Rent Sengoku BASARA Samurai Heroes for PS3
view large frontback

Sengoku BASARA Samurai Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
7.6

1107 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good Job, Capcom!

posted by FouLou (LOCUST GROVE, VA) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

26 out of 29 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Don't let the lame reviews, deteriorate you from playing this fun game! I've been waiting for this game since it released in Japan awhile back, and boy was it worth the wait. From the amazing dub, to the crazy combos, Sengoku Basara Samurai Heroes, will entertain the bored.

Graphics-Decent. The character models are good, and the environments are nice to look at. From Snowy mountains, to Deserts, and Old temples. It has pretty much all that and more scattered through the battle scenarios that are laid out for you.

Gameplay-This is where the fun kicks in. You can literally pull off a thousand hit combo, like no tomorrow. It's quite fun to mix and match your attacks! Especially once you've leveled up your attacks even more. I'd go more into the combo system, and the system mechanics....but I don't have enough space for that. Just know that you'll be pressing the Square and Triangle button a lot.(Don't let that scare you away)

Sound-Outstanding! The Dub is filled with a cast of amazing voice actors! You have your creepy voices, your calm ones, your crazy ones, and your "wtff" ones. They're all quite good. They actually brought the characters to life for me. So I give the acting a, A+. The music ranges from rock, to beautiful japanese type music. It's all real nice to listen to. Mostly all the songs fit the mood, of what is going on.

Online-No online play. Please don't let that stop you from playing it either.

Overall-There's a lot I wanted to put in this review. I wanted to list a lot of facts, and actors. Sadly I can't, cause my space is running out. If you want a game that is over the top fun, then this is it. It's a hack n slash, so of course, there's repetition involved, but it's all fun.

I think Capcom did a amazing job localizing it here. And I thank them for it. The director for the voice acting, deserves praise too. I've never, ever heard such a hack n slash, have such passion in the voice acting.

Give it a rent. it was a keeper for me. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Give it a chance!

posted by Arngrim120 (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I was floored by how poor the reviews for this game were! Capcom has taken a formula Koei has used for years and excelled at it.

To sum this game up, take Dynasty Warriors. Then take away the convoluted, political aspect of the storyline. Then add in more colorful graphics, more interesting characters with a wider variety of weapons, and flashier elemental super powers.

If you're still not convinced, I highly recommend you get the demo from the Playstation Network. It lets you play two entire levels as two of the game's main characters. It's also a free download, so you have nothing to lose!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Devil May Cry+Dynasty Warriors=Samurai Heroes.

posted by xXShYnXx (IRVINGTON, NJ) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna try to keep this short, if your like me who loved playing the Dynasty Warriors/Samurai Warriors/Warriors Orochi games you will love Samurai Heroes. Like i said in my title This game is a mix of DMC and Dynasty Warriors. The gameplay is still similar you know there's camps you have to take over generals and such but the combat is 100x better. Dynasty Warriors the combos was S,S,S,S,T or S,S,S,T etc and you have your Musuo attack in this game each character have there own feel to there combat. The combat in Samurai Heroes feels more like a fighting game you can cancel out of moves dash cancel etc. You have a Musuo type attack but you also have super arts that you can use. The combat is just amazing compared to any Dynasty Warrior game that came out to date.

The Story is pretty good as well there's a lot of things you can do with each character different story paths things like that. The Voice Acting is pretty good as well even though i never cared about those things when it came to Dynasty Warriors it was mainly about the game play but they actually did a good job with that and the music is good as well. The weapon system is great as well in this game you find weapons with slots "6 is the max slots" and you can put whatever accessory you want from boosting your element %chance "each character have there own specific element weapon"to boosting your attack,defense,HP etc.

In the end if your a person like me who loved them some Dynasty Warriors/Samurai Warriors/Warriors Orochi then you will love this game. Sengoku BASARA Samurai Heroes make every Dynasty Warriors/Samurai Warriors/Warriors Orochi look bad, the combat is just to good each character feels completely different and you will always figure out different ways to cancel out of different moves to add more hits to your combos. I'm not exaggerating each character feels completely different not just there move list but the way they move/jump, what moves they can cancel out of etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One awesome Game hidden under bad press.

posted by Psychobillynigh (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sengoku Basara is an awesome game for fans of Samurai Warriors and Dynasty Warriors. It combines the 'One man vs one thousand men' concept and adds it's own unique twists of crazy anime style visuals and unique character designs that older Dynasty Warriors and Samurai Warriors lacked.

While this series in mainly Japanese exclusive people over seas got a 'meh' version of the first game under the title Devil Kings. Not that it was bad but characters were cut out and the name's were changed. But luckily Capcom's learned their lesson and released our first true Sengoku Basara experience.

Gameplay: While it's still SQUARESQUARESQUARE style controls, you can customize the move sets of characters for some interesting combo opportunities. It also features an interesting mechanic where you can slow down time for longer combos. Not too surprising as this came from the dude who made Devil May Cry.
Visuals: While on the Wii they look good, on the PS3 they do leave a bit to bee desired. But with all the crazyness on screen it's sort a understandable. luckily however the characters themselves sport some awesome designs (dude with six katanas, mecha dude, chick with weird shadowy hands, etc)
Sound: The voice acting is pretty awesome compared to Koei's series of hack n' slashers. It features popular anime voice actors such as Liam O'Brian, Johnny Yong Bosh, Reuben Langdon and surprisingly Vic Mignogna (which will blow your mind when you realize how creepy he can sound). It also features a pretty eclectic soundtrack and an 'Engrish' version of the original Japanese theme song.

All in All Sengoku Basara is the perfect game for fans of hack n' slashers and anime. With a stellar voice cast, fun gameplay and crazy visuals with loads of items to unlock and level up. But unfortunately this is cursed to the realm of 'Niche' games and many non niche players will find little to like in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by tony52 (CANTONMENT, FL) Apr 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is cool but i got the game that is cracked and i cant even finish the game with certain people

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like Dynasty Warriors...

posted by IrishNinja3010 (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There's a good chance you'll like this game. A good variety of characters once you unlock em (16). I really wish I could've kept it longer but the copy I got kept skipping and freezing up on me and I got frustrated, but I may have to go out and buy this game anyway as I didn't get even halfway through with the game.

Each of the characters has many ways to get through their respective storylines, with new paths opening up as you complete them, so the replay value is pretty high. With about 10 different weapons for each character and many more accesories to slot into those weapons, you could find yourself lost in this game for many hours.

While there is more of an emphasis on hit count than DW it is very similar in gameplay, which is fine by me as ever since the third installment of that game I've been a huge fan of the series, and always have one in my permanent collection (currently 7, waiting on the extreme legends for that title).

I plan on buying this game at my earliest convenience, and look forward to wasting countless hours attempting to complete all the stories and collecting all the weapons and such. If you are a fan of the DW series and need a little bit of extra variety (as well as being able to play as Keiji Maeda) do yourself a favor and rent/buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth the rent if you enjoy Dynasty Warriors.

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like the game even though its repetitive hack n slash. I actually wanted to take the time to unlock all the stories. Very well made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ALRIGHT !!!

posted by osution25 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome fun. The weapons and characters are unique crazy. The story is long with different roads to take. Although no dlc or extra missions, the fun don't go away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

NICE!

posted by gamknowitall (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was everything I'd expected it to be the game play is nice the techniques and how the difficulty was challenging the only problem with this game which can make it a headache is if you die you start the whole level over again no checkpoints so if you did a long battle in you reached the boss you better hope you don't loose i used sanada yukimura my favorite character and the only one i used to beat the game so i going by my experience with him other than that it's a nice strategy game i suggest you take your time and make nice equip parts if you don't you back to the beginning

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

legit

posted by izzey64 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was not expecting this game to be that great, but fortunatly i was wrong. i'm a fan of the dynasty warriors series, but the newer releases are lacking in my opinion. Samurai Heroes takes everything you love about dynasty warriors and mutiplies it by 1,000, but leaves out everything you don't like about it as well. i only wish there were more characters. that's my only complaint. This game seriously destroyed my expectations. The entire time my friend and i played it split screen we seriously kept looking at each other and would say "wow this game is crazy fun" or something along those lines. i have never had so much fun in a game i actually had to verbalize it. if you're planning to play it alone it might not be as fun, but i don't know, i haven't tried it. i definatly recomend playing it with someone else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pure hack n slash fun from Japan's heros!

posted by tropicalrays (WILLOW SPRINGS, IL) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As Koei continue's to expand the 3 Kingdoms realm with their latest, they seem to have forgotten the awesome stories of the warring states of Japan. This is exactly what it seems, pure hack and slash. But its much more colorful and more entertaining then any of Koei's Samurai Warriors or Warriors Orochi games. Of course that is a little unfair as either of those series has had a debut on PS3, which are long overdue. Until then, Sengoku will surely feed your need to relive all the great adventures of the heros of old Japan, Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BASARA! L?VE IT!

posted by storming_flower (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great music, every character has their own style and story, long game (2player, local) no online but GREAT!

Voice acting: I honestly hated Ieyasu Tokugawa's voice because it sounds very weird, maybe too mature for his young appearence and just out of curiousity....if anyone else has played the game NIER, well Ieyasu's voice sounds like Grim Weiss xD lol.

It would have been great if there was an ONLINE CO-OP to healp eachother out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Capcom not so bad!!

posted by actuarony (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you like all the Dynasty Warrior series, you will like this game. I thought some other company makes DW series but this game plays exactly like it. A bit repetitive but overall fun and beautiful experience. Good Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than dynasty warriors

posted by taavon10 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome to be honest when i played it i was like wow the graphics the story everything was perfect dont be fooled by the critics this is a must buy game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty gewd

posted by Thorliam (WESTWEGO, LA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I honestly liked it, It was very repetitive but every samurai hero has it's unique features which makes the game fun. They all have a story to be told

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Segohu BASARA Samurai Heroes

posted by Zari3 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this for my son. OMG!!! He loves it. It's one of the few games he hasn't been able to beat in a few hours. He would have had me buy it if you had it for sell because I don't think he's beaten it yet. I've never seen my son so determined or excited over a game in a long time. I'm soooooo glad when decided to get gamefly so he and his sister can try out new games before thinking of buying them. Thank you to whoever thought this up and saving me money in the long run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I WILL UNITE THESE REVIEWS WITH MY FIST! // RR

posted by RichterReview (SOMERSET, NJ) Aug 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sengoku BASARA Samurai Heroes is the 3rd console installment of the Sengoku BASARA series, first to be brought over to America. How does it fair? it's ok.

Story:
The game takes place after Sengoku BASARA 2, after Hideyoshi was killed by his former disciple Tokugawa Ieyasu who did not agree with his ideals of taking Japan by force. This defeat has lead Japan to split back up into many different warring factions. Ieyasu returns anew no longer armed with his spear but with his fists! Which he will usher Japan into a new era of peace and unity...With his fist. Counterplaying Ieyasu is Ishida Mitsunari, disciple of Hideyoshi who seeks revenge from Ieyasu for murdering his master. Battle ensues as you take control of the many warring factions in order to take back Japan behind the main plot of Ishida and Ieyasu.

Characters:
As par for the course in BASARA there's an overwhelming amount of playable characters. No I mean amazing, there's a total of 16 playable characters to choose from. Sadly this amazing cast does bring forth a lot of monotonous that comes with hack-and-slash games.

Gameplay:
You choose 1 of the many characters and you fight and conquer factions until you have successfully united or conquer japan. This is done through the battle select screen where you select branching routes of which faction you wish to attack (unlocking more options and routes as you unlock more characters and beat the game). These battles are played out in their respective stages in which you murder armies and generals after another in hack-and-slash fashion until you reach their commander; in which you have epic 1v1 battles (with exceptions).

The gameplay is enjoyable but it's a hack-and-slash in the vein of dynasty warriors. Once you beat one army you beat every army. The game has many gimmicks and quirks that help liven the experience but it can only go so far.

In conclusion:
Rent it. It's enjoyable, but don't expect to see yourself playing it after many odd hours. 5.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

missing something

posted by the4thson (SANTEE, CA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

its a grate game,but i feel i was missing something,to guest stars fro DMC 3 and 4,Dante and Neo(nero) and a custom hero creater,those three thing would have made the game more fun,but also more unlockable charecters,other then those things it was fun,but after play three times in a row for the gold weapon,it lost the luster, but the off shots from the main stories made it fun agian,kanbe's story is the funnist out of all,but obonagas story, is just too striat forword

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The game didn't work

posted by RyugamiSetkiya (Constantia, NY) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I put the game in my ps3 and when I got to the opening scene, it started glitching and ultimately froze. I'm displeased with the service and request a new one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty weak with annoying cutscenes

posted by mastershake229 (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I read many reviews and watched a number of videos and thought this would be a great game that I would enjoy. I'm a huge fan of the Dynasty Warriors games, but this game pales in comparison to that series. The combat was slow and not robust, the number of enemies you encounter at one time does not come close to what you encounter in DW.

I could have gotten past most of those flaws, but what killed the game for me was the repetitive cut scenes that interrupt the flow of the game. A cut scene for every character you encounter, a cut scene for any major and minor map change, and a cut scene every time you conquer a post. I found myself watching cut scenes during a map then actually playing the game.

A weak game over all. I'd pass and try out N3 Nights 2 or wait for Dynasty Warriors 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

. . . meh

posted by JBenton9 (BONNER SPRINGS, KS) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Pros: Music was great, graphics were OK - not horrible, but nowhere what they could have been, controls were easy to use, had some entertaining moments in character story-lines ( well some of them ), Variety of weapons and ability to enhance them.

Cons: Some characters were either so irritating or unlikeable it became work to get thru their story-lines. Not enough differences between story-lines, most ended in the same manor so to speak. Not enough characters to play as, no ability to make your own character, No truly easy way to map out the different story-lines ( I got stuck at 90% completion for every character and could not figure out how to get the last 10% )

Summary : It was an OK game, could have been a lot better, but could have been a lot worse. Got it to supplement my Dynasty Warriors fix, and to hopefully give me something else to play similar to it, but different enough to get over the staleness of DW ... it ended up just making me wish I could play DW, or that a Samurai Warriors would be released for PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Repitition

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

That is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

honor and respect are important values

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 50 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

try again, failure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loading trouble

posted by ronj123456 (SYKESVILLE, MD) Feb 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I really like this game but it keeps freezing during gameplay, no need to send another.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun till I got to the main guy.

posted by Blacksamurai420 (WEST BABYLON, NY) Jul 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I tried to enjoy this game even though its so repetitive and wanted to unlock alot and I didnt mind the flaws until I got to the last guy. That guy ruined my whole experience of playing this game. a whole week unlocking things and had sent it back after tring four a whole day to kill this a$$hole who kept coming back to life over and over and over and over and over.....until I ran out of blood. This f%#king fight is the most unfair, one sided fight I ever had in a video game an i've been playing games since the begining of gaming. They might as well had a baby fight Mike Tyson with its hands and feet tied. What a ruined experience. I will not rent any games from this company again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse