Rent Sega Rally Revo for PS3
view large frontback

Sega Rally Revo

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.4

557 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Sonic meets Gran Turismo

posted by cncmoore (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If this was 1983, I'd say this was a great arcade game. As it is now in 2007, this game lacks inspiration.

The graphics are sonic the hedgehog all the way and the music is enough to turn off the game immediately (thank goodness you can mute it).

Driving controls are so easy it's sad. I'm sorry to say that this game is not even a fun rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pure Disappointment

posted by mrmoney (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Upon the loading of the first screen i knew i was in for it.

1. Graphics are sub par for the gaming platform (reminded me of a ps1 or 2 game tbh)

2. The handling of the cars is horrible compared to others of this genre for this platform. I found that the steering in particular was so touchy i had a hard time maintaining a straight line.

3. when crashing or hitting the side of the "road" it is much like hitting an imaginary wall. this is not acceptable in my opinion.

4. the "garage" area was a joke as it only allows you to see "game status" and "credits"....

if i was asked i would tell peeps to stay away and don't waste the time or effort. i personally had the game for 3 hrs before it was in the box waiting for the mailman to arrive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sega Rally Revo

posted by jish40 (DODGE CENTER, MN) Jan 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is lame. The things I did not like were the limited cars and tracks, no customization of the cars, and the opponets were too diffult for the average raceing game player. The things i did like about the game were the driving physics were very good and the graphics were excelent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NO

posted by ManSpider (NORTHPORT, NY) Dec 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do me and yourslef a huge favor by not renting this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All racing games should be this fun and easy!!

posted by lilben187 (RADCLIFFE, IA) Nov 28, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is fun to play!! That's all anyone needs to know.

As for those of you who say it is repetitive, IT'S A RACING GAME, ALL RACING GAMES ARE REPETATIVE, this one just happens to be fun. You don't have to worry about all the endless car 'tweaks' like: camber or spring rubbers or pit crew jersey colors!! Just pick a track, pick a car and RACE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sega Rally Revo

posted by MmhmBeer (MEADVILLE, PA) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think that the demo is a fair representation of the game, that being said I completely love it. If you were a fan of the old Sega Rally games or of the Daytona seriese you will also love this game.

There could be a few more tracks and a few more cars, but other than that it is at the very least worth a rent. The only issue I have come across is horrible draw in. It was not present in the demo nor have I heard of anyone else having this prolbem, so it leads me to believe that I have gotten a defective disc.

The draw in can be a hinderence while driving the first lap but once you get the track layout memorized it is not really an issue. Again I am unsure of whether this is just as issue I am experiencing or if it is widespread. Hopefully others will chime and we can figure out the problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Might be the worst game ever!!

posted by highpoint (STOCKHOLM, NJ) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I played half a race.....was in last the whole race.....its almost like an arcade game........rediculis

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

rent DIRT instead....

posted by SuperJC (GAINESVILLE, VA) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I never thought I would ever play a PS3 game that I thought sucked but this game sure does suck. The game physics are way off, youend up fish-tailing your car thru 95% of the race no matter what difficulty the setting is on.

If you want a rally game rent Dirt instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

VERY BAD

posted by Alleyboy (BEND, OR) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I did 3 races and sent it back. The stearing reminds me on ps1 style. They did not put much work into this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wouldn't recommend at all...

posted by JayJay257 (IMPERIAL BEACH, CA) Mar 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

There's definitely a lot of room for improvement with the physics in this game. I guess I held it too a higher standard than I should have after already playing Dirt. I would not call this game "Next Gen". It seemed very Playstation 2'ish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sega rally bado

posted by red151 (ASHLAND, VA) Feb 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this game just is not fun, it is very basic of racing games. I quess I am just spoiled by the need for speed games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I was not impressed

posted by Lonewulf (SPOKANE, WA) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

This game could have been on the playstation 2 and I would not have known the difference. Pretty lame, and pretty boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fast, Simple, and Fun

posted by MagnumX (LA JOYA, TX) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I've never played any of the previous rally cross's so this is my first time playing the series and it is arcade action fun. Sure it may not be realistic like other rally racing games but it is not suppose to be. This game is just plain fun due to its fast pace racing action and simplicity.

Note: For those complaining about the controls just match your race car to the terrain (ex. dirt terrain)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sega Rally Revo

posted by PolishDude (PENSACOLA, FL) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This game is the worst out of the Sega racing game series. The tracks are too repetitive, and the fact that you have to start races last makes this game pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rally revo

posted by sonofman (KEIZER, OR) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

it is a good all around game but the only car changes you can make are paint jobs and either dirt or street set ups. about half way through the game you have raced all the tracks and it starts to get repetitive. a good game for challenging friends head to head though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's OK

posted by bigdog63 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

The only good thing about this game is the graphics and the car handling other then that it's an ok game. All it really is is a arcade game for the PS3. Rent if you want you might like it but I thought it was OK.

Play on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great arcade style racing

posted by Scaaat (FONTANA, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

I think this game is addictive. I downloaded the demo and had to buy the full game. It's a shame gamers have such high standards... this isn't Gran Turismo... this isn't Dirt... If I wanted a sim racer, I'd go offroading in my truck or drive my car around instead of playing video games. SRR is in the classic Sega arcade style that we loved so much back in the day, but now it's with awesome graphics. The only con is there could be more tracks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fans will like it.....but.

posted by FrankCrank (RUTLAND, MA) Oct 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

CHANGE THE VIEW to front or hood view.

the game is almost unplayable in the default view which is a third person/behind the car view. You need to change the view. The game is far more playable and challenging in this view.

TRY IT OUT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The game is good for fans of older SEGA Rallies

posted by xxXMXxx (ELK GROVE, CA) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

First off, this game isn't DIRT. Nor is it anything like a Colin McRae game. Its not meant to be. Its a pure throwback to the old-school SEGA arcade racing games.
Anyone expecting the game to be hyper realistic will be let-down. Its an arcade style racing game, and for what it is and what its meant to be, its a good game.
WELL WORTH RENTING

Second, the graphics, music, and controls are good. Not "AAA" good, but still good enough to where you're not gonna think you're playing a Wii or PS2 game. The music in particular reminds me of those old goofy SEGA arcade games like DAYTONA or OUTRUN

Give it a shot kid!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »