Rent Serious Sam: Next Encounter for PS2
view large frontback

Serious Sam: Next Encounter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC
GF Rating
6.2

179 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Sam can help you

posted by iuvxhate (AMELIA COURT HOUSE, VA) Jan 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wonderful practice game for people who wanna learn to play first person shooting games and .. you get to kill stuff, true sometimes i found myself cussing out the t.v. at times because so many things were comin at once but from Sam i'm now ready to move on to more FPSG's Thank you Sam. also my brother and i had alot of fun playin the 2 person deathmatch. Good game to gain some skills

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

seriously awesome

posted by bluedog (WILLIAMSTOWN, NY) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this game is really fun. You can just shoot alot of things. My neighbor and I play it alot together and we laugh and have a lot of fun. Thats why I recommend renting this game. Its just twice as fun playing 2 player than one because it gets creepy but fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this is a great game but get serious sam 2!

posted by sonicfan11 (Ferndale, CA) May 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

serious sam 2 is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Kill and kill and kill ...

posted by chipyg (SALEM, CT) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Are you serious?!?!?!? This has got to be one of the worst games I have ever played for the playstation 2. Now don't get me wrong, I am a die hard FPS (First Person Shooter) fan, but this game felt extremely repetitive. All you do is shoot to kill over and over again against creatures that look to be pulled right out of the nintendo 64. I thought it was cool how they incorperated many different playable characters to play as and have a large amount of worlds to play in but this game felt like it would never end.
As hard to believe it as it is, there was almost nothing to enjoy about this game, but another interesting feuture were the many guns you could have. Your choice of about 12 guns ranging from dual pistols to the rocket launcher, there are many ways to kill all of your foes.
Things i hated about this game were that There was no unique sound to the gameplay. All you did was kill and kill and kill until you killed practically everything, which doesn't sound bad unless the things you kill are the same in each level and the level design looks horrible.
Overall this game was very bad and i will do you a favor by telling you to not even waste your time with this game because it aint that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Serious Sam is a worthy Duke Nukem clone.

posted by Bloodbane (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Serious Sam: Next Encounter is a fun shooter that any Duke Nukem fan should play. There are some flaws with it but they can be overlooked as they don't take away from the overall fun of the game. Some reviews have stated that the graphics are sub-par especially for the PS2 but graphics do not a fun game make. Unless you're a graphics hog then you won't be disappointed by the amount of fun you can have blasting funky looking 'baddies' (especially the headless suicidal ones). The different playable characters give this game replay value even though a couple of them look kinda lame. I haven't played any of the previous ones mainly because they are on different platforms but Next Encounter is at least worth a rental. Like this review title says Serious Sam is a worthy Duke Nukem clone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »