Rent Sengoku BASARA Samurai Heroes for Wii
view large frontback

Sengoku BASARA Samurai Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.9

172 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dynasty Warriors on the Wii

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are several players who yearn to swing the Wiimote like a sword and cut down several opponents with their mighty weapon.
Well, Senogoku Basara Samurai Heroes gets half of it; you play as a leader of an army, and your mission is to go our and beat up all the other army leaders in the same style as the Dynasty Warriors: Mash the attack buttons while your guy beats up on armies of inept warriors. Most of the fighting will have your guy beating up on these hapless souls.
As you progress through your attack, you are supposed to take out certain areas of the battle map called Camps. Each camp has a leader you must kill to take control - then you move on to the next Camp. When you get to the other end of the map, you engage the leader of the opposing army (and the leader is much, much harder to kill than his lackey soldiers.)
And if you’re playing in the main mode, once you kill the leader, you get items, weapons and special moves to make your guy or gal a meaner, leaner fighter. Then, you go off and fight another army leader, and another until you are defeated - or you unite all of Japan (this happens after seven stages).
Fans of games like Dynasty Warriors will gleefully buy this game because it is everything that game is; simple button mashing combat (even with Special Moves and Power Moves).
Problem is, players who are not into that style of game will find no reason to start playing, and I got really tried of the same beat down I gave the other army no matter which leader I picked or which leader I attacked. And I would’ve liked to have a manual lock on for the fight between the army leaders.
Sengoku Basara Samurai Heroes has a lot of simple button mashing fun, but it doesn’t keep my interest long enough for me to shell out my hard earned cash for. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy it.

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

10/10 in my thoughts but it would be around a 8 if i truly grinded it down, a 8 or 8.5.

The game play is like samurai warriors and dynasty warriors but soo much better if you've played previous sengoku basara games theyve improved slightly taking out some characters to fix more allowing for a more compact and bad a!s game. The boss fights can be tough and you will love some of the abilities you learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BASARA!

posted by hazelheart (EVERETT, WA) May 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

this is actually one of my favorite games on the wii i like all the characters stories ecspecially when Mitsunari gets all angry and stuff XD and i also enjoyed the fighting. so if ur looking for a good fighting game for your wii get this!! for the wii this is a really good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!

posted by desean323 (REDFORD, MI) Aug 28, 2011

Member since May 2010

So I kinda expected this to be like other koei games but this one kinda surprised for the first time. Alot changed in this game. The game is a game changer. The combos are different than usual and the gameplay doesn't seem as repetitive as the other ones. A definite must-play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Allault (WELLSBURG, WV) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

I literally only had the game for about an hour when I got on and bought it. It's that fun of a game. New take on Dynasty/Samurai Warriors style game. Yeah it's a button mashing beat-em-up, but the characters are all unique. Definitely a rent, if not an own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Basara

posted by andy2011 (SEATTLE, WA) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game is very fun and very good game for fighter game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Stress Reliever with Great Replayability

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 30, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

The style of gameplay follows closely in the footsteps of titles like God of War. You run around a level and take out hundreds of enemies beat 'em up style before fighting a boss. It takes around 4-5 hours to play through the game once, but you'll want to play through it dozens of times before it starts to get old. What makes this game great is several features not necessarily typical for games of this genre:
1) Choose from a large number of characters (many of them unlockable)
2) Choose which missions to play. Your choices will affect which ending you get. The game keeps track of which choices you made in the past, so getting all the endings and reaching 100% completion is a fun (and lengthy) objective for replay.
3) 3 difficulty levels with xp and gear carried over (new game + style). This allows you to work your way up through the difficulty levels
4) Seamlessly go between 1 player and 2 player coop in between missions. The 2 player coop mode has all the features of 1 player.
5) Hidden objectives and hidden treasures in every mission, making the missions more replayable.

If you are thinking about playing a game in this genre, this is definitely a good one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun

posted by mostlyharmless (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jun 9, 2011

Member since May 2011

With there being so many Dynasty Warrior like games out there, I was kinda not sure if I wanted to bother trying this. I got it today and played it for a few hours and sent it back... but not because it was bad, because I am going out to the store to buy it. The gameplay is very basic, would also be good on ps3 I don't doubt, but until I started this review, I only knew it came out on the wii lol. If you are tired of the Dynasty Warrior games, but like the gamestyle, this one is a lot of fun and worth giving a shot. Not sure if I am going to buy it on ps3 or wii, but I will be picking this one up shortly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Suprisingly Good.

posted by natedog95 (TACOMA, WA) Feb 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Like Samuari Warriors, Dynasty Warriors, or Warriors Orochi? Then this game is for you. I love those games and this one ranks right up there. Great characters with fun weapons. Two player mode is great. Weapons are customizable which makes the game even better. Each character has muliple paths to follow and you can unlock new characters has you play those paths. The battles are all pretty much in the same locations so once you have played there and discovered the secrets there really isn't much to do but hack and slash enemies, but that is what makes the game fun. I play on the hardest level and even with very high level character, I have found myself dying so the enemies can be tough. Very fun game, great characters and weapons. I really do recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »