire state building, Shadow of the colossus has it all. the battles between you and the giant beasts will keep you asking for more. the only problems I had with the games were
1) before you get the hang of using the sword to find the colossus, prepare to wander around for a while.
2)after you beat the game once or twice, it can get a bit boring.
SCORE: 9

GENERAL: SotC is still a great game, and I highly recommend it to any gamer, casual, or hardcore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what true gaming should be about.

posted by nmquinn (ELYRIA, OH) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all let me say I think its absolutly hilarious reading bad reviews of this game by people that have no idea what they are talking about. I can't tell you how many people think that you don't level up or that there is nothing to do besides kill the bosses. How wrong they are. To all of them: IF YOU DON'T KNOW MUCH ABOUT DIFFERENT GENRES OF GAMES, KEEP YOUR REVIEWS TO YOUR FPS OR YOUR FIGHTING GAMES. DO NOT GIVE SOMEONE A REASON TO MISS THIS BEAUTIFUL, UNFORGETABLE GAME!
Ok now that I've got that out of my system let me just say this: Never, before playing SOTC that is, have I been emotionally effected by a storyline in a game. This story is top notch and it isn't even much in the way of time spent collecting pieces of the narrative. It leaves so much to the player to imagine its like reading a book almost.
Secondly, cinimatics. The developers at team ICO spent a lot of effort in making sure that the world traversal was beautiful and interesting. There's a vast desert, a wild jungle, a huge spanning beach and almost any other type of land you can think of all open for exploration as soon as you start. Not to mention how epic the battles are. There's a cinimatic button that positions the camera to show both your hero and the collosus on screen. I spent most of my fights in this view and the movie like feel you get from it is wonderful.
I potentially could go on forever but I think this should be enough for you to want to give it a try. It's not like any game. period. (no to all you idiots that compare it to zelda. come on.) This is my favorite game ever. It may not be yours but you owe it to yourself to try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shadow of the Colossus

posted by Cheeto (BRONSON, TX) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics may not be the best in the world but if you really take the time to watch the credits and read then you will see that the game took and gave the horse AI. Other games such as Zelda where you get a horse to ride the open plains will make a horse go into a full stop when they reach a cliff this game turns the horse instead of stopping it. Take the time and ride around and watch as the horse will guide you along the ledge of a shear drop. It is easy if you like these kinds of games but in all reality the makers did a good job. It is worth playing this game and the 15 hours it took to beat it. All in all it has a good feel and the graphics put an atmosphere on the game that no other game has met.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

beautiful...

posted by Drusilla (MEDFORD, OR) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...but, I got extreme motion sickness and could only get through two colussi. I wish I could have finished it, because I really enjoyed what I did play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good, but not perfect

posted by dedededood (WESTERVILLE, OH) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

though i did not get far when i rented it, ive played the whole game before and it is just amazing. aside from a few graphical imperfectins(and some difficulty) this game is an amazing story, particularly the 5th and 13th battles

RENT IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Atmosphere Before a Game

posted by special (BELTON, TX) Oct 1, 2009

Member since May 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was made to put the player in another world.

This game was not made to make the player feel good about leveling up or collecting shiny trinkets. Not that there isn't character development, there is. But you're going to need to play Shadow of the Colossus actively, with your imagination going, like when you're reading a book. You are expected to be a part of the character and his development.

I chose the "10" rating for this game, not because it's perfect, but because it's something unique and valuable--perhaps even timeless. Which is much more than can be honestly said for the vast majority of games that actually get produced for us mindless consumers.

Open your mind and play Shadow of the Colossus, it's an experience you wont find anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shadow of the Amazing

posted by name600 (GILBERT, AZ) Aug 6, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely exhilarating i say this not for the story line or for the dialog or for the music (which if you have read some of my other reviews i care about). This game got a 10 out of 10 by me because of first. This game has great graphics for its time it came out half way through the lifespan of the ps2 and its graphics are better than lair for the ps3 a game that wasnt even a release game for it. As well the main reason this game gets a godly 10 is because of each power gamer's dream...the BOSSES!! This entire game is 16 boss battles ranging from curious lamas with jew curls to cats that are afraid of fire to birds that fly at mach speed that you have to jump and grab on to. This game has many bosses that make you use your mind and common sense to take out these bad mothers. And if you get stuck the Door Man (dont ask) will call (telepathy) you and give you help. So this game is a perfect game for power gamers or for those of you who hate grinding on minions so you could beat the boss. or just want to get straight to the boss. All in all this game is recomen for those not faint of heart but those with the guts to show them all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you don't like it,your crazy!

posted by slayer3 (REDDING, CA) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay I see that a lot of people have been rating this game badly,but they have no idea what they are talking a bought.I agree with the guy(or girl)Who said that this game captured him/her emotionally. It is very emotional.And very exiting,the colossi you fight are gigantic and fun to fight. It's more quick and to the point than most other games because There are no annoying minions that you have to fight,
no bothersome dungeons or mazes to get through,and no frustrating dead ends.So anyone who doesn't like this game,doesn't understand how it is supposed to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by daltonS (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So Shadow of the colossus is a pretty good game. Its got good graphics, fantstic game play, a well designed lanscape, and the collosi are pretty much what you would envision a anicient, giant monster to be. The creators nailed it on how your player should look. The only thing this game lacked was, it didn't suck me into the gameplay. It left me asking for more details of the story line along with the fact that you really don't get to know your character and the girl at all. yet this was all and all a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesomely Redundant...

posted by bgdg00 (RIALTO, CA) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Truly, Let me first state that I love this game. Hands down, I believe to be one of the greatest games ever created, let alone on the PS2. First the Good stuff...

It really hits the nail on the head in every major area: Graphics(Awesome for PS2) even with minor clipping issues; Control(Except for the horse. Remember, you don't need to press up for the horse to move forward...that will help a lot. Just hit the thing and it'll start runnin') Sound(hands down one of the best scores I've heard in a game. This game has epic Final Fantasy quality musical scores. Absolutely incredible! I also like the usage of music at key points. Music isn't playing all the time, which gives you a feel for the solitude the main character feels...), truly an awesome game.

Now the bad stuff. The only reasons I had to give this game an 8 instead of a 10 is because of 1. Plot and 2. Length. First the plot which also touches on the length, after the opening sequence, when you character gets his orders, that's it. Find the Colossus, kill it, Repeat...many more times. Truly the game could have ended at 10 colossi and I would have been satisfied, but no it keeps going, and going. Thankfully, they are different...somewhat...and more difficult, definitely. It just gets so depressingly redundant. I really had to make up in my mind that I was going to beat this game because while it has so much going for it, the redundancy gets suffocating. But still, an awesome game. You will find yourself looking forward to seeing the next colossus just to find out what will special about this one. Again, great renter game. If you are interested in playing quality RPG(Like FF, God of War, or Prince of Persia) games, play this one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game for the ps2 no contest

posted by superkid4 (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Sep 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

um wow what can i say its just plain amazing if u think about it i mean its ps2 (and this game4 came out in 2005 and in 4.5 years its still top ps2 game) i could see ppl saying some games for xbox 360 or wii or ps3 are better but for ps2 it is a must rent maybe even a buy
the graphics are great the sound is great the storyline and gameplay are great the only bad thing is that theres not more i mean really its so cool you must rent this game now!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Shadow of the Colossus

posted by Bradman (TOLEDO, OH) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is a great game. Great puzzle solving, great battles, great everything. Fresh take on a game is a big plus. GREAT GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game casts a giant shadow...

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This prequel to the beloved masterpiece Ico incorporates many of the qualities that made it one of the greatest gaming experiences of all time, and adds a few more that helps to set this game apart from all others.
Here, you play as a nameless young wanderer, who has journeyed to a forsaken land known as The End of the World with a recently deceased young woman. He arrives in a large temple, where he converses with a booming disembodied voice, introduced as Dormin, coming from a sky light, asking it about a way to bring the woman back from the dead. Dormin tasks the Wanderer with destroying sixteen colossi scattered throughout the land, as part of a spell which he claims could revive her. Armed only with a mystical sword, a bow and arrow, and his faithful horse, Argo, the wanderer sets out to fulfill Dormin's enormous task without further question.
Here, as with Ico, we see a successful case of "less is more". Players simply use their sword to create a reflected beam of light that points in the direction of the next colossus. Once you encounter the it, you must use strategy to find a way to access its weak points and plunge your sword into them. Each successive colossus is totally unique in form and tactics, and requires more strategy than the last.
As with Ico, the environment and visual style of this game are spectacular. You come across a variety of terrain in your travels, from lush green meadows and forests, to beaches and lakes, to desserts and other barren wastelands. You also encounter the ruins of great fortresses and monoliths. The colossi themselves are quite majestic to behold as well; it's almost a shame to see them reduced to rubble by your sword.
Another excellent feature is the music; a fantastic orchestral score that plays during cutscenes and colossus encounters.
This game answers many questions raised in Ico, and reminds players why they fell in love with that game in the first place. Do not let this gem pass you by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow.

posted by Redozu (DUNDALK, MD) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've had this game since 2006, and I loved it. Uniqueness is probably the best thing of this game. It's art is beautiful. You have a sense of accomplishment when you defeat one of the massive beasts, as you have another breathtaking scene blended in with beautiful music as the massive Colossi falls. This is a must buy game for anyone who wants to enjoy a game for once, one who wants to relax, or just get emotional. Everyone should try this game atleast once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

almost completely perfect

posted by finalfant1 (SPOKANE, WA) Jul 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome!! it is intense when it needs to be, and fast paced and exciting. This game is a great fighting game. There needs to be more games where you fight giant monsters on foot!

The only complaint I have is that there are no other monsters than the colossus. There should be monsters that you have to fight along the way, and you should be able to level up and get stronger. this is just my complaint though!!

Must rent/buy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET BABY!!

posted by lowville04 (HORIZON CITY, TX) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME is awesome. YOU CAN explore a wide open envirorment. BUT WHAT i LOVE best about this game is the music and sound effects.THE MUSIC makes you keep going and not stoppin when you fail. THE SOUND EFFECTS make you feel like your in this AWESOME GAME. EVEN WHEN you can't figure out what to do, there are hints that repeat so you wont forget it.THE COMPANY that made this game really pulled it of!!! GET THIS GAME and you won't regret it. IF YOU DO!, then i feel sorry for you. THATS ALL i have to say about this AWESOME GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game

posted by Mikairuu (RAMONA, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty fun, you really have to think outside the box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of my top five favorite games of all time

posted by themyk (SOUTHINGTON, CT) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i'll make it short.

1. metal gear solid 3
2. metal gear solid
3. SHADOW OF THE COLOSSUS
4. portal
5. grand theft auto. vice city

look this game is epic. and for a ps2 game it's amazing. pay no attention to people who rate it 1 or 2 or what ever. it makes no sense for people to rate a game like that. unless that game is E.T. for atari.

anywho you won't be disapointed in this game. if u like good games anyways

i love this game. it holds a special place in my heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOTC is amaaazing

posted by karlayjay (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So i was just playing this literally 5 minutes ago and it seems like the landscape is just endless which i love/hate cause you can get lost pretty easily with each turn you have multiple paths you could take, and its also quite frightening when you have just a horse by your side and nothing else. Since ive signed up for gamefly i got rid of alot of my games but i could never get rid of SOTC....its like an old blanky you cant detatch from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best shrt games ever

posted by kratos51 (KANSAS CITY, MO) May 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i think that this is a pretty short game but when you get into it fighting those big guys your yea this is awsome then the game is like your done and your like . . . . . wat??? that was short also its really hard toward the end if you cant beat the certain colossus' every time you die itll give you hints on how to beat it but sometimes there clues arent so clear but yeah this is a definently a 10 in my book good job guys!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game:)

posted by kidcix (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Apr 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me just say i love the graphics,gameplay and storyline. i think that the ability to ride a horse is very realistic.everthing in the game is practicially reallistic. you can climb,stab, attack,and shoot arrows too. what i dislike is how the game is kind of hard and your the only living human in the game. i also like the thid person view in the game. (i love games like that) BBBBBBBBBBUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU- UYYYYYYYYYYYYY IIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTT!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I smell zelda...Sorta

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game. The boss fights are amazing. From the look of the bosses to how you fight them and find the weak points. Graphics are good. The only knock I have on the game is that it is slightly repetitive. I mean the main points are you look for the big bad guy, fight the big bad guy then return to the start to do it over again. That being said it is a pretty good repetitive cycle. Mostly because every boss requires you to think things out and think on how to attack them. A game that is a lot of fun and challenging. At least worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Epic Title

posted by DevilBoy66 (WESTBOROUGH, MA) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If i had to give this game one word it would be epic. Story of a, what looks like, young boy and his horse trying to revive his love. The graphics in the game defiantly far proceed many other ps2 titles, they use the ps2 to its full capabilities in this title. This game had reminded me exactly of 2 Legend of Zelda titles for the n64 with added in with a little Prince of Persia platforminess and the epic feeling of Lord of the Rings. My friend mentioned to me that the first thing that came to mind when he tried it was actually "Epic". But forewarning the game play is far different then the three titles i just mentions pretty much its one boss battle after the other there are no enemies in this game. Also you are only equipped with a sword and bow for the ENTIRE GAME, you do not receive any other weapons. You have to use your head to use the surrounding area to defeat the bosses, i found most of them pretty easy to figure out, took me roughly twenty to twenty five hours to beat the game. Honestly this game has no replay value in my eyes, they give you the option of replaying on hard and also doing a time attack sort of mode but i found no interest in it. Great renter thou and i would tell any hardcore gamer to give it a run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse