Rent Sega Superstars Tennis for Wii
view large frontback

Sega Superstars Tennis

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, PS2, PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.9

975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

fun for the first few hours

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It starts out kind of game boring then I played the zombie mini game and that's what saved me from returning it. after learning the controls to the tennis matches the game is too easy but fun and the characters are to easy to unlock. all you have to do is go into a tournament in story mode and the final person you face you'll unlock...
Story mode is short but fun. there is a lot of different short missions for each level. After you beat story mode there is nothing left to do and the game gets boring and pointless unless you want to play the mini game a million times...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Finally, a good Sega game

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) May 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Take Virtua Tennis, toss in a bunch of Sega-inspired mini-games and courts and what do you get?

A surprisingly fun little tennis game, all things considered.

Sega is now producing a tennis game featuring the biggest of the franchises they have left. Sonic, Virtua Cop, Chu Chu Rocket, House of the Dead, Jet Grind Radio, and several others make appearances in this decent mini-game compilation with a pretty fair tennis game attached to it.

If you've ever played Virtua Tennis, you know what to expect. The control is pretty decent, save the irritating habit of your character diving to get balls even mildly away from them (making a return of the computer's inevitable return nearly impossible) and your constant problem with hitting the ball out a lot. Even speed players have a problem with overshooting the court a bit too frequently, especially since the computer never seems to do the same. You also get special "Superstar mode" after you hit a number of shots in a match, which gives you a "super-shot" which, usually, ends up producing visual effects so overwhelming that you can't see where the shot is going and will have problems returning it if the computer manages to do so. This gimmick just doesn't work out too well.

Fortunately, the mini-games, by and large, are fun. You have to hit tennis balls to complete tags in the Jet Grind Radio area (some of the challenges are insanely difficult). You have to set up the course for the mice to escape in Chu Chu Rocket. Virtua Cop (well, Virtua Squad in the game --- I guess they don't have the rights to the name) is a light gun game where you use the tennis racket instead of a gun. Space Harrier has you firing shots at incoming enemies. The games are short enough to not get dull and varied & challenging enough to make a desire to perfect your score somewhat powerful.

Wii controls actually worked really well. This is a really fun title. The scores here are a little baffling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It is Tennis with a Twist

posted by Frogger320 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just love this game. I can see where it would get boring after long time playing it, but it is so much fun. I would definitely recommend you rent this game before you buy it though. If you loved Tennis on the WII Sports then you will love this game. However, if you are a die hard gamer that loves Sonic for Sonic you probably will not like this game much. Like many of the Wii games, it is a lot more fun if you play against other people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sega Super stars tennis

posted by Tailschan (ABINGDON, MD) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

anyone a fan of party games will like this game. Very much like Mario tennis, only with Sega stars. I enjoyed how it was easy to get use to, yet you had to actually get use to it.
the super star power ups were fun.. yet hard to understand sometimes.
in all.. I like this game do to the fact that it's fun to pick up at any time by yourself or with a friend.. but it still needs something to give it a higher score than good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for the whole family

posted by dbspanks (ATTLEBORO, MA) May 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun arcade style tennis game, where it lacks in realism of a sim, it makes up in fun and ease of use. It gives you many control options I prefer the Wii mote only mode were the players move for you and you just have to swing the Wii mote, it is rather forgiving as long as you are close to the ball and have ok timing it will give you a good shot and keep it in the court, which is great for me as my children love playing this, they are 4&6 years old, my wife who is legally blind can also play this with her limited vision, the mini games are also fun, my kids love teh monsters. So overall this is a fun and easy arcade style tennis game for the family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Will Cause Carpel Tunnel Syndrome!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Mar 24, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Despite the Tennis part is not as accurate in Wii Sports at least it won't hurt your wrist! Overall it is a good "basic" tennis game. I highly suggest {if) you rent it set the controls to "traditional". The courts are pretty good and the graphics are nice. The mini games are horrible and the voices can get annoying. At least they did a better job on this then Sonic and the Secret Rings. I would wait for Top Spin 3 in a month or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great fun for Everyone

posted by TheWiz (SAN RAFAEL, CA) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Everyone can have a good time with this game. Great controls. Much better than Wiisports Tennis. One of my favorite games ever. I hope that they will come out with a Mario Tennis but this is next best possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superstars and their free times

posted by Deafgamer3 (GEORGETOWN, TX) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

All Sega superstars gathered together to play some tennis at their spare times. It was fun to play one of superstars while watching them convert their signature personality into awesome Tennis skills. It is great for family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good, but has some flaws.

posted by JakobW (SAINT MICHAELS, AZ) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Sega Superstars Tennis delivers in many areas, but it has some flaws. For what it is, Superstars Tennis does a great job of delivering fan service to...well, the fans. With over 16 characters and almost as many courts, SST brings on a wave of nostalgia for people who grew up on SEGA's games. The controls are air-tight, except when you use the motion-sensing, but button controls are perfect.

Every character can let out a "Superstar Shot" to help give them the edge. They have a myriad of effects, and can frequently be the turn of the tide in a match-up.

The game's only real problems are it's lack of online multiplayer and the fact that the minigames aren't exactly a lot of fun if you don't have multiple people playing.

But SEGA delivers where it counts, with on-the-spot tennis game play, with a touch of Mario Tennis, and a heaping helping of fan service that's sure to give you a wave of nostalgia. The graphics are also pretty sweet.

It's a solid tennis game, but without multi-player online, which is standard in most games these days, and a lack of fun One-Player minigames, it loses some points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring !

posted by lancelot (MIDDLETOWN, CT) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this because the idea of it sounded great! Sadly the game is not fun. You swing the wii remote like playing real tennis but the game is very counter intuitive nothing you do seems to affect the actual game! I played one match and sent it right back. I'm sure if you stick with it there are power-ups and other environmental hazards that make the game more interesting but it just wasn't interesting enough to warrant playing it that long. Again, what is really poor here is the game-play and that is a major factor in a good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awesome!Sonic is in it!

posted by DashyRoo (BURBANK, CA) May 26, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sega super stars tennis has cool music! My favorite character is Sonic the hedgehog. You can do specials in it. They brag a lot in the game. There's speed characters. There's spin characters. And there's control characters. And there's all-round characters. Sonic is a speed character (if you did not know). Egg man laughs. I think it's funny. Sonic is the fastest hedgehog in the whole wide world. Shadow is in the game too! I think that Shadow is Sonic's brother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disappointing

posted by ie2special (JACKSONVILLE, NC) May 13, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I thought it would be more skill intensive, it wasn't. I could swing the racquet early, late, on time, and the ball still got hit. It didn't feel at all like i was playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wasted opportunity

posted by darthramza (WAKE FOREST, NC) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was ready to be very forgiving with this game, expecting at least a solid Wii tennis title under all the fluff. One of the biggest problems is being a Gamefly rental there are no instructions. Not so much about tennis, but about the specifics of the Wii motion controls. There are no tutorials in this game. None. Ever Wii game so far has given you a break on how to use motion controls for optimum play. Even Wii SPorts, the FREE game had a natural feel to the swing of the Wiimote, just like playing real tennis. Sure you could just flick your wrist, but if you wanted to act and move like you were really on the court, it responded well. Not so with Sega Superstars. Besides technical issues, the doubles game consist of watching whomever your partner may be poaching every frickin shot that comes across the net, leaving you with nothing to do. Yipee. Broken and boring, this game offers very little to the hardcore gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING

posted by peggla (WARREN, OH) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS BORING AND HAS NO POTENTIAL TO CHALLENGE. WOULD NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Like Wii Sports Tennis but with the fun taken out

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game has 3 different kinds of controls, plus minigames, and a tournament mode. All of them suck. Mainly the controls. Each character has a "power movie" that is really dumb and makes it so you can't even return the serve. It just wasn't fun to play... it's kinda like Wii Sports Tennis, only with the fun taken out. The mini-games were about the only fun thing to play...and 2 of them are unlocked from the start, and even after you complete them, it doesn't unlock any other mini-games, it just unlocks characters. It's a really stupid concept. What was Sega thinking?

Pass on this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why do they keep missing the point?

posted by oldphat (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 17, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

When you play a sports game you want to see a faithful simulation. Just play FIFA 08, any NBA Live or Madden. They shine because they try to make you think that what you're doing is real.

Having Batman play in NBA would be as ludicrous as all the Sega characters that just turned tennis players.

This should be about tennis and being able to play Nadal-Federer in Wimbledon.

But even worse, the worst part is that controls are not realistic at all, just sending the ball to the left or right seems impossible or control the strength, lift or cut it, ... Nah, wait until you can rent or buy Federer 09 (just hoping someone will create it...).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its a good game but one little problem.

posted by Ethan11 (WASILLA, AK) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Okay,everybody knows its a great game but theres only one problem that concerned me.I was playing doubles in tourment,I played until I got to the special stage.5 mins later, I couldn't move.Everytime I hit the ball somewhere I'm unable to move or hit the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

everything better than wii sports! (well almost)

posted by ezpass (PRINCE FREDERICK, MD) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

most is better the controls, game play,places, it is easier to hit the ball, YOU CAN MOVER WERE YA WANT, EASIER TO TIME MAXIMUM HIT, more players DUH wii sports only has like 1 >:( but dis has lots more :),SUPER PITCH,tons more options for changing play,OMG STINKIN MINI GAMES LOL ROTL ROTFLOL, and how wii sports is called WII SPORTS just cause it is from the wii as the first stinkin game doesn't mean you have to name HALF THE STINKIN NAME AFTER THE STINKIN SYSTEM listen to this name "Sega Super Star Tennis" look it has the bran but at least it doesn't say "Wii Sega Super Star Tennis" cause who care it shows the freaken brand before the stinkin title screen all putting the systems name in the game title makes you have to see the systems name 2 STINKIN TIME 2 STINKIN TIMES. that is why it is WAY WAY WAY better the stupid "wii sports"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad for what it is

posted by whittyj (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

This is a fun little game. It is NOT a sim, so don't confuse it as such. The controls can be a little frustrating at times, but once you get tired of Wii Sports tennis, this is not a bad party or kids game. Plus I was able to get it really cheap, so it was worth it. A good term for this is good Quality/Price Ratio.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok tennis game

posted by gameboy11 (KOUTS, IN) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

ok i love sonic. but all of the other characters are annoying. but the tennis in the game is like Mario strikers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sega?

posted by adman228 (ROCKY RIVER, OH) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

i feel as this game just doesn't give you that tennis vibe, i think instead of Sega, you should get the Mario power tennis or whatever it's called for game cube. Not for the character change but just because the physics of the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

There are better tennis games out there!

posted by Lankster (WAUKEGAN, IL) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Controls are slow to respond. The mini games are all pretty much the same which use basic arcade controls rather than taking advantage of the Wii remotes capabilities. Top Spin and even Wii sports are far more fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Definitely for Sega Fans

posted by Yehezkel (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Aug 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I believe this game was made for the fans... I have all of Sega's systems... and pretty much played all the games that these characters' belong to... so it's more like an homage to Sega and its best games. Anyone that has played Virtua Tennis on the Dreamcast may remember the controls a bit... Alot of re-play value... the only thing I had a little trouble getting used to was playing as Beat without the cell shading effects.

Loved it and bought it off of gamefly... you know good price...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but easy

posted by Darkraven (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I think this is just great for my 6 and 8 yo. You almost cant miss hits. Its about timing and thats about it. I love playing it cause of all the different courts. This is my first tennis game so not sure how it stacks up to others but I thought it was alot of fun =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Uninspiring Game

posted by p00piecat (HORSHAM, PA) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

Controls are goofy especially when playing the mini games. Playing the actual tennis game, the camera was quirky and made it difficult to see where your playing. Overall, it left me feeling bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse