Rent Sega Superstars Tennis for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sega Superstars Tennis

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, PS2, DS

New!Available For Download:Mac 

GF Rating
5.6

964 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a group

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This isn't the best tennis game on the market. It's not the best tennis game based on animated characters, but the game is good enough to enjoy with a group of friends or fam. It's got plenty of stuff to unlock so it'll keep u busy. Every game has flaws but the only major one about this one is random misses for no clear reason, but other than that, the game is fun, graphics are good and i'd say rent first and then decide if u wanna buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rentable

posted by MichaelCO (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well I will be quick and separate it between online play and single player mode.

Online is okay except the whole time I played I got destroyed by my opponents. there really isnt anything exciting in online play besides some single player one vs one tennis.

The story mode is a little better. there really isnt that much tennis to be played until you unlock the tournaments in each level. I spent most of the time doing stupid tasks like hitting balls through rings.

If you want to play real tennis dont buy this, but if you are bored and want to get some easy gamerscore points then I would rent this for the weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only Hardcore Sega Fans Should Hit This Court

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you never owned a Dreamcast (and loved it), you're probably not going like this game. But if you are (or were, in my case) a huge Sega fan, a fair amount of nostalgic joy can come from playing Superstars Tennis.

As a tennis game, it is very basic with only 2 buttons used for shots - but you'll find yourself mostly using one. The tennis gameplay could best be described as "Virtua Tennis Lite" - there's even a nearly impossible bonus stage after completing the tournament/arcade mode. Each character has their own power up (much like a Mario sports title), but they don't really add much to the action. The controls are responsive and work well, just suffer from being too basic.

The meat of the game is the Superstars mode. Here you play through Sega-inspired tennis mini games. You'll hit zombies in the Curien Mansion area (House of the Dead), break puyos in the Puyo Puyo Fever area, paint tags at the Jet Set Radio area, etc. As you progress through Superstars mode, you'll unlock characters, music, ballgames, and courts. I haven't completed the game yet, but it doesn't seem like it's going to take very long to make it through all the areas. Each mini game does provide a decent amount of variety though. And more importantly, the mini games are better than the actual tennis matches and make better use of the simple controls (I thoroughly enjoyed the Puyo Puyo area).

I would have liked to see more characters in the game - you start with 8, and unlock an additional 8. The Superstars mode lacks the depth and replay value it needs, and the tennis is on the basic side. But if "Jet Set Radio," "Space Channel 5," and "Samba De Amigo" bring back great memories for you, you'll probably enjoy the trip down memory lane. The colorful courts breathe the life of the games they were inspired by - but won't matter if you're not a fan of the games. Overall, it's a fun tennis game with little depth. Perfect for a Sega fan to rent, but probably not enough for anyone to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

how many sports games has the mario crew made? Too many, now it is Segas turn to make there own sports game with all of their characters. The game looks pretty decent but it could look better. The gameplay is weak and could use some improvement. The list of characters is slim and could offer more characters. Overall the game is alright and you should at least rent it and give it a try; it isn't virtua tennis and top spin!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun for a short time

posted by Tophat (TACOMA, WA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

The mini games and tennis rounds are fun until they become kind of old after a while. There is really not a ton to this game but it's great fun. The difficulty curve is a bit confusing as it is easy for the first half of the game then it becomes "stupid hard" as you get to the near middle. It's worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring

posted by evince (MONROE TOWNSHIP, NJ) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This game is so boring because all ynot even do is press a nothing and the special for each player is nothing cool and the mission dont even make sense to me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A little fun, a lot of anger

posted by cicco132 (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

With Sega Superstars Tennis, Sega offers us a below average title, and most of the game can be completed within one seating, minus the borderline impossible missions. Don't get me wrong, it is a fun little game, but there could have been more done with it. The 'Superstar' mode of the game takes you through tennis court missions that take place within one of Sega's games. After playing for a little, you realize that, wow, Sega really hasn't made anything worthwhile since Sonic the Hedgehog. Not only that, but the characters are horrible. I only knew who 6 of the 16 (yes, only 16!) characters were, and 5 of those were out of Sonic the Hedgehog. And not only did they leave out the best character from that series, but instead of adding old greats such as Toe Jam and/or Earl, or Kid Chameleon, etc, they decided to throw in a bunch of ridiculous looking characters that no one knows.

In addition, some of the missions are infuriating. The Jet Set Radio stage in my opinion is the worst part of any game ever. While a few missions throughout the game are fun and give the whole 'constantly playing tennis' thing a rest because they are new interesting little challenges, they quickly lose their luster as you will spend mission after mission after mission doing the same thing over and over with little variation.

All in all, it's a game that can provide entertainment, however little entertainment that may be. Playing with a friend is always fun, but besides that, you'll be finished playing this game within a couple days. So if you're looking for some easy achievement points and a little amusement for a day or two, by all means, give it a shot. Otherwise, I can't possibly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For A Specific Type of Fan

posted by Crator (HANSON, MA) Jul 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

I can really only recommend this to hardcore Sega fans. If you never owned the Sega consoles and loved them or played their arcade stuff, your just gonna find this to be a bad Mario Tennis clone.

The main issues I found with it were the controls were kind of hard to get used to and the gameplay itself was never really fast enough. I'm not talking about tennis itself being slow I know it can be. But the ball itself never really goes that fast.

There is Superstar Mode which is the main single player mode. It mostly consists of mini-games and some tournaments. This mode is where you unlock everything. There is a section for each series. Now the strange part about all this is there isn't really a lot of tennis going on it's mostly mini-games.

There is also your standard VS mode and online mode. Only problem is no one plays online, so yer gonna be alone in that area.

So overall it's a good game for the hardcore Sega fan (which I am) to rent. But even they will find problems in this stroll down nostalgia lane. Anyone else should stay clear.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average Tennis Game

posted by iou2much (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

The game itself is enjoyable, and simplistic at best. It's a decent tennis game, but nothing amazing. The control on the ball seems to be lacking in comparison to other tennis games. Personally, I enjoyed Hot shots tennis (PS2) more. I found it more challenging and with more in depth control on the ball.

The characters - There's I believe 16, most of which are pretty much the same. Either one is speed/power/control or all around, from my playing there's no difference between the characters who are of the same stats - minus the superstars form.

As for the superstars form - that's what separates the game from most others. Sadly, they are not very impressive, most of them are not very useful, but some of them are very good. It's always fun to watch other players panic when you hit a crazy ball in superstar mode, but it's actually not that hard to return.

As for on line play - I saw very few people playing on line, so I don't have much more to say besides that. The 1 person I did play with, it was very laggy.

Mini games - The game has a plethora of mini-games to unlock levels/characters/music. They are ok, some are fun, most of them are annoying though. Some of the missions have 10+ missions while others are a single mission.

Music - I was disappointed here, I was looking for music from the retro days, but instead it was mainly newer stuff, which wasn't bad, but not amazing either. Selection for music was decent, at least 2-3 different choices for a stage.

All in all, the game is a good rent, its fun to play with friends, especially the Curien Mansion (House of the dead) mini-game with friends. Great fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Makes Viva Pinata seem awesome...

posted by JJofHyrule (BAKERSFIELD, CA) May 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

And I hated Viva Pinata. The only good thing in this game is a minigame where you smash zombies with tennis balls. The levels get progressively harder as zombies get smarter. Otherwise this game was a waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Superstar Tennis 360

posted by dagerbers (MISSOULA, MT) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Not what we expected it to be in any way shape or form. You have to time the controls a little to perfect for my taste.

Booooo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It could use tighter controls but its very decent

posted by andmill11 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

If you liked mario tennis on the N64 then this game will feel right at home.

The controls are basic utilizing just the "A" button for the forehand swing and "X" as the backhand swing (It doesnt actually make much difference which you use both still hit the ball) and the left analog stick or the D-Pad to move your character.

There is quite a wide variety of characters to choose from including: Sonic, Tails, Aiai, Dr. Robotnik, and Shadow just to name a few. There is also a wide variety of mini-games as well as singles,doubles,single match, and tournament tennis play. My favorite was the world from "House of the Dead" where you have to hit the oncoming zombie horde with tennis balls, the requirements to pass the mini-games are ALL very doable to advance but to get the AAA score it might take a few tries.

Its highly recommended for fans of tennis games and want a more laid back approach to virtua tennis or top spin and possibly a throwback to the old mario tennis or for those of you looking for some easy achievement points.

Overall rating:

Graphics 7/10 - This is VERY leniant but the graphics DO get the job done and they are cute i suppose

Gameplay 8/10 - Its a tennis game. If you dont like tennis games then chances are you're probably NOT going to like this.

Sound 5/10 - Reused voice acting throughout matches and repetive songs playing in the background but seriously... its a tennis game what do you expect?

Final score: 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stick to virtua tennis

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

Sega has been doing a lot of things wrong lately. Cashing in on the lame sports games is not a good idea. I absolutely hated this. For someone who loved Virtua Tennis, this has horrible control mechanics. Right away I couldn't even hit the ball half the time. You have to be in the exact right place to get your character to hit the ball. Then quite often I couldn't even tell where the ball would hit the ground because there are no realistic shadows. I only played single player but that was enough to turn me off.

If you like tennis, play virtua tennis. I would have thought this game would be a lot better since Sega makes one of the best tennis games. Nope, it's just something to make you buy another shelf placeholder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Handicapped Tennis

posted by LexVader (SAN ANGELO, TX) Apr 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game tries to do for tennis what Smash Bros. does for platform fighting games. In some ways it succeeds, but ultimately falls short of being a great game. There are characters galore from many Sega franchises that I didn't even realize were Sega franchises. Each of these characters had their overall specialty (i.e. Spin, Power, Speed), however, I didn't really see a difference in any of these except with Speed. The game was very vibrant and the courts seemed to match the theme of the game it was representing. Sometimes, it became hard to focus on the ball with all of these other events happening in the background though.
The sound was good for a tennis game, I suppose. The music of some of the courts starts to wear on your nerves after a bit. Voiceovers were neat, but I really repetitive.
Now I come to the topic of controls. I was very upset with the controls of this game. Now this might be from not playing a tennis game since Mario Tennis for the N64 or even Super Tennis for the SNES before that, but I thought button responsiveness should be most important in a game that sometimes requires twitch skills. Sometimes my character would pause for a second before swinging after I pressed the button. Other times, he wouldn't even swing. This almost ruined the whole game for me, but I eventually worked through this handicap after several matches of frustration.
Since I don't want to end this decent game on a bad note, let's move on to the mini-games. This seemed like a highlight feature that wasn't very highlighted. Some of the mini-games were frustrating, but most were just fun (especially the Virtua Squad games). These games also helped work on my accuracy in the main matches. These were definitely the best part of this game.
I would recommend this game to those who appreciate a small bit of nostalgia, especially with their tennis. I don't recommend this to people who get frustrated with controls and quit games immediately due to that aspect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »