Rent Sega Superstars Tennis for PS3
view large frontback

Sega Superstars Tennis

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Wii, Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
5.3

413 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just what you would expect

posted by sideenglis (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a good game, it's more than just tennis, I mean just you against the computer or a friend. Superstar mode is great because you can unlock just about everything and there are plenty of missions. The overall play is smooth and playing with four people when you have company over is good clean fun. It's good for all ages and There are some good characters in the game. If you have kids it's a great game it will keep them occupied while using some of there favorite characters. The only downside to this game is that there is only tennis related things to do I know that is the name of the game but it would have been nice if they slipped in some mini games with a level or two from the characters' game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MY FAVORITE GAME!

posted by MATTROCKS (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think this is the best sega game of all time because you play tennis,I can play characters i missed,It is one of my favorite games now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game

posted by Shalatii (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

For fans of Sega/Sonic (and tennis) it's worth a rental or even a buy since it's so cheap now. It has a nice graphical style and is fun to play, especially for younger kids. It had a ton of unlockable mini-games, music tracks and such, enough to keep you busy for a good while. The online aspect of the game seemed pretty dead, but that wasn't a concern for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by gateway (SPLENDORA, TX) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

It has a lot of characters that makes the game better. It has a lot of side missions; the controls and graphics are good. The power-ups are cool; and there are lots of levels to keep you busy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's ok, but not worth my time

posted by jmusician (SANTA ANA, CA) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The game is ok in my opinion. The tennis were alright and the special for each character were neat. But, I didn't like how the tournament was. All I'll say is, that when compared the the Mario Tennis, this one doesn't match up. I sent it back the same day I received the game. I didn't want to waste more time on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay Game, Good For Kids

posted by Sportfan97 (HILLSBORO, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Enjoyable Game, Easy to Pick Up A Lot Of Different Difficulty Levels, Never Gets Old. Good Game To Buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very average

posted by Goodeness (UNIONTOWN, OH) Apr 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I downloaded the demo on the PSN, and really that demo is exactly what you get in the full game. It's fun for a few matches, but the mini games tend to be very redundant. Basically, you unlock mini games that include running around collecting coins or hitting tennis balls into things. Fun, just no lasting replay value here. The only real excitement I got with this game was playing against another person (not AI).

I attempted to play online once and had no luck. I must have literally been the only person online trying to get a match going.

Fun, worth getting from gamefly, just not worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sega Superstars Tennis

posted by PS3couple (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

This game is only good for someone under the ages of like 10 or 11. It's a little too cartoonish for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only Hardcore Sega Fans Should Hit This Court

posted by monlienNH3 (AUGUSTA, GA) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2003

If you never owned a Dreamcast (and loved it), you're probably not going like this game. But if you are (or were, in my case) a huge Sega fan, a fair amount of nostalgic joy can come from playing Superstars Tennis.

As a tennis game, it is very basic with only 2 buttons used for shots - but you'll find yourself mostly using one. The tennis gameplay could best be described as "Virtua Tennis Lite" - there's even a nearly impossible bonus stage after completing the tournament/arcade mode. Each character has their own power up (much like a Mario sports title), but they don't really add much to the action. The controls are responsive and work well, just suffer from being too basic.

The meat of the game is the Superstars mode. Here you play through Sega-inspired tennis mini games. You'll hit zombies in the Curien Mansion area (House of the Dead), break puyos in the Puyo Puyo Fever area, paint tags at the Jet Set Radio area, etc. As you progress through Superstars mode, you'll unlock characters, music, ballgames, and courts. I haven't completed the game yet, but it doesn't seem like it's going to take very long to make it through all the areas. Each mini game does provide a decent amount of variety though. And more importantly, the mini games are better than the actual tennis matches and make better use of the simple controls (I thoroughly enjoyed the Puyo Puyo area).

I would have liked to see more characters in the game - you start with 8, and unlock an additional 8. The Superstars mode lacks the depth and replay value it needs, and the tennis is on the basic side. But if "Jet Set Radio," "Space Channel 5," and "Samba De Amigo" bring back great memories for you, you'll probably enjoy the trip down memory lane. The colorful courts breathe the life of the games they were inspired by - but won't matter if you're not a fan of the games. Overall, it's a fun tennis game with little depth. Perfect for a Sega fan to rent, but probably not enough for anyone to purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Your Kids Won't Have the Attention Span

posted by rex8000 (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Your Kids Won't Have the Attention Span

Story: There is pretty much no story, and if you haven't played previous sega games, then the levels also have no history. 5/10

Presentation: The graphics aren't bad, and the Sega characters make their comebacks. 7/10

Gameplay: Obviously tennis, and designed for little kids, the tennis matches take way too long and for the parents, it just isn't worth buying this game your child will enjoy (or pretend to) for less than 20 minutes. 4/10

Design: The game is way too tedious for children, and the mini-games are pretty much worthless. If you want to play online there are pretty much no servers to find. 5/10

Overall: 5.25/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »