Rent Sega Rally Revo for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Sega Rally Revo

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games
GF Rating
4.7

1044 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but kinda disappointing also

posted by joemama127 (ABILENE, TX) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are really good, it has the usual Sega "vibrance" that is missing from games that try to be realistic, but Sega Rally Revo isn't cartoony. The track deformation (especially the snow) is very well done and is the highlight of the game. Unfortunately the car physics aren't great and seem to be the standard "rotate on a central axis" style used by many budget arcade racers. This combined with the small selection of cars tends to make this a weekend rental at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for the simulation fans....

posted by GDawg74 (SAINT MARYS, GA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you love arcade style racing, you will love this game. For those that played RalliSport and were expecting something in that aspect, you'll be disappointed. No car damage, no steering wheel support.

The cars aren't hard to drive. And if you make a mistake don't worry, there are invisible barriers that keep you from leaving the course. As far as arcade style goes this i a great game. That's why I gave it a 7. But as far as fun, well...not for me.

It does have multiplayer, but what's fun if you can't smack your buddy in the quarter panel and send him flying off into the jungle? Again, if you like arcade style racing ie Midtown Madness, then this game is for you. But if you are like me and like the more realistic type, here's to hoping we see Rallisport sometime in the future for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Slightly above average

posted by mdhegs (CEDAR HILLS, UT) Jan 14, 2008

Member since May 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

O.K. Let's get this out of the way ... I am a driving game FREAK! I love to play driving games and I will give anything a shot on pretty much any system. I was a HUGE Sega Rally fan on the Dreamcast and I dropped my fair shair of coinage into the arcade version to feed a small family for a month! I was looking forward to playing this after hearing about the terain deformation, seeing the screen shots and what not.

Drop the game in and you are presented with a really nice arcade menu presentation ... load up a quick race and you will notice the game looks really good. Kudo's on some nice looking graphics and environments. Take a few laps around the track and win a few races and you are thinking that we have a winner. But, that's all you get.

Although, at first galnce the game has it all you notice the shortcomings (I will not say flaws). There are too few tracks, too few cars, too little customization and suprisingly ... No wheel support?!?!?! DUDE! I will, however, give it props becuaes it does what it does very well. I just wish there was a little more of what it does.

Oddly enough though, I am kicking myself for not shelling out $20 when I had it in my possesion over the Holidays and it was on sale because it IS worth having, just not for full retail. $20 - $30 is a good investment range to consider IMHO.

If you are into arcade racers, this game delivers. Just don't go into it looking for a buffet, because this game delivers a pure fast food experience. Small selection, small portion sizes and leaves you wanting a little more for a little less!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok but

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Ok, 1st off this game looks good, especially for a Sega game. The car models look nice, but the rest is average. The track deforming they have been talking about is a nice touch but since the game is more arcade (floaty, horrible controls) that feature is weak.

I couldn't recommend this as a purchase to anyone. DiRT is far better and if you want multi-player online racing then go and get the one of the Rallisport challenge games for the original Xbox, those are more fun then this game.

This game could have used more time, like till middle of next year to get things figured out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What a breath of fresh air!

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

In a world full of racers that focus on learning to drive the cars instead of actual racing, SRR is very nice change of pace. I play a lot of online racers, and it always amazes me to see 3/4 of the field off the track in the first corner. Whats fun about that? SRR lets you race, plan and simple. No over the top arcade stunts ala Burnout, no lame attempts at "realistic driving" (besides, what realistic about holding a piece of plastic in your living room)? SRR gets you doing something you love, racing, and removes the gimmicks. This game is fun the moment you start. Great graphics, great spot on control, and outstanding online racing. You will no longer have to worry about some griefer trying to send you off the track so he can beat you. Do yourself a favor, give SRR a try and you will see how racing should be, fun. But if you like trying to fight with a piece of plastic, in an attempt to fool yourself into thinking your playing a real life simulation...this is not the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WOW This game Sux!

posted by LbcOrAcLe (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Sega needs to lean from the producers of DIRT!!! Do not waste your time renting this one. I literally played it for about 15 mins and it was so bad I put it right back in the mail! Don't walk away from this game run!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wanna play a good rally game play Dirt insted

posted by Ninja4 (READING, PA) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Camera angles in this game are realy bad and AI is on rails. Car graphics are decent but all other graphics are porly done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Uggghh

posted by RallyAceT (PUYALLUP, WA) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok well this is a good game for a 5 year old or someone who is not really interested in a realistic rally game. If you are like myself and have loved the Rallisport Championship games for Xbox and the new Dirt for 360 you will probably be dissappointed with the phisics and dynamics of this game. The graphics are ok... but its impossible to do damage to your car, you can pretty much just raid the course and turn on a dime, it gets very boring after a couple races. You can rent it but if you are like me it will be back in the mail the same day :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

JUST PLAIN HORRIBLE

posted by BOOSBOOS (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 26, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the only thing that i could compliment this game on is the graphics, the game play is terrible, i feel like i am playing some arcade game that came out 15 years ago. Save yourself the time and avoid the game. Anybody who gave this game a good review knows nothing about racing games. Rent Forza 2 and you will be happier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A breath of fresh air.

posted by ODST117 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

NO, this game is NOT realistic. NO it doesn't make sense that you slide around the track...

Kind of like an ARCADE game?

YES!

Playing Sega Rally Revo really gives me a sense of nostalgia. I remember playing the original with my friend split-screen on PC.

People say that there is no grip or fun involved in this game, but just the sensory stimulus of my controller constantly vibrating when i'm hitting the tiremarks in dirt, telling me THIS is where i'm going to get the best handling and the highest top speed, is an amazing touch and, i believe, makes the game.

People can argue, but the game only sold for 50$ with preorder, and it's definatly worth a rent.

Don't get this if you're expecting a Rallisport Challenge (original xbox game) or a Dirt. This game is hardly the same genre, and to compare them is apples to oranges.

Likewise, definatly don't expect another Forza or PGR4. Even though the graphics are very nice, that does not make this game like any of them.

This is what makes the game so good. I loved Rallisport, liked Dirt, love Forza, and love PGR4.

This game is the only one of its kind though, and i sincerely enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak Sauce

posted by Chronicdog (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I only played for about 10 minutes - thats all it takes to know this game sucks badly. Just get DiRt, its about 10x better. The Subarau STi which I own in real life feels like its floating on a pad of warm butter, sliding all over the place. The physics in this game are a joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth playing

posted by wickedmtr (DISCOVERY BAY, CA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

after all the hype, this game was a total let down. "Dirt" was even better than this game...and that game was bad too...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Skip this game

posted by mrgrim (WARMINSTER, PA) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Its no sim but thats old news.The game is just one long drift race.The game looks ok and the sound is ok and the tracks have a nice mix of water,mud,pavement.I ran one race and sent it back to gamefly and give it a 1 out of 10 its a skip.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ehh

posted by Revan001 (HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is all right, but the controls kinda stink. Just rent it unless you're a strong fan of these series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Revo? should be Redo

posted by mrsenigma (LAWTON, OK) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This blows,you can't set up the cars, and the other cars leave you right off the bat.Not easy for younger kids!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sega Rally Revo : Racing Rehashed.

posted by CharlieM (LEVITTOWN, NY) Aug 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Unfortunately, I was disappointed by this game because it's exactly identical to it's ancestors. Been there done that. Sega Rally was released for the Sega Saturn in 1995, but still has not evolved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty Bad

posted by BlueHippo (LA PUENTE, CA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

I felt like i was playing a game from the original xbox. why get this when their are so many Great racing games ex. Dirt

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre Arcade Racer

posted by xXZomb1eXx (BESSEMER CITY, NC) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

Title says it.
Negatives
The handling is too arcadish. The tail end of the cars kick out on every turn even on the tarmac. All the cars feel the same. Graphics and most of the environment are not up to 360 standards.

Positives
Some effects like mud sticking to the car and jets flying over the track are pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

horrible

posted by tman93 (HURLOCK, MD) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

i gave this game a 2. the only reason i didn't give it a 1 is because of the graphics and game play. the reason im giving it a 2 is that when your driving, its basically like taking a block of wood and sliding it everywhere on a slippery surface. game play was good, details very good graphics good, but handling really bombed... they could have done better with this game....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by Alleyboy (BEND, OR) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

This is the by far worst game i have ever played. I played it for one race and i sealed it back up and sent it back. DO NOT RENT THIS. Stearing in this game is like playing super nintendo. TERRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun Arcade Rally Racer

posted by Gamr4Life (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

To truly enjoy this game, you need to have some virtual racing skills, otherwise it will be to hard to unlock the best cars, and new race tracks. Having said that, the graphics, game physics, and menus are all arcade style. The first races are easy, then they become harder as you unlock the pro, expert, and master events. Here's some racing tips to help you unlock stuff. If you know how to drift, use the road race car. All you need to do in order to drift is quickly turn into the corner, as you quickly release, and press the gas trigger. This will make rear of your car slide out. Then just straighten out your car as you exit the corner. Tip #2 - bumping into the walls will slow you down, but if you bump the wall with the rear of the car it will give you a boost in speed. Tip #3 at start of race, slowly press the gas, so you don't spin out, and give the other cars a head start. Tip #4 practice, practice, practice, skills learned in one race game, could be used in another. overall I definitely recommend this game because it's both fun and challenging, plus I love the way the you live tire tracks on the mud, snow, or volcano ash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

takes some getting used to

posted by rallyfan (KUNA, ID) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

Well i wouldn't say this game is bad, but i won't say it's good either. It does take some getting used to.

Don't bother reading the reviews that gave this game a 1 after playing one race or just 10 minutes, they never took the time to get used to the game. If you consider it a weekend rental, it's becuase you didn't take the time to get used to the way the game controls. The driving mechanics are arcade style, like you'll find in sega rally in the arcade downtown.

As people have said, this is no Dirt, pgr, forza, or rallisport(personally i like those games better becuase i'm a simulation type driver, not arcade) and if you don't realize this then you will probably give it a really bad rating. You do slide, and straightening out after a turn is a little tricky at first until you get a feel for how much force you have to apply to keep from slamming into the side of the track, which slows you down considerably(i found this happening to me quite a bit when i first put the game in a played it for the first 20 minutes.)

It's a 9 in terms of graphics though, i'll give it that, although driving games like dirt and Grid are a step above in that department. The meager selection of tracks and cars left me wanting more though, but that's becuase i grew up on rallisport from the old xbox that had a slew of cars and tracks.

So while it's not the greatest racing game out there, it's not the worst, but don't be suprised to see this game in the bargain bin at the store in the coming months.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game, a lot of fun playing

posted by Anime4Ever (HOLLYWOOD, FL) May 1, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Wow, people are so critical of this game. Me, I just plain had fun with this game. I guess a lot of people have never driven in dirt before - this game brings that experience to the game screen nicely, without going overboard. This is a very playable game. Very easy to unlock features in the game, as long as you play steadily for a while. As I get better, I see my time scores getting better too. As usual SEGA brings a very nice experience to the game screen.

My only gripe is that I only have 2 controller layout choices to choose from. Being right handed, I wanted to put the steering controls under my right thumb, but you can only have it under your left thumb - extremely annoying. But that is the only gripe I have about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

decent

posted by yamahacore (SAN MARTIN, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

i gave the game a 6 out of 10, its not very realistic and really reminds me of the arcade series initial d games. the cars are very squirrely. it is a fun game to get into, however i would recommend forza 2 for realism.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It could be sooo good. If only...

posted by AlexBzzi (SANTA MONICA, CA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

...the UI was not transplanted from the 80's.
...there were more levels.
...the difficulty wasn't so ridiculously hard.
...the game had a "restart" option.
...the progress wasn't lost when you quit a race. It's reaaaally frustrating racing several events then having all your progress lost when you quit the last of the three races by being bumped to the main menu. How dumb is that?

Great sense of speed, though. I wish it were a bit more mature. As it was, it was too close to an arcade game, with arcade style of punishing the player, instead of helping the player have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse